DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are pending in the application.
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2024, 10/25/2024, and 11/21/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozaki (JP 2019097927 – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Ozaki discloses a stretchable sheet structure that stretches in a stretching direction with a stretching force exerted thereon and shrinks when said stretching force is released (a composite stretchable member having stretchability of a disposable diaper 1 in expansion and contraction direction W: Abstract, ¶0026-0029; Figs. 1-3 and 5), comprising:
a first sheet (a sheet material 15b: ¶0026 and Fig. 2);
a second sheet overlaid on said first sheet (a sheet material 15a: ¶0026 and Fig. 2);
a first elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet and extending linearly in said stretching direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below); and
a second elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet and extending linearly in said stretching direction while being spaced apart from said first elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 below),
wherein, while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first sheet and said second sheet are joined together by a plurality of linear joining units aligned in said stretching direction (welding lines 30 comprising 30A and 30B: ¶0026-0028; Figs. 3 and 5),
each linear joining unit intersects with said first elastic member and said second elastic member (¶0026-0028; Figs. 3 and 5),
a joining width of said each linear joining unit at a first intersecting position of said each linear joining unit and said first elastic member (dimension i1 of 30A and see annotated Fig. 5c below) and a joining width of said each linear joining unit at a second intersecting position of said each linear joining unit and said second elastic member (dimension i1 of 30A and see annotated Fig. 5c below) are greater than a joining width of said each linear joining unit at any position between said first intersecting position and said second intersecting position (dimension i2 of 30B: ¶0028 and see annotated Fig. 5c below), and
while said first elastic member and said second elastic member shrink, said first sheet or said second sheet has bulges between said plurality of linear joining units to form gathers (¶0026-0029 and Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 2, Ozaki discloses a stretchable sheet structure that stretches in a stretching direction with a stretching force exerted thereon and shrinks when said stretching force is released (a composite stretchable member having stretchability of a disposable diaper 1 in expansion and contraction direction W: Abstract, ¶0026-0029; Figs. 1-3 and 5), comprising:
a first sheet (a sheet material 15b: ¶0026 and Fig. 2);
a second sheet overlaid on said first sheet (a sheet material 15a: ¶0026 and Fig. 2);
a first elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet and extending linearly in said stretching direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below); and
a second elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet and extending linearly in said stretching direction while being spaced apart from said first elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 below),
wherein, while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first sheet and said second sheet are joined together by a plurality of linear joining units aligned in said stretching direction (welding lines 30 comprising 30A and 30B: ¶0026-0028; Figs. 3 and 5),
each of said plurality of linear joining units exists in an intersecting direction intersecting with said stretching direction, between said first elastic member and said second elastic member (Fig. 5), the intersecting direction being inclined with respect to a direction perpendicular to said stretching direction (Fig. 5),
each linear joining unit intersects with said first elastic member and said second elastic member (¶0026-0028; Figs. 3 and 5),
while said first elastic member and said second elastic member shrink, said first sheet or said second sheet has bulges between said plurality of linear joining units to form gathers (¶0026-0029 and Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 3, Ozaki further discloses a joining width of said each linear joining unit at a first intersecting position of said each linear joining unit and said first elastic member (dimension i1 of 30A and see annotated Fig. 5c above) and a joining width of said each linear joining unit at a second intersecting position of said each linear joining unit and said second elastic member (dimension i1 of 30A and see annotated Fig. 5c above) are greater than a joining width of said each linear joining unit at any position between said first intersecting position and said second intersecting position (dimension i2 of 30B: ¶0028 and see annotated Fig. 5c above).
Regarding claim 4, Ozaki further discloses each of said plurality of linear joining units continuously exists in an intersecting direction intersecting with said stretching direction, between said first elastic member and said second elastic member (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Ozaki further discloses said first sheet and said second sheet are joined together at said each linear joining unit by welding (¶0026-0027).
Regarding claim 6, Ozaki further discloses said first sheet and said second sheet are a single sheet folded along a folding line, while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first elastic member is positioned in close proximity to and in parallel with said folding line, and said each linear joining unit does not overlap with said folding line (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 15, Ozaki further discloses each of said plurality of linear joining units continuously exists in an intersecting direction intersecting with said stretching direction, between said first elastic member and said second elastic member (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Ozaki further discloses said first sheet and said second sheet are joined together at said each linear joining unit by welding (¶0026-0027).
Regarding claim 17, Ozaki further discloses said first sheet and said second sheet are a single sheet folded along a folding line, while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first elastic member is positioned in close proximity to and in parallel with said folding line, and said each linear joining unit does not overlap with said folding line (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Claim(s) 2, 18-20, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi (JP 2004290498 – of record).
Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi discloses a stretchable sheet structure that stretches in a stretching direction with a stretching force exerted thereon and shrinks when said stretching force is released (an expansion/contraction sheet structure: ¶0024-0026; Figs. 2-3 and 5-6), comprising:
a first sheet (a first sheet of a non-woven fabric 7: Figs. 2-3);
a second sheet overlaid on said first sheet (a second sheet of a non-woven fabric 7: Figs. 2-3);
a first elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet and extending linearly in said stretching direction (elastically stretchable member 20: ¶0024-0026 and see annotated Fig. 2 below); and
a second elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet and extending linearly in said stretching direction while being spaced apart from said first elastic member (¶0024-0026 and see annotated Fig. 2 below),
wherein, while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first sheet and said second sheet are joined together by a plurality of linear joining units aligned in said stretching direction (adhesive 12: ¶0025-0027; Figs. 5-6),
each of said plurality of linear joining units exists in an intersecting direction intersecting with said stretching direction, between said first elastic member and said second elastic member, the intersecting direction being inclined with respect to a direction perpendicular to said stretching direction (¶0025-0026 and Figs. 5-6),
each linear joining unit intersects with said first elastic member and said second elastic member (¶0025-0027; Figs. 5-6),
while said first elastic member and said second elastic member shrink, said first sheet or said second sheet has bulges between said plurality of linear joining units to form gathers (¶0024-0027; Figs. 2-3 and 5-6).
Regarding claim 18, Takeuchi further discloses a third elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet (¶0036 and see annotated Fig. 2 above) and extending linearly in said stretching direction while being spaced apart from said second elastic member on a side of said second elastic member opposite to said first elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 above),
wherein each of said plurality of linear joining units exits in an intersecting direction intersecting with said stretching direction (Figs. 5-6), between said second elastic member and said third elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 above and Figs. 5-6),
said each linear joining unit intersects with said third elastic member (Figs. 5-6),
said gathers are formed while said first elastic member, said second elastic member, and said third elastic member shrink (¶0024-0027), and
said each linear joining unit is linear while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction (Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 19, Takeuchi further discloses a third elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet (¶0036 and see annotated Fig. 2 above) and extending linearly in said stretching direction while being spaced apart from said second elastic member on a side of said second elastic member opposite to said first elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 above),
wherein each of said plurality of linear joining units exits in an intersecting direction intersecting with said stretching direction (Figs. 5-6), between said second elastic member and said third elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 above and Figs. 5-6),
said each linear joining unit intersects with said third elastic member (Figs. 5-6),
said gathers are formed while said first elastic member, said second elastic member, and said third elastic member shrink (¶0024-0027), and
while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said each linear joining unit is bent at a position of said second elastic member (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Takeuchi further discloses an angular direction in which said each linear joining unit is inclined with respect to the direction perpendicular to said stretching direction between said first elastic member and said second elastic member is opposite to an angular direction in which said each linear joining unit is inclined with respect to the direction perpendicular to said stretching direction between said second elastic member and said third elastic member (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 23, Takeuchi further discloses while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretch direction, a range of existence of said each linear joining unit in said stretching direction overlaps in part with a range of existence of another linear joining unit in said stretching direction, the another linear joining unit being adjacent to said each linear joining unit (¶0028-0029 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 24, Takeuchi further discloses a disposable absorbent product that receives a body waste from a wearer, comprising: the stretchable sheet structure of claim 2 (¶0001, 0007-0008, and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 25, Takeuchi further discloses said gathers come in contact with a groin of said wearer (¶0016, 0032, and Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (JP 2004290498 – of record) in view of Ozaki (JP 2019097927 – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi discloses a stretchable sheet structure that stretches in a stretching direction with a stretching force exerted thereon and shrinks when said stretching force is released (an expansion/contraction sheet structure: ¶0024-0026; Figs. 2-3 and 5-6), comprising:
a first sheet (a first sheet of a non-woven fabric 7: Figs. 2-3);
a second sheet overlaid on said first sheet (a second sheet of a non-woven fabric 7: Figs. 2-3);
a first elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet and extending linearly in said stretching direction (elastically stretchable member 20: ¶0024-0026 and see annotated Fig. 2 below); and
a second elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet and extending linearly in said stretching direction while being spaced apart from said first elastic member (¶0024-0026 and see annotated Fig. 2 below),
wherein, while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first sheet and said second sheet are joined together by a plurality of linear joining units aligned in said stretching direction (adhesive 12: ¶0025-0027; Figs. 5-6),
each linear joining unit intersects with said first elastic member and said second elastic member (¶0025-0027; Figs. 5-6),
while said first elastic member and said second elastic member shrink, said first sheet or said second sheet has bulges between said plurality of linear joining units to form gathers (¶0024-0027; Figs. 2-3 and 5-6).
Takeuchi does not disclose a joining width of said each linear joining unit at a first intersecting position of said each linear joining unit and said first elastic member and a joining width of said each linear joining unit at a second intersecting position of said each linear joining unit and said second elastic member are greater than a joining width of said each linear joining unit at any position between said first intersecting position and said second intersecting position.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Ozaki discloses a stretchable sheet structure (a composite stretchable member having stretchability of a disposable diaper 1 in expansion and contraction direction W: Abstract, ¶0026-0029; Figs. 1-3 and 5) comprising two sheets (15A-B: ¶0026-0029 and Figs. 1-3) and elastic members (Fig. 5). Ozaki further discloses said first sheet and said second sheet are joined together by a plurality of linear joining units aligned in said stretching direction (welding lines 30 comprising 30A and 30B: ¶0026-0028; Figs. 3 and 5), each linear joining unit intersects with said first elastic member and said second elastic member (¶0026-0028; Figs. 3 and 5), and a joining width of said each linear joining unit at a first intersecting position of said each linear joining unit and said first elastic member (dimension i1 of 30A and see annotated Fig. 5c above) and a joining width of said each linear joining unit at a second intersecting position of said each linear joining unit and said second elastic member (dimension i1 of 30A and see annotated Fig. 5c above) are greater than a joining width of said each linear joining unit at any position between said first intersecting position and said second intersecting position (dimension i2 of 30B: ¶0028 and see annotated Fig. 5c above) for the benefit of providing a compound stretchable member in which two sheet materials and a plurality of elastic members arranged side by side in an arrangement direction intersecting with stretchable direction between the sheet materials (¶0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stretchable sheet structure of Takeuchi in view of Ozaki by having a joining width as claimed, in order to provide a compound stretchable member in which two sheet materials and a plurality of elastic members arranged side by side in an arrangement direction intersecting with stretchable direction between the sheet materials, as suggested in ¶0005 of Ozaki.
Regarding claim 7, Takeuchi further discloses a third elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet (¶0036 and see annotated Fig. 2 above) and extending linearly in said stretching direction while being spaced apart from said second elastic member on a side of said second elastic member opposite to said first elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 above),
wherein each of said plurality of linear joining units exits in an intersecting direction intersecting with said stretching direction (Figs. 5-6), between said second elastic member and said third elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 above and Figs. 5-6),
said each linear joining unit intersects with said third elastic member (Figs. 5-6),
said gathers are formed while said first elastic member, said second elastic member, and said third elastic member shrink (¶0024-0027), and
said each linear joining unit is linear while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction (Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 8, Takeuchi further discloses a third elastic member positioned between said first sheet and said second sheet (¶0036 and see annotated Fig. 2 above) and extending linearly in said stretching direction while being spaced apart from said second elastic member on a side of said second elastic member opposite to said first elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 above),
wherein each of said plurality of linear joining units exits in an intersecting direction intersecting with said stretching direction (Figs. 5-6), between said second elastic member and said third elastic member (see annotated Fig. 2 above and Figs. 5-6),
said each linear joining unit intersects with said third elastic member (Figs. 5-6),
said gathers are formed while said first elastic member, said second elastic member, and said third elastic member shrink (¶0024-0027), and
while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said each linear joining unit is bent at a position of said second elastic member (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Takeuchi further discloses an angular direction in which said each linear joining unit is inclined with respect to the direction perpendicular to said stretching direction between said first elastic member and said second elastic member is opposite to an angular direction in which said each linear joining unit is inclined with respect to the direction perpendicular to said stretching direction between said second elastic member and said third elastic member (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Takeuchi further discloses while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretch direction, a range of existence of said each linear joining unit in said stretching direction overlaps in part with a range of existence of another linear joining unit in said stretching direction, the another linear joining unit being adjacent to said each linear joining unit (¶0028-0029 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Takeuchi further discloses a disposable absorbent product that receives a body waste from a wearer, comprising: the stretchable sheet structure of claim 1 (¶0001, 0007-0008, and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Takeuchi further discloses said gathers come in contact with a groin of said wearer (¶0016, 0032, and Figs. 1-2).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over A Takeuchi (JP 2004290498 – of record) in view of Ozaki (JP 2019097927 – of record), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Koyama (US PGPUB 20210077318).
Regarding claim 10, Takeuchi further discloses while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first sheet and said second sheet have an edge that exists along and in close proximity to said first elastic member on a side of said first elastic member opposite to said second elastic member (Figs. 2 and 5-6).
Takeuchi/Ozaki does not disclose an interval between said first elastic member and said second elastic member is greater than an interval between said second elastic member and said third elastic member.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Koyama discloses a disposable diaper comprising a first leak-proof cuff 6 comprising a first leak-proof-cuff forming sheet material 61 and a plurality of first leak-proof-cuff forming elastic members 62 fixed to the sheet material 61; and a second leak-proof cuff 7 comprising a second leak-proof-cuff-forming sheet material 71 and second elastic members 72 for forming the second leak-proof cuff that are fixed to the sheet material 71 (¶0038-0039 and Fig. 4). Koyama further discloses an elastic region E3 between second elastic members 72 greater than an elastic region E2 between first elastic members 62 (¶0109 and Fig. 4) for the benefit of improving leakage prevention performance while eliminating concerns over leakage (¶0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the stretchable sheet structure of Takeuchi in view of Koyama by having an interval between said first elastic member and said second elastic member greater than an interval between said second elastic member and said third elastic member, in order to improve leakage prevention performance while eliminating concerns over leakage, as suggested in ¶0110 of Koyama.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over A Takeuchi (JP 2004290498 – of record) in view of Ozaki (JP 2019097927 – of record), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Koyama (US PGPUB 20210077318).
Regarding claim 11, Takeuchi further discloses while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first sheet and said second sheet have an edge that exists along and in close proximity to said first elastic member on a side of said first elastic member opposite to said second elastic member (Figs. 2 and 5-6).
Takeuchi/Ozaki does not disclose an interval between said first elastic member and said second elastic member is greater than an interval between said second elastic member and said third elastic member.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Koyama discloses a disposable diaper comprising a first leak-proof cuff 6 comprising a first leak-proof-cuff forming sheet material 61 and a plurality of first leak-proof-cuff forming elastic members 62 fixed to the sheet material 61; and a second leak-proof cuff 7 comprising a second leak-proof-cuff-forming sheet material 71 and second elastic members 72 for forming the second leak-proof cuff that are fixed to the sheet material 71 (¶0038-0039 and Fig. 4). Koyama further discloses an elastic region E3 between second elastic members 72 greater than an elastic region E2 between first elastic members 62 (¶0109 and Fig. 4) for the benefit of improving leakage prevention performance while eliminating concerns over leakage (¶0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the stretchable sheet structure of Takeuchi in view of Koyama by having an interval between said first elastic member and said second elastic member greater than an interval between said second elastic member and said third elastic member, in order to improve leakage prevention performance while eliminating concerns over leakage, as suggested in ¶0110 of Koyama.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over A Takeuchi (JP 2004290498 – of record) in view of Koyama (US PGPUB 20210077318).
Regarding claim 21, Takeuchi further discloses while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first sheet and said second sheet have an edge that exists along and in close proximity to said first elastic member on a side of said first elastic member opposite to said second elastic member (Figs. 2 and 5-6).
Takeuchi does not disclose an interval between said first elastic member and said second elastic member is greater than an interval between said second elastic member and said third elastic member.
Koyama further discloses an elastic region E3 between second elastic members 72 greater than an elastic region E2 between first elastic members 62 (¶0109 and Fig. 4) for the benefit of improving leakage prevention performance while eliminating concerns over leakage (¶0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the stretchable sheet structure of Takeuchi in view of Koyama by having an interval between said first elastic member and said second elastic member greater than an interval between said second elastic member and said third elastic member, in order to improve leakage prevention performance while eliminating concerns over leakage, as suggested in ¶0110 of Koyama.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over A Takeuchi (JP 2004290498 – of record) in view of Koyama (US PGPUB 20210077318).
Regarding claim 22, Takeuchi further discloses while said first sheet and said second sheet are stretched flat in said stretching direction, said first sheet and said second sheet have an edge that exists along and in close proximity to said first elastic member on a side of said first elastic member opposite to said second elastic member (Figs. 2 and 5-6).
Takeuchi does not disclose an interval between said first elastic member and said second elastic member is greater than an interval between said second elastic member and said third elastic member.
Koyama further discloses an elastic region E3 between second elastic members 72 greater than an elastic region E2 between first elastic members 62 (¶0109 and Fig. 4) for the benefit of improving leakage prevention performance while eliminating concerns over leakage (¶0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the stretchable sheet structure of Takeuchi in view of Koyama by having an interval between said first elastic member and said second elastic member greater than an interval between said second elastic member and said third elastic member, in order to improve leakage prevention performance while eliminating concerns over leakage, as suggested in ¶0110 of Koyama.
Conclusion
/NHU Q. TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JESSICA ARBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781