DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
NPL (3GPP RAN WG2 Meeting #115-e, R2-2107684, dated Aug 16 – Aug 27, 2021).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
NPL discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
measuring one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources from one or more network entities during a positioning session while in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (LPP messages (e.g. LPP ProvideLocationlnformation) and LSC messages can be sent by UE to LMF when in INACTIVE using SOT-SRB2 and RA-SOT/CG-SOT resources, subject to data volume threshold, page 1, Observation 1; LPP messages (e.g. measurement report/location estimate), page 2. 2nd paragraph of Proposal 2; LPP messages (e.g. LPP ProvideLocationlnformation) and LSC messages can be sent by UE to LMF when in INACTIVE using SDT-SRB2 and RA-SDT/CG-SDT resources, subject to data volume threshold, page 3, Conclusion, Observation 1); and
reporting measurement data for the one or more PRS resources to a location server while in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state during one or more small data transmission (SDT) occasions (LPP messages (e.g. LPP ProvideLocationlnformation) and LSC messages can be sent by UE to LMF when in INACTIVE using SOT-SRB2 and RA-SOT/CG-SOT resources, subject to data volume threshold, page 1) based on
a response time requirement for the positioning session,
a configuration of the UE to remain in the RRC inactive or the RRC idle state,
a number of SDT occasions needed to report the measurement data (The gNB can then configure type of SDT resources (e.g. RA-SDT/CG-SDT) and the data volume threshold with the awareness of reporting configuration and size of positioning information, page 2, 3rd paragraph), or
any combination thereof.
(2) Regarding claim 4:
NPL discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the measurement data during multiple SDT occasions based on an amount of the measurement data being greater than an amount of data that may be transmitted during a single SDT occasion (In the case when the size of the NAS PDUs carrying LPP messages (e.g. measurement report/location estimate) is greater the configured data volume threshold, the UE can dynamically request the gNB for resource grant (e.g. in SDT-BSR) when sending the first SOT transmission. However, since SDT-BSR is used for requesting resource grant for data buffered in SDT-DRBs (i.e. as per legacy BSR), it would be necessary for the UE to send a similar indication for requesting resource grants for sending NAS PDUs in SDT-SRB2 whose payload sizes are higher the configured data volume threshold. The gNB can then allocate the resource grant for transmission of such NAS PDUs or to transition the UE to CONNECTED state (e.g. in RRC Resume message) for supporting the transmission), page 2, paragraphs 2-6).
(3) Regarding claim 5:
NPL discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the reporting the measurement data to the location server in an RRC connected state based on
the response time requirement for reporting the measurement data being greater than response time threshold (In the case when the size of the NAS PDUs carrying LPP messages (e.g. measurement report/location estimate) is greater the configured data volume threshold, the UE can dynamically request the gNB for resource grant (e.g. in SDT-BSR) when sending the first SOT transmission. However, since SDT-BSR is used for requesting resource grant for data buffered in SDT-DRBs (i.e. as per legacy BSR), it would be necessary for the UE to send a similar indication for requesting resource grants for sending NAS PDUs in SDT-SRB2 whose payload sizes are higher the configured data volume threshold. The gNB can then allocate the resource grant for transmission of such NAS PDUs or to transition the UE to CONNECTED state (e.g. in RRC Resume message) for supporting the transmission), page 2, paragraphs 2-6),
an amount of data of the measurement data exceeding a maximum threshold for transmitting data during the one or more SDT occasions, or
any combination thereof
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-14, 16-17, 19-21, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Rao et al. (US 2023/0379860 A1).
(1) Regarding claims 1 and 16:
Rao discloses a user equipment (UE) (WTRU 102 in figure 1B), comprising:
a memory (non-removable memory 130, para. 0046);
at least one transceiver (a transceiver 120, para. 0046); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (a processor 118, para. 0046), the at least one processor configured to:
measure one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources from one or more network entities during a positioning session while in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (WTRU may perform positioning measurements and report them in part of Msg3/ A, a grant scheduled by the gNB and provided part of MsgB or Msg4, a grant scheduled by the gNB after the completion of the RACH procedure (e.g., Msg 5), and/or an uplink configured grant. WTRU may remain in IDLE or inactive mode after reporting a positioning related measurement and/or report in a RACH procedure, para. 0234-0235); and
report, via the at least one transceiver, measurement data for the one or more PRS resources to a location server while in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state during one or more small data transmission (SDT) occasions (the WTRU may send the
location information and/or measurement reports to the RAN/LMF via the user plane (via UPF) in one or more DRBs configured to be used with SDT, para .0367; the WTRU (operating in INACTIVE state) may send one or more types of positioning information (e.g., measurement reports and/or location information) using SDT configured for one or more SRBs based on a data volume threshold configured and/or associated with the SRBs, para. 0368) based on
a response time requirement for the positioning session,
a configuration of the UE to remain in the RRC inactive or the RRC idle state,
a number of SDT occasions needed to report the measurement data (the WTRU may determine the attributes of positioning information to be sent using SDT, including the type and size of the positioning information, based on the data volume threshold(s) that may be configured and/or activated for the associated SRB (e.g., SRBl, SRB2). For example, the WTRU may determine whether the positioning information (i.e., carried in a NAS message) is to be segmented into multiple segments based on the data volume threshold configured in the WTRU and/or associated with the SRB for carrying the positioning information. In this case, the WTRU may segment the positioning information into different segments which may be smaller than or equal to the configured data volume threshold, for example. In another example, the WTRU may segment the positioning information into several segments, where the number of segments may be determined based on a latency requirement associated with positioning configured in the WTRU, para, 0371), or
any combination thereof.
(2) Regarding claims 2 and 17:
NPL discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 16, and further discloses the measurement data is reported by the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state during the one or more SDT occasions based on a response time indicated in a quality of service (QoS) requirement being less than or equal to a response time threshold (The number of segments supported may be determined by the WTRU either on its own or with LMF/gNB assistance based on one or more positioning QoS requirements (e.g., accuracy, latency) and the configured data volume threshold for SDT, for example. Upon segmentation, the WTRU may send the different segments sequentially using SDT such that the overall positioning information may be sent within the accuracy/latency requirement while adhering to the data volume threshold for each segment, para. 0304, the examiner interprets the QoS requirement (latency) as the claimed response time threshold).
(3) Regarding claims 4 and 19:
Rao discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 16, and further discloses reporting the measurement data during multiple SDT occasions based on an amount of the measurement data being greater than an amount of data that may be transmitted during a single SDT occasion (When the payload size of LPP messages ( e.g., LPP ProvideLocationinformation) generated by a WTRU is relatively small, the WTRU may continue to perform measurements and send the LPP messages while remaining in INACTIVE state. However, it may be possible that the configured data volume threshold when supporting SDT is restricted, or the allocated resource grant during INACTIVE mode may not be large enough to carry the generated LPP message (e.g., measurement report). For transmitting larger payload sizes, the WTRU may segment and send the measurement reports/location estimates sequentially using resources configured for SDT with proper identifiers such that the received segments of LPP messages/PDUs can be assembled either at the RAN or the LMF. The number of segments supported may be determined by the WTRU either on its own or with LMF/gNB assistance based on one or more positioning QoS requirements (e.g., accuracy, latency) and the configured data volume threshold for SDT, for example. Upon segmentation, the WTRU may send the different segments sequentially using SDT such that the overall positioning information may be sent within the accuracy/latency requirement while adhering to the data volume threshold for each segment, para. 0302-0304).
(4) Regarding claims 5 and 20:
Rao discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 16, and further discloses reporting the measurement data to the location server in an RRC connected state based on
the response time requirement for reporting the measurement data being greater than response time threshold,
an amount of data of the measurement data exceeding a maximum threshold for transmitting data during the one or more SDT occasions (if the WTRU does not have a PRS configuration that satisfies the minimum positioning accuracy threshold and the maximum measurement payload size threshold, the WTRU may transmit a request to the network to transition to CONNECTED mode, para. 0551), or
any combination thereof
(5) Regarding claims 6 and 21:
Rao discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 16, and further discloses a first amount of measurement data is obtained by measuring the one or more PRS resources of the one or more network entities, the method further comprising:
reducing the first amount of measurement data to a second amount of measurement data (In one approach, the WTRU may perform delta reporting for positioning reporting ( e.g., reporting only the difference value of the given parameter relative to a previously reported value for that same parameter). Specifically, the WTRU may include the changed information in the reporting. For example, the WTRU may be required to report RSTDs of multiple TRP pairs. However, the WTRU may include the changed RSTDs of the TRP pairs in the reporting. This approach may be motivated to reduce the size of the message, para. 0319), and
reporting the second amount of measurement data to the location server while in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (In an embodiment, the WTRU may perform regular reporting in the periodic reporting and delta reporting in the event-triggered reporting. The delta reporting of an even-triggered reporting may be associated with the last periodic reporting. Specifically, if the WTRU detects a change in the positioning measurement compared to the last periodic reporting, the WTRU may perform event-trigger reporting and/or the WTRU may include only the delta information compared to the last periodic reporting, para. 0320).
(6) Regarding claims 11 and 26:
Rao discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 16, and further discloses transmitting a buffer status report (BSR) indicating a reported amount of data for uplink transmission (A WTRU may request a resource for transmission of the positioning report, transmission of the SRSp, and/or transmission of a positioning related reference signal. Specifically, since such a need may not be reflected in a Buffer Status Report (BSR), an explicit indication may be used (e.g., an RRC message or an LPP message---e.g. configuration request message-) to request the resource, para. 0179), wherein the reported amount is less than an actual amount of measurement data to be reported by the UE (In one approach, the WTRU may perform delta reporting for positioning reporting ( e.g., reporting only the difference value of the given parameter relative to a previously reported value for that same parameter). Specifically, the WTRU may include the changed information in the reporting. For example, the WTRU may be required to report RSTDs of multiple TRP pairs. However, the WTRU may include the changed RSTDs of the TRP pairs in the reporting. This approach may be motivated to reduce the size of the message, para. 0319).
(7) Regarding claims 12 and 27:
Rao discloses all subject matter of claims 11 and 26, and further discloses the reported amount is less than a transition threshold to allow the UE to remain in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to report the measurement data during the one or more SDT occasions (selecting a PRS config with an associated payload size closest to the DVT for SDT from among the at least one PRS configurations that satisfy the minimum accuracy requirement; and performing PRS measurements and sending a measurement report (to the LMF) based on the selected PRS config using an SDT (e.g., in INACTIVE state), para. 0553), and
the transition threshold corresponds to an amount of data above which the UE is transitioned to an RRC connected state to transmit uplink data (on condition that none of the PRS configurations indicated to satisfy the minimum accuracy requirement have an associated payload size less than the DVT for SDT, sending a connection request (e.g., to the gNB) (e.g., to transition to CONNECTED state to be able to send a measurement report, para. 0553; if the WTRU does not have a PRS configuration that satisfies the minimum positioning accuracy threshold and the maximum measurement payload size threshold, the WTRU may transmit a request to the network to transition to CONNECTED mode, para. 0551).
(8) Regarding claims 13 and 28:
Rao discloses all subject matter of claims 12 and 27, and further discloses
sending, by location software (the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software , para. 0555) running on the UE, a limited amount of measurement data to a medium access control (MAC) layer of the UE (the UE may perform delta reporting while also indicating the necessity of an additional report ( e.g., full report) in the first grant. Such indication may be conveyed by a MAC CE ( e.g., BSR) and/or a MAC header. The UE may also indicate the necessity of a subsequent report in the preceding report ( e.g., in in the MAC CE and/or MAC header of the preceding report), para. 0321), wherein the limited amount of measurement data sent by the location software to the MAC layer for transmission during the one or more SDT occasions (the UE may segment the positioning measurement report into multiple sequential reports, para. 0321) results in the reported amount being less than the transition threshold (WTRU Sends Positioning Information Using SDT Based on Configured Data Volume Threshold, para. 0367).
(9) Regarding claim 14:
Rao discloses all subject matter of claim 12, and further discloses receiving an indication of the transition threshold from a base station (The method may include receiving a small data transmission (SDT) configuration (e.g., from the gNB) including a data volume threshold (DVT) for SDT (e.g., indicating the maximum payload size for SDT, para. 0013).
(10) Regarding claim 29:
Rao discloses a user equipment (UE) (device as shown in figure 1B), comprising:
means for measuring (processor 118 in figure 1B) one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources from one or more network entities during a positioning session while in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (WTRU may perform positioning measurements and report them in part of Msg3/ A, a grant scheduled by the gNB and provided part of MsgB or Msg4, a grant scheduled by the gNB after the completion of the RACH procedure (e.g., Msg 5), and/or an uplink configured grant. WTRU may remain in IDLE or inactive mode after reporting a positioning related measurement and/or report in a RACH procedure, para. 0234-0235); and
means for reporting measurement data (transceiver 120 in figure 1B) for the one or more PRS resources to a location server while in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state during one or more small data transmission (SDT) occasions (the WTRU may send the location information and/or measurement reports to the RAN/LMF via the user plane (via UPF) in one or more DRBs configured to be used with SDT, para .0367; the WTRU (operating in INACTIVE state) may send one or more types of positioning information (e.g., measurement reports and/or location information) using SDT configured for one or more SRBs based on a data volume threshold configured and/or associated with the SRBs, para. 0368) based on
a response time requirement for the positioning session,
a configuration of the UE to remain in the RRC inactive or the RRC idle state,
a number of SDT occasions needed to report the measurement data (the WTRU may determine the attributes of positioning information to be sent using SDT, including the type and size of the positioning information, based on the data volume threshold(s) that may be configured and/or activated for the associated SRB (e.g., SRBl, SRB2). For example, the WTRU may determine whether the positioning information (i.e., carried in a NAS message) is to be segmented into multiple segments based on the data volume threshold configured in the WTRU and/or associated with the SRB for carrying the positioning information. In this case, the WTRU may segment the positioning information into different segments which may be smaller than or equal to the configured data volume threshold, for example. In another example, the WTRU may segment the positioning information into several segments, where the number of segments may be determined based on a latency requirement associated with positioning configured in the WTRU, para, 0371), or
any combination thereof.
(11) Regarding claim 30:
Rao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to (the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer readable medium for execution by a computer or processor, para. 0555):
measure one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources from one or more network entities during a positioning session while in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (WTRU may perform positioning measurements and report them in part of Msg3/ A, a grant scheduled by the gNB and provided part of MsgB or Msg4, a grant scheduled by the gNB after the completion of the RACH procedure (e.g., Msg 5), and/or an uplink configured grant. WTRU may remain in IDLE or inactive mode after reporting a positioning related measurement and/or report in a RACH procedure, para. 0234-0235); and
report measurement data for the one or more PRS resources to a location server while in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state during one or more small data transmission (SDT) occasions (the WTRU may send the location information and/or measurement reports to the RAN/LMF via the user plane (via UPF) in one or more DRBs configured to be used with SDT, para .0367; the WTRU (operating in INACTIVE state) may send one or more types of positioning information (e.g., measurement reports and/or location information) using SDT configured for one or more SRBs based on a data volume threshold configured and/or associated with the SRBs, para. 0368) based on
a response time requirement for the positioning session,
a configuration of the UE to remain in the RRC inactive or the RRC idle state,
a number of SDT occasions needed to report the measurement data (the WTRU may determine the attributes of positioning information to be sent using SDT, including the type and size of the positioning information, based on the data volume threshold(s) that may be configured and/or activated for the associated SRB (e.g., SRBl, SRB2). For example, the WTRU may determine whether the positioning information (i.e., carried in a NAS message) is to be segmented into multiple segments based on the data volume threshold configured in the WTRU and/or associated with the SRB for carrying the positioning information. In this case, the WTRU may segment the positioning information into different segments which may be smaller than or equal to the configured data volume threshold, for example. In another example, the WTRU may segment the positioning information into several segments, where the number of segments may be determined based on a latency requirement associated with positioning configured in the WTRU, para, 0371), or
any combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US 2023/0379860 A1) in view of Zhang (US 2026/0181543 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 3 or 18:
Rao discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 16, but fails to disclose the measurement data is reported by the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state during the one or more SDT occasions based on the number of SDT occasions needed to report the measurement data being less than or equal to an SDT occasion threshold.
However, Zhang discloses the measurement data is reported by the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state during the one or more SDT occasions based on the number of SDT occasions needed to report the measurement data being less than or equal to an SDT occasion threshold (after the UE triggers the SDT, if the number of data packets sent by the UE reaches the second threshold, when the data packet to be subsequently sent arrives, the UE can notify the anchor access network device to terminate the SDT session and/or request the anchor access network device to configure the UE to switch to the RRC connected state, para. 0231, 0271).
It is desirable to have the measurement data is reported by the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state during the one or more SDT occasions based on the number of SDT occasions needed to report the measurement data being less than or equal to an SDT occasion threshold because it improves data integrity for data transmitted during small data transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Zhang in the method and apparatus of Bao for the benefit of improving the integrity of data transmitted by SDT.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 22-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rao (WO/2022/081893 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for power efficient positioning in wireless communication systems.
Shreevastav (WO/2022/177489 A1) discloses node and method in a wireless communications network.
Kim (WO/2022/212706 A1) discloses report for small data transmission.
NPL (Small Data Transmission in Inactive State) by Jincan Xin, dated 2021.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 7/22/2026