DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 11-14, 48-51, 52, 100, 151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAGHAVAN et al (US 2025/0261021 A1) in view of VIVO et al (VIVIO: Further Discussion on multi beam enhancement-R1207644, e-Meeting , October 26th-Novmebr 13, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), claim 100, RAGHAVAN et al (US 2025/0261021 A1) discloses a user equipment (UE) (see, the UE making LI-RSRSP measurements on cells with different PCIs, section 0022, fig. 1 UE 110 coupled to gNB 120A, fig. 2, UE) for wireless communication (see, the UE that is configured to perform intercell- LI RSRSP measurements based on RX (.e.g., SSBs, CSI-RS),section 0033) , comprising: one or more memories (fig. 2, UE 110 that includes memory 210 coupled to processor 205 with embedding L1-RSRSP Reporting engine 235 for implementing scheduling restrictions, coupled to transceiver 225, section 0024-0027) and one or more processors (fig. 2, UE 110 that includes memory 210 coupled to processor 205 with embedding L1-RSRSP Reporting engine 235 for implementing scheduling restrictions, coupled to transceiver 225, section 0024-0027), coupled to the memory one or more memories (fig. 2, UE 110 that includes memory 210 coupled to processor 205 with embedding L1=RSRSP Reporting engine 235 for implementing scheduling restrictions, coupled to transceiver 225, section 0024-0027), configured to: receive a measurement configuration (see, restrictions which may include configuration in relation RS (e.g., SSBs or CSI-RS for L1-RSRSP measurements on cell with different PCI than the serving cell from the serving cell gNB to the UE 110, section 0035, 0047-0048, 0068-0069) indicating a scheduling restriction (see, scheduling restrictions to handle L1-RSRP measurements based on SSBs transmitted by cells with different PCIs, section 0035, 00039) corresponding to a Layer 1 (L1) measurement of a reference signal associated with an L1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) inter-cell mobility operation associated with a first cell and a second cell (see, measurement restrictions to handle L1-RSRP measurements based on SSBs transmitted by cell with different PCIs, section 0035, 0039, noted: fig. 4, shows inter-cell mobility), wherein the scheduling restriction prohibits communication of a signal (see, the scheduling restrictions, the prioritizes UL transmission of aperiodic signals over other type of UL transmissions or the UE prioritizes some of UL transmissions over the CSI-RS based L1-RSRP measurements, section 0043-00044, 0042), other than the reference signal, during at least one adjacent symbol, wherein the at least one adjacent symbol comprises at least one symbol that is adjacent to at least one measurement symbol associated]] with reception of the reference signal (see, the measurement restrictions means that the UE is not required to perform CSI-RS based L1-RSRP measurements on cell with different PCI from the serving cell if the UL slots or symbol of any PUCH , PUSCH or SRS overlap with CSI-RS of the cell with different PCI, section 0042), and wherein the at least one [[adjacent symbol]] is not associated with reception of the reference signal (see, the measurement restrictions means that the UE is not required to perform CSI-RS based L1-RSRP measurements on cell with different PCI from the serving cell if the UL slots or symbol of any PUCH , PUSCH or SRS overlap with CSI-RS of the cell with different PCI, section 0042); and receive the reference signal based at least in part on the measurement configuration (noted: the UE can implicitly receive and transmits of reference/pilot or control signal based on the measurement configuration, section 0013,0017, 0022, 0025, 0035).
RAGHVAN ‘021 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the scheduling restriction prohibits communication of a signal other than the reference signal, during at least one adjacent symbol, wherein the at least one adjacent symbol comprises at least one symbol that is adjacent to at least one measurement symbol associated with reception of the reference signal , and wherein the at least one adjacent symbol is not associated with reception of the reference signal; and receive the reference signal based at least in part on the measurement.
However, VIVO: Further Discussion on multi beam enhancement-R1207644, e-Meeting , October 26th-Novmebr 13, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor (see, inter-cell mobility and scheduling restriction where the L3 inter-cell beam measurement is restricted in SMTC window, page 10-13) discloses: wherein the scheduling restriction prohibits communication of a signal (page 14 to page 15, first paragraph/proposal 18, the principle of scheduling restriction can be extended L1 measurement on SSB or CSI-RS for mobility) other than the reference signal, during at least one adjacent symbol( page 13 to page 15, see, data symbol before each consecutive SSB symbols to be measured and 1 data symbol at each consecutive SSB symbols to be measured within SMTC window duration, proposal 16);, wherein the at least one adjacent symbol comprises at least one symbol that is adjacent to at least one measurement symbol associated with reception of the reference signal (page 13 to page 15, see, data symbol before each consecutive SSB symbols to be measured and 1 data symbol at each consecutive SSB symbols to be measured within SMTC window duration, proposal 16);, and wherein the at least one adjacent symbol is not associated with reception of the reference signal (page 13 to page 15, see, data symbol before each consecutive SSB symbols to be measured and 1 data symbol at each consecutive SSB symbols to be measured within SMTC window duration, proposal 16); and receive the reference signal based at least in part on the measurement (page 13 to page 15, implicitly discloses receiving based on the measurement signal).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
RAGHVAN ‘021 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2 (Original), the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one adjacent symbol comprises at least one indication that indicates a first set of symbols occurring immediately before the at least one measurement symbol and a second set of symbols occurring immediately after the at least one measurement symbol.
However, VIVO: Further Discussion on multi beam enhancement-R1207644, e-Meeting , October 26th-Novmebr 13, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor (see, inter-cell mobility and scheduling restriction where the L3 inter-cell beam measurement is restricted in SMTC window, page 10-13) discloses: Regarding claim 2 (Original), the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one adjacent symbol comprises at least one indication that indicates a first set of symbols occurring immediately before the at least one measurement symbol and a second set of symbols occurring immediately after the at least one measurement symbol (see, proposals 18, page 13 to page 14, see, the scheduling restriction scheme that needs to be extended, the gNB determines whether the scheduling restriction applies to the symbols before or after the RS symbols of the neighbor cell).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
RAGHVAN ‘021 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the UE of claim 1, wherein the scheduling restriction corresponds to at least a portion of a measurement window duration.
However, VIVO: Further Discussion on multi beam enhancement-R1207644, e-Meeting , October 26th-Novmebr 13, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor (see, inter-cell mobility and scheduling restriction where the L3 inter-cell beam measurement is restricted in SMTC window, page 10-13) discloses: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the UE of claim 1, wherein the scheduling restriction corresponds to at least a portion of a measurement window duration (se, measurement of SSB symbols an data symbol within the SMTC window duration, the measurement is related to scheduling restrictions, page 10 to page 13, proposal 16).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), RAGHAVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the at least the portion of the measurement window duration comprises an entire measurement window duration (VIVO, page 11 to page 13, see, measurement in the SMTC , the SMTC window is made up to 5 ms, the WMTC window comprises a plurality of periodicities).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
Regarding claim 12 (Original), RAGHAVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein the first cell is asynchronized with the second cell, and wherein a synchronization signal block (SSB) index associated with the second cell (see, SSBs to be measured with respect to cells (neighboring cells and serving cells), page 10 to page 14) does not correspond to an SSB index associated with the first cell (page 13 to page 14,see, the scheduling restriction is extended to the resources formL1 measurement on timing in L1 report to avoid affecting neighboring cell measurement).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), RAGHAVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the measurement window duration corresponds to at least one of a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window (see, the SSB symbols to be measured within the SMTC window duration or the SSB/CSI-RS from the neighbor cells can be measured proposal 15, 16,, page 10-12) or a measurement gap window.
Regarding claim 14 (Original), RAGHAVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the reference signal comprises a synchronization signal block associated with a neighbor cell (see, SSBS/CSI-RS with respect to neighboring cells, page 10 to page 14), and wherein the measurement window duration corresponds to the SMTC window (see, the SSB symbols to be measured within the SMTC window duration or the SSB/CSI-RS from the neighbor cells can be measured proposal 16,, page 10-12).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
Regarding claim 36 (Original) , RAGHAVAN ‘021 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors (see, the UE making LI-RSRSP measurements on cells with different PCIs, section 0022), are further configured to: obtain a first L1 measurement associated with the reference signal (see, restrictions which may include configuration in relation RS (e.g., SSBs or CSI-RS for L1-RSRSP measurements on cell with different PCI than the serving cell from the serving cell gNB to the UE 110, section 0035, 0047-0048, 0068-0069), wherein the reference signal comprises a first synchronization signal block (SSB) (see, restrictions which may include configuration in relation RS (e.g., SSBs or CSI-RS for L1-RSRSP measurements on cell with different PCI than the serving cell from the serving cell gNB to the UE 110, section 0035, 0047-0048, 0068-0069); and obtain a second L1 measurement associated with a second SSB (see, restrictions which may include configuration in relation RS (e.g., SSBs or CSI-RS for L1-RSRSP measurements on cell with different PCI than the serving cell from the serving cell gNB to the UE 110, section 0035, 0047-0048, 0068-0069) that overlaps the first SSB based at least in part on the second SSB satisfying an overlap measurement condition (see, L1-RSRP measurements by cells having different PCIs from the serving cell may overlap with an uplink transmission for the serving cell, section 0033, 0035-0036).
Regarding claim 46 (Original), RAGHAVAN ‘021 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the reference signal corresponds to a first component carrier (noted: it clear that the UE receives RS (e.g. SSBs, CSI-RS) for L1-RSRP measurements transmitted by the cells having different PCIs, section 0033, see, the UE’s transceiver may operate on variety of different frequencies or channels, section 0032), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to communicate a signal corresponding to a second component carrier that is different from the first component carrier (section 0032-0033-clearly discloses the potential use of second frequency for transmission by the UE).
Regarding claim 47 (Original) RAGHAVAN ‘021 discloses the UE of claim 46, wherein the first component carrier and the second component carrier are both associated with a band (noted: it clear that the UE receives RS (e.g. SSBs, CSI-RS) for L1-RSRP measurements transmitted by the cells having different PCIs, section 0033, see, the UE’s transceiver may operate on variety of different frequencies or channels, section 0032), or a band combination.
Regarding claim 48 (Original), RAGHAVAN ‘021 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the first cell and the second cell are Synchronized (see, scheduling or measurement restrictions to handle L1- RSRP measurement based on SSBs transmitted by cell with different PCIs, section 0035-0036).
Regarding claim 49 (Original) The UE of claim 48, wherein the first cell and the second cell are synchronized based at least in part on an alignment (noted: synchronization between Othe first cell and second cell, section 0007, VIVO, proposal 27-disclsoes alignment, Proposal 17, section 3.2), between the first cell and the second cell (noted: synchronization between Othe first cell and second cell, section 0007, VIVO, proposal 27-disclsoes alignment, Proposal 17, section 3.2), of at least one cell feature, the at least one cell feature comprising at least one of: a downlink frame transmission boundary, a downlink slot transmission boundary (VIVO, page 10 to page 12-discloses SMTC window with short period for transmission of service cells), or a downlink symbol transmission boundary.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
Regarding claim 50 (Original) RAGHAVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO discloses the UE of claim 48, wherein the first cell and the second cell are synchronized based at least in part on a timing difference between the first cell and the second cell satisfying a timing difference threshold (see, timing offset between the serving cell and the cell with different PCI, in-cell L1 RSRP measurements conditions being satisfied, section 0034).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
Regarding claim 51 (Original), RAGHAVAN ‘021as modified by VIVO discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to obtain a plurality of L1 measurements based at least in part on a UE capability associated with at least one of: a maximum quantity of identified cells, a maximum quantity of synchronization signal block (SSB) indices corresponding to an intra-frequency layer, a maximum quantity of SSB indices corresponding to an inter-frequency layer (VIVO, page 11, Observation 7: large number of cells and SSBs, Table 4 , Intra-Frequency under F1 with 8 identified cells and 24 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI), a maximum quantity of physical cell identifiers (PCIs) corresponding to an intra-frequency layer, a maximum quantity of PCIs corresponding to an inter-frequency layer (VIVO, page 8 to page 10, the maximum value of K indicated by UE capability, multiple TRPs), or a maximum quantity of SSBs per identified cell of the identified cells (VIVO, page 11, Observation 7: large number of cells and SSBs, Table 4 , Intra-Frequency under F1 with 8 identified cells and 24 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI):
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
Regarding claim 52 (Currently Amended), claim 101,, RAGHAVAN ‘021 discloses a network node (fig. 1 to fig. 3, fig. 1, gNB 120A coupled to the UE 110, section 0018-0020, the gNB or serving cell of the base station configures the UE or sending to the UE, scheduling restrictions or measurements restrictions, section 0006-0007) for wireless communication (see, measurement configuration with respect to restriction to the UE, section 0006-0007), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 3, base station/gNB 300 that includes memory 310 coupled to a processor that is configured with a plurality of engines for the base station 300, section 0028-0032); and one or more processors (fig. 3, base station/gNB 300 that includes memory 310 coupled to a processor that is configured with a plurality of engines for the base station 300, transceiver 320 to enable data exchange with with the UEs, section 0028-0032), coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 3, base station/gNB 300 that includes memory 310 coupled to a processor that is configured with a plurality of engines for the base station 300, transceiver 320 to enable data exchange with the UEs, section 0028-0032), configured to: transmit (fig. 3, transceiver 320 to enable data exchange with the UEs, section 0028-0032) a measurement configuration (see, restrictions which may include configuration in relation RS (e.g., SSBs or CSI-RS for L1-RSRSP measurements on cell with different PCI than the serving cell from the serving cell gNB to the UE 110, section 0035, 0047-0048, 0068-0069 indicating a scheduling restriction (see, scheduling restrictions to handle L1-RSRP measurements based on SSBs transmitted by cells with different PCIs, section 0035, 00039) corresponding to a Layer 1 (L1) measurement of a reference signal (see, CSI-RS for L1-RSRP measurement from cells with different PCIs from the serving cell, section 0039-0040) associated with an L1 (see, measurement restrictions to handle L1-RSRP measurements based on SSBs transmitted by cell with different PCIs, section 0035, 0039) or Layer 2 (L1/L2) inter-cell mobility operation associated with a first cell and a second cell (fig. 1, the gNB can include multiple cells having different PCs where the UE is configured to perform L1-RSRP measurements on cells with different PCIs, section 0022, 0034-Layet 3 implies handover between serving cell and neighbor cell, noted: fig. 4, shows inter-cell mobility), wherein the scheduling restriction prohibits communication of a signal (see, scheduling restrictions, the prioritizes UL transmission of aperiodic signals over other type of UL transmissions or the UE prioritizes some of UL transmissions over the CSI-RS based L1-RSRP measurements, section 0043-00044, 0042), [[other than the reference signal, during at least one adjacent symbol, wherein the at least one adjacent symbol comprises at least one symbol that is adjacent to at least one measurement symbol associated with reception of the reference signal]] and wherein the at least one [[adjacent]] symbol is not associated with reception of the reference signal (see, the measurement restrictions means that the UE is not required to perform CSI-RS based L1-RSRP measurements on cell with different PCI from the serving cell if the UL slots or symbol of any PUCH , PUSCH or SRS overlap with CSI-RS of the cell with different PCI, section 0042); and transmit the reference signal based at least in part on the measurement configuration (noted: the UE can implicitly receive and transmits of reference/pilot or control signal based on the measurement configuration, section 0013,0017, 0022, 0025, 0035).
RAGHVAN ‘021 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the scheduling restriction prohibits communication of a signal other than the reference signal, during at least one adjacent symbol, wherein the at least one adjacent symbol comprises at least one symbol that is adjacent to at least one measurement symbol associated with reception of the reference signal , and wherein the at least one adjacent symbol is not associated with reception of the reference signal; and transmit the reference signal based at least in part on the measurement.
However, VIVO: Further Discussion on multi beam enhancement-R1207644, e-Meeting , October 26th-Novmebr 13, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor (see, inter-cell mobility and scheduling restriction where the L3 inter-cell beam measurement is restricted in SMTC window, page 10-13) discloses: wherein the scheduling restriction prohibits communication of a signal (page 14 to page 15, first paragraph/proposal 18, the principle of scheduling restriction can be extended L1 measurement on SSB or CSI-RS for mobility) other than the reference signal, during at least one adjacent symbol, wherein the at least one adjacent symbol comprises at least one symbol that is adjacent to at least one measurement symbol associated with reception of the reference signal , and wherein the at least one adjacent symbol is not associated with reception of the reference signal (page 13 to page 15, see, data symbol before each consecutive SSB symbols to be measured and 1 data symbol at each consecutive SSB symbols to be measured within SMTC window duration, proposal 16); and transmit the reference signal based at least in part on the measurement (page 13 to page 15, implicitly discloses receiving based on the measurement signal).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021. The motivation would have been to provide improvement in latency performance.
Regarding claim 100, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 151, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 52 above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations as discussed above.
Claims 23-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAGHAVAN et al (US 2025/0261021 A1 ) in view of VIVO: Further Discussion on multi beam enhancement-R1207644, e-Meeting , October 26th-Novmebr 13, 2020) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HWANG et al (US 2021/0083730 A1).
The combination of RAGHAVAN ‘021 and VIVO discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 23 (Original), the UE of claim 1, wherein the scheduling restriction is applied with a measurement gap.
Regarding claim 24 (Original) The UE of claim 23, wherein the scheduling restriction is applied with the measurement gap based at least in part on the reference signal being outside of an active downlink bandwidth part.
Regarding claim 25 (Original), the UE of claim 23, wherein the scheduling restriction is applied with the measurement gap based at least in part on an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the reference signal being different from an initial BWP.
Regarding claim 26 (Original), the UE of claim 23, wherein the reference signal corresponds to a first subcarrier spacing, and wherein the scheduling restriction is applied with the measurement gap based at least in part on the first subcarrier spacing being different from a second subcarrier spacing corresponding to an active bandwidth part.
Regarding claim 27 (Original), The UE of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to obtain a measurement corresponding to the reference signal based at least in part on receiving the reference signal during a configured time period, wherein the configured time period comprises an overlap, in a time domain, of the measurement gap and a switching period.
Regarding claim 28 (Original), the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a configuration associated with a plurality of candidate cells for the L1/L2 inter-cell mobility operation, wherein the measurement configuration indicates a set of
measurement gap configurations for L1 measurements associated with the plurality of
candidate cells.
Regarding claim 29 (Original), the UE of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication of a selected measurement gap configuration associated with the set of measurement gap configurations.
Regarding claim 30 (Original), the UE of claim 29, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the selected measurement gap configuration, are configured to receive at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) transmission.
Regarding claim 31 (Original), the UE of claim 30, wherein the MAC CE indicates a subset of measurement gap configurations, of the set of measurement gap configurations, associated with a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells.
Regarding claim 32 (Original), the UE of claim 31, wherein the DCI transmission indicates a measurement gap configuration of the subset of measurement gap configurations.
Regarding claim 33 (Currently Amended), the UE of claim 30, wherein the MAC CE indicates only one measurement gap configuration, of the set of measurement gap configurations, as an active measurement gap configuration associated with a candidate cell
of the plurality of candidate cells.
Regarding claim 34 (Original), the UE of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine a selected measurement gap configuration, of the set of measurement gap configurations, based at least in part on a measurement gap parameter, corresponding to the selected measurement gap configuration, satisfying an implicit condition.
Regarding claim 35 (Original), the UE of claim 34, wherein the measurement gap parameter comprises a measurement gap configuration identifier (ID), and wherein the measurement gap parameter satisfies the implicit condition based at least in part on the measurement gap configuration ID having a minimum value of a plurality of values corresponding to a plurality of measurement gap configuration IDs associated with the set of measurement gap configurations.
However, HWANG et al (US 2021/0083730 A1) discloses SSB based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window duration (section 0210-0287) and measurement gaps or windows for CSI-RS on which the UE performs RRM measurement (section 0200-02225) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 23 (Original), the UE of claim 1, wherein the scheduling restriction is applied with a measurement gap (see, measurement gap configuration of measurement of CSI-RS of neighbor cells, restrictions on CSI-RS configuration/restriction by the network, section 0202-0204).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021 with SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window associated with measurement gaps configuration as taught by HWANG ‘730. The motivation would have been to provide optimal mobility to the UE.
Regarding claim 24 (Original) The UE of claim 23, wherein the scheduling restriction is applied with the measurement gap (section 0202-0204, 0208-measurement gap in relation to restriction) based at least in part on the reference signal being outside of an active downlink bandwidth part (see, measurement gap for a UE that does not support simultaneous reception of CSI-RS of neighbor cell in an active DL BWP, section 0197, 0205)
Regarding claim 25 (Original), the UE of claim 23, wherein the scheduling restriction is applied with the measurement gap based at least in part on an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the reference signal being different from an initial BWP (section 0213, 0220).
Regarding claim 26 (Original), the UE of claim 23, wherein the reference signal corresponds to a first subcarrier spacing, and wherein the scheduling restriction is applied with the measurement gap (see, information about measurement gaps in relation to multiple numerologies, section 0220-0222, 0208, 0212-0214-scheduling restriction associated with numerologies) based at least in part on the first subcarrier spacing being different from a second subcarrier spacing corresponding to an active bandwidth part (see, an active DL BWP having a different numerology from that of data transmitted from a serving cel in the active DL BWP/ multiple numerologies, section 0220-0221, 0224).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021 with SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window associated with measurement gaps configuration as taught by HWANG ‘730. The motivation would have been to provide optimal mobility to the UE.
Regarding claim 27 (Original), The UE of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to obtain a measurement corresponding to the reference signal based at least in part on receiving the reference signal during a configured time period (see, CSI-RS of measurement gaps with CSI-RS periodicity and offset, section 0204-0205, 0208), wherein the configured time period comprises an overlap (see, RRM measurement with overlap duration in SMTC window, section 0176), in a time domain (see, RRM measurement with overlap duration in SMTC window, section 0176, 0184-0187) of the measurement gap and a switching period (see, CSI-RS of measurement gaps with CSI-RS periodicity and offset, section 0204-0205, 0208).
Regarding claim 28 (Original), the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a configuration associated with a plurality of candidate cells for the L1/L2 inter-cell mobility operation (see, measurement configuration associated with measurement gaps from one or more neighbor cells, section 0130-0134, 0200-0202, noted: measurement relating to a UE handover, section 0048-0049, 0056), wherein the measurement configuration indicates a set of measurement gap configurations for L1 measurements associated with the plurality of candidate cells (see, measurement configuration associated with measurement gaps from one or more neighbor cells, section 0130-0134, 0200-0204, 0205-0206).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021 with SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window associated with measurement gaps configuration as taught by HWANG ‘730. The motivation would have been to provide optimal mobility to the UE.
Regarding claim 29 (Original), the UE of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication of a selected measurement gap configuration (see, measurement gap configuration for measurement of CSI-RS of neighbor cells, measurement gap is configured only for CSI-RS of single neighbor cell, section 0201-0202) associated with the set of measurement gap configurations (see, measurement gap length with respect to scheduling restriction or CSI-RS transmission of neighbor cells based on measurement gaps, section 0202-0204).
Regarding claim 30 (Original), the UE of claim 29, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the selected measurement gap configuration (see, the UE receivers resource information elements from serving cell in relation MAC configurations, section 0058), are configured to receive at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) transmission (VIVO, See, inter-cell mobility where the measurement configuration is transmitted via MAC CE or DCI, page 4-5, page 11 to page 14).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021 with SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window associated with measurement gaps configuration as taught by HWANG ‘730. The motivation would have been to provide optimal mobility to the UE.
Regarding claim 31 (Original), RAGAHVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO and HWANG ‘730 discloses the UE of claim 30, wherein the MAC CE (VIVO, See, inter-cell mobility where the measurement configuration is transmitted via MAC CE or DCI, page 4-5, page 11 to page 14) t indicates a subset of measurement gap configurations (see, the UE receives measurement configuration in relation to measurement gaps from one or more neighboring cells, section 0130-0134, 0200-0204), of the set of measurement gap configurations, associated with a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells (see, measurement gaps associated with neighbor cells, section 0131-0134, 0200).
Regarding claim 32 (Original), RAGAHVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO and HWANG ‘730 discloses the UE of claim 31, wherein the DCI (VIVO, See, inter-cell mobility where the measurement configuration is transmitted via MAC CE or DCI, page 4-5, page 11 to page 14) transmission indicates a measurement gap configuration (see, the UE receives information about measurement gaps to the UE, section 0199-0200) of the subset of measurement gap configurations (see, the UE receives information about measurement gaps to the UE, section 0199-0200).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021 with SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window associated with measurement gaps configuration as taught by HWANG ‘730. The motivation would have been to provide optimal mobility to the UE.
Regarding claim 33 (Currently Amended), RAGAHVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO and HWANG ‘730 discloses the UE of claim 30, wherein the MAC CE (VIVO, See, inter-cell mobility where the measurement configuration is transmitted via MAC CE or DCI, page 4-5, page 11 to page 14) indicates only one measurement gap configuration, of the set of measurement gap configurations, as an active measurement gap configuration (see, measurement gap length, section 0204) associated with a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells (see, the UE receives CSI-RS of the neighbor cells in the measurement gaps, section 0200, 0204, 0206).
Regarding claim 34 (Original), AGAHVAN ‘021 as modified by VIVO and HWANG ‘730 discloses the UE of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine a selected measurement gap configuration, of the set of measurement gap configurations (see, the UE receives information about measurement gaps to the UE, section 0199-0200), based at least in part on a measurement gap parameter (see, measurement gap length, section 0204), corresponding to the selected measurement gap configuration (section 0204, 0221-022), satisfying an implicit condition (VIVO, page 13 to page 14, proposal 18-avoiding effecting neighboring cell measurement).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined scheduling restriction within a STMC window duration for inter-cell mobility as disclosed by VIVO into the scheduling measurement restrictions for L1-RSRP based measurements where the UE prioritizes UL transmissions over the CS-RS of RAGHAVAN ‘021 with SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window associated with measurement gaps configuration as taught by HWANG ‘730. The motivation would have been to provide optimal mobility to the UE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “wherein the measurement gap parameter comprises a measurement gap configuration identifier (ID), and wherein the measurement gap parameter satisfies the implicit condition based at least in part on the measurement gap configuration ID having a minimum value of a plurality of values corresponding to a plurality of measurement gap configuration IDs associated with the set of measurement gap configurations.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHANG et al (US 2024/0236787 A1) discloses based on measurement gap configuration information or configuration gaps and switching between networks based on the measurement gaps (section 0028, 0108-0143).
Freda et al (US 2025/0142427 A1, Provisional application No. 63/309,231, filed on February 11, 2022) discloses L1/L2 mobility where the WTRU/UE is configured with a set of radio resource control (RRC) configurations for each group of neighboring cell candidates the neighbor a serving cell, determining subset of candidate cells based on the measurement criteria (e.g., RSRSP CSI-RSRP) (section 0005-014, 0086-).
Freda discloses WTRU receives configuration or indication via DCI and MAC CE (section 0014-0015, 0079-0080).
Freda further discloses deactivating or stopping beam measurement reporting where the WRU applies candidate cell configuration (section 0105-0133).
YANG et al (US 2021/0227413 A1) discloses measurement based on gap configuration information (section 0251-0277) where the measurement is restricted by SMTC window duration (section 130-0245).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473