The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The present office action is responsive to communication received 04/30/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Amendments to the claims 12-20 obviate the 112(b) issues.
Amendments to the claim 12 obviate the 101 issues.
Amendments to the claims 2-3, 5, 12-13 obviate the claim objections.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner brings in reference Kalle to disclose the claim limitation “upon the computational performance of a single action, in the form of an input to the processor provided by a reporting device when assessing the existing domain”. Kalle [column 33, lines 30-35] discloses reporting a domain as malicious and then receiving the whitelist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shitrit-Efergan hereinafter referred to as Shitrit-Efergan et al. (US 20180351976) in view of Kalle et al. (US 8826444).
Regarding claim 1,
Shitrit-Efergan discloses a computer implemented method for the reliable blocklisting of an existing domain, the method comprising performing, by a computational system comprising a processor, a storage unit including recorded program instructions to implement the method, the steps of:
automatically obtaining by the processor an allowlist of domains
[may further include generating a white list of FQDMs. To this end, any domain name cached in the DNS resolver is analyzed and added to the white list. (Shitrit-Efergan et al., paragraph 64)]
[it is checked if the requested domain name is designated in the white list, and if so, execution continues with S660; otherwise, at execution continues with S670, where the received DNS request in blocked. As noted above, the white list includes a list of legitimate FQDMs. In some embodiments, the requested domain names from blocked DNS requests are added to a black list. (Shitrit-Efergan et al., paragraph 74)]
the reported domain being potentially malicious, comparing by the processor the reported domain or information associated with the reported domain with the allowlist, the comparison including determining by the processor if the reported domain is part of the allowlist, based on such comparison, determining by the processor whether the reported domain is to be added to a blocklist of domains which comprises a digital collection of domains which have been digitally reported and deemed as malicious, and there from adding the reported domain to the blocklist of domains.
[it is checked if the requested domain name is designated in the white list, and if so, execution continues with S660; otherwise, at execution continues with S670, where the received DNS request in blocked. As noted above, the white list includes a list of legitimate FQDMs. In some embodiments, the requested domain names from blocked DNS requests are added to a black list. (Shitrit-Efergan et al., paragraph 74, please refer to the claim 13 as well)]
Shitrit-Efergan fails to explicitly disclose upon the computational performance of a single action, in the form of an input to the processor provided by a reporting device when assessing the existing domain, such single action involving the indication of the existing domain as a reported domain.
However in an analogous art Kalle discloses upon the computational performance of a single action, in the form of an input to the processor provided by a reporting device when assessing the existing domain, such single action involving the indication of the existing domain as a reported domain.
[In the example of FIG. 20, each of web domains 408 may have been classified as malicious and included within a blacklist by the web domain classification module 110. In that case, web domain classification module 110 may retrieve an independently verified whitelist, in accordance with step 1906 in method 1900, such as independently verified whitelist 2002 ... (Kalle et al., column 33, lines 30-39)]
Shitrit-Efergan and Kalle are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of whitelists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant application effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shitrit-Efergan to incorporate the teachings of Kalle et al. to include upon the computational performance of a single action, in the form of an input to the processor provided by a reporting device when assessing the existing domain, in order receive indications that web domains are trustworthy and not malicious. (Kalle et al., page 33, lines 36-39)].
Regarding claim 12,
Shitrit-Efergan discloses a computational system for the reliable blocklisting of an existing domain,
[it is checked if the requested domain name is designated in the white list, and if so, execution continues with S660; otherwise, at execution continues with S670, where the received DNS request in blocked. As noted above, the white list includes a list of legitimate FQDMs. In some embodiments, the requested domain names from blocked DNS requests are added to a black list. (Shitrit-Efergan et al., paragraph 74, please refer to the claim 13 as well)]
The claim recites substantially the same content as claim 1 and is rejected with the rationales set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle discloses the computer implemented method according to claim 1,
wherein it comprises, prior to obtaining the allowlist, performing a single action by a reporting device in relation to a reported domain, the reported domain being potentially malicious.
[At S630, the received DNS request is parsed to at least identify the domain requested to be resolved. At S640, the requested domain name is compared against the footprints. If a match is found, execution continues with S650; otherwise, at S660, the received request is allowed and sent to the resolver. (Shitrit-Efergan et al., paragraph 73, please refer to Fig. 6 the step before the comparison s630)]
Regarding claim 5 and 15,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle discloses the computer implemented according to claim 1 and a computational system according to claim 12,
wherein the information associated with the reported domain consists of a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI).
[The client device 120 sends a recursive query to the DNS resolver 110 including a query name. The DNS resolver 110 returns an IP address corresponding to the query name. A query name typically includes one or more labels delimited by periods that are translated from right (“top level domain”) to left (“sub domain”). For example, in a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of “www.example.com.”, the root level is represented by the ‘.’, top level domain is “.com”, the domain is “example.com”, and the sub domain is “www”. (Shitrit-Efergan et al., paragraph 4)]
Regarding claim 11,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle discloses the computer implemented method according to claim 1,
wherein, subsequently to the blocklisting of a certain domain or the issuing a digital notification to the identified owner, taking down the domain.
[it is checked if the requested domain name is designated in the white list, and if so, execution continues with S660; otherwise, at execution continues with S670, where the received DNS request in blocked. As noted above, the white list includes a list of legitimate FQDMs. In some embodiments, the requested domain names from blocked DNS requests are added to a black list. (Shitrit-Efergan et al., paragraph 74)]
Claims 3, 6-7, 10, 14, 16-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shitrit-Efergan hereinafter referred to as Shitrit-Efergan et al. (US 20180351976) in view of Kalle et al. (US 8826444) and in further view of Castelao et al. (WO 2021005574).
Regarding claims 3 and 14,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle discloses the computer implemented according to claim 1 and a computational system according to claim 12,
wherein the allowlist of domains is obtained through a brand verification system,
[The white list can be learned by the DNS protection system 210 during the learning phase. The white list can also be defined manually based on the contents of a cache of the DNS resolver 220. (Shitrit-Efergan et al., paragraph 54)]
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle fails to explicitly disclose the brand verification system obtaining at least one brand digital information which is digitally associated with each of the domains, wherein each brand digital information comprises a registered trademark and each of the domains has a Uniform Resource Indicator (URI) which is digitally associated to one of said registered trademarks, such digital association being provided in at least one server of the brand verification system.
However in an analogous art Castelao discloses the brand verification system obtaining at least one brand digital information which is digitally associated with each of the domains, wherein each brand digital information comprises a registered trademark and each of the domains has a Uniform Resource Indicator (URI) which is digitally associated to one of said registered trademarks, such digital association being provided in at least one server of the brand verification system.
[ the brand verification system obtaining brand digital information which is digitally associated with the website, wherein the brand digital information comprises a registered trademark and the website has a Uniform Resource Indicator (URI) which is digitally associated to the registered trademark in at least one server of the brand verification system. (Castelão et al., page 3, lines 8-12)]
Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, and Castelão are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the malicious domain determination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant application effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shitrit-Efergan and Kalle to incorporate the teachings of Castelão et al. to include the brand verification system obtaining at least one brand digital information which is digitally associated with each of the domains, wherein each brand digital information comprises a registered trademark and each of the domains has a Uniform Resource Indicator (URI) which is digitally associated to one of said registered trademarks, such digital association being provided in at least one server of the brand verification system, in order for reliable authentication of origin of the website through a human-centric design. (Castelao et al., page 6, lines 23-25)]
Regarding claims 6 and 16,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle discloses the computer implemented according to claim 1 and a computational system according to claim 12, but fails to explicitly disclose performing a digital search by means of a brand registration system, the brand registration system comprising at least one server managed by an official trademark office, such server comprising a plurality of registered trademarks before such official trademark office, the digital search comprising determining if a domain name or a portion of a domain name of the reported domain corresponds to one of said registered trademarks in the brand registration system
However in an analogous art Castelão discloses
performing a digital search by means of a brand registration system, the brand registration system comprising at least one server managed by an official trademark office, such server comprising a plurality of registered trademarks before such official trademark office, the digital search comprising determining if a domain name or a portion of a domain name of the reported domain corresponds to one of said registered trademarks in the brand registration system.
[The brand verification system is configured to further communicate with a brand registration system, which consists of at least one server managed by an official trademark office, and which is recognized as having original registered trademarks, owned by a specific entity, and which are not confoundable with registered trademarks from other entities. Such communication allows the verification of whether a specific brand digital information - registered trademark - is indeed registered. It therefore provides a highly simple and efficient way to implement the method of the present invention. (Castelao et al., page 7, lines 19-26)]
Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, and Castelão are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the malicious domain determination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant application effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shitrit-Efergan and Kalle to incorporate the teachings of Castelão et al. to include performing a digital search by means of a brand registration system, the brand registration system comprising at least one server managed by an official trademark office, such server comprising a plurality of registered trademarks before such official trademark office, the digital search comprising determining if a domain name or a portion of a domain name of the reported domain corresponds to one of said registered trademarks in the brand registration system, in order for reliable authentication of origin of the website through a human-centric design. (Castelao et al., page 6, lines 23-25)]
Regarding claims 7 and 17,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle and in further view Castelao discloses the computer implemented method according to claim 6 and a computational system according to claim 16,
wherein the digital search is performed upon the comparison of the reported domain or information associated with the reported domain with the allowlist and therefrom determining that the reported domain is not associated with the allowlist.
[The brand verification system is configured to further communicate with a brand registration system, which consists of at least one server managed by an official trademark office, and which is recognized as having original registered trademarks, owned by a specific entity, and which are not confoundable with registered trademarks from other entities. Such communication allows the verification of whether a specific brand digital information - registered trademark - is indeed registered. It therefore provides a highly simple and efficient way to implement the method of the present invention. (Castelao et al., page 7, lines 19-26)]
Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, and Castelão are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the malicious domain determination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant application effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shitrit-Efergan and Kalle to incorporate the teachings of Castelão et al. to include wherein the digital search is performed upon the comparison of the reported domain or information associated with the reported domain with the allowlist and therefrom determining that the reported domain is not associated with the allowlist, in order for reliable authentication of origin of the website through a human-centric design. (Castelao et al., page 6, lines 23-25)]
Regarding claims 10 and 20,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle discloses the computer implemented according to claim 1 and a computational system according to claim 12; Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle does not teach but in an analogous art Castelao discloses
wherein the single action is associated with an Internet browser, optionally including an In-App browser.
[the web interface consists of a web browser or a component (such as an app or other type of program) of an operating system providing access to the web. (Castelao et al., page 13, lines 9-10)]
Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, and Castelão are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the malicious domain determination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant application effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shitrit-Efergan and Kalle to incorporate the teachings of Castelão et al. to include wherein the single action is associated with an Internet browser, optionally including an In-App browser, in order for reliable authentication of origin of the website through a human-centric design. (Castelao et al., page 6, lines 23-25)]
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shitrit-Efergan hereinafter referred to as Shitrit-Efergan et al. (US 20180351976) in view of Kalle et al. (US 8826444) in further view of Castelao et al. (WO 2021005574) and in further view of Pope et al. (US 10498753).
Regarding claims 8 and 18,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle in further view of Castelão discloses the computer implemented method according to claim 6 and a computational system according to claim 16, but fails to explicitly disclose computationally identifying the owner of a registered trademark resulting from the determination of correspondence, and automatically issuing a digital notification to the identified owner.
However in an analogous art Pope discloses computationally identifying the owner of a registered trademark resulting from the determination of correspondence, and automatically issuing a digital notification to the identified owner.
[Message 260 may include other information, including a registration information, fraud risk analysis, domain name owner, etc. Message 260 may also include the initial potentially fraudulent communication with the identified domain name, which may be part of the message, link or an attachment. The system may transmit Message 260 to an internal recipient to address the potential fraud. The system may also inform and transmit a message to the domain name owner. (Pope et al., column 6 , lines 32- 40)]
Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, Castelão, and Pope are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the malicious domain determination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant application effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, and Castelão to incorporate the teachings of Pope et al. to include computationally identifying the owner of a registered trademark resulting from the determination of correspondence, and automatically issuing a digital notification to the identified owner, in order to transmit a message to the domain name owner to help address the potential fraud. (Pope et al., column 6, lines 35-40)]
Regarding claims 9 and 19,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle in further view of Castelão and in further view of Pope discloses the computer implemented method according to claim 8 and a computational system according to claim 18,
wherein it further comprises the owner digitally associating a brand digital information with the domain, such digital association being performed through:
- a root digital certificate, by signing and thereby creating at least one exclusive cryptographic entity which consists of a digital certificate, each digital certificate being configured to sign with a digital signature an association of a brand digital information with an URI or domain of a website,
- a block in a Blockchain-based method, by creating at least one exclusive cryptographic entity which consists of a block in a Blockchain-based method, each subsequent block being configured to associate a brand digital information with an URI or domain of a website
- a keyed-hash message authentication code (HMAC) verification, by associating a brand digital information with an URI or domain of a website.
[Typically, the owner of a trademark with a reliable authentication of its origin requests a root exclusive cryptographic entity which may subsequently provide to obtain a subsequent exclusive cryptographic entity which in turn may be used to associate a brand digital information to an URI of a website. For instance, for the case of a root digital certificate, a signature by the root digital certificate thereby allows to obtain a subsequent digital certificate, which may be used to digitally sign an association between a brand digital information and an URI of a website. (Castelao et al., page 10, lines 1-8)]
Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, Castelão, and Pope are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the malicious domain determination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant application effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, and Pope to incorporate the teachings of Castelão et al. to include wherein the single action is associated with an Internet browser, optionally including an In-App browser, in order for reliable authentication of origin of the website through a human-centric design. (Castelao et al., page 6, lines 23-25)]
Claims 2 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shitrit-Efergan hereinafter referred to as Shitrit-Efergan et al. (US 20180351976) in view of Kalle et al. (US 8826444) and in further view of Sanchez et al. (US 20180033110).
Regarding claims 2 and 13,
Shitrit-Efergan in view of Kalle discloses the computer implemented method according to claim 1 and a computational system according to claim 12, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein determining whether the reported domain is to be added to a blocklist of domains further comprises performing a computational comparison, for instance by means of computer vision, between the website of the reported domain and a website of a domain present in the allowlist.
However in an analogous art Sanchez discloses wherein determining whether the reported domain is to be added to a blocklist of domains further comprises performing a computational comparison, for instance by means of computer vision, between the website of the reported domain and a website of a domain present in the allowlist.
[The blacklist forms part of the registrant data rules stored in database 132. If the domain name matches one of those on the blacklist, the processor 142 causes a signal to be communicated to the user computer 102A (or 102B) to invoke display of a message indicating that the entered e-mail address is not valid (e.g. invalid e-mail provider). [0134] The registrant data rules module 146 is operative to cause the processor 142 to perform a check of the e-mail domain of the entered e-mail address to determine if the domain has a mail exchanger (MX) record (i.e. it is an actual mail-server and not a fabricated address). If not, the processor 142 causes a signal to be communicated to the user computer 102A (or 102B) to invoke display of a message prompting the user to check and enter a correct address. (Sanchez et al., paragraph 238)]
Shitrit-Efergan, Kalle, and Sanchez are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the malicious domain determination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant application effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shitrit-Efergan and Kalle to incorporate the teachings of Sanchez et al. to include wherein determining whether the reported domain is to be added to a blocklist of domains further comprises performing a computational comparison, for instance by means of computer vision, between the website of the reported domain and a website of a domain present in the allowlist, in order to determine and indicate wether the domain has a mail exchanger record and is not a fabricated address. (Sanchez et al., paragraph 128).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Daniell et al. (US 20050097174) discloses detection mechanisms for detecting undesired email messages from an email service of a user. Also discloses an interface for adding senders to, and removing senders from, the allowlist.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.E./DANIEL ELAHIAN, Examiner, Art Unit 2407
/Catherine Thiaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2407 8/18/2026