DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s preliminary amendments filed 09/19/2024 have been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-9 and 11-20 are pending in this application. Claim 10 is cancelled; claims 13-20 are new; claims 3-9, 11, and 12 are currently amended; claims 1 and 2 are original.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/08/2024 and 04/08/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of mental processes reasonably performed mentally or on pen and paper without significantly more.
As to claim 1, the claim recites the mental processes of a method for displaying search results, comprising:
receiving search information, wherein the search information comprises a keyword having a consumption intention (A person can mentally read search information with keywords.);
obtaining an aggregation search result, wherein the aggregation search result comprises feature information of target objects under a plurality of consumption attribute dimensions, the consumption attribute dimensions are determined based on a category of the keyword, and the target objects match with the keyword (The obtaining is recited at a high level of generality such that a person can mentally obtain search results and organize them together with different features.); and
displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page (A person can readily, using pen and paper, write a simple table with search result dimensions.).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps recited beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate into a practical application. Additionally, it is noted that the receiving and displaying steps, although mental processes as set forth above, are also insignificant extra-solution steps of mere data gathering and outputting which does not integrate into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (See MPEP §2106.05(g).). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no additional elements to possible amount to significantly more.
As to claim 11, the claim recites the mental processes of a
method comprises:
receiving search information, wherein the search information comprises a keyword having a consumption intention (A person can mentally read search information with keywords.);
obtaining an aggregation search result, wherein the aggregation search result comprises feature information of target objects under a plurality of consumption attribute dimensions, the consumption attribute dimensions are determined based on a category of the keyword, and the target objects match with the keyword (The obtaining is recited at a high level of generality such that a person can mentally obtain search results and organize them together with different features.); and
displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page (A person can readily, using pen and paper, write a simple table with search result dimensions.).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps recited beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate into a practical application. Additionally, it is noted that the receiving and displaying steps, although mental processes as set forth above, are also insignificant extra-solution steps of mere data gathering and outputting which does not integrate into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (See MPEP §2106.05(g).). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the features of computer device, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a bus, wherein the memory stores a machine-readable instruction executable by the processor, when the computer device runs, the processor communicates with the memory by the bus, and a method for displaying search results is executed when the machine readable instruction is executed, merely recite generic computer components used to merely implement the abstract idea on a computer. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 12, the claim recites the mental processes of a method comprises:
receiving search information, wherein the search information comprises a keyword having a consumption intention (A person can mentally read search information with keywords.);
obtaining an aggregation search result, wherein the aggregation search result comprises feature information of target objects under a plurality of consumption attribute dimensions, the consumption attribute dimensions are determined based on a category of the keyword, and the target objects match with the keyword (The obtaining is recited at a high level of generality such that a person can mentally obtain search results and organize them together with different features.); and
displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page (A person can readily, using pen and paper, write a simple table with search result dimensions.).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps recited beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate into a practical application. Additionally, it is noted that the receiving and displaying steps, although mental processes as set forth above, are also insignificant extra-solution steps of mere data gathering and outputting which does not integrate into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (See MPEP §2106.05(g).). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the features of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the computer-readable storage medium, and a method for displaying search results is executed when the computer program is executed by a processor, merely recite generic computer components used to merely implement the abstract idea on a computer. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claims 2 and 13, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, the claims recite steps as to how information is presented on the search result page. These features do not result in any improvement to the display or how it functions. Rather they just provide more information together as a possible benefit, but this would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion. Therefore, this is more insignificant extra-solution activity.
As to claims 3 and 14, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, the claims recite wherein the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions comprises different attribute characteristics of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions;
displaying the feature information of the target objects, comprises:
under the consumption attribute dimensions, displaying feature information of a target object that meets a preset requirement in a first format, and displaying feature information of a target object that does not meet the preset requirement in a second format, (The above limitations merely recite steps as to how information is presented on the search result page. These features do not result in any improvement to the display or how it functions. Rather they just provide more information together as a possible benefit, but this would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion. Therefore, this is more insignificant extra-solution activity.)
wherein the preset requirement comprises:
a comparison result of comparing an attribute characteristic of a target object with an attribute characteristic of other target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions meets a preset condition (This step does not require the claims to perform a comparison, but merely utilize the result in the display. As such, it is merely more data used in generating a display as insignificant extra-solution activity. Even if comparing were claimed, it is recited at a high level of generality to enable a person to perform comparisons mentally.).
As to claims 4 and 15, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, the claims recite wherein in a case that the keyword corresponds to a same type of target objects, the aggregation search result comprises (A person can mentally determine if keywords correspond to target object types and determine to aggregate results accordingly.):
feature information of a plurality of target objects belonging to the same type of target objects under each of the consumption attribute dimensions (A person can mentally determine if keywords correspond to target object types and determine to aggregate results accordingly. The above limitations merely recite steps as to how information is presented on the search result page. These features do not result in any improvement to the display or how it functions. Rather they just provide more information together as a possible benefit, but this would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion. Therefore, this is more insignificant extra-solution activity.).
As to claims 5 and 16, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, the claims recite wherein in a case that the keyword corresponds to a plurality of target objects, the aggregation search result comprises (A person can mentally determine if keywords correspond to target objects and determine to aggregate results accordingly.):
type information of the plurality of the target objects matched with the keyword, and feature information of a plurality of the target objects belonging to the target object under the plurality of the consumption attribute dimensions under the type information of each type of the target objects (A person can mentally determine if keywords correspond to target objects and determine to aggregate results accordingly. The above limitations merely recite steps as to how information is presented on the search result page. These features do not result in any improvement to the display or how it functions. Rather they just provide more information together as a possible benefit, but this would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion. Therefore, this is more insignificant extra-solution activity.).
As to claims 6 and 17, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, the claims recite displaying a feature comparison result under the consumption attribute dimensions obtained based on feature information of the target objects on the search result page, wherein the feature comparison result is used to indicate a target object of which a corresponding feature comparison result under the consumption attribute dimensions meets a preset condition (The above limitations merely recite steps as to how information is presented on the search result page. These features do not result in any improvement to the display or how it functions. Rather they just provide more information together as a possible benefit, but this would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion. Therefore, this is more insignificant extra-solution activity. The claims also do not require performing the comparison, but merely utilizing the result in the display. Even if the comparison operation were claimed, it’s recited at a high level of generality to be reasonably performed mentally by a person.).
As to claims 7 and 18, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, the claims recite in response to a triggering operation on feature information of any of the target objects (The triggering operation is recited at a high level of generality to be performed mentally by a person, and in response the person performing actions.), displaying detailed information of the target object on the search result page or other pages redirected, wherein the detailed information comprises purchasing entry information (The above limitations merely recite steps as to how information is presented on the search result page. These features do not result in any improvement to the display or how it functions. Rather they just provide more information together as a possible benefit, but this would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion.).
As to claims 8 and 19, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, the claims recite wherein the consumption attribute dimensions comprise an evaluation dimension, and the feature information comprises evaluation information (This merely describes provided data usable by a person in implementing the abstract idea.);
the displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page, comprises:
displaying, on the search result page, dimension information of the evaluation dimension, and the evaluation information of the target objects under each evaluation attribute in a plurality of evaluation attributes (The above limitations merely recite steps as to how information is presented on the search result page. These features do not result in any improvement to the display or how it functions. Rather they just provide more information together as a possible benefit, but this would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion.).
As to claims 9 and 20, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, the claims recite wherein the consumption attribute dimension comprises a purchasing channel dimension, and the feature information comprises purchasing link information (This merely describes provided data usable by a person in implementing the abstract idea.);
the displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page, comprises:
displaying, on the search result page, dimension information of the purchasing channel dimension, and the purchasing link information of the target object under each purchasing channel in a plurality of the purchasing channels (The above limitations merely recite steps as to how information is presented on the search result page. These features do not result in any improvement to the display or how it functions. Rather they just provide more information together as a possible benefit, but this would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapoport (US 2008/0319849 A1).
As to claim 1, Rapoport discloses a method for displaying search results, comprising:
receiving search information, wherein the search information comprises a keyword having a consumption intention (Figs. 2 and 3, #302; [0041], [0051]; A request for pricing using text specifying a product or product type for purchase, i.e. a consumption intention, is received.);
obtaining an aggregation search result, wherein the aggregation search result comprises feature information of target objects under a plurality of consumption attribute dimensions, the consumption attribute dimensions are determined based on a category of the keyword, and the target objects match with the keyword (Fig. 2; [0033], [0040]-[0042], Feature information is obtained from database server 118 and aggregated into a unified result display. E.g. based on a user searching for pricing information related to a typed product (i.e. a category of the keyword), a pricing display is shown with matching products and feature information corresponding to dimensions such as vendor, price, shipping cost, etc.); and
displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page (Fig. 2; [0040]-[0042], Obtained dimension information is aggregated into a unified result display. E.g. based on a user searching for pricing information related to a typed product (i.e. a category of the keyword), a pricing display is shown with matching products and feature information in corresponding dimensions such as vendor, price, shipping cost, etc.).
As to claim 11, Rapoport discloses a computer device, comprising:
a processor, a memory, and a bus, wherein the memory stores a machine-readable instruction executable by the processor, when the computer device runs, the processor communicates with the memory by the bus, and a method for displaying search results is executed when the machine readable instruction is executed (Fig. 1; [0029], [0032]), and the method comprises:
receiving search information, wherein the search information comprises a keyword having a consumption intention (Figs. 2 and 3, #302; [0041], [0051]; A request for pricing using text specifying a product or product type for purchase, i.e. a consumption intention, is received.);
obtaining an aggregation search result, wherein the aggregation search result comprises feature information of target objects under a plurality of consumption attribute dimensions, the consumption attribute dimensions are determined based on a category of the keyword, and the target objects match with the keyword (Fig. 2; [0033], [0040]-[0042], Feature information is obtained from database server 118 and aggregated into a unified result display. E.g. based on a user searching for pricing information related to a typed product (i.e. a category of the keyword), a pricing display is shown with matching products and feature information corresponding to dimensions such as vendor, price, shipping cost, etc.); and
displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page (Fig. 2; [0040]-[0042], Obtained dimension information is aggregated into a unified result display. E.g. based on a user searching for pricing information related to a typed product (i.e. a category of the keyword), a pricing display is shown with matching products and feature information in corresponding dimensions such as vendor, price, shipping cost, etc.).
As to claim 12, Rapoport discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the computer-readable storage medium, and a method for displaying search results is executed when the computer program is executed by a processor (Fig. 1; [0029], [0032]), and the method comprises:
receiving search information, wherein the search information comprises a keyword having a consumption intention (Figs. 2 and 3, #302; [0041], [0051]; A request for pricing using text specifying a product or product type for purchase, i.e. a consumption intention, is received.);
obtaining an aggregation search result, wherein the aggregation search result comprises feature information of target objects under a plurality of consumption attribute dimensions, the consumption attribute dimensions are determined based on a category of the keyword, and the target objects match with the keyword (Fig. 2; [0033], [0040]-[0042], Feature information is obtained from database server 118 and aggregated into a unified result display. E.g. based on a user searching for pricing information related to a typed product (i.e. a category of the keyword), a pricing display is shown with matching products and feature information corresponding to dimensions such as vendor, price, shipping cost, etc.); and
displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page (Fig. 2; [0040]-[0042], Obtained dimension information is aggregated into a unified result display. E.g. based on a user searching for pricing information related to a typed product (i.e. a category of the keyword), a pricing display is shown with matching products and feature information in corresponding dimensions such as vendor, price, shipping cost, etc.).
As to claims 2 and 13, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Rapoport discloses wherein the displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page, comprises:
displaying the dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions in a first area of the search result page; and
in response to a triggering operation for any of the dimension information, displaying the feature information of the target objects under the dimension information in a second area; or,
on the search result page, according to an arrangement sequence of the consumption attribute dimensions, sequentially displaying dimension information corresponding to the consumption attribute dimensions respectively and feature information of the target objects corresponding to the consumption attribute dimensions respectively, wherein the dimension information and the feature information of the target objects under each consumption attribute dimension are displayed in adjacent positions (Fig. 2; Consumption attribute dimensions, e.g. Store, Shipping, Price, etc. are sequentially displayed horizontally, and their corresponding feature information displayed adjacently underneath.).
As to claims 4 and 15, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Rapoport discloses wherein in a case that the keyword corresponds to a same type of target objects, the aggregation search result comprises:
feature information of a plurality of target objects belonging to the same type of target objects under each of the consumption attribute dimensions ([0041], I.e. in the case of searching a “product type”.).
As to claims 5 and 16, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Rapoport discloses wherein in a case that the keyword corresponds to a plurality of target objects, the aggregation search result comprises (Fig. 2 which shows a plurality of matching target objects with corresponding feature information for each under respective plurality of consumption attribute dimensions.):
type information of the plurality of the target objects matched with the keyword, and feature information of a plurality of the target objects belonging to the target object under the plurality of the consumption attribute dimensions under the type information of each type of the target objects (Fig. 2; [0040], Type information displayed in 204 indicating the type prices/filter items in the example, but also has types of deals, stored/coupons, free stuff, etc. The dimensions and feature items for each target object/product/service is displayed underneath.).
As to claims 6 and 17, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Rapoport discloses displaying a feature comparison result under the consumption attribute dimensions obtained based on feature information of the target objects on the search result page, wherein the feature comparison result is used to indicate a target object of which a corresponding feature comparison result under the consumption attribute dimensions meets a preset condition (Fig. 2, [0042], E.g. sorting feature information for given dimensions, thus presenting products with feature values, e.g. lowest cost, first. [0043] The products displayed all having an attribute dimension meeting a preset condition corresponding to price 218 and/or with further keywords.).
As to claims 7 and 18, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Rapoport discloses in response to a triggering operation on feature information of any of the target objects, displaying detailed information of the target object on the search result page or other pages redirected, wherein the detailed information comprises purchasing entry information ([0063], Upon the use electing an item for purchase, redirecting the user to the identified vendor’s website to purchase the identified product or service.).
As to claims 9 and 20, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Rapoport discloses wherein the consumption attribute dimension comprises a purchasing channel dimension, and the feature information comprises purchasing link information ([0063], E.g. the “add to” dimension allowing the user to select a displayed feature information link to add a selected product or service to the user’s shopping cart.);
the displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page, comprises:
displaying, on the search result page, dimension information of the purchasing channel dimension, and the purchasing link information of the target object under each purchasing channel in a plurality of the purchasing channels ([0063], E.g. the “add to” dimension allowing the user to select a displayed feature information link for the item’s vendor, among a plurality of other add to cart options for other venders, to add a selected product or service to the user’s shopping cart.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapoport as applied above, and further in view of Howard et al. (US 2013/0311909 A1), hereinafter Howard.
As to claims 3 and 14, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Rapoport discloses wherein the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions comprises different attribute characteristics of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions (Fig. 2, [0042], E.g. sorting feature information for given dimensions. [0047], Also, displaying best or optimal discounts.).
Rapoport does not disclose.
displaying the feature information of the target objects, comprises:
under the consumption attribute dimensions, displaying feature information of a target object that meets a preset requirement in a first format, and displaying feature information of a target object that does not meet the preset requirement in a second format, wherein the preset requirement comprises:
a comparison result of comparing an attribute characteristic of a target object with an attribute characteristic of other target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions meets a preset condition.
However, Howard discloses displaying the feature information of the target objects, comprises:
under the consumption attribute dimensions, displaying feature information of a target object that meets a preset requirement in a first format, and displaying feature information of a target object that does not meet the preset requirement in a second format (Figs. 8, 22, 27, and 28; [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074]; A user can view comparison information regarding consumption attribute dimensions’ feature information, such as item, price, rating, etc.; between identified product pages from a search. If the feature information for the corresponding consumption attribute dimension is the same or different (i.e. meeting preset requirements), they can be highlighted accordingly.), wherein the preset requirement comprises:
a comparison result of comparing an attribute characteristic of a target object with an attribute characteristic of other target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions meets a preset condition (Figs. 8, 22, 27, and 28; [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074]; A user can view comparison information regarding consumption attribute dimensions’ feature information, such as item, price, rating, etc.; between identified product pages from a search. If the feature information for the corresponding consumption attribute dimension is the same or different (i.e. meeting preset requirements comprising comparisons of being the same or not.), they can be highlighted accordingly.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rapoport with the teachings of Howard by modifying Rapoport such that the user can select multiple identified products or services in the aggregated results to compare like in Howard. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to enable a user of Rapoport to better understand true pricing and tradeoffs between found products and services (Howard, [0069]).
As to claims 8 and 19, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Rapoport does not disclose wherein the consumption attribute dimensions comprise an evaluation dimension, and the feature information comprises evaluation information;
the displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page, comprises:
displaying, on the search result page, dimension information of the evaluation dimension, and the evaluation information of the target objects under each evaluation attribute in a plurality of evaluation attributes.
However, Howard discloses wherein the consumption attribute dimensions comprise an evaluation dimension, and the feature information comprises evaluation information (Figs. 4 and 11; [0052], [0060], Results include seller rating information for respective sellers matching the searched product.);
the displaying dimension information representing the consumption attribute dimensions and the feature information of the target objects under the consumption attribute dimensions on a search result page, comprises:
displaying, on the search result page, dimension information of the evaluation dimension, and the evaluation information of the target objects under each evaluation attribute in a plurality of evaluation attributes (Figs. 4 and 11; [0052], [0060], Results include seller rating information for respective sellers matching the searched product.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rapoport with the teachings of Howard by modifying Rapoport such that the user can view and compare retailer ratings of the different retailers in the results of Rapoport like in Howard. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to enable a user to provide, and view others’, feedback regarding experiences with the retailers so as to make better informed purchase decisions (Howard, [0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lipka et al. (US 2022/0188895 A1) discloses a product search and comparison system that finds and displays dimension information with products.
/James E Richardson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169