Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 16, line 4, the phrase “a container” is a double recitation of claim 1. It should be replaced with --the container--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by The International Publication No. WO2021/150207 to Wilson or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wilson in view of The European Patent Application No. EP 0 930 243 to Chasid and/or Lenz et al. (6,419,114).
As to claim 1, Wilson discloses a container (Figs. 1-2 & 8) for holding and dispensing a plurality of individual sheets (50) comprising a carton (20) having at least one carton wall (26, 40) and defining a hollow enclosure for receiving a plurality of sheets; a dispensing opening (32, 42, 44) disposed on the at least one carton wall, the dispensing opening having a perimeter sufficient to permit sheets to be dispensed therethrough; a first parabolic flap (see Fig. 8 below) having a first apex end (46) and a second parabolic flap (see Fig. 8 below) having a second apex end (46), the first apex end being spaced from the second apex end, the first and second apex ends forming a portion of the perimeter of the dispensing opening, and the first parabolic flap comprises two diverging slits (48) that extend from the first apex end and the second parabolic flap comprises two diverging slits (48) that extend from the second apex end; a first edge/first resilient edge (see Fig. 8 below) opposing and spaced from a second edge/second resilient edge (see Fig. 8 below), the first resilient edge forming a portion of the perimeter of the dispensing opening between the first and second apex ends and the second resilient edge forming a portion of the perimeter of the dispensing opening between opposite sides of the first and second apex ends, the first and second resilient edges defining a linear or curved shape that is non-convex with respect to the dispensing opening. To the extent that Wilson fails to disclose the first edge is a first resilient edge and the second edge is a second resilient edge, Chasid teaches a container (1, 20) for holding and dispensing a plurality of individual sheets comprising a bag/carton (1, 20) having at least one wall (top wall), a dispensing opening (25) disposed on the at least one wall, and a first resilient flap/first resilient edge (9) opposing and spaced from a second resilient flap/second resilient edge (9), the first resilient edge and the second resilient edge forming a portion of the dispensing opening. Chasid further teaches that resiliency of the resilient flaps is obtained by forming one or more fold lines on the resilient flaps (column 6, lines 1-9). Lenz teaches a container (1, 14) for holding and dispensing a plurality of individual sheets comprising a carton (10, 14) having at least one wall (top wall), a dispensing opening (11) disposed on the at least one wall, and a first resilient edge (18; column 2, lines 60-67) opposing and spaced from a second resilient edge (18), the first resilient edge and the second resilient edge forming a portion of the dispensing opening. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Chasid and/or Lenz to modify the container of Wilson so the container is constructed with the first edge is a first resilient edge and the second edge is a second resilient edge to prevent the individual sheets from getting damage while removing the sheets.
As to claim 7, Wilson further discloses the first resilient edge has a concave shape and the second resilient edge has a concave shape with respect to the dispensing opening.
As to claim 8, Wilson discloses the dispensing opening has a length and a width. However, Wilson fails to disclose the length of the dispensing opening is from about 40 mm to about 65 mm and the width of the dispensing opening is from about 40 mm to about 65 mm as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Wilson so the dispensing opening is constructed with the length of the dispensing opening is from about 40 mm to about 65 mm and the width of the dispensing opening is from about 40 mm to about 65 mm because the selection of the specific dimensions for the dispensing opening such as the length and width as claimed or as disclosed by Wilson or Chasid or Lenz would have been an obvious matter of design choice based upon conventional design considerations, such as for dispensing the specific size of the individual sheets.
As to claim 9, the container of Wilson as modified is capable to provide sheets being dispensed from the carton travel through at least one of the slits defined by the parabolic flaps, the slits are capable of applying sufficient pressure to a sheet emerging from the dispensing opening for holding the sheet in a partially extended position while preventing the sheet from falling back into the carton.
As to claim 16, Wilson further discloses a stack of individual sheets being positioned within the hollow enclosure as claimed.
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asman (3,036,729) and/or Droege et al. (2016/0318685; hereinafter Droege).
As to claim 10, the container of Wilson as modified fails to show that there is no polymer film located below the dispensing opening and attached to the carton. Asman teaches a container comprising a carton having at least one wall (32), a dispensing opening (after the opening panel 41 is removed), and there is no polymer film located below the dispensing opening. Droege teaches a container comprising a carton (150) having at least one wall and a dispensing opening disposed on the at least one wall (the dispensing opening defined by the flaps 52-58), and there is no polymer film located below the dispensing opening. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Asman and/or Droege to modify the container of Wilson as modified so the carton is constructed with no polymer film located below the dispensing opening and attached to the carton because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 11, the container of Wilson as modified from the teaching of Asman and/or Droege formed from a single piece of material.
As to claims 12 and 15, Wilson discloses the carton comprises a paperboard (page 5, lines 18-20 and page 6, lines 15-22). Asman teaches the carton comprises a paperboard (column 1, lines 64-66).
As to claim 13, Wilson further discloses a paper dispensing window (40) has been coated and has a basis weight from about 50 to about 80 gsm (page 6, lines 15-22) within the range as claimed.
As to claim 14, Asman or Droege teaches the dispensing opening as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-25 are allowed.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736