DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igarashi et al. (US 2007/0175547).
With respect to Claim 1, Igarashi teaches an alloy material, in particular, an alloy pipe, the alloy material having a composition, in mass%, as follows (para. 62-131):
Claim 1
Igarashi
C
0.005-0.020
≤ 0.04
Si
0.05-0.50
≤ 0.50
Mn
0.05-1.00
0.01-6.0
P
≤ 0.030
≤ 0.03
S
≤ 0.010
≤ 0.01
Cu
1.5-3.0
0.01-1.5
Ni
35.0-50.0
30-45
Cr
20.0-30.0
20-30
Mo
2.5-4.0
0-10*
Co
0.01-0.80
0.3-5.0**
W
0.01-0.30
0-20*
Ca
≤ 0.0050
0.0001-0.010**
N
0.001-0.015
0.0005-0.20
Al
≤ 0.20
≤ 0.10
B
≤ 0.0030
0.0001-0.158**
Sn
≤ 0.050
-
Ti
0.40-0.90
0.001-1.0**
Nb
0-0.150
0.001-0.3**
V
0-0.150
0.001-0.3**
Zr
0-0.150
0.001-1.0**
Hf
0-0.150
0.001-1.0**
Ta
0-0.150
0.001-1.0**
Fe
Balance with impurities
Balance
*Where Mo+ 0.5*W is 1.5% to 10%
**optional element
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements. Thus, Igarashi teaches an alloy material with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly required ranges and that does not require any elements outside those recited in the closed composition (“consisting of” transitional phrase). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Furthermore, with respect to the recited total content of Ti, Nb, V, Zr, Hf and Ta, as the reference teaches compositional ranges of each element overlapping the instantly claimed ranges, the compositional-based relationship is prima facie obvious based on the encompassing teachings of the prior art. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to the claimed “number density of nitrogen-containing precipitates,” the limitation does not require the presence of such precipitates. Igarashi teaches selecting a silicon content to suppress the formation of grain boundary carbide precipitates in the grain boundaries in order to improve the ductility, toughness, and corrosion resistance of the alloy material. (para. 69). As the reference specifically identifies grain boundary precipitates, but does not include nitrogen-containing precipitates, it is interpreted to teach an alloy free or substantially free of nitrogen-containing precipitates falling within the claimed limitation. Moreover, as the reference is drawn to suppressing the formation of grain boundary precipitates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to suppress/eliminate the formation of all grain-boundary precipitates, including nitrogen-containing precipitates, in order to improve the ductility, toughness, and corrosion resistance of the alloy material.
Alternatively, as the reference is drawn to an alloy material having substantially overlapping composition and used for the same purpose (useful for forming a pipe, see rejection of claims 3-4 below), it would necessarily be expected to result in the same properties, including the claimed number density of nitrogen-containing precipitates. See MPEP 2112.01.
With respect to Claim 2, Igarashi teaches an alloy material having compositional ranges of Nb, V, Zr, Hf, and Ta overlapping the instantly claimed ranges. (see rejection of claim 1 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portions of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claims 3-4, Igarashi teaches wherein the alloy material is in the form of a pipe, meeting the instant claims. (para. 49-50, 61, 132).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2023/0349027 drawn to a related application having overlapping composition, but silent as to number density of nitrogen-containing precipitates as instantly claimed.
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735