DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the PCT international search report by the Canadian Intellectual Property Office have been considered, but will not be listed on any patent resulting from this application because they were not provided on a separate list in compliance with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1). In order to have the references printed on such resulting patent, a separate listing, preferably on a PTO/SB/08 form, must be filed within the set period for reply to this Office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they have a line and shading quality that is too dark distinguish between different features and too dark to be reproduced. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(I). See Figures 1-3. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility patent applications. See MPEP 608.02 VII.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen et al. (US 2013/0072330 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cohen discloses a sport paddle [100], comprising a rigid blade [102, 104] (see paragraph 0066: “the strike surface may be a continuous strike surface (e.g., hard paddle instead of strings)) with a flat face (paragraph 0066: “strike surface”) on one side and a glove [114, 2900] attached (via glove attachment [112] and gripping surface [106]) to the opposing side of the blade [102, 104], wherein the glove [2900] has a strap [108 and/or 110] for securing the sport paddle [100] to a user's hand (paragraphs 0066, 0071-0072, 0074-0078, 0080-0083, 0147, and Figures 1-4 and 29).
Regarding claim 2, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 1, wherein the glove [114, 2900] has one or more finger segments [A] (see annotated Figure 29 below for all reference letters) each having an open end [B] to permit the user's fingers to be inserted into the one or more finger segments [A] (paragraphs 0083, 0147, Figures 3-4, and annotated Figure 29 below).
Regarding claim 3, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 2, wherein the one or more finger segments [A] is at least two finger segments and each finger segment [A] is attached to an adjacent finger segment [A] at their open ends [B], and wherein the glove [114, 2900] extends from the open ends [B] of the finger segments [A] to cover at least a portion of the back of the user's hand (paragraphs 0083, 0147, Figures 3-4, and annotated Figure 29 above).
Regarding claim 5, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 2, wherein the one or more finger segments [A] each have a second open end [C] to permit a user's fingers to extend through the finger segments [A] (paragraph 0147 and annotated Figure 29 above).
Regarding claim 9, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 2, wherein the face (paragraph 0066: “strike surface”) of the blade [102, 104] is flat for substantially the entire area of the face (paragraph 0066: “strike surface”) (paragraphs 0066, 0073, and Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 9, wherein the face (paragraph 0066: “strike surface”) is curved about its perimeter (see frame [102] in Figure 1) (paragraphs 0066, 0071-0073, and Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 2, wherein the strap [108] has two ends (see top end and bottom end of strap [108] in Figure 1) which are connected with a readily releasable fastener [116] to facilitate easy attachment and removal from the user's hand (paragraph 0076 and Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 2, wherein the glove [114, 2900] comprises a cushion (paragraph 0075, “the gripping surface may be cushioned;” paragraph 0078: “the attachment 112 may be a cushioned or tacky surface;” and paragraph 0082: “[t]he gripping surface 106A may also comprise one or more cushioned areas, such as the palm area”) positioned to sit between the palm of the user's hand and the blade [102, 104] (paragraphs 0071, 0074-0075, 0078, 0082, and Figures 1-4 and 29).
Regarding claim 13, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 2, wherein the blade [102, 104] is shaped on the side opposite the flat face (paragraph 0066: “strike surface”) to have a palm-shaped protrusion [106A] positioned below the glove [114, 2900] (paragraphs 0066, 0075, 0082, and Figure 2A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Rittenhouse (US 1,523,899).
Regarding claim 4, Cohen discloses the sport paddle of claim 3, wherein the strap [108 and/or 110] is adjacent to a portion of the glove [114, 2900] that covers the back of the user's hand (paragraph 0076 and Figures 1-4). Cohen does not disclose the strap being integrally formed with a portion of the glove. Rittenhouse, however, teaches a similar sport paddle (Figure 1) comprising a glove [8] attached to the back of a blade [6, 9], wherein the glove [8] has a strap [11] for securing the sport paddle to a user’s hand, wherein the strap [11] is integrally formed with a portion of the glove [8] that covers the back of the user’s hand (page 1, lines 24-53 and Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Cohen’s wrist strap to be integrally formed with a portion of the glove that covers the back of the user’s hand where the glove is permanently attached to the back of the blade because Rittenhouse teaches that this configuration securely fastens the hand of the player to the racket (page 1, lines 49-43).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Park (KR 20110113083 A using machine translation).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Cohen does not disclose a sleeve for storing spare balls which is attachable to the glove. Park, however, teaches a similar glove [2], comprising a sleeve [4] for storing spare balls [B] which is attachable to the glove [2], wherein the sleeve [4] has a tube-like shape with an open end (when opening and closing portion [10] is open) shaped to receive and store one or more spare balls [B] within the sleeve [4], wherein the sleeve [4] has opposing sides (e.g., left side and right side of crocodile shaped body in Figure 1) and a top side (e.g., top side of crocodile shaped body in Figure 1) that extend the length of the sleeve [4], and wherein the opposing sides (e.g., left side and right side of crocodile shaped body in Figure 1) are made of an elastic material (page 2: “[t]he glove main body 2 may be manufactured by using natural leather or artificial leather” and “[t]he accommodating part 4 may be made of the same material as the main body 2”) and the top side (e.g., top side of crocodile shaped body in Figure 1) is made of a wear-resistant material (page 2: “[t]he glove main body 2 may be manufactured by using natural leather or artificial leather” and “[t]he accommodating part 4 may be made of the same material as the main body 2”) (pages 2-3 and Figure 1; wherein leather has some flexibility and stretchability (i.e., is elastic) and is wear-resistant). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Cohen’s sport paddle to include a sleeve for storing balls because Park teaches that this configuration stores extra balls for use during practice (page 3).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen in view of Park as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Mooney (US 2006/0091174 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Cohen does not disclose the sleeve having a loop shaped to receive one end of the strap therethrough to attach the sleeve to the glove. Mooney, however, teaches a similar sleeve [1] for storing spare balls [B] which is attached to a user via a strap [2], wherein the sleeve [1] has a loop [3] shaped to receive one end of the strap [2] therethrough to attach the sleeve [1] to the user (paragraphs 0014-0015 and Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the modified Cohen sleeve to include a loop shaped to receive one end of the strap therethrough to attach the sleeve to the glove because Mooney teaches that this configuration securely mounts a ball carrier to a strap for easy access by a user (paragraphs 0003 and 0014-0015).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Brewer et al. (US 1,558,666) and 이윤호 (KR 101179817 B1) which disclose similar sports paddles with gloves attached to the back.
/AUDREY B. WALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711