DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the applicant's filing of 09/19/2024.
Status of Claims
Preliminary amendments, filed on 09/19/2024, canceled claims 20-23 and amended claims 7, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, and 24. Claims 1-19 and 24 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2024 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitation “a data capture tool configured to capture raw environmental data from a first plurality of communication channels pertaining to an organisation, and to capture a set of comparison data from a second plurality of communication channels; a data analysis module configured to compare the captured raw environmental data against the set of comparison data; and a reporting module configured to output, based on an analysis output of the data analysis module, an environmental action trigger, and to route an electronic communication comprising the environmental action trigger to one or more user interface of one or more respective computer device,” which have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “data capture tool / data analysis module / reporting module” configured to “capture raw environmental data from a first plurality of communication channels pertaining to an organisation, and capture a set of comparison data from a second plurality of communication channels / compare the captured raw environmental data against the set of comparison data / output, based on an analysis output of the data analysis module, an environmental action trigger, and route an electronic communication comprising the environmental action trigger” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Dependent claim 10 recites the limitation “a data processing module configured to receive the captured data from the first plurality of communication channels in a first format and from the second plurality of communication channels in a second format and to process the captured data to convert the first and second format to a common format for storage in the database,” which have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “data processing module” configured to “receive the captured data from the first plurality of communication channels in a first format and from the second plurality of communication channels in a second format and to process the captured data to convert the first and second format to a common format for storage in the database” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1 and 10 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The Examiner interprets the elements “data capture tool / data analysis module / reporting module / data processing module” configurations to be hardware components or “programmed computer” (See pages 12-17 of the Applicant's originally filed specification).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to statutory subject matter. Independent claim 19 references " A transitory or non-transitory computer readable media on which are stored computer-readable instructions which, when executed by a processor of a computer device cause the processor to". The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), during prosecution, applies to claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). According to page 7 of the Applicant’s specification, “According to a fourth aspect of the invention there is provided a transitory or non-transitory computer readable media on which are stored computer-readable instructions which, when executed by a processor of a computer device cause the processor to carry out a method according to the third aspect of the invention.” This open ended definition does not explicitly exclude carrier signals or propagating waves. Therefore the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term computer usable storage device includes "signals" and "carrier waves". Signals are not a statutory type of storage media (In re Nuitjen, 84 USPQ2d 1495 and "Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media" at http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/notices/101_crm_20100127.pdf).
"In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer usable storage device that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. Cf. Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure. See, e.g., Gentry Gallery, Inc. v. Berkline Corp., 134 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Claims 1-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: In a test for patent subject matter eligibility, claims 1-18 and 24 are found to be in accordance with Step 1 (see 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility), as they are related to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Claims 1-17 and 24 recite a system, claim 18 recites a method, and claim 19 recites a computer-readable medium. When assessed under Step 2A, Prong I, they are found to be directed towards an abstract idea. The rationale for this finding is explained below:
Step 2A, Prong I: Under Step 2A, Prong I, independent claims 1, 18, and 19 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, as they all recite a judicial exception. Claims 1, 18, and 19 recite limitations directed to the abstract idea including “capturing raw environmental data from a first plurality of communication channels pertaining to an organisation, and a set of comparison data from a second plurality of communication channels; storing the captured raw environmental data and the set of comparison data; comparing the captured raw environmental data against the set of comparison data; and outputting, based on an analysis output, an environmental action trigger, and routing an electronic communication comprising the environmental action trigger.” These further limitations are not seen as any more than the judicial exception. Claims 1, 18, and 19 recite additional limitations including “by a data capture tool, in a data structure stored in a computer memory, by a data analysis module, by a reporting module, and to one or more user interface of one or more respective computer device.” The claims are considered to be an abstract idea under certain methods of organizing human activity because the claims are directed to commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) such as generating an environmental action trigger by monitoring raw environmental data of an organisation. The claims are also considered to be an abstract idea under mental processes because the claims are directed to concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) such as receiving or capturing data (i.e. raw environmental data and comparison data); storing the captured data (i.e. raw environmental data and comparison data); comparing the captured data (i.e. raw environmental data vs comparison data); and outputting, based on an comparison analysis, data (i.e. environment action trigger) to route/send. Therefore, under Step 2A, Prong I, claims 1, 18, and 19 are directed towards an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong II: Step 2A, Prong II is to determine whether any claim recites any additional element that integrate the judicial exception (abstract idea) into a practical application. Claims 1, 18, and 19 recite additional limitations including “by a data capture tool, in a data structure stored in a computer memory, by a data analysis module, by a reporting module, and to one or more user interface of one or more respective computer device.” The limitations reciting – “by a data capture tool, in a data structure stored in a computer memory, by a data analysis module, by a reporting module, and to one or more user interface of one or more respective computer device” are seen as adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, alone, and in combination, these additional elements are seen as using a computer or tool to perform an abstract idea, adding insignificant-extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. They do no more than link the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, i.e. data capture tool, data structure stored in memory, modules, or computer device, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The courts decided that although the additional elements did limit the use of the abstract idea, the court explained that this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and this fails to add an inventive concept to the claims (See Affinity Labs of Texas v. DirecTV, LLC,). Under Step 2A, Prong II, these claims remain directed towards an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Claims 1, 18, and 19 recite additional limitations including “by a data capture tool, in a data structure stored in a computer memory, by a data analysis module, by a reporting module, and to one or more user interface of one or more respective computer device.” These limitations do not integrate the judicial exception (abstract idea) into a practical application because of the analysis provided in Step 2A, Prong II. Claims 1, 18, and 19 do not include additional elements or a combination of elements that result in the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements listed amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component. In addition, the applicant’s specifications describe a “data processing module…or a suitably programmed computer, aided by human user”, see page 12 of Applicant’s originally filed specification, for implementing the computer, which do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea of itself, which is not enough to transform an abstract idea into eligible subject matter. Furthermore, there is no improvement in the functioning of the computer or technological field, and there is no transformation of subject matter into a different state. Under Step 2B in a test for patent subject matter eligibility, these claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-17 and 24 further recite system of claim 1. Dependent claims 2-17 and 24 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea:
Under Step 2A, Prong I, these additional claims only further narrow the abstract idea set forth in claims 1, 18, and 19. For example, claims 2-17 and 24 further describe the limitations for generating an environmental action trigger by monitoring raw environmental data of an organisation – which is only further narrowing the scope of the abstract idea recited in the independent claims.
Under Step 2A, Prong II, for dependent claims 2-17 and 24, there are no additional elements introduced. Thus, they do not present integration into a practical application, or amount to significantly more.
Under Step 2B, the dependent claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, there is no improvement in the functioning of the computer or technological field, and there is no transformation of subject matter into a different state. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional claims do not provide any additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Under Step 2B, these claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-19, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication 2012/0316916 to Andrews in view of U.S. Publication 2022/0019624 to Gwozdz.
Claims 1, 18, and 19 are system, method, and computer-readable medium claims, respectively, with substantially indistinguishable features between each group. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Office has grouped the common method, system and non-transitory computer readable storage medium claims in applying applicable prior art.
With respect to Claim 1:
Andrews teaches:
A computer system for generating an environmental action trigger by monitoring raw environmental data of an organisation, the computer system comprising: a data capture tool configured to capture raw environmental data from a first plurality of communication channels pertaining to an organisation, and to capture a set of comparison data […] (i.e. capturing real-time news and environmental data and composite index) (Andrews: ¶ [0041] “In one implementation, with reference to FIG. 1, the present invention provides a News/Media Analytics System (NMAS) 100 adapted to automatically process and "read" news stories and content from blogs, twitter, and other social media sources, represented by news/media corpus 110, in as close to real-time as possible. Quantitative analysis, techniques or mathematics, such as green scoring/composite module 124 and sentiment processing module 125, in conjunction with computer science are processed by processor 121 of server 120 to arrive at green scores, green certification, and/or model the value of financial securities, including generating a composite environmental or green index. The NMAS 100 automatically processes news stories, filings, new/social media and other content and applies one or more models against the content to determine green scoring and/or anticipate behavior of stock price and other investment vehicles. The NMAS 100 leverages traditional and, especially, new media resources to provide a sentiment-based solution that expands the scope of conventional tools to include social media and online news.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0045] “In addition, the NMAS 100 may include a green classification module 128 adapted to generate a classification system of environmentally conscious or friendly companies that serves as a classification system for green investing and that may be used to create a composite environment index. For example, companies presently assigned an RIC (Reuters Instrument Code), a ticker-like code used to identify financial instruments and indices, may be classified as "green compliant" ( e.g., achieved/maintained a green score of certain level and/or duration). In this manner the invention may be used to create a class of green-RICs for trading purposes. For example, a "Green Sentiment Index" may be generated and maintained comprised, for instance, of companies that have attained a green certification or green-RIC or the like. A green index is likely to attract investors interested in promoting environmentally responsible businesses.”);
a data structure stored in computer memory and configured to store the captured raw environmental data and the set of comparison data (i.e. storing real-time news and environmental data and composite index in databases) (Andrews: ¶ [0044] “In one manner, the NMAS 100 may be used to process traditional and new media sources of content 110 as sources of "Alpha" in the context of determining or representing "greenness" or a composite environmental index. In exemplary implementation, NMAS 100 is operated by a traditional financial services company, e.g., Thomson Reuters, wherein primary databases-internal 112 is internal textual sources, e.g., TR News and TR Feeds, and applies the data against green scoring module 124 and sentiment processing module 125 and may include predictive models to arrive at anticipated market-related behavior. For example, Thomson Reuters sources as the internal primary database may include legal sources (Westlaw), regulatory (SEC in particular, controversy data, sector specific, Etc.), social media (application of special meta-data to make it useful), and news (Thomson Reuters News) and news-like sources, including financial news and reporting. In addition, internal sources 112 may be supplemented with external sources 114, freely available or subscription-based, as additional data points considered by the predictive model. Hard facts, e.g., explosion on an oil rig results in direct financial losses (loss of revenue, damages liability, etc.) as well as negative environmental impact and resulting negative greenness score, and sentiment, e.g., quantifying the effect of fear, uncertainty, negative reputation, etc., are considered as factors that drive green scoring and/or composite environmental or green index.”);
a data analysis module configured to compare the captured raw environmental data against the set of comparison data (i.e. comparing raw data such as news/social media data against composite index in order to determine a classification of the green score) (Andrews: ¶ [0065] “In one exemplary method of the present invention, and with reference to the flow of FIG. 3, the following processes are performed. Initially, at step 302, a user obtains information and content of interest from suitable news/social media sources (news feeds, blogs, websites etc.) from internal or external sources. At step 304 the system applies pre-processing to obtained information to identify embedded metadata or other descriptors, process text, words, phrases and attribute relevance to one or more companies. At step 306, the system applies sentiment analysis and arrive at one or more sentiment scores associated with obtained and processed information as it relates to companies of interest identified therein. At step 308, the system optionally ( as discussed elsewhere herein) may apply a risk taxonomy to arrive at a separate score or indication or a derivative score or indication related to a green score or composite index. At step 310, the system applies a predictive model using the sentiment score to arrive at a green score, e.g., to arrive at a predicted condition or price behavior associated with each company. At step 312, for a set of companies each having a green score, the system generates an expression of a composite index of the set of green scores, e.g., the index representing predicted behavior and/or a suggested action to take in light of the predicted behavior ( e.g., buy, sell or hold) of the corresponding set of stock prices.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0045] “In addition, the NMAS 100 may include a green classification module 128 adapted to generate a classification system of environmentally conscious or friendly companies that serves as a classification system for green investing and that may be used to create a composite environment index. For example, companies presently assigned an RIC (Reuters Instrument Code), a ticker-like code used to identify financial instruments and indices, may be classified as "green compliant" ( e.g., achieved/maintained a green score of certain level and/or duration). In this manner the invention may be used to create a class of green-RICs for trading purposes. For example, a "Green Sentiment Index" may be generated and maintained comprised, for instance, of companies that have attained a green certification or green-RIC or the like. A green index is likely to attract investors interested in promoting environmentally responsible businesses.”); and
a reporting module configured to output, based on an analysis output of the data analysis module, an environmental action trigger, and to route an electronic communication comprising the environmental action trigger to one or more user interface of one or more respective computer device (i.e. report and alerts pertaining to green score changes are sent to user) (Andrews: ¶ [0070] “This seems to be particularly true in the case of "green" issues and content. By examining social media-based sentiment the present invention is more responsive to predicting behavior of companies and stock prices in respect to green issues. In the example of FIG. 5, the following analysis is performed: Entity extraction (e.g., subject, company, location, etc.), Source, Author, Volume of the news, Relate to a specific taxonomy/theme (e.g. green), Fact extraction, Topic code assignment, Classification assignment, Analyze the tone, Assign a sentiment ( + or - ), Instrument code assignment (e.g., RIC, green-RIC). Outputs resulting from analysis of the sourced data may take any of the following forms for delivery: a real-time stream (and historical database) of sentiment/score for a given company for a given taxonomy; a real-time stream (and historical database) of sentiment/score of more than one company representing composite a composite index; an alerting service in the shape of a electronic message indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset % for a given period of time; and/or an alerting service in the format of an electronic message indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset% by the user/system for a given period of time preset by the user/system. The recipient of the output deliverable may then further process the output as desired.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0073] “Now with reference to FIG. 7, and in context of the Green Sentiment Composite Index aspect of the present invention, NMAS 100 may have as its core foundation a combination of machine learning and Artificial Intelligence (AI) capabilities that provide intelligent information for use in analyzing impact of green behavior of public and private companies. The resulting output of NMAS 100 may be in the form of a Green Sentiment Company & Composite Index, Intelligent alerts, and/or desktop client/interface and tool set. NMAS 100 may utilize a highly specialized taxonomy geared towards scoring environmental topics relevant to companies and industries. Every source will have its own nuanced taxonomy and weighting for the index calculation, e.g., by Velocity Analytics. Once operational, AI can adapt to changing market conditions and expand the taxonomy to include newly developing lingo and highlight patterns of text that are most correlated with equity price movements. In implementation, the invention may provide a classification for green investing, green alerts in the SEC may be triggered, investors may trade based on the green-RIC or classification, social media components added to overall green-investment community, and green data feeds may be delivered for further processing by investors.”).
Andrews does not explicitly disclose a data capture tool configured to capture raw environmental data from a first plurality of communication channels pertaining to an organisation, and to capture a set of comparison data from a second plurality of communication channels.
However, Gwozdz further discloses a data capture tool configured to capture raw environmental data from a first plurality of communication channels pertaining to an organisation, and to capture a set of comparison data from a second plurality of communication channels (i.e. capturing raw environmental data and comparison via different sources such as deal documents or third party sources) (Gwozdz: ¶ [0182] “FIG. 25 represents a data map, according to an embodiment of the present invention. The data map may include data from deal documents and exhibits, signals, third party sources. Data may also be identified as being out of scope. Signals repository may include governance ( e.g., complaints, etc.); social (e.g. FEMA disaster declarations, proximity to bike share, proximity to public transit, proximity to EV charging stations, social vulnerability index, social building certifications, etc.) and environmental (e.g., green building certifications, deforestation, seas rise, water intensity, physical risk, energy intensity, etc.).” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0162] “Client 2110 may provide an input represented by Security Masterfile 2112 or Security in-app 2114. Process may initiate at 2116 and determine whether the input is a valid identifier at 2118. This may involve checking for presence in a security master. If yes, the process may determine whether this is a duplicate identifier at 2120 and logged at 2146. If not, the process may identify corresponding documents at 2122. This may be represented by a document flag in database, such as Postgres. The process may then identify a source, at 2124, 2126, 2128 and retrieve documents at 2130, 2132, 2134, 2136 and process documents at 2138. If a source is not identified and documents are not deemed relevant, the coverage may be logged as "No Linked" at 2150. If documents are identified and deemed relevant, coverage may be logged as "Documents" at 2152. Log processing details may be captured at 2154 and metadata details at 2156.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to add Gwozdz’s data capture tool configured to capture raw environmental data from a first plurality of communication channels pertaining to an organisation, and to capture a set of comparison data from a second plurality of communication channels to Andrews’ reporting module configured to output, based on a comparison between raw environmental data and comparison data, an environmental action trigger, and to route an electronic communication comprising the environmental action trigger to one or more user interface of one or more respective computer device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order “to have a system and method that could overcome the foregoing disadvantages of known systems and that could apply automated and customized analysis to analyze documents, communications, text files, websites, and other structured and unstructured input files to generate output in the form of answers to specific questions and other supporting information.” (Gwozdz: ¶ [0009]).
With respect to Claims 18 and 19:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 1. Claim 18 recites “A computer-implemented method for generating an environmental action trigger by monitoring raw environmental data of an organisation, the method comprising:” the steps of system claim 1. Claim 19 recites “A transitory or non-transitory computer readable media on which are stored computer-readable instructions which, when executed by a processor of a computer device cause the processor to:” (Andrews: ¶ [0060]) the steps of system claim 1. Claims 18 and 19 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 1. Therefore they are rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 2:
Andrews teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the set of comparison data comprises a set of benchmark data, wherein the analysis module is configured to determine, based on the benchmark data, a threshold standard of environmental practice, and wherein the environmental action trigger comprises an alert, the alert indicating that the captured raw environmental data does not comply with the threshold standard of environmental practice (i.e. utilizing benchmark data in order to alert indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset% for a given period of time, wherein the indices associated with the benchmark are used as a threshold) (Andrews: ¶ [0049] “The NMAS 100 may be powered by natural language processing with linguistics technology in processing news/media data and content delivered to it. The NMAS 100 analyzes company-related news/media commentary to track "green" sentiment over time. The quantitative "green" strategies provided by the NMAS 100 may be used in market making, in portfolio management to improve asset allocation decisions by benchmarking portfolio sentiment and calculating sector weightings, in fundamental analysis to forecast stock, sector, and market outlooks, in risk management to better understand abnormal risks to portfolios and to develop potential sentiment hedges, and to track and benchmark public perception and media coverage as well as that of competitors.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0065] “At step 308, the system optionally ( as discussed elsewhere herein) may apply a risk taxonomy to arrive at a separate score or indication or a derivative score or indication related to a green score or composite index. At step 310, the system applies a predictive model using the sentiment score to arrive at a green score, e.g., to arrive at a predicted condition or price behavior associated with each company. At step 312, for a set of companies each having a green score, the system generates an expression of a composite index of the set of green scores, e.g., the index representing predicted behavior and/or a suggested action to take in light of the predicted behavior ( e.g., buy, sell or hold) of the corresponding set of stock prices.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0070] “This seems to be particularly true in the case of "green" issues and content. By examining social media-based sentiment the present invention is more responsive to predicting behavior of companies and stock prices in respect to green issues. In the example of FIG. 5, the following analysis is performed: Entity extraction (e.g., subject, company, location, etc.), Source, Author, Volume of the news, Relate to a specific taxonomy/theme (e.g. green), Fact extraction, Topic code assignment, Classification assignment, Analyze the tone, Assign a sentiment ( + or - ), Instrument code assignment (e.g., RIC, green-RIC). Outputs resulting from analysis of the sourced data may take any of the following forms for delivery: a real-time stream (and historical database) of sentiment/score for a given company for a given taxonomy; a real-time stream (and historical database) of sentiment/score of more than one company representing composite a composite index; an alerting service in the shape of a electronic message indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset % for a given period of time; and/or an alerting service in the format of an electronic message indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset% by the user/system for a given period of time preset by the user/system. The recipient of the output deliverable may then further process the output as desired.”).
With respect to Claim 3:
Andrews teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the set of comparison data comprises a set of external communication data issued by the organisation, wherein the data analysis module is configured to determine, based on the external communication data, a reported standard of environmental practice by the organisation, and wherein the output environmental action trigger is output based on a comparison of the reported standard of environmental practice and an actual standard of practice based on the raw environmental data (i.e. index of green classification reads on reported standard, wherein the alert is outputted based on a comparison of the companies’ green score to the composite index) (Andrews: ¶ [0027] “The composite environmental index is determined based at least in part on a set of green scores associated with the set of companies and the green score may be generated in real time and/or be arrived at based on one or more of the following positive criteria: product or manufacturing environmental related compliance or certification; energy efficiency; corporate practices that promote environmental stewardship, consumer protection, human rights, and diversity, business/products involved in green technology, energy efficient technologies, alternative fuel technologies, renewable resource technology and/or the following negative criteria: businesses involved in alcohol, tobacco, gambling, weapons, and/or the military, and businesses not environmental standard compliant.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0065] “At step 308, the system optionally ( as discussed elsewhere herein) may apply a risk taxonomy to arrive at a separate score or indication or a derivative score or indication related to a green score or composite index. At step 310, the system applies a predictive model using the sentiment score to arrive at a green score, e.g., to arrive at a predicted condition or price behavior associated with each company. At step 312, for a set of companies each having a green score, the system generates an expression of a composite index of the set of green scores, e.g., the index representing predicted behavior and/or a suggested action to take in light of the predicted behavior ( e.g., buy, sell or hold) of the corresponding set of stock prices.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0070] “This seems to be particularly true in the case of "green" issues and content. By examining social media-based sentiment the present invention is more responsive to predicting behavior of companies and stock prices in respect to green issues. In the example of FIG. 5, the following analysis is performed: Entity extraction (e.g., subject, company, location, etc.), Source, Author, Volume of the news, Relate to a specific taxonomy/theme (e.g. green), Fact extraction, Topic code assignment, Classification assignment, Analyze the tone, Assign a sentiment ( + or - ), Instrument code assignment (e.g., RIC, green-RIC). Outputs resulting from analysis of the sourced data may take any of the following forms for delivery: a real-time stream (and historical database) of sentiment/score for a given company for a given taxonomy; a real-time stream (and historical database) of sentiment/score of more than one company representing composite a composite index; an alerting service in the shape of a electronic message indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset % for a given period of time; and/or an alerting service in the format of an electronic message indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset% by the user/system for a given period of time preset by the user/system. The recipient of the output deliverable may then further process the output as desired.”).
With respect to Claim 4:
Andrews teaches:
The system of claim 3, wherein the electronic communication comprising the environmental action trigger further comprises a visual indication of a comparison index between the reported standard of environmental practice and the actual standard of practice based on the raw environmental data (i.e. providing an output that compares the green sentiment score for company and the composite index, wherein the composite index represents the environmental standard) (Andrews: Elements I-III in Fig. 5 and ¶ [0070] “FIG. 5 is a flow chart that represents steps in an exemplary method for producing a sentiment for use in green scoring, for example for greenness benchmarking of public and private companies using social media and news content. The exemplary sources of data for processing by NMAS 100 includes: New Agency Wire sources ( e.g., AFP, AP, TR, Reuters, Bloomberg), Social Media (blogs, twitter, RSS, Gigaom, NWCleanTech, ClimateWire), and Internet/Web-based sources (e.g., CNN.com, WSJ.com, lesoir.be). In today's environment, social media often provides more timely sources of information than traditional news outlets. For example, a blogger may post a comment about "Company A", which comment and further commentary are picked up on social media sources before finally being mentioned in syndicated and traditional news stories/sources. This seems to be particularly true in the case of "green" issues and content. By examining social media-based sentiment the present invention is more responsive to predicting behavior of companies and stock prices in respect to green issues. In the example of FIG. 5, the following analysis is performed: Entity extraction (e.g., subject, company, location, etc.), Source, Author, Volume of the news, Relate to a specific taxonomy/theme (e.g. green), Fact extraction, Topic code assignment, Classification assignment, Analyze the tone, Assign a sentiment ( + or - ), Instrument code assignment (e.g., RIC, green-RIC). Outputs resulting from analysis of the sourced data may take any of the following forms for delivery: a real-time stream (and historical database) of sentiment/score for a given company for a given taxonomy; a real-time stream (and historical database) of sentiment/score of more than one company representing composite a composite index; an alerting service in the shape of a electronic message indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset % for a given period of time; and/or an alerting service in the format of an electronic message indicating that an indices for a company has very more than a preset% by the user/system for a given period of time preset by the user/system. The recipient of the output deliverable may then further process the output as desired.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0027] “The composite environmental index is determined based at least in part on a set of green scores associated with the set of companies and the green score may be generated in real time and/or be arrived at based on one or more of the following positive criteria: product or manufacturing environmental related compliance or certification; energy efficiency; corporate practices that promote environmental stewardship, consumer protection, human rights, and diversity, business/products involved in green technology, energy efficient technologies, alternative fuel technologies, renewable resource technology and/or the following negative criteria: businesses involved in alcohol, tobacco, gambling, weapons, and/or the military, and businesses not environmental standard compliant.”).
With respect to Claim 6:
Andrews teaches:
The system of claim 3, wherein the external communications data comprises one or more of: social media publications, web pages, media articles, press releases, annual reports, sustainability reports, policy documents, ESG reports, ESG performance data sheets, spreadsheets, or other investor related communications (i.e. raw/real-time data includes social media data, web data/articles, news articles, reports, and ESG data and other investor-related data) (Andrews: ¶¶ [0047] [0048] “Preferably, a green score of a company or index is calculated in near real time ( e.g., about 150 ms) and is used, for example, to develop alpha strategies for investments, monitor a company's green reputation, and identify changing risk profiles at the company and industry level. Unlike other approaches that rely on periodic research processed by analysts, the present invention receives and continuously processes media feeds, e.g., WWW web and social media feeds, in addition to traditional sources. In one manner, the invention produces a stream of information and data that captures daily trends along with the added value of intelligent alerts and a portal allowing users, e.g., customers, to access a chain of content, e.g., from related and unrelated products, e.g., other Thomson Reuters products. As green or environment related news and social media content increases, media services companies may leverage products and services across a broad platform of offerings, e.g., Thomson Reuters Markets. The present invention enables companies to connect offerings across divisions and accelerate market share penetration of the green analytics space…For example, green score criteria applied by the green scoring module 124 of the NMAS 100 may include: product or manufacturing environmental related compliance or certification; energy efficiency; corporate practices that promote environmental stewardship, consumer protection, human rights, and diversity. Green score criteria applied by the NMAS 100 may further include: positive attributes or scores for business/products involved in green technology, energy efficient technologies, alternative fuel technologies, renewable resource technology, and negative attributes or scores for businesses involved in alcohol, tobacco, gambling, weapons, and/or the military. The areas of concern recognized by the SRI industry can be summarized as environment, social justice, and corporate governance (ESG). Although described in terms of greenness and environmental compliance, the present invention may be applied in terms of creating a healthful, lifestyle, or other classification for scoring companies based on societal goals and pursuits.”).
With respect to Claim 7:
Andrews teaches:
The system of claim 3, wherein the analysis module is configured to automatically classify features of the captured data by environmental semantic theme (i.e. classify environmental data in order to classify the environmentally data into different levels of green compliancy) (Andrews: ¶ [0045] “In addition, the NMAS 100 may include a green classification module 128 adapted to generate a classification system of environmentally conscious or friendly companies that serves as a classification system for green investing and that may be used to create a composite environment index. For example, companies presently assigned an RIC (Reuters Instrument Code), a ticker-like code used to identify financial instruments and indices, may be classified as "green compliant" ( e.g., achieved/maintained a green score of certain level and/or duration). In this manner the invention may be used to create a class of green-RICs for trading purposes. For example, a "Green Sentiment Index" may be generated and maintained comprised, for instance, of companies that have attained a green certification or green-RIC or the like. A green index is likely to attract investors interested in promoting environmentally responsible businesses.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0068] “More particularly, semantic analysis interprets text to discern expressions of affect or opinion and may be used to generate results having semantic awareness. Such systems may be based on ontologies, e.g., a human emotion ontology (HEO), and linguistic resources, e.g., WordNet-Affect (WNA). By extending the use of systems beyond traditional news sources, NMAS can employ the techniques to interpret and process opinions and sentiments expressed in non-traditional outlets/sources, e.g., blogs, wikis, online fora, message boards, chat rooms, social media networks, etc., to determine a green sentiment and green score. With all media sources, but particularly "new media" sources lacking the historic verification internal processes, the system may also assign some level of verification as to the accuracy (actual or perceived (short-term)) of the message. In addition, the system may be configured to identify "false" news and to anticipate short-term effect of such "news" in predicting stock price behavior.”).
With respect to Claim 8:
Andrews teaches:
The system of claim 7, wherein the analysis module comprises a machine learning model, the machine learning model trained on a training data set in which environmental semantic themes are labelled in text of a plurality of training documents (i.e. utilizing AI in order to train data for topology classification with respect to environmental data) (Andrews: ¶ [0073] “Now with reference to FIG. 7, and in context of the Green Sentiment Composite Index aspect of the present invention, NMAS 100 may have as its core foundation