DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13, 15, 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2023/0125710 A1) (Gulati herein after) in view of Gangakhedkar et al. (US 2019/0239181 A1) (Gangakhedkar herein after).
Re Claims 1, 15 and 21, Gulati discloses a configuration device for wireless communication, method performed by a configuration device and processor for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (memory [0035]); and
at least one processor (processor [0035]) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the configuration device to:
transmit a sidelink positioning request to one or more sidelink devices as potential sidelink anchor devices (UE A 120 may transmit, and the UE B 120 may receive, a positioning request. The positioning request may be associated with a procedure for determining a position of the UE A 120 [0081], UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a capability exchange. In some aspects, the capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120. Similarly, the capability exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE A 120, and the UE A 120 responding by providing capability information associated with the UE A 120. In some aspects, capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like) [0082]);
receive, from the one or more sidelink devices, anchor device information (the UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a capability exchange. In some aspects, the capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120. Similarly, the capability exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE A 120, and the UE A 120 responding by providing capability information associated with the UE A 120 [0082]); and
transmit a sidelink positioning reference signal transmission configuration to an anchor device, wherein the anchor device is at least one of the one or more sidelink devices (UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a PRS exchange. In some aspects, the PRS exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a first PRS to the UE A 120. In some aspects, the first PRS may be based at least in part on the first set of assistance data [0084]).
Gulati discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches receive, from the one or more sidelink devices, anchor device information and a location of the respective one or more sidelink devices.
However, Gangakhedkar discloses a system and method for implementing a positioning related signaling exchange wherein transmitter (209) of the anchor node provides the target node (204) with positioning support. In some embodiments this positioning support takes the form of a position reference signal. In other embodiments the position reference signal may be preceded by the transmitter (209) transmitting positioning information that the target node can use to obtain information about the anchor node, which it needs to receive the position reference signal. This positioning information can also be considered to be positioning support that the anchor node provides to the target node ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Gulati, by making use of the technique taught by Gangakhedkar, in order to improve the positioning accuracy.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of positioning estimation, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Gulati, nor does Gulati teach away from the modification (Gulati merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the positioning support taught by Gangakhedkar is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of receive, from the one or more sidelink devices, anchor device information and a location of the respective one or more sidelink devices.
Re Claims 2 and 22, the combined teachings disclose the configuration device of claim 1 and the processor of claim 21, Gangakhedkar discloses wherein the location of the at least one sidelink device is designated as a fixed location in time (anchor nodes might have a fixed position [0039]).
Re Claims 3 and 23, the combined teachings disclose the configuration device of claim 1 and the processor of claim 21, Gangakhedkar discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the configuration device to select the at least one sidelink device as the anchor device based at least in part on one or more of:
a sidelink line-of-sight link quality between the configuration device and the at least one sidelink device; a sidelink communication range of the at least one sidelink device to the configuration device; or
a sidelink measurement quality (The anchor selection criteria include one or more of the following: geometrical distribution of the anchor nodes, precision of the anchor nodes, link quality etc. (Link quality might be determined, for example, by the SINR of a transmission received from the anchor node, which might be based on the receipt of the CP response by the target node) [0060]).
Re Claims 4 and 24, the combined teachings disclose the configuration device of claim 1 and the processor of claim 21, Gangakhedkar discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the configuration device to:
receive, from the at least one sidelink device, one or more sidelink measurements and the location of the at least one sidelink device (transmitter (209) of the anchor node provides the target node (204) with positioning support. In some embodiments this positioning support takes the form of a position reference signal. In other embodiments the position reference signal may be preceded by the transmitter (209) transmitting positioning information that the target node can use to obtain information about the anchor node, which it needs to receive the position reference signal. This positioning information can also be considered to be positioning support that the anchor node provides to the target node [0080]); and
select the at least one sidelink device as the anchor device based at least in part on the one or more sidelink measurements and the location (anchor selection criteria might include one or more of the following: geometrical distribution of the anchor nodes, precision of the anchor nodes, link quality with the anchor nodes etc. In one embodiment the selection units (203, 206) select the set of anchor nodes for providing positioning support to the target node by implementing the anchor selection logical function [0072]).
Re Claims 5 and 25, the combined teachings disclose the configuration device of claim 1 and the processor of claim 21, Gulati discloses wherein the configuration device comprises at least one of a user equipment (UE), an anchor UE, a base station, a next-generation NodeB (gNB), a roadside unit, or a location server (UE A 120 may transmit, and the UE B 120 may receive, a positioning request. The positioning request may be associated with a procedure for determining a position of the UE A 120 [0081]).
Re Claims 6 and 26, the combined teachings disclose the configuration device of claim 1 and the processor of claim 21, Gangakhedkar discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the configuration device to select the anchor device based at least in part on one or more of a link quality between each of the potential sidelink anchor devices, or a coverage area of each of the potential sidelink anchor devices (The anchor selection criteria include one or more of the following: geometrical distribution of the anchor nodes, precision of the anchor nodes, link quality etc. (Link quality might be determined, for example, by the SINR of a transmission received from the anchor node, which might be based on the receipt of the CP response by the target node) [0060]).
Re Claims 7 and 27, the combined teachings disclose the configuration device of claim 1 and the processor of claim 21, Gulati discloses wherein the configuration device comprises a user equipment (UE), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to configure the anchor device according to at least one of a UE-based UE-configured anchor device configuration, a UE-based network-configured anchor device configuration, a UE-assisted UE-configured anchor device configuration, or a UE-assisted network-configured anchor device configuration (sidelink-assisted positioning. In some aspects, a UE's position may be determined using input from one or more other devices that represent various perspectives. In various aspects of the techniques described herein, any number of UEs may be involved in a sidelink-assisted positioning process [0077[).
Re Claim 8, Gulati discloses an anchor device for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (memory [0035]); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (processor [0035]) and configured to cause the anchor device to:
receive, from a configuration device, a sidelink positioning request (UE A 120 may transmit, and the UE B 120 may receive, a positioning request. The positioning request may be associated with a procedure for determining a position of the UE A 120 [0081], UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a capability exchange. In some aspects, the capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120. Similarly, the capability exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE A 120, and the UE A 120 responding by providing capability information associated with the UE A 120. In some aspects, capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like) [0082]);
transmit, to the configuration device, anchor device information (the UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a capability exchange. In some aspects, the capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120. Similarly, the capability exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE A 120, and the UE A 120 responding by providing capability information associated with the UE A 120 [0082]); and
receive, as a selected anchor device based at least in part on the anchor device information and the location of the anchor device, a sidelink positioning reference signal transmission configuration establishing a sidelink positioning session with one or more target devices (UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a PRS exchange. In some aspects, the PRS exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a first PRS to the UE A 120. In some aspects, the first PRS may be based at least in part on the first set of assistance data [0084]).
Gulati discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches transmit, to the configuration device, anchor device information and a location of the anchor device.
However, Gangakhedkar discloses a system and method for implementing a positioning related signaling exchange wherein transmitter (209) of the anchor node provides the target node (204) with positioning support. In some embodiments this positioning support takes the form of a position reference signal. In other embodiments the position reference signal may be preceded by the transmitter (209) transmitting positioning information that the target node can use to obtain information about the anchor node, which it needs to receive the position reference signal. This positioning information can also be considered to be positioning support that the anchor node provides to the target node ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Gulati, by making use of the technique taught by Gangakhedkar, in order to improve the positioning accuracy.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of positioning estimation, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Gulati, nor does Gulati teach away from the modification (Gulati merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the positioning support taught by Gangakhedkar is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of transmit, to the configuration device, anchor device information and a location of the anchor device.
Re Claim 9, the combined teachings disclose the anchor device of claim 8, Gangakhedkar discloses wherein the location of the anchor device is designated as a fixed location in time (anchor nodes might have a fixed position [0039]).
Re Claim 10, the combined teachings disclose the anchor device of claim 8, Gangakhedkar discloses wherein the anchor device is selected as the anchor device based at least in part on one or more of:
a sidelink line-of-sight link quality between the anchor device and the one or more target devices; a sidelink communication range of the anchor device to the one or more target devices; or a sidelink measurement quality (The anchor selection criteria include one or more of the following: geometrical distribution of the anchor nodes, precision of the anchor nodes, link quality etc. (Link quality might be determined, for example, by the SINR of a transmission received from the anchor node, which might be based on the receipt of the CP response by the target node) [0060]).
Re Claim 11, the combined teachings disclose the anchor device of claim 8, Gulati discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the anchor device to transmit a sidelink positioning reference signal to the one or more target devices based at least in part on the location of the anchor device and mobility of the anchor device (assistance data exchange may include the UE B 120 providing a second set of assistance data to the UE A 120. In some aspects, the first set of assistance data may include a first set of PRS configuration information associated with the UE A 120, the UE B 120, and/or the like. In some aspects, the second set of assistance data may include a second set of PRS configuration information associated with the UE A 120 ([0083]); UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a PRS exchange. In some aspects, the PRS exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a first PRS to the UE A 120. In some aspects, the first PRS may be based at least in part on the first set of assistance data [0084]).
Re Claim 13, the combined teachings disclose the anchor device of claim 8, Gulati discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the anchor device to transmit at least one of sidelink positioning configuration information, the anchor device information and the location of the anchor device, or pre-defined assistance information to the one or more target devices participating in the sidelink positioning session (assistance data exchange may include the UE B 120 providing a second set of assistance data to the UE A 120. In some aspects, the first set of assistance data may include a first set of PRS configuration information associated with the UE A 120, the UE B 120, and/or the like. In some aspects, the second set of assistance data may include a second set of PRS configuration information associated with the UE A 120 ([0083])).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barbu et al. (US 2025/0151022 A1) - Positioning in a first terminal device that performs receiving from a coordination entity an anchor feared event request for sidelink positioning of a target device
Wu et al. (US 2023/0061043 A1) – anchor device association for sidelink positioning
Rao et al. (US 2025/0088883 A1) – method and system to perform and report positioning measurements including SL collaborative measurements
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631