DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0077391) and Despard (US Pat No. 1,875,224).
Regarding claim 1, Siminoff teaches an electronic door chime (See [0002] which teaches A/V recording and communication doorbell) comprising:
a back cover comprising a first compartment (See [0147], [0151], and Fig. 4-7 & 10 - a rear wall 184 along with sidewalls 180, 182, together a back cover of a housing 136, defining an enclosure 138);
a front cover attached to the back cover to thereby form a housing configured for installation in a voltage box (See [0147]-[0148], [0151], and Fig. 3-12, a front face plate 134, rear wall 184, and sidewalls 180, 182 form the housing 136, which is configured to fit in junction box 146);
a power supply, the power supply configured to receive mains electric power and to produce a DC output (See Fig. 14-20 and [0155] “The incoming AC power supply 304 may be converted to DC (direct-current) by an AC/DC rectifier 306. An output of the AC/DC rectifier 306 may be connected to an input of a DC/DC converter 308, which may step down the voltage from the output of the AC/DC rectifier 306 from 16-24 VDC to a lower voltage of about 5 VDC, for example. In various embodiments, the output of the DC/DC converter 308 may be in a range of from about 2.5 V to about 7.5 V, for example.”);
a first circuit disposed in the housing (See [0155, [0181], and Fig. 14 which teach circuits located in the housing) the first circuit comprising a power section (See [0155]-[0156] which teach a power manager), and a chiming circuit (See [0157] and a switch 338 connected to a front button 132 of the doorbell 130 for operating a signaling device 340); and
a speaker operably connected to the chiming circuit (See [0157] which teaches a signaling device that is configured to emit a sound when the switch closes).
Siminoff does not teach a separation board affixed to the back cover.
Despard teaches teach a separation board that is affixed to the housing and is configured to separate the single-gang voltage box into a first compartment and a second compartment (See Page 3 lines 68-75 and Page 4 lines 25-39)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Siminoff’s system to include Despard’s teachings to provide greater flexibility with wiring of voltage boxes (Despard P 2, lines 100-110). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 2, Siminoff teaches the first circuit comprises a doorbell sensor configured to receive a doorbell trigger signal and to produce a trigger sensed signal upon receiving the doorbell trigger signal (See [0160] which teaches a shunt 348 is configured to sense the voltage across the switch 338, when the switch has closed, and switches to a high impedance state upon detecting the voltage).
Regarding claim 3, Siminoff teaches wherein the chiming circuit sends a sound signal to the speaker upon receiving the trigger sensed signal to thereby cause the speaker to produce a sound (See [0160]).
Regarding claim 4, Siminoff teaches the voltage box is a single-gang voltage box (See [0148]).
Regarding claim 5, Siminoff does not teach a separation board that is affixed to the housing and is configured to separate the single-gang voltage box into a first compartment and a second compartment.
Despard teaches teach a separation board that is affixed to the housing and is configured to separate the single-gang voltage box into a first compartment and a second compartment (See Page 3 lines 68-75 and Page 4 lines 25-39)
Regarding claim 6, Siminoff teaches wherein the first Circuit further comprises: an electronic switching power supply circuit configured to supply no more than 24 VDC power (See [0155)).
Regarding claim 7, Siminoff teaches the power supply is a switching power supply circuit (See [0155)).
Regarding claim 8, Siminoff teaches a doorbell button (See Fig. 3, 132, [0157], and [0179]), the doorbell button comprising a switch (See Fig. 14, 338, [0157], and [0179]), and an indicator configured to light only when the switch is open (See [0179]).
Regarding claim 9, Siminoff teaches a light emitting diode configured to light only when the switch is closed (See [0178]).
Claims 10, 11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0077391), Despard (US Pat No. 1,875,224), and Murphy et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0270450).
Regarding claim 10, Siminoff teaches a door chime (See [0002] which teaches A/V recording and communication doorbell) comprising:
a housing configured for installation in a voltage box (See [0147]-[0148], [0151], and Fig. 3-12, a front face plate 134, rear wall 184, and sidewalls 180, 182 form the housing 136, which is configured to fit in junction box 146);
a power supply, the power supply configured to receive mains electric power and to produce a DC output (See Fig. 14-20 and [0155] 304- AC power supply, 306 - AC/DC rectifier, and 308 - DC/DC converter supplying DC power to 310- a power manager 310);
a first circuit disposed in the housing (See [0155, [0181], and Fig. 14 which teach circuits located in the housing) the first circuit comprising a power section (See [0155]-[0156] which teach a power manager), and a chiming circuit (See [0157] and a switch 338 connected to a front button 132 of the doorbell 130 for operating a signaling device 340); and
a speaker operably connected to the chiming circuit (See [0157] which teaches a signaling device that is configured to emit a sound when the switch closes).
Siminoff does not teach a separation board that is affixed to the housing and is configured to separate the single-gang voltage box into a first compartment and a second compartment or a speaker disposed in the housing and operably connected to the chiming circuit.
Despard teaches teach a separation board that is affixed to the housing and is configured to separate the single-gang voltage box into a first compartment and a second compartment (See Page 3 lines 68-75 and Page 4 lines 25-39).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Siminoff’s system to include Despard’s teachings to provide greater flexibility with wiring of voltage boxes (Despard P 2, lines 100-110). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Murphy teaches a speaker disposed in the housing and operably connected to the chiming circuit (See [0029] and [0031]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Siminoff’s device to include Murphy’s teachings to better help the visitor identify that the doorbell is working and confirm that the doorbell has been activated. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 11, Siminoff teaches wherein the chiming circuit sends a sound signal to the speaker upon receiving the trigger sensed signal to thereby cause the speaker to produce a sound (See [0160]).
Regarding claim 15, Siminoff teaches the first compartment is configured to accept input lines (See [0155]).
Regarding claim 16, Siminoff teaches an external doorbell button, the external doorbell button comprising a switch, and an indicator configured to light when the switch is open (See Fig. 14, [0157] and [0178] which teaches that the LEDs illuminate when the button is pressed. However, whether the buttons illuminate to show that button is pressed or no longer illuminate when the button is pushed is a design preference. In either case, the user is informed that the button is pressed from the light signal. Both methods are predictable potential solutions and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued either solution with a reasonable expectation of success.).
Regarding claim 17, Siminoff teaches a door chime (See [0002] which teaches A/V recording and communication doorbell) comprising:
attaching a power supply to a back cover, the power supply configured to receive mains electric power and to produce an DC output (See Fig. 14-20 and [0155] 304- AC power supply, 306 - AC/DC rectifier, and 308 - DC/DC converter supplying DC power to 310- a power manager 310. See Fig. 5 and [0169] which teaches an opening for receiving input lines.);
attaching a first circuit disposed in the housing (See [0155, [0181], and Fig. 14 which teach circuits located in the housing) the first circuit comprising a power section (See [0155]-[0156] which teach a power manager), a chiming circuit (See [0157] and a switch 338 connected to a front button 132 of the doorbell 130 for operating a signaling device 340) a doorbell interface (See Fig. 3 and [0166]), and doorbell sensor (See Fig. 14 and [0137] which teach a motion sensor and the circuit diagram);
forming a housing by attaching a front cover to the back cover and the housing configured for installation in a single-gang voltage box (See abstract, [0147]-[0148], [0151], and Fig. 3-12, a front face plate 134, rear wall 184, and sidewalls 180, 182 form the housing 136, which is configured to fit in junction box 146);
receiving a doorbell trigger signal (See [0137]-[0138] teaches detection of a doorbell press and/or motion sensor);
sending a triggered sensed signal to the chiming circuit in response to receiving a doorbell trigger signal (See [0160] which teaches a shunt 348 is configured to sense the voltage across the switch 338, when the switch has closed, and switches to a high impedance state upon detecting the voltage. See also [0137]-[0138]);
producing a sound wherein the chiming circuit sends a sound signal to the speaker upon receiving the trigger sensed signal to thereby cause the speaker to produce a sound (See [0157] which teaches a signaling device that is configured to emit a sound when the switch closes. See also [0160]).
Siminoff does not teach a separation board that is affixed to the housing and is configured to separate the single-gang voltage box into a first compartment and a second compartment or a speaker disposed in the housing and operably connected to the chiming circuit.
Despard teaches teach a separation board that is affixed to the housing and is configured to separate the single-gang voltage box into a first compartment and a second compartment (See Page 3 lines 68-75 and Page 4 lines 25-39).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Siminoff’s system to include Despard’s teachings to provide greater flexibility with wiring of voltage boxes (Despard P. 2, lines 100-110). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Murphy teaches a speaker disposed in the housing and operably connected to the chiming circuit (See [0029] and [0031]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Siminoff’s device to include Murphy’s teachings to better help the visitor identify that the doorbell is working and confirm that the doorbell has been activated. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 18, Siminoff teaches attaching a faceplate to the front cover, the faceplate configured to cover the housing when the housing is installed in the single-gang voltage box. (See Fig. 20 and [0174]).
Regarding claim 19, Siminoff teaches producing a rectified output (See [0155]); powering a light emitting diode from the rectified output only when a switch is open; and producing the doorbell trigger signal when the switch is closed (See Fig. 14, [0157] and [0178] which teaches that the LEDs illuminate when the button is pressed and a sound emitted. However, whether the buttons illuminate to show that button is pressed or no longer illuminate when the button is pushed is a design preference. In either case, the user is informed that the button is pressed from the light signal. Both methods are predictable potential solutions and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued either solution with a reasonable expectation of success.).
Regarding claim 20, Siminoff teaches producing a rectified output (See [0155]); powering a light emitting diode from the rectified output only when a switch is open; and producing the doorbell trigger signal when the switch is closed (See Fig. 14, [0157] and [0178] which teaches that the LEDs illuminate when the button is pressed and a sound emitted. However, whether the buttons illuminate to show that button is pressed or no longer illuminate when the button is pushed is a design preference. In either case, the user is informed that the button is pressed from the light signal. Both methods are predictable potential solutions and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued either solution with a reasonable expectation of success.).
Claim 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0077391), Despard (US Pat No. 1,875,224), Murphy et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0270450), and Korcz et al. (US pub No. 2010/0032180).
Regarding claim 12, Siminoff does not teach the separation board further comprises at least one breaking score.
Korcz teaches utilizing frangible score lines in electrical boxes in order to breakoff sections when they are not needed for the particular installation being completed (See abstract and [0015]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Siminoff’s device to include Korcz’s score line teachings to for better versality and customization in various types of installations. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 13, Siminoff does not teach the separation board further comprises at least one breaking score.
Korcz teaches utilizing frangible score lines in electrical boxes in order to breakoff sections when they are not needed for the particular installation being completed (See abstract and [0015]). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a frangible score line on the separation board to fit in the voltage box, so that the device can be used in multiple different types of applications and situations.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0077391), Despard (US Pat No. 1,875,224), Murphy et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0270450), and Morizur et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0179821).
Regarding claim 14, Siminoff does not teach the separation board is compliant with UL94 fire retardant standards.
Morizur teaches using UL94 compliant material in electrical boxes (See [0231]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Siminoff’s device to include Morizur’s UL94 material to prevent fire hazard. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
/THOMAS S MCCORMACK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686