DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2024, 9/16/2025, 9/23/2025, 1/8/2026, and 3/6/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 6 Line 1, “the center side” should be revised to “a center side” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 6 Line 1, “the outer edge side” should be revised to “an outer edge side” to ensure clarity in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because Lines 12-20 state “a first slit provided on each side of the recess in a width direction thereof and having an open end provided adjacent to an outer edge of the recess; a plurality of second slits having open ends provided along the outer edge of the deflector, on an opposite side of the first slit in a width direction thereof from the recess, and closed ends provided away from an outer edge of the valve cap; and a plurality of third slits having open ends provided along the outer edge of the deflector, on an opposite side of the second slits in a width direction thereof from the first slit, and closed ends provided further away from the outer edge of the valve cap than are the closed ends of the second slits” and it is not clear if a single first slit is being claimed or if multiple first slits are being claimed with one first slit being on one side of the recess and another slit being on another side of the recess. Claim 1 Line 12 states “a first slit provided on each side of the recess in a width direction thereof”, therefore it appears that there are two first slits being initially recited, however Claim 1 Lines 14-15 state “a plurality of second slits having open ends provided along the outer edge of the deflector, on an opposite side of the first slit in a width direction thereof from the recess”, and Claim 1 Lines 17-18 state “a plurality of third slits having open ends provided along the outer edge of the deflector, on an opposite side of the second slits in a width direction thereof from the first slit”, thus a single “the first slit” is subsequently referred to. For the purpose of examination, Claim 1 Lines 12-20 will be interpreted such that two first slits are being claimed, and multiple pluralities of second slits and third slits are being claimed relative to each first slit. Furthermore, each instance of “the first slit” in Claims 6 and 7 will be interpreted as “each first slit”.
Claims 2-9 depend from Claim 1, therefore Claims 2-9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite since Claim 1 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-2012080961-A to Koiwa et al. (“Koiwa”).
As to Claim 1, Koiwa discloses a sprinkler head (See Fig. 1) comprising:
a body (#1) having a nozzle (#1B) that discharges a fire extinguishing liquid (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0022 disclosing water);
a valve cap (#3) that closes the nozzle (See Fig. 1 and Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0022);
a heat-sensitive operation part (#4) that maintains a closed state of the valve cap with respect to the nozzle and removes the closed state when disassembled and operated (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0030-0031);
a disc-shaped deflector (#5, See Fig. 7 showing a shape of #5 such that #5 is at least partially disc-shaped) that scatters the fire extinguishing liquid discharged from the nozzle outward in a direction intersecting an axis of the nozzle (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0036-0038); and
a strut (#5C) that supports the deflector (See Fig. 1 and Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0034), wherein the sprinkler head includes:
a recess (See S and H1 in Fig. 9 and See R in Annotated Fig. 7) provided in a nozzle-side surface of the deflector and formed from a portion around the strut toward an outer edge of the deflector so as to be recessed into the nozzle-side surface of the deflector (See Annotated Fig. 7 and Figs. 8-9);
a first slit (H4, See S1 Annotated Fig. 7. There are two identical first slits on opposite sides of the recess) provided on each side of the recess in a width direction thereof and having an open end provided adjacent to an outer edge of the recess (See O1 in Annotated Fig. 7 which is adjacent to outer edge OE);
a plurality of second slits having open ends provided along the outer edge of the deflector (See S2 in Annotated Fig. 7. There are multiple groups of S2), on an opposite side of the first slit in a width direction thereof from the recess, and closed ends provided away from an outer edge of the valve cap (See Fig. 1 and See C2 in Annotated Fig. 7, no part of the second slits including closed ends C2 touch the valve cap); and
a plurality of third slits having open ends provided along the outer edge of the deflector (See S3 in Annotated Fig. 7, there are multiple groups of S3), on an opposite side of the second slits in a width direction thereof from the first slit (See Annotated Fig. 7), and closed ends provided further away from the outer edge of the valve cap than are the closed ends of the second slits (See C3 in Annotated Fig. 7, closed ends of the third slits are further radially outward than closed ends C2 of the seconds slits).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the sprinkler head of Koiwa as applied to Claim 1 above, Koiwa further discloses wherein a width of the first slit decreases from the center side toward the outer edge side of the deflector (See Annotated Fig. 7, a width of S1 decreases from C1 to O1).
As to Claim 7, in reference to the sprinkler head of Koiwa as applied to Claim 1 above, Koiwa further discloses wherein the first slit has a first side located on a strut side (See FS in Annotated Fig. 7) and a second side facing the first side (See SS in Annotated Fig. 7),
the first side is formed along a side wall of the recess adjacent thereto (See Annotated Fig. 7), and
the second side is formed so as to be closer to the first side on an open end side of the first slit than on a closed end side of the first slit (See Annotated Fig. 7, SS is closer to FS at O1 than it is at C1).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the sprinkler head of Koiwa as applied to Claim 1 above, Koiwa further discloses wherein the outer edge of the recess is located inside a virtual outer circumference of the deflector (See Annotated Fig. 1, the outer edge OE is inside a virtual outer circumference VC that can be imagined around #5).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the sprinkler head of Koiwa as applied to Claim 1 above, Koiwa further discloses wherein the outer edge of the recess is formed in a linear shape (See Annotated Fig. 7, the outer edge OE is formed appearing with straight lines around it thus it can be considered formed as a linear shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwa,
As to Claim 2, in reference to the sprinkler head of Koiwa as applied to Claim 1 above, Koiwa further discloses wherein the second slits are provided in pairs in each of directions from a center of the deflector at angles of 45°, 135°, 225°, and 315° with respect to a virtual line passing through a center axis of the strut and the center of the deflector (See Annotated Fig. 7. The angle A2 passes through a center of each pair of second slits S2. There are four pairs of second slits S2, and the angle A2 is at 45 degrees, with the other pairs of second slits being 90 degrees apart. Therefore a first pair of second slits is at 45 degrees, a second pair of second slits is at 135 degrees, a third pair of second slits is at 225 degrees, and a fourth pair of second slits is at 315 degrees), and
the third slits are provided in groups in each of directions from the center of the deflector at angles of 72° to 108° and 252° to 288° with respect to the virtual line (See Annotated Fig. 7. The angle A3 passes through a center of each group of third slits S3. There are two groups of third slits, and the angle A3 is at 90 degrees, with the other group of third slits being 180 degrees apart. Therefore one group of third slits is at 90 degrees and another group of third slits is at 270 degrees).
Regarding Claim 2, Koiwa does not disclose wherein the third slits are provided in groups of three (See Annotated Fig. 7, each group of third slits is has two slits S3, with an additional slit S4 in between the slits S3).
However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sprinkler head of Koiwa as applied above such that the third slits are provided in groups of three by adding another slit S3 in place of slit S4 since doing so would duplicate features to yield the predictable result of scattering more fluid towards a target area at a shorter distance (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0045-0046 and Annotated Fig. 7 and Fig. 10. If slit S4 is replaced with another slit S3, more fluid will be scattered towards area A2).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwa in view of US PGPUB 2020/0338577 A1 to Kuffel et al. (“Kuffel”).
Regarding Claim 3, in reference to the sprinkler head of Koiwa as applied to Claim 1 above, Koiwa does not specifically disclose wherein the second slits and the third slits have a tapered shape in which a width thereof increases from a center side toward an outer edge side of the deflector (See Annotated Fig. 7. S2 and S3 appear to have a constant width).
However, Kuffel discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire extinguishing (See Paragraph 0002), a sprinkler head (See #116 in Fig. 5) having slits (See #210 in Fig. 6A) that have a tapered shape in which a width thereof increases from a center side toward an outer edge side of a deflector (See Fig. 6A and Paragraph 0062. Tines #206 of deflector #134 are angled such that the slits #210 between tines #206 have a tapered shape with angle #202 with a width increasing towards an outer edge of #134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sprinkler head of Koiwa as applied above such that the second slits and the third slits have a tapered shape in which a width thereof increases from a center side toward an outer edge side of the deflector as taught by Kuffel, since doing so would yield the predictable result of allowing fluid to be applied with a desired expansion at a desired range depending on a target area to be sprayed (See Kuffel Paragraph 0068).
Regarding Claim 4, in reference to the sprinkler head of Koiwa in view of Kuffel as applied to Claim 3 above, Kuffel does not specifically disclose wherein an angle of the tapered shape is 20° to 30° (See Paragraph 0062. A specific angle of #202 is not disclosed).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the angle of the tapered shape be 20° to 30°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is an angle of the tapered shape which achieves the recognized result of allowing fluid to be applied with a desired expansion at a desired range depending on a target area to be sprayed (See Kuffel Paragraph 0068), therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). No criticality is apparent for the claimed range (See Paragraph 0024 of Applicant’s Specification which states “The angle of the tapered shape is preferably 20° to 3° from the standpoint of the water spray performance”, therefore the claimed range appears to be a preferred range)
Regarding Claim 5, in reference to the sprinkler head of Koiwa in view of Kuffel as applied to Claim 4 above, Kuffel does not specifically disclose wherein an angle of the tapered shape is 25° (See Paragraph 0062. A specific angle of #202 is not disclosed).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the angle of the tapered shape be 25°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working values involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is an angle of the tapered shape which achieves the recognized result of allowing fluid to be applied with a desired expansion at a desired range depending on a target area to be sprayed (See Kuffel Paragraph 0068), therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed angle through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). No criticality is apparent for the claimed angle (See Paragraph 0024 of Applicant’s Specification which states “in this embodiment, the angle of the tapered shape, which is the maximum taper angle with fixed depths of the second slits 24 and the third slits 28, is set to 25°”, therefore the claimed angle appears to be one preferred embodiment of a tapered shape).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 11, 2026