Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 26, line 8, “second housing member” should be changed to –second housing region--. Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of the action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or discussed by the examiner.
In addition, the functional recitation in the claims (e.g. "configured to" or "adapted to" or the like) that does not limit a claim limitation to a particular structure does not limit the scope of the claim. It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to", "configured to", "designed to", or "operable to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform and may not constitute a limitation in a patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 139. (See MPEP 2111.04); see also In In re Giannelli, 739 F.3d 1375, 1378, 109 USPQ2d 1333, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Also, it should be noted that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed device is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed device from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations Ex-parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 20 and 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al., US 20210255403 (hereinafter Nguyen) in view of JP 2002-357742 (hereinafter JP 2002-357742 A) (cited in the IDS; English translation provided by the applicant).
As to claim 1, Nguyen discloses, an optical connection structure (Nguyen discloses a fiber optic connection system / hybrid electrical and fiber optic connection system including an adapter and connector. See Nguyen, ¶¶ 0064, 0075, 0080–0082, and claims 31, 40) comprising: a first optical connector including a plurality of first ferrules each configured to hold a plurality of first optical fibers, and a first connector housing configured to house and hold the plurality of first ferrules (Nguyen discloses hybrid connector 820 including ferrules 833 mounted in front sleeves 825 of connector body 821; See ¶¶ 0065–0069, especially ¶ 0067 (“ferrules 833 supporting the optical fibers 812 … mounted within the cylindrical front sleeves 825”) and ¶ 0068 (connector body/rear housing construction); Nguyen further discloses multi-fiber optical arrangements generally, and the connector is configured for optical coupling to corresponding fibers; Under BRI, the multi-fiber connector context of Nguyen reads on the “plural ferrules each holding a plurality of fibers; Supporting disclosure: ¶ 0065, ¶ 0067, claims 18, 19, 31, 35); a second optical connector including a plurality of second ferrules each configured to hold a plurality of second optical fibers, and a second connector housing configured to house and hold the plurality of second ferrules (Nguyen discloses an adapter 836 for receiving a hybrid connector and mating with corresponding optical connectors in the adapter ports. The fiber optic connector side is exemplified by the mating connector(s) received in ports 854.See ¶¶ 0071–0072, ¶ 0081, and claims 31, 40–45. To the extent a second connector is required, Nguyen teaches a corresponding optical connector inserted into the adapter’s inner ports for optical coupling. At minimum, Nguyen renders the second connector limitation obvious because the adapter is expressly configured to receive corresponding fiber optic connectors. See ¶ 0071 (“ports 854 for receiving fiber optic connectors”) and ¶ 0072); and an adapter having a tubular shape (Nguyen discloses adapter 836 defining a port 853 and inner ports 854, with an elongated housing structure receiving the connector along a connector insertion axis. See ¶¶ 0071–0074, claims 31, 40–45. While Nguyen does not use the exact words “tubular shape,” the adapter is a housing defining a port for axial insertion and retention, which is reasonably read as tubular or tubular-like. Alternatively, this limitation is at least obvious from the adapter structure in Nguyen) configured such that the first optical connector and the second optical connector are locked to the adapter in such a manner that the first optical connector and the second optical connector inserted into the tubular shape face each other inside the tubular shape to optically couple each of the plurality of first optical fibers to a corresponding optical fiber of the plurality of second optical fibers (Nguyen discloses the hybrid connector and mating fiber optic connectors being inserted into the adapter and optically coupled through internal sleeves 864. See ¶ 0072 (“sleeves 864 can be configured to optically connect the optical fibers of the hybrid connector 820 to corresponding optical fibers of the fiber optic connectors mated with the ports 854”), and ¶ 0081. The connectors face each other through the adapter and are retained by the slide clip mechanism. See ¶¶ 0075–0082, claims 31–35, 40–45), wherein the adapter is provided with a first latch release mechanism configured to release locking of the first optical connector locked to the adapter (Nguyen discloses slide clip 868 as a retention clip that retains the connector and is manually depressed to release the connector. See ¶¶ 0075–0082, especially ¶¶ 0076–0078, 0082; claims 31, 40–45. Slide clip 868 functions as a latch release mechanism because it moves between coupling and non-coupling positions and releases the connector upon manual depression)
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose “opposed optical connectors facing each other inside a tabular adapter.
JP 2002-357742 A teaches mounting the adapter to midplane and fitting connectors from opposite sides so that the optical ferrules face each other (See ¶ 0004–0006, 0026–0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nguyen with JP ’742 because both references are in the same field of fiber optic connector retention and alignment, and the combination would yield robust connector retention and release from Nguyen and opposed connector-facing midplane architecture from JP 2002-357742 A The combination would predictably improve connector retention, release control, optical alignment, and insertion/removal usability.
As to claim 2, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 1, wherein the adapter includes: an adapter body including a first latch member configured to lock the first optical connector (Nguyen discloses adapter housing 850/836 with retention structures 876 and the slide clip 868 retaining the connector body 821. See ¶¶ 0076–0082); and a first latch release member to be attached to the adapter body in such a manner as to be movable along a first direction (Nguyen discloses slide clip 868 mounted to the adapter via rails 869 / channels 870 and movable relative to the adapter. See ¶¶ 0076–0078), the first latch release member including a first latch release structure (Nguyen’s retention structures 876 and ramp surfaces 877 on slide clip 868 correspond to latch release structures. See ¶ 0076), the first latch release structure constitutes a portion of the first latch release mechanism and is configured to release locking of the first optical connector locked to the adapter when the first latch release member moves in a direction away from the adapter body along the first direction (Nguyen expressly teaches that manual depression of release tab 874 moves slide clip 868 to the non-coupling position, allowing removal. See ¶¶ 0077–0082, especially ¶ 0082).
In arguendo, Nguyen does not explicitly disclose a more explicit latch-body/latch-release-member architecture, JP 2002-357742 A teaches that structure. JP 2002-357742 A, teaches latching portions 14 and engagement release parts 17b that cooperate to release the locked connector (¶¶ 0014–0015, 0026–0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine JP ’742’s symmetric latch/release housing concept with Nguyen’s slide clip retention system to improve controlled release, alignment during insertion, and connector retention in a compact optical connector.
As to claim 3, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 2 , wherein the first latch member includes a pair of first latch members (Nguyen discloses retention on opposite sides of the connector body by retention structures 876 engaging opposite sides 846. See ¶¶ 0076, 0079–0081), and the first latch release structure includes two pairs of first latch release structures (Nguyen discloses retention structures on opposite sides of the opening 872, with ramps 877 on both sides. See ¶ 0076).
As to claim 4, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 2, wherein the adapter body further includes a frame having an opening thereinside (Nguyen discloses adapter housing 850 with outer part 851 and inner part 852 defining port 853/openings. See ¶¶ 0071–0073), the first latch member includes a first latch body extending outward from the frame along the first direction (Nguyen’s slide/retention arrangement is external to the connector body and mounted to the adapter housing. See ¶¶ 0076–0078), and a first protruding portion protruding inward from a tip of the first latch body along a second direction intersecting the first direction (Nguyen teaches retention structures 876 that project inward toward the connector body and include inward facing retention surfaces 878. See ¶ 0076), and the first protruding portion engages with a latch receiving portion of the first optical connector to lock the first optical connector to the adapter (Nguyen teaches retention surfaces 830 / side notches 831 cooperating with the retention structures 876. See ¶¶ 0066, 0079–0081).
As to claim 5, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 4, wherein the first latch release mechanism is configured to move the first protruding portion of the first latch member outward when the first latch release member moves in the direction away from the adapter body along the first direction (Nguyen teaches the slide clip moving to the non-coupling position to disengage the connector. See ¶¶ 0077–0082.The outward movement concept is inherent in the release action).
As to claim 6, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 4, wherein the first latch member includes a second latch release structure provided beside the first protruding portion (Nguyen discloses ramp 877 / retention structure 876 arrangement on both sides of opening 872. See ¶ 0076), the first latch release structure and the second latch release structure constitute the first latch release mechanism (Slide clip 868 and its retention structures cooperate to release the connector. See ¶¶ 0076–0082), and when the first latch release member moves … the first latch release structure comes into contact with the second latch release structure and pushes the first protruding portion outward (Nguyen teaches ramp interaction between connector ramps 832 and clip ramps 877, causing movement from coupling to non-coupling positions. See ¶ 0080).
As to claim 7, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 2, wherein the adapter further includes a first guide member configured to restrict a distance by which the first latch release member moves in the direction away from the adapter body along the first direction and guide insertion of the first optical connector into the adapter (Nguyen discloses channels 870 that guide the slide clip 868 and the adapter structure guiding connector insertion. See ¶¶ 0076–0078).
As to claim 8, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 7, wherein an elastic member is disposed between the first latch release member and the first guide member … return the first latch release member toward the adapter body (Nguyen discloses leaf spring 880 biasing slide clip 868 back toward the coupling position. See ¶¶ 0078–0079).
As to claim 9, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 7, wherein the first guide member is provided with a restricting structure configured to restrict an insertion posture of the first optical connector with respect to the adapter (Nguyen teaches keying structures 826 ensuring proper rotational orientation and alignment, as well as side notches 831 and ramps 832. See ¶¶ 0065–0066, ¶ 0080).
As to claim 10, Nguyen discloses the optical connection structure according to claim 2 wherein the adapter is provided with a second latch release mechanism configured to release locking of the second optical connector locked to the adapter (Nguyen discloses a dual-sided adapter arrangement, and the clip/ramp mechanism can be applied to both sides of the hybrid adapter. See ¶¶ 0071–0073, ¶ 0081. At minimum, this is obvious from Nguyen’s adapter configured for optical coupling on both sides).
As to claim 20, Nguyen discloses an optical connector to be inserted into and locked to an adapter having a tubular shape (Nguyen discloses an adapter 100 and plug 200 arrangement for inserting ferrule holders 300 into an adapter and aligning them. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0037]), the optical connector comprising: a plurality of ferrules each configured to hold a plurality of optical fibers (Nguyen expressly discloses ferrules 12, including multi-fiber ferrules, with optical fibers 14 secured therein. See Nguyen at [0026]), and a connector housing configured to house and hold the plurality of ferrules (Nguyen discloses ferrule holder 300 and plug 200 that house and retain the ferrules 12. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0031]), wherein the connector housing has formed therein a latch receiving portion to which a latch member of the adapter is to be locked (Nguyen discloses latch receptacles 232 on the plug 200 and latches 316 on the ferrule holders 300. See Nguyen at [0030]-[0031]).
Nguyen does not expressly disclose the precise tubular shape of the adapter; the exact claim form of a connector housing with a latch receiving portion as recited.
JP 2002-357742 A is in the same field of endeavor: optical connector/adaptor structures and midplane/package housing optical interconnection systems.
JP 2002-357742 A discloses: an adapter housing 10 and package housing 50; fitting portions 15; latching portions 14; an inner housing 70 and outer housing 60; spacer-based mounting and tolerance absorption (See JP 2002-357742 A at Overview, [0006]-[0010], [0015]-[0022], [0025]-[0028]). Thus, JP 2002-357742 A provides connector-side housing and adapter-side latching structures that support secure engagement and positional stability. That is relevant to the claim’s connector housing with latch receiving functionality and the general concept of insertion and locking within an adapter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nguyen with JP 2002-357742 A because Nguyen teaches a compact multi-ferrule alignment system with projections, grooves, and connector seating, JP 2002-357742 A teaches latching and fitting structures between adapter and connector housings, including tolerance-absorbing mounting arrangements and the combination would improve mechanical retention, positioning stability, and connector engagement in a multi-ferrule optical connector environment. The combination would have produced a predictable result by using known optical connector housing and latching features to enhance Nguyen’s connector alignment system.
As to claim 22, Nguyen discloses a multi-ferrule optical connector arrangement including ferrules 12 held in ferrule holders 300, with the ferrule holders aligned by projections 320, 322 and adapter grooves 140, 142. Nguyen further discloses an adapter 100 and plug 200 arrangement for receiving and positioning connector components. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0037].
Nguyen does not expressly disclose the recited connector housing features in which: the connector housing includes at least two or more guide surfaces on an outer peripheral surface configured to extend along an inner peripheral surface of the adapter, and no protruding portion is formed in a region of the guide surfaces to be inserted into the adapter.
JP 2002-357742 A teaches an optical connector system having an adapter housing 10 and package housing 50, including fitting portions 15 and latching portions 14, together with an outer housing 60 and inner housing 70 arrangement that guides engagement and insertion of the connector components. See JP 2002-357742 A at [0006]-[0010], [0015]-[0022], [0026]-[0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen’s connector housing using the guide and fitting structures taught by JP 2002-357742 A in order to provide guided insertion and stable engagement of the connector housing within the adapter while maintaining precise multi-ferrule alignment. The use of guide surfaces and non-protruding insertion regions would have been a predictable design choice to improve mating and reduce interference.
As to claim 23, Nguyen discloses positional alignment of ferrule holders 300 within adapter 100 by means of cooperating projections 320, 322 and grooves 140, 142. See Nguyen at [0027]-[0037].
Nguyen does not expressly disclose a connector housing having, on an outer peripheral surface, a restricting structure configured to restrict a position of the optical connector when the optical connector is inserted into the adapter, where the restricting structure has a recessed shape.
JP 2002-357742 A teaches an adapter/package housing structure in which fitting and latching portions cooperate to position the package housing relative to the adapter housing, and a spacer 20 is used to position the adapter housing so that its symmetry axis is centered with respect to the mid-plane thickness. See JP 2002-357742 A at [0006]-[0010], [0015]-[0018], [0024]-[0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nguyen’s connector housing with a recessed restricting structure in view of JP 2002-357742 A because JP 2002-357742 A teaches that connector position can be controlled by housing geometry and fitting features. A recessed restriction feature would have been a predictable way to limit insertion position and improve alignment stability.
As to claim 24, Nguyen discloses ferrules 12 held in ferrule holders 300 and positioned for alignment within adapter 100. Nguyen teaches a compact multi-ferrule connector structure, but does not expressly describe the end-face geometry of the ferrules as being inclined and positioned on a single inclined surface. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0037].
Nguyen does not expressly disclose that: each ferrule includes a leading end surface from which the optical fibers are exposed, the leading end surface is inclined with respect to a plane orthogonal to a first direction, and all ferrule leading end surfaces are positioned on one inclined surface.
JP 2002-357742 A does not expressly show that exact inclined ferrule end-face configuration in the excerpt provided.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inclined ferrule end-face arrangement in Nguyen’s connector system because the references already teach precise ferrule positioning, compact connector packaging, and alignment-oriented connector geometry. The inclined surface arrangement would have been a known design refinement to support dense ferrule packaging and controlled connector engagement.
As to claim 25, Nguyen discloses an optical connector assembly including a connector body and rear housing arrangement in other embodiments, such as hybrid connector body 821 and rear housing 838. Nguyen also discloses connector positioning and alignment structures in the ferrule holder and adapter embodiments. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0037], [0068]-[0070].
Nguyen does not expressly disclose the particular connector housing architecture recited, namely: a front connector housing positioned at a front side and having a rectangular parallelepiped shape, a rear connector housing positioned at a rear side, the front connector housing having a plurality of ferrule housing holes for corresponding ferrules, and the front connector housing having four guide surfaces extending along an inner peripheral surface of the adapter, with no protruding portion in at least a region of the guide surfaces to be inserted into the adapter.
JP 2002-357742 A teaches an outer housing 60 and inner housing 70 construction in which one housing fits within another housing, and also teaches fitting and latching features that support secure insertion and positioning. See JP 2002-357742 A at [0017]-[0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen’s connector housing using the two-part housing concept of JP 2002-357742 A because the reference shows that connector housings may be split into cooperating front/rear or outer/inner structures to facilitate insertion, alignment, and retention. The specific guide-surface configuration would have been a predictable implementation of that known housing architecture.
As to claim 26, Nguyen discloses an optical connector assembly including ferrules 12 held in ferrule holders 300, with optical fibers 14 extending through the ferrule holder structure. Nguyen further discloses a spring-based biasing arrangement, including spring push 16, spring 18, and pin keeper 20, which urges the ferrules forward within the ferrule holder. Nguyen also discloses connector-side housing structures, including a connector body and rear housing arrangement in the hybrid embodiment, which receive and route optical fibers and support connector components. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0028], [0053]-[0058], [0068]-[0070].
Nguyen does not expressly disclose the specific housing-member arrangement recited in claim 26, including: a housing member configured to receive rear ends of a plurality of urging members and house the urging members; the housing member including a first housing region configured to house one or more urging members; a second housing region configured to house one or more other urging members; and a plurality of fiber insertion holes corresponding to the plurality of ferrules, each configured to allow the optical fibers held by the corresponding ferrules to pass therethrough.
JP 2002-357742 A teaches an optical connector structure having an outer housing 60 and inner housing 70, with the inner housing receiving connector components and the outer housing defining guiding and receiving structure for the connector assembly. JP 742 further teaches a package housing 50 with mounting portions 75, retaining pieces 76, and a housing arrangement that supports insertion, retention, and passage of connector components through the housing structure. See JP 2002-357742 A at [0017]-[0022], [0020]-[0021], [0023]-[0028]. JP 742 therefore teaches the concept of a connector housing having multiple internal regions and openings configured to receive and support connector-related components in a compact optical connector assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen’s ferrule-holder and connector housing arrangement in view of JP 742’ to provide a housing member having separate housing regions for urging members and corresponding fiber insertion holes. Nguyen already teaches spring-biased forward urging of ferrules and fiber passage through the connector structure, while JP 742 teaches a multi-region housing arrangement for receiving and supporting connector components within a compact housing. Combining these teachings would have predictably provided a more organized and compact housing for the urging members and fiber paths, while maintaining Nguyen’s spring-biased ferrule advance function. The modification would have amounted to the use of known housing partitioning and passage structures to implement a known spring-urged optical connector assembly.
Claim(s) 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of COENEGRACHT, Phillippe, US 20170184798 A1 (hereinafter US 20170184798 A1).
As to claim 12, Nguyen discloses an adapter to which a first optical connector holding a plurality of first ferrules and a second optical connector holding a plurality of second ferrules are to be locked (Nguyen discloses an adapter assembly 10 including an adapter 100, plug 200, and ferrule holders 300 for aligning multiple ferrules 12 within a compact optical connector arrangement. Nguyen further discloses that ferrules 12 are held in ferrule holders 300 and are positioned for mating alignment within the adapter 100. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0037]; ), the adapter comprising: an adapter body having a first latch member configured to lock the first optical connector and a first latch release member to be attached to the adapter body in such a manner as to be movable along a first direction (Nguyen discloses an adapter body 100 configured to receive and align ferrule holders 300 and plug 200 using corresponding projections and grooves. See Nguyen at [0032]-[0037]), the first latch release member including a first latch release structure wherein the first latch release structure is configured to release locking of the first optical connector locked to the adapter by the first latch member when the first latch release member moves in a direction away from the adapter body along the first direction (Nguyen discloses mating structure between the adapter 100 and connector-side elements by means of grooves and projections that control insertion and alignment. See Nguyen at [0032]-[0037]).
Nguyen does not expressly disclose a first latch member configured to lock the connector, a first latch release member attached to the adapter body and movable along a direction and a first latch release structure, the release structure acting to release locking by movement away from the adapter body.
US 2017/0184798 A1 is in the same general field of endeavor: fiber optic connector/adapter retention and alignment systems. US 2017/0184798 A1 discloses, a fiber optic adapter 836 defining a port 853 for receiving a connector body 821, a slide clip 868 mounted to the adapter and not carried with the connector body, the slide clip moving between coupling and non-coupling positions, retention structures 876 on the slide clip, a release tab 874 and a spring 880 biasing the slide clip toward the coupling position (See US 2017/0184798 A1 at [0075]-[0082], especially [0076]-[0078] and [0080]-[0082]).The slide clip functions as a movable release/retention structure on the adapter side, and its movement away from the coupling position releases the connector body from retention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen’s multi-ferrule adapter with the slide-clip retention/release mechanism of US 2017/0184798 A1 because Nguyen already teaches a compact optical connector alignment system for multiple ferrules and US 2017/0184798 A1 teaches a robust, user-operable adapter-side retention/release mechanism. Combining them would improve connector retention, ease of insertion/removal, and mechanical robustness without changing the basic multi-ferrule optical function. The combination would have been a predictable use of known retention technology in a known connector environment.
As to claim 13, Nguyen discloses the adapter according to claim 12, the adapter assembly 10 including an adapter 100 and plug 200 for aligning multiple ferrules 12 in ferrule holders 300. Nguyen further discloses projections 320, 322 on the ferrule holder and corresponding grooves 140, 142 in the adapter for positioning and alignment. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0037]) but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the first latch member includes a pair of first latch members, and the first latch release structure includes two pairs of first latch release structures.
US 2017/0184798 A1 teaches a connector retention structure in which a slide clip 868 includes retention structures 876 positioned on opposite sides of a reference plane and configured to engage opposite sides of the connector body 821. See US 2017/0184798 A1 at [0076]-[0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen’s adapter assembly to include the paired latch and release arrangement of US 2017/0184798 A1 in order to provide more secure and balanced connector retention and release on opposite sides of the connector, while preserving Nguyen’s ferrule alignment functionality.
As to claim 14, Nguyen discloses the adapter according to claim 12, the adapter body 100 having an opening 104 between first side 106 and second side 108, with a central portion 110 therebetween. Nguyen further discloses grooves 116, 118, as well as a wall 130 and raised/dropped portions on the central portion. See Nguyen at [0032]-[0034].
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the adapter body further includes a frame having an opening thereinside, the first latch member includes a first latch body extending outward from the frame along the first direction, and a first protruding portion protruding inward from a tip of the first latch body along a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the first protruding portion engages with a latch receiving portion of the first optical connector to lock the first optical connector to the adapter.
US 2017/0184798 A1 teaches a retention arrangement in which the adapter 836 includes a port 853 receiving the connector body 821, and a slide clip 868 with retention structures 876 that cooperate with connector-side features to retain the connector. See US 2017/0184798 A1 at [0075]-[0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nguyen’s adapter with latch body/protrusion-style retention features in view of US 2017/0184798 A1, because US 2017/0184798 A1 shows that an adapter-side retention structure can reliably engage connector-side structures to lock the connector in place while allowing controlled release.
As to claim 15, Nguyen discloses connector-side alignment and locking structures, including ferrule holder projections 320, 322 and plug/adapter grooves that position the ferrule holders within the adapter. See Nguyen at [0027]-[0037].
Nguyen does not expressly disclose a second latch release structure provided beside the protruding portion, wherein movement of a latch release member causes the first latch release structure to contact the second latch release structure and push the protruding portion outward to release the connector.
US 2017/0184798 A1 teaches opposing retention structures and ramp surfaces on the slide clip 868 and connector body 821, where contact between ramp surfaces causes the slide clip to move between coupling and non-coupling positions, thereby releasing or retaining the connector. See US 2017/0184798 A1 at [0076]-[0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the US 2017/0184798 A1’s opposed ramp/release interaction into Nguyen’s locking structure so that connector release occurs by cooperative contact between a release member and a latch release feature. This would have predictably improved connector retention and release control.
As to claim 16, Nguyen discloses an adapter 100 with a plug 200 and ferrule holders 300 that are positioned and guided by adapter grooves and projections. See Nguyen at [0028]-[0037].
Nguyen does not expressly disclose a first guide member configured both to restrict the distance by which the latch release member moves away from the adapter body, and guide insertion of the first optical connector into the adapter.
US 2017/0184798 A1 teaches a slide clip 868 mounted within channels 870 of adapter housing 850, with movement limited by the clip/adapter geometry, and with ramps 877 that guide insertion of the connector body 821 while automatically moving the clip. See US 2017/0184798 A1 at [0076]-[0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nguyen’s adapter with a guide member as taught by US 2017/0184798 A1 because the guide feature serves the predictable functions of controlling clip travel and guiding connector insertion, thereby improving mechanical reliability and preventing over-travel.
As to claim 17, Nguyen discloses alignment and retention structures for optical connector parts, but does not expressly disclose an elastic member disposed between the first latch release member and the first guide member acting to return the release member toward the adapter body.
US 2017/0184798 A1 teaches a leaf spring 880 mounted in an elongate pocket 881 of the release tab 874, the leaf spring biasing the slide clip 868 toward the coupling position. See US 2017/0184798 A1 at [0078]-[0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spring-biased return structure in Nguyen’s adapter because US 2017/0184798 A1 shows that a spring can return the retention member to a locked position after release, providing a known and predictable mechanism for automatic reset and improved usability.
As to claim 18, Nguyen discloses positioning and alignment structures for ferrule holders and adapter grooves, but does not expressly disclose a first guide member having a restricting structure configured to restrict the insertion posture of the optical connector with respect to the adapter. US 2017/0184798 A1 teaches keying structures 826, ramps 832, and other orientation-controlling features that ensure the connector body 821 is inserted in the proper rotational orientation and aligned correctly with the adapter 836. See US 2017/0184798 A1 at [0065]-[0067], [0080]-[0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a restricting structure to Nguyen’s guide member in view of US 2017/0184798 A1 because such orientation-control structures are commonly used to prevent improper insertion and to ensure correct mating alignment in optical connector systems.
As to claim 19, Nguyen discloses an adapter assembly with opposing sides, an opening 104, ferrule holders 300, and alignment structures on both the adapter and plug sides. See Nguyen at [0032]-[0037].
Nguyen does not expressly disclose: a second latch release member disposed on the opposite side of the adapter body and movable along the first direction, two pairs of third latch release structures, a second guide member configured to guide insertion and restrict movement of the second latch release member, or the specific paired second-latch/second-release configuration recited.
US 2017/0184798 A1 teaches a robust retention arrangement in which the adapter-side slide clip 868 engages the connector body 821 at retention locations on opposite sides of the connector, with ramps 877 and retention surfaces 878, and is spring biased by leaf spring 880. See US 2017/0184798 A1 at [0076]-[0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend Nguyen’s retention and release concept to both sides of the adapter, as taught by US 2017/0184798 A1’s opposite-side retention engagement, in order to provide balanced locking and release of connectors on opposing sides of the adapter. The use of paired latch release members and guide members would have been a predictable implementation of the same retention concept for a dual-sided connector arrangement.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of JP 2002-357742 A and US 20170184798 A1 (hereinafter US 798’).
As to claim 11, Nguyen discloses a multi-ferrule optical connector/adapter arrangement including an adapter 100, plug 200, and ferrule holders 300 for aligning multiple ferrules 12 within a compact optical connection structure, and further teaches adapter-side and connector-side alignment features including grooves 140, 142 and cooperating connector-side projections for guiding insertion and positioning of the connector components. See Nguyen at [0026]-[0037].
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose the claimed second-side latch release arrangement, including a second latch release member positioned on the opposite side of the adapter body from a first latch release member, the second latch release member including two pairs of third latch release structures, a second guide member configured to restrict movement of the second latch release member and guide insertion of the second optical connector, a pair of second latch members configured to lock the second optical connector, each second latch member including a second latch body extending along the first direction and a second protruding portion, a pair of fourth latch release structures on both sides of the second protruding portion, and the coordinated release action in which movement of the second latch release member away from the adapter body causes the release structures to contact the latch members and push the second protruding portion outward to release locking.
JP 2002-357742 A an optical connector system having an adapter housing 10 and package housing 50 with fitting portions 15, latching portions 14, and an inner housing 70 / outer housing 60 arrangement that supports symmetric engagement and retention from opposing sides. See JP 2002-357742 A at [0006]-[0010], [0015]-[0022], [0025]-[0028].
US 798’ teaches a slide clip 868 mounted to a fiber optic adapter and movable between coupling and non-coupling positions to retain and release a connector body 821, as well as retention structures 876, ramp surfaces 877, a release tab 874, and a spring 880 biasing the clip toward the coupling position. See US 798’ at [0075]-[0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen’s optical connector system in view of JP 2002-357742 A and US 798 to provide the claimed second-side latch release arrangement. Nguyen provides the multi-ferrule optical connector framework and adapter alignment structure, JP 2002-357742 A supplies the symmetric opposing-side housing and latching concept that suggests providing corresponding retention and release structure on the opposite side of the adapter body for a second connector, and US ‘798 supplies the movable adapter-mounted slide clip, release tab, spring bias, and ramp/retention interaction that teach how a movable release member can release a locked connector in a controlled manner. Combining these teachings would have predictably yielded a connector system with reliable retention on opposing sides, guided insertion, controlled release, and improved mechanical robustness and usability, using known connector-retention and release structures in a known multi-ferrule optical connector environment.
Examiner Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of the action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or discussed by the examiner.
In addition, the functional recitation in the claims (e.g. "configured to" or "adapted to" or the like) that does not limit a claim limitation to a particular structure does not limit the scope of the claim. It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to", "configured to", "designed to", or "operable to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform and may not constitute a limitation in a patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 139. (See MPEP 2111.04); see also In In re Giannelli, 739 F.3d 1375, 1378, 109 USPQ2d 1333, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Also, it should be noted that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed device is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed device from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations Ex-parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 1987).
The Examiner notes that where the patent office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact, be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Swinehart and sfiligoj, 169 USPQ 226 (C.C.P.A. 1971).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877