DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yerramalli '163 (US 2023/0176163 A1) in view of Zhuang (US 2024/0147414 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Yerramalli '163 discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (200, Fig. 2), comprising:
at least one memory (211, Fig. 2); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (210, Fig. 2) and configured to cause the first UE to:
receive, from a second device one or more positioning reference signals (934, 952, Fig. 9; 1420, Fig. 14; ¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141) [where the second device is a TRP/network entity];
receive angle-based configuration information comprising an expected search angle window associated with the second device (934, 952, Fig. 9; 1420, Fig. 14; ¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141) [where the second device is a TRP/network entity];
receive location information that indicates a location associated with the second device (¶83; ¶83);
perform, based at least in part on the angle-based configuration information, at least one of
(a) one or more received signal strength (RSS) measurements of the one or more positioning reference signals, or
(b) one or more sidelink angle of arrival (AoA) measurements (¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141);
generate a position measurement report based at least in part on (a) the one or more RSS measurements or (b) the one or more AoA measurements (¶130; ¶144); and
compute a position estimate based at least in part on the location associated with the second device and (a) the one or more RSS measurements or (b) the one or more AoA measurements (¶83; ¶88; ¶100).
With regard to the "sidelink expected search angle window" and "sidelink AoA measurements" limitations, Yerramalli '163 further discloses sidelink channels for communication between UEs (¶37; ¶64) and that a UE can perform functions of the TRP/network entity (¶72) [where 600, Fig. 9 shows a TRP is an example of a network entity].
Yerramalli '163 fails to explicitly disclose the second device being a UE/a UE performing the particular TRP/network entity function of transmitting of the expected search angle window and reference signals for AOA measurements; and the location of the second device being a location of an antenna reference point (ARP) associated with the second UE.
Zhuang teaches:
using sidelink signals between UEs for AOA or AOD position determination (¶57-61; ¶114-116; ¶164-168; ¶377) [i.e. where the second device is a second UE]; and
receiving location information that indicates a location of an antenna reference point (ARP) associated with the second UE (¶192; ¶377).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to look to the art for implementations of a TRP/network entity function (as described in Yerramalli '163) performed by a UE based on the explicit suggestion of Yerramalli '163 (¶72), where Zhuang's implementation would have a reasonable expectation of success based on the fact that Yerramalli '163 system is already configured for sidelink communication.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the first UE performs the AOA positioning related functions that Yerramalli '163 discloses the TRP/network entity performs.
In regard to claim 2, in the combination the one or more positioning reference signals comprise one or more sidelink position reference signals, the angle-based configuration information comprises sidelink angle-based configuration information, and the position measurement report comprises a sidelink position measurement report [where Zhuang teaches implementing an AOA positioning method using sidelink signals, and thus the reference signals, the angle-based configuration information, and the position measurement report will all be done via sidelink signals. See the portions of Zhuang cited in the rejection of claim 1.].
In regard to claim 3, Yerramalli '163 further discloses the angle-based configuration information comprises uncertainty information for the expected search angle window (1152, Fig. 11; 1252, Fig. 12; ¶53; ¶83; ¶113; ¶119) [where in the combination the expected search angle window is a sidelink expected search angle window].
In regard to claim 5, Yerramalli '163 further discloses the one or more positioning reference signals comprise multiple reference signals received over multiple receive paths, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first UE to: perform the one or more RSS measurements for at least one or more receive paths of the multiple receive paths or the one or more AoA measurements for the at least one or more receive paths of the multiple receive paths; compute the position estimate based at least in part on one or more of the one or more RSS measurements or the one or more AoA measurements for the at least one or more receive paths of the multiple receive paths; and generate the position measurement report to indicate the one or more AoA measurements or the one or more RSS measurements for the at least one or more receive paths of the multiple receive paths (Fig. 7B; ¶106-109) [where in the combination the AoA measurements are sidelink AoA measurements].
In regard to claim 6, Yerramalli '163 further discloses a number of receive paths measured for the one or more AoA measurements is based at least in part on a capability of the first UE (550, Fig. 5; 912, Fig. 9; Fig. 10; ¶103; ¶110; ¶140; ¶145) [where in the combination the AoA measurements are sidelink AoA measurements].
In regard to claim 7, Yerramalli '163 further discloses the one or more RSS measurements or the one or more sidelink AoA measurements comprise, for each receive path of the multiple receive paths, at least one of path delay, amplitude response, or a line of sight (LOS) indicator, or a non-LOS indicator (¶100-101) [where a line of sight (LOS)/non-LOS indicator is determined in order to use the LOS and NLOS signals in order to characterize the environment].
In regard to claim 8, Yerramalli '163 further discloses the position estimate comprises one or more of an absolute position, a relative position, or a range comprising one or more of distance or direction (¶39; ¶88; ¶98; ¶100).
In regard to claim 9, this claim is directed to features that are not required to be part of the claimed invention per independent claim 1, which clearly sets forth RSS measurements [alternative (a) in the rejection of claim 1, above] as an alternative to AOA measurements [alternative (b) in the rejection of claim 1, above]”.
If a parent claim includes alternative limitations, and the reference teaches one of the alternatives, further limitations to the other alternative(s) in dependent claims are not required limitations. See Ex parte Werner, Appeal 2019-001448, Application No. 15/109,888, March 23, 2020, 15 pages.
In regard to claim 12, Yerramalli '163 further discloses the expected search angle window is based at least in part on one or more of: approximate location information for the first UE; a relative position of the first UE; or a range value including one or more of a distance value or a direction value (¶137) [where in the combination the search angle window are a sidelink search angle window].
In regard to claim 13, Yerramalli '163 further discloses one or more of the approximate location information for the first UE, the relative position of the first UE, or the range value are associated with an uncertainty value (1152, Fig. 11; 1252, Fig. 12; ¶113; ¶119) [where the uncertainty value of the expected search angle window is associated with the expected search angle window, which is associated with the approximate location used to generate the search angle window].
In regard to claim 14, Yerramalli '163 further discloses the sidelink expected search angle window is configured for one or more of an expected azimuth AoA, an expected zenith AoA, an expected azimuth AoD, or an expected zenith AoD (¶106) [where in the combination the search angle window are a sidelink search angle window].
In regard to claim 15, Yerramalli '163 further discloses the at least one processor is configured to cause the first UE to perform per path information request and reporting for timing-based measurements based at least in part on one or more of time difference of arrival (TDoA) or round trip time (RTT) (¶46) [where a TDOA based position method may be used with one or more of an AOA or AOD positioning method, and where in the combination the positioning is sidelink based positioning].
In regard to claim 16, Yerramalli '163 discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (211, Fig. 2); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (210, Fig. 2) and configured to cause the first UE to:
receive, from a second device and over multiple receive paths, positioning reference signals; receive angle-based configuration information comprising an expected search angle window associated with the second device [where the second device is a TRP/network entity] (Fig. 7B; 934, 952, Fig. 9; 1420, Fig. 14; ¶100; ¶106-109; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141);
receive location information that indicates a location associated with the second device (¶83; ¶83);
perform, based at least in part on the angle-based configuration information, one or more of positioning reference signal
(a) received signal strength (RSS) measurements or
(b) sidelink angle of arrival (AoA) measurements (¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141);
generate a position measurement report based at least in part on at least one of (a) the positioning reference signal RSS measurements or (b) the AoA measurements (¶130; ¶144), wherein the position measurement report comprises
(c) a set of positioning reference signal RSS measurements for a first set of receive paths of the multiple receive paths, or
(d) a set of AoA measurements for a second set of receive paths of the multiple receive paths (Fig. 7B; ¶88; ¶106-109) [where ¶88 teaches that two directions/AOA/AOD are needed to estimate the location of the UE, and thus a second set of receive paths from the second transmitter will be used, where each set is a set of direction and reflected/multipath signals]; and
compute a position estimate based at least in part on the location associated with the second device and (a) the positioning reference signal RSS measurements or sidelink AoA measurements (¶46; ¶50; ¶88; ¶100) [where ¶46 discloses that AOA positioning may be used with other positioning methods, and ¶50 discloses an RSS positioning method (RSSI)].
With regard to the "sidelink expected search angle window" and "sidelink AoA measurements" limitations, Yerramalli '163 further discloses sidelink channels for communication between UEs (¶37; ¶64) and that a UE can perform functions of the TRP/network entity (¶72) [where 600, Fig. 9 shows a TRP is an example of a network entity].
Yerramalli '163 fails to explicitly disclose the second device being a UE/a UE performing the particular TRP/network entity function of transmitting of the expected search angle window and reference signals for AOA measurements; and the location of the second device being a location of an antenna reference point (ARP) associated with the second UE.
Zhuang teaches:
using sidelink signals between UEs for AOA or AOD position determination (¶57-61; ¶114-116; ¶164-168; ¶377) [i.e. where the second device is a second UE]; and
receiving location information that indicates a location of an antenna reference point (ARP) associated with the second UE (¶192; ¶377).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to look to the art for implementations of a TRP/network entity function (as described in Yerramalli '163) performed by a UE based on the explicit suggestion of Yerramalli '163 (¶72), where Zhuang's implementation would have a reasonable expectation of success based on the fact that Yerramalli '163 system is already configured for sidelink communication.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the UE performs the AOA positioning related functions that Yerramalli '163 discloses the TRP/network entity performs.
In regard to claim 17, this claim is directed to features that are not required to be part of the claimed invention per independent claim 1, which clearly sets forth a first set of receive paths [alternative (c) in the rejection of claim 16, above] as an alternative to a second set of receive paths [alternative (d) in the rejection of claim 16, above]”.
If a parent claim includes alternative limitations, and the reference teaches one of the alternatives, further limitations to the other alternative(s) in dependent claims are not required limitations. See Ex parte Werner, Appeal 2019-001448, Application No. 15/109,888, March 23, 2020, 15 pages.
In regard to claim 18, Yerramalli '163 further discloses a number of receive paths measured for the AoA measurements is based at least in part on a capability of the first UE (550, Fig. 5; 912, Fig. 9; Fig. 10; ¶103; ¶110; ¶140; ¶145) [where a UE that is capable of receiving over a greater angle can receive a greater number of receive path signals; and where in the combination the AoA measurements are sidelink AoA measurements].
In regard to claim 19, Yerramalli '163 further discloses the sidelink AoA measurements for the second set of receive paths comprise, for each receive path of the second set of receive paths, at least one of path delay, amplitude response, or a line of sight (LOS) indicator or non-LOS indicator (¶100-101) [where a line of sight (LOS)/non-LOS indicator is determined in order to use the LOS and NLOS signals in order to characterize the environment].
In regard to claim 20, Yerramalli '163 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (311, Fig. 3); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (310, Fig. 3) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a target user equipment (UE), one or more positioning reference signals (934, 952, Fig. 9; 1420, Fig. 14; ¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141);
transmit, to the target UE, location information that indicates the location associated with the apparatus (¶83; ¶83); and
receive, from the target UE and based in part on the location associated with the apparatus, a position measurement report (962, Fig. 9).
It is noted that the remained of the claim "based at least in part on the location of the ARP associated with the apparatus, a position measurement report that indicates at least one of one or more positioning reference signal received signal strength (RSS) measurements of the one or more positioning reference signals or one or more sidelink angle of arrival (AoA) measurement measurements associated with angle-based configuration information comprising a sidelink expected search window" does not further limit the structure of the apparatus. Receiving a position is receiving a position measurement report. How the other station determined the position does not change the structure of the apparatus. An existing UE, TRP, or network entity will still have the same structure if a station it is communicating with calculates the station's position in a different way before reporting that position to the UE, TRP, or network entity.
Although it is not required, it is noted that Yerramalli '163 further discloses the position of the position measurement report based at least in part on (a) one or more of one or more positioning reference signal received signal strength (RSS) measurements or (b) an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement using the angle-based configuration information (¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141).
With regard to the "sidelink expected search angle window" and "sidelink AoA measurements" limitations, Yerramalli '163 further discloses sidelink channels for communication between UEs (¶37; ¶64) and that a UE can perform functions of the TRP/network entity (¶72) [where 600, Fig. 9 shows a TRP is an example of a network entity].
Yerramalli '163 fails to explicitly disclose the second device being a UE/a UE performing the particular TRP/network entity function of transmitting of the expected search angle window and reference signals for AOA measurements; and the location of the second device being a location of an antenna reference point (ARP) associated with the second UE.
Zhuang teaches:
using sidelink signals between UEs for AOA or AOD position determination (¶57-61; ¶114-116; ¶164-168; ¶377) [i.e. where the second device is a second UE]; and
receiving location information that indicates a location of an antenna reference point (ARP) associated with the second UE (¶192; ¶377).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to look to the art for implementations of a TRP/network entity function (as described in Yerramalli '163) performed by a UE based on the explicit suggestion of Yerramalli '163 (¶72), where Zhuang's implementation would have a reasonable expectation of success based on the fact that Yerramalli '163 system is already configured for sidelink communication.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the UE performs the AOA positioning related functions that Yerramalli '163 discloses the TRP/network entity performs.
In regard to claim 23, Yerramalli '163 discloses a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) (200, Fig. 2), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second device, one or more positioning reference signals (934, 952, Fig. 9; 1420, Fig. 14; ¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141) [where the second device is a TRP/network entity];
receiving angle-based configuration information comprising a sidelink expected search angle window associated with the second device (934, 952, Fig. 9; 1420, Fig. 14; ¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141) [where the second device is a TRP/network entity];
receiving location information that indicates a location associated with the second device (¶83; ¶83);
performing, based at least in part on the angle-based configuration information, at least one of
(a) one or more received signal strength (RSS) measurements of the one or more positioning reference signals, or
(b) one or more sidelink angle of arrival (AoA) measurements (¶100; ¶113; ¶129; ¶141);
generating a position measurement report based at least in part on the one or more RSS measurements or the one or more sidelink AoA measurements (¶130; ¶144); and
computing a position estimate based at least in part on the location associated with the second device and the one or more RSS measurements or the one or more sidelink AoA measurements (¶83; ¶88; ¶100).
Yerramalli '163 fails to explicitly disclose the second device being a UE/a UE performing the particular TRP/network entity function of transmitting of the expected search angle window and reference signals for AOA measurements; and the location of the second device being a location of an antenna reference point (ARP) associated with the second UE.
Zhuang teaches:
using sidelink signals between UEs for AOA or AOD position determination (¶57-61; ¶114-116; ¶164-168; ¶377) [i.e. where the second device is a second UE]; and
receiving location information that indicates a location of an antenna reference point (ARP) associated with the second UE (¶192; ¶377).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to look to the art for implementations of a TRP/network entity function (as described in Yerramalli '163) performed by a UE based on the explicit suggestion of Yerramalli '163 (¶72), where Zhuang's implementation would have a reasonable expectation of success based on the fact that Yerramalli '163 system is already configured for sidelink communication.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the first UE performs the AOA positioning related functions that Yerramalli '163 discloses the TRP/network entity performs.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli '163 and Zhuang, as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Senoo (US 2014/0079052 A1).
Yerramalli '163 further discloses:
determining at least one of one or more azimuth angles or one or more zenith angles for one or more of an angle of departure (AoD) or an AoA (¶106);
determining a distance to the UE based on a propagation time (¶84); and
combining the distance and direction to determine the location of the UE (¶39; ¶62).
Yerramalli '163 and Zhuang fail to teach the angle-based configuration information comprises signal strength metrics for at least one of one or more azimuth angles or one or more zenith angles for one or more of AoD or AoA.
Senoo teaches angle-based configuration information comprises signal strength metrics in order to determine a distance to a UE using a path loss measurement (¶148-151).
Replacing the distance calculation using propagation time with a distance calculation using path loss is a simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to perform the same function and obtain predictable results. Because both elements are known methods of determining distance, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other to achieve the predictable result of determining the distance.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli '163 and Zhuang, as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Manolakos (US 2023/0366976 A1).
Zhuang further teaches that the first UE can use a local coordinate system (LCS) (¶83).
Yerramalli '163 and Zhuang fail to teach the position measurement report indicates the one or more sidelink AoA measurements with respect to the local coordinate system (LCS) of the first UE, and wherein the position measurement report comprises LCS-to-global coordinate system (GCS) translation information comprising a bearing angle, a downtilt angle, and a slant angle for translation of the LCS to a GCS.
Manolakos teaches a position measurement report indicates the one or more AoA measurements with respect to a local coordinate system (LCS) of the first UE, and wherein the position measurement report comprises LCS-to-global coordinate system (GCS) translation information comprising a bearing angle, a downtilt angle, and a slant angle for translation of the LCS to a GCS (¶163; ¶167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow conversion from the local coordinate system into a global coordinate system to allow the determined position to be used by applications that use global coordinate systems, such as displaying the determined position on a preexisting map application.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position coordinates are translated into a more universal format.
In the combination, the AoA measurements are sidelink AoA measurements.
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Shin (US 2023/0034336 A1), which teaches using sidelink to determine AOA using PSBCH-RSRP, PSSCH-RSRP, or PSCCH-RSRP (¶91; ¶111; ¶118).
Goyal (US 2022/0295442 A1) teaches using sidelink signals between UEs for AOA position determination (¶151; ¶164-165).
Jiang (US 2024/0295626 A1), which teaches sidelink AOA and AOD determination (¶94; ¶96).
Keating (US 2024/0147411 A1), which teaches sidelink AOA positioning (abstract; ¶54; ¶62-63).
Garcia (A Tutorial on 5G NR V2X Communications), which teaches sidelink positioning and ranging in 5G V2X communications (Fig. 1; p. 1983; p. 2020).
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on p. 9, with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejection(s), have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection(s) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on p. 10-12, with respect to the prior art rejection(s)have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the location information of the device in Yerramalli is not the same thing as location information of the antenna of the device. To clarify how the combination between Yerramalli and Zhuang would work, the rejection now points to where Zhuang explicitly discloses location information of the device being location information of the antenna of the device/an antenna reference point.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment of 9-21-2026 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, e.g., claim(s) 23-24 where added, necessitating the new grounds of rejection. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648