DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing filed on August 10, 2026 Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9-13, 16, 19, and 20 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 9/19/2024, 12/2/2025, 6/5/2026, and 9/24/2026 have been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed August 10th, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9-13, 16, 19, and 20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the claims are not directed towards an abstract idea, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the amended claims recite more structure, which is a step in the right direction, the claims as written still recite abstract ideas. According to MPEP section 2106.0(a)(2)(III)(C), “claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer.” While the claims don’t explicitly recite “computer” or “computing device”, they are directed towards a “computer” or “computing device,” as can be seen from the claim language reciting elements of such a device (e.g. “one or more processors”, “display”, “a storage apparatus for storing one or more programs”, etc.). The arguments claim that the claimed invention will “make the manipulation more coherent and efficient, ultimately to improve the user experience and layout efficiency.” Arguments should show how the claimed invention is an improvement to the technology, with supporting evidence from the specification and/or precedential case law. As a result, the claims as written are still drawn to an abstract idea and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 stands.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103, applicant’s arguments are rendered moot due to new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-11 are drawn to a device (i.e., a manufacture) and claims 12-20 are drawn to a method. As such, claims 1-20 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claims 1, 12, and 13, recite a control method of a layout object for an electronic device comprising a display, comprising: exhibiting, by the display, a target-first layout interface in response to a layout start instruction, wherein the first layout interface comprises a layout region and a peripheral region except the layout region; and in response to having an object control authority of an object to be laid out and receiving, by a touch screen, an object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region, controlling the object to be laid out to execute a response operation corresponding to the object control instruction, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction: receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises: receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object to be laid out which is generated by a sliding operation input in the peripheral region; controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises: controlling the object to be laid out to move along a sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region, wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises: obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out, and controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position. If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 12, and 13 recite abstract ideas.
Representative Claim 1: A control method of a layout object for an electronic device comprising a display, comprising: exhibiting, by the display, a target-first layout interface in response to a layout start instruction, wherein the first layout interface comprises a layout region and a peripheral region except the layout region; and in response to having an object control authority of an object to be laid out and receiving, by a touch screen, an object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region, controlling the object to be laid out to execute a response operation corresponding to the object control instruction, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction: receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises: receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object to be laid out which is generated by a sliding operation input in the peripheral region; controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises: controlling the object to be laid out to move along a sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region, wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises: obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out, and controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position.
Representative Claim 12: A control apparatus of a layout object, comprising: a first layout interface exhibition module, configured to exhibit, by a display, a first layout interface in response to a layout start instruction, wherein the first layout interface comprises a layout region and a peripheral region except the layout region; and a to-be-laid-out object control module, configured to, in response to having an object control authority of an object to be laid out and receiving, by a touch screen, an object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region, control the object to be laid out to execute a response operation corresponding to the object control instructions instruction, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction: receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises: receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object to be laid out which is generated by a sliding operation input in the peripheral region; controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises: controlling the object to be laid out to move along a sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region, wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises: controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position.
Representative Claim 13: An electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; and a storage apparatus for storing one or more programs, wherein, when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors implement a control method of a layout object, wherein the method comprises: exhibiting, by a display, a target-first layout interface in response to a layout start instruction, wherein the target first layout interface comprises a layout region and a peripheral region except the layout region; and in response to having an object control authority of an object to be laid out and receiving, by a touch screen, an object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region, controlling the object to be laid out to execute a response operation corresponding to the object control instruction, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement
instruction: receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises: receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object to be laid out which is generated by a sliding operation input in the peripheral region; controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises: controlling the object to be laid out to move along a sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region, wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises.
(Examiner notes: The underlined claim terms above are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea and are further analyzed under Step 2A - Prong Two)
The additional elements are instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements of a control apparatus, a display, a touch screen, an electronic device, a storage device, and processors are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, a control method of a layout object for an electronic device comprising a display, comprising: exhibiting a layout, wherein the layout comprises a layout region and a peripheral region; receiving an object control instruction for controlling the object, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction, receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object by a sliding operation; controlling the object to move along a sliding trajectory; obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object, taking the laid-out position as a moving start position, and controlling the object to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas. The recited steps are a simulation that applies an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (exhibiting a layout, wherein the layout comprises a layout region and a peripheral region; obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object, taking the laid-out position as a moving start position), evaluation (selecting an object to be controlled), and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (receiving an object control instruction for controlling the object, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction, receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object by a sliding operation; controlling the object to move along a sliding trajectory, and controlling the object to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position)). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (CMOHA), the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 12, and 13 recite abstract ideas.
Dependent Claims 2-11, and 14-20 further narrow the abstract ideas of exhibiting a layout, wherein the layout comprises a layout region and a peripheral region; receiving, an object control instruction for controlling the object, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction, receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object by a sliding operation; controlling the object to move along a sliding trajectory; obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object, taking the laid-out position as a moving start position, and controlling the object to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” and is an abstract idea and then it also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas and then also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Independent claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1, 12, and 13 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “exhibiting a layout, wherein the layout comprises a layout region and a peripheral region”, “receiving an object control instruction for controlling the object, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction”, “receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object by a sliding operation”, “controlling the object to move along a sliding trajectory”, “obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object, taking the laid-out position as a moving start position”, and “controlling the object to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position” etc. (Claims 1, 12, and 13) are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of applying “exhibiting a layout, wherein the layout comprises a layout region and a peripheral region”, “receiving an object control instruction for controlling the object, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction”, “receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object by a sliding operation”, “controlling the object to move along a sliding trajectory”, “obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object, taking the laid-out position as a moving start position”, and “controlling the object to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position” etc. Independent Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13, and dependent claims 2-11, and 14-19 are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components in a vehicle. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computerized environments (e.g., determining a target layout, identifying a layout region separate from a peripheral region and selecting an object to be controlled and laid out or positioned within the peripheral region, having the object be controlled, and execute a response based on the control instructions etc.). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited additional element(s) of exhibiting a layout, wherein the layout comprises a layout region and a peripheral region; receiving an object control instruction for controlling the object, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction, receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object by a sliding operation; controlling the object to move along a sliding trajectory; obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object, taking the laid-out position as a moving start position, and controlling the object to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position (Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-11, and 14-19 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements in independent claim(s) 1, 12, and 13, and dependent claims 2-11, and 14-19 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The recited additional element(s) of exhibiting a layout, wherein the layout comprises a layout region and a peripheral region; receiving an object control instruction for controlling the object, wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction, receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object by a sliding operation; controlling the object to move along a sliding trajectory; obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object, taking the laid-out position as a moving start position, and controlling the object to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position (Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea) i.e. selecting users (i.e. using a user interface) is similar to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here) (See MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure at paragraph [0117] acknowledges that “Specially, according to the embodiments of the present disclosure, the process described above with reference to the flow chart may be implemented as computer software programs. For example, the embodiments of the present disclosure provide a computer program product, which includes a computer program carried on a non-transitory computer readable medium, and the computer program includes program codes for executing the method illustrated in the flow charts. In such embodiments, the computer program may be downloaded and installed from the network via the communication apparatus 609, or installed from the storage apparatus 608, or installed from the ROM 602. When executed by the processing apparatus 601, the computer program may execute the above-described functions defined in the method provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure”, (i.e. conventional nature of using a computer and/or computer program). This additional element therefore does not ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-11, and 14-19 are dependent from claims 1, 12, and 13 and include all the limitations of the independent claims, but fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 recite clarifications of receiving instructions for controlling an object in a peripheral region, controlling the object via a sliding operation, controlling the object along a sliding trajectory, determining position change information, determining a moving trajectory, determining a start position, obtaining the layout position of the last object laid out in the layout region, receiving a start position selection operation, receiving placement instructions via a control trigger acting on a preset placement control, and determining an object control authority of the object to be laid out according to a preset layout rule. Such clarifications, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claim 8, 9, 10, and 14 recite clarifications of controlling an object to be laid out in a layout region, moving the object to be laid out in a target position, receiving layout instructions via a click, and the control method of the layout object is implemented by a computer program. The limitations are further instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device/interface acting as an intermediary for performing the abstract ideas determining a target layout, identifying a layout region separate from a peripheral region and selecting an object to be controlled and laid out or positioned within the peripheral region, having the object be controlled, and execute a response based on the control instructions, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canose et al. (US 2015/0094127 A1), in view of Rodgers (US 2020/0320763 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Canose discloses a control method of a layout object for an electronic device comprising a display ([0008] A video game is rendered for game play on a display device. The display device includes a control-screen with a touch screen interface, [0023] A client device 100 is used to initiate a request, execute a selected game and render game play of the game, provide input to manipulate a game object during game play of the game and to request and receive data related to the game, over a network 252, such as the Internet), comprising:
exhibiting, by the display, a target-first layout interface in response to a layout start
instruction, wherein the first layout interface comprises a layout region and a peripheral
region except the layout region ([0038] once the game object is activated for movement, the touch input (i.e., Sweeping finger gesture) (layout start instruction) for moving the game object may be provided anywhere on the control-screen (peripheral region) and does not have to start at the location where the game object is in the game scene (layout region)); and
in response to having an object control authority of an object to be laid out and
receiving, by a touch screen, an object control instruction for controlling the object to be
laid out input in the peripheral region, controlling the object to be laid out to execute a
response operation corresponding to the object control instruction ([0036] at the beginning of the game play or when the game object is at rest, the gesture would be interpreted by the object manipulator to activate the game object (having an object control authority) for receiving additional touch input, [0037] FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary touch input that includes movement gesture with directional aspect to provide the direction the user wishes the game object to move within the game scene. In this embodiment, the touch input is a forward swipe on the control-screen from location 'A' to location C. Based on the touch input detected by the touch screen interface, the game object 102 of the user providing the touch input, is manipulated to move forward in a vertical direction (executing a response operation corresponding to the object control instruction)),
wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement instruction ([0038] FIG. 3C illustrates touch input that is provided as a sweeping finger gesture):
receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises (Fig. 3C Swiping from peripheral region (starting point is A) to layout region (ending point is A’’’), [0038] FIG. 3C illustrates touch input that is provided as a sweeping finger gesture):
receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object to be laid out which is generated by a sliding operation input in the peripheral region ([0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture);
controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises: controlling the object to be laid out to move along a sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region ([0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture (sliding) illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture. In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A′, A″, and A′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A′″ following the same trajectory path.),
wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory
corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises:
controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position ([0038] In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture. In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A′, A″, and A′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A′″ following the same trajectory path. Additionally, the game object may be moved with a predefined momentum or with a momentum defined by the touch input Likewise, the touch input may also trace a trajectory path to the right represented by points, A, B′, B″ and B′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point B′″).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out.
Rodgers teaches obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out ([0067] sampling module 154 determines the start point for a current stroke processing interval from a point for a previous stroke processing interval, such as a constrained end point for a previous stroke processing interval, [0107] a constrained end point determined by stroke processing module 158 for a previous stroke (laid-out position) processing interval is used as a start point for a stroke input for a next stroke processing interval that follows the previous stroke processing interval. For this next stroke processing interval, stroke processing module 158 determines a vector from the constrained end point of the previous stroke processing interval to the end point of the stroke input for this next stroke processing interval (e.g., a vector from constrained end point 220 to end point 226 in artwork 204 of FIG. 2)).
Examiner’s Note: Canose is used to teach the “laid-out object” and Rodgers is used to teach obtaining the last laid out position and using it as a moving start position. Although Rodgers does not explicitly teach a “laid-out object”, it’d be obvious to apply the swiping techniques taught by Rodgers to the swiping techniques disclosed by Canose. As a result, the combination of the two references teaches the claim limitation(s).
Canose and Rodgers are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of swipe/stroke gesture-controlled programs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a control method of a layout object for an electronic device comprising a display, as disclosed by Canose, further including obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out, as taught by Rodgers for the purpose of maintaining continuity of the rendered stroke (Rodgers, [0067]).
Regarding Claim 3, Canose discloses wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises ([0037] FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary touch input that includes movement gesture with directional aspect to provide the direction the user wishes the game object to move within the game scene. In this embodiment, the touch input is a forward swipe on the control-screen from location 'A' to location C. Based on the touch input detected by the touch screen interface, the game object 102 of the user providing the touch input, is manipulated to move forward in a vertical direction):
determining position change information of contact positions respectively corresponding to the sliding operation at a plurality of moments, and determining the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation according to the position change information, wherein the position change information comprises direction change information and distance change information ([0029] The analyzer 208 computes the magnitude of displacement as the distance between the start and end locations (distance change information), [0038] In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A’, A’’, and A’’’ (plurality of moments), and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A’’’ following the same trajectory path… The sweeping finger gesture may be provided in any direction the user wishes to move the game object and the object manipulator detects the direction and manipulates the game object to move in the specific direction (direction change information)); and
determining a moving trajectory of the object to be laid out in the layout region according to the sliding trajectory, and controlling the object to be laid out to move along the moving trajectory ([0038] In the case of Sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture. In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A’, A’’, and A’’’, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A’’’ following the same trajectory path).
Regarding Claim 12, Canose discloses a control apparatus of a layout object ([0008] A video game is rendered for game play on a display device. The display device includes a control-screen with a touch screen interface, [0023] A client device 100 is used to initiate a request, execute a selected game and render game play of the game, provide input to manipulate a game object during game play of the game and to request and receive data related to the game, over a network 252, such as the Internet), comprising:
a first layout interface exhibition module, configured to exhibit, by a display, a first layout interface in response to a layout start instruction, wherein the first layout interface comprises a layout region and a peripheral region except the layout region ([0038] once the game object is activated for movement, the touch input (i.e., Sweeping finger gesture) (layout start instruction) for moving the game object may be provided anywhere on the control-screen (peripheral region) and does not have to start at the location where the game object is in the game scene (layout region)); and
a to-be-laid-out object control module, configured to, in response to having an object
control authority of an object to be laid out and receiving, by a touch screen, an object
control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region,
control the object to be laid out to execute a response operation corresponding to the object
control instructions instruction ([0036] at the beginning of the game play or when the game object is at rest, the gesture would be interpreted by the object manipulator to activate the game object (having an object control authority) for receiving additional touch input, [0037] FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary touch input that includes movement gesture with directional aspect to provide the direction the user wishes the game object to move within the game scene. In this embodiment, the touch input is a forward swipe on the control-screen from location 'A' to location C. Based on the touch input detected by the touch screen interface, the game object 102 of the user providing the touch input, is manipulated to move forward in a vertical direction (executing a response operation corresponding to the object control instruction)),
wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement
instruction ([0038] FIG. 3C illustrates touch input that is provided as a sweeping finger gesture):
receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises (Fig. 3C Swiping from peripheral region (starting point is A) to layout region (ending point is A’’’), [0038] FIG. 3C illustrates touch input that is provided as a sweeping finger gesture):
receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object to be laid out which is generated by a sliding operation input in the peripheral region ([0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture);
controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises: controlling the object to be laid out to move along a sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region ([0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture (sliding) illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture. In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A′, A″, and A′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A′″ following the same trajectory path),
wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises:
controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position ([0038] In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture. In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A′, A″, and A′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A′″ following the same trajectory path. Additionally, the game object may be moved with a predefined momentum or with a momentum defined by the touch input Likewise, the touch input may also trace a trajectory path to the right represented by points, A, B′, B″ and B′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point B′″).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out.
Rodgers teaches obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out ([0067] sampling module 154 determines the start point for a current stroke processing interval from a point for a previous stroke processing interval, such as a constrained end point for a previous stroke processing interval, [0107] a constrained end point determined by stroke processing module 158 for a previous stroke (laid-out position) processing interval is used as a start point for a stroke input for a next stroke processing interval that follows the previous stroke processing interval. For this next stroke processing interval, stroke processing module 158 determines a vector from the constrained end point of the previous stroke processing interval to the end point of the stroke input for this next stroke processing interval (e.g., a vector from constrained end point 220 to end point 226 in artwork 204 of FIG. 2)).
Examiner’s Note: Canose is used to teach the “laid-out object” and Rodgers is used to teach obtaining the last laid out position and using it as a moving start position. Although Rodgers does not explicitly teach a “laid-out object”, it’d be obvious to apply the swiping techniques taught by Rodgers to the swiping techniques disclosed by Canose. As a result, the combination of the two references teaches the claim limitation(s).
Regarding Claim 13, Canose discloses an electronic device ([0022] The following embodiments describe methods, computer programs, and apparatus for manipulating a game object during game play of an online video game based on a touch input received on a control-screen of a client device), comprising:
one or more processors ([0057] In one embodiment, operations of the method are performed by a computer program when executed by one or more processors); and
a storage apparatus for storing one or more programs, wherein, when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors implement a control method of a layout object ([0073] In particular embodiments, processor 652 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program. As an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 652 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 654, or storage 656; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 654, or storage 656), wherein the method comprises:
exhibiting, by a display, a target-first layout interface in response to a layout start instruction, wherein the target first layout interface comprises a layout region and a peripheral
region except the layout region ([0038] once the game object is activated for movement, the touch input (i.e., Sweeping finger gesture) (layout start instruction) for moving the game object may be provided anywhere on the control-screen (peripheral region) and does not have to start at the location where the game object is in the game scene (layout region)); and
in response to having an object control authority of an object to be laid out and receiving, by a touch screen, an object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region, controlling the object to be laid out to execute a response operation corresponding to the object control instruction ([0036] at the beginning of the game play or when the game object is at rest, the gesture would be interpreted by the object manipulator to activate the game object (having an object control authority) for receiving additional touch input, [0037] FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary touch input that includes movement gesture with directional aspect to provide the direction the user wishes the game object to move within the game scene. In this embodiment, the touch input is a forward swipe on the control-screen from location 'A' to location C. Based on the touch input detected by the touch screen interface, the game object 102 of the user providing the touch input, is manipulated to move forward in a vertical direction (executing a response operation corresponding to the object control instruction)),
wherein the object control instruction comprises an object movement
instruction ([0038] FIG. 3C illustrates touch input that is provided as a sweeping finger gesture):
receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises (Fig. 3C Swiping from peripheral region (starting point is A) to layout region (ending point is A’’’), [0038] FIG. 3C illustrates touch input that is provided as a sweeping finger gesture):
receiving the object movement instruction for controlling the object to be laid out which is generated by a sliding operation input in the peripheral region ([0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture);
controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises:
controlling the object to be laid out to move along a sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region, wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises ([0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture (sliding) illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture. In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A′, A″, and A′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A′″ following the same trajectory path):
controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation from the moving start position ([0038] In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture. In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A′, A″, and A′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A′″ following the same trajectory path. Additionally, the game object may be moved with a predefined momentum or with a momentum defined by the touch input Likewise, the touch input may also trace a trajectory path to the right represented by points, A, B′, B″ and B′″, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point B′″).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out.
Rodgers teaches obtaining a laid-out position of a last laid-out object in the layout region, and taking the laid-out position as a moving start position of the object to be laid out ([0067] sampling module 154 determines the start point for a current stroke processing interval from a point for a previous stroke processing interval, such as a constrained end point for a previous stroke processing interval, [0107] a constrained end point determined by stroke processing module 158 for a previous stroke (laid-out position) processing interval is used as a start point for a stroke input for a next stroke processing interval that follows the previous stroke processing interval. For this next stroke processing interval, stroke processing module 158 determines a vector from the constrained end point of the previous stroke processing interval to the end point of the stroke input for this next stroke processing interval (e.g., a vector from constrained end point 220 to end point 226 in artwork 204 of FIG. 2)).
Examiner’s Note: Canose is used to teach the “laid-out object” and Rodgers is used to teach obtaining the last laid out position and using it as a moving start position. Although Rodgers does not explicitly teach a “laid-out object”, it’d be obvious to apply the swiping techniques taught by Rodgers to the swiping techniques disclosed by Canose. As a result, the combination of the two references teaches the claim limitation(s).
Regarding Claim 14, Canose discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, when executed by a processor, the computer program implements the control method of the layout object according to claim 1 ([0057] In one embodiment, operations of the method are performed by a computer program when executed by one or more processors, the computer program being embedded in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).
Regarding Claim 16, Canose discloses wherein controlling the object to be laid out to move along the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation within the layout region comprises ([0037] FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary touch input that includes movement gesture with directional aspect to provide the direction the user wishes the game object to move within the game scene. In this embodiment, the touch input is a forward swipe on the control-screen from location 'A' to location C. Based on the touch input detected by the touch screen interface, the game object 102 of the user providing the touch input, is manipulated to move forward in a vertical direction):
determining position change information of contact positions respectively corresponding to the sliding operation at a plurality of moments, and determining the sliding trajectory corresponding to the sliding operation according to the position change information, wherein the position change information comprises direction change information and distance change information ([0029] The analyzer 208 computes the magnitude of displacement as the distance between the start and end locations (distance change information), [0038] In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A’, A’’, and A’’’ (plurality of moments), and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A’’’ following the same trajectory path… The sweeping finger gesture may be provided in any direction the user wishes to move the game object and the object manipulator detects the direction and manipulates the game object to move in the specific direction (direction change information)); and
determining a moving trajectory of the object to be laid out in the layout region according to the sliding trajectory, and controlling the object to be laid out to move along the moving trajectory ([0038] In the case of Sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture. In this embodiment, the touch input takes a trajectory path to the left represented by location points, A, A’, A’’, and A’’’, and the game object 102 is manipulated to move from point A to point A’’’ following the same trajectory path).
Claims 7-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canose et al. (US 2015/0094127 A1), in view of in view of Rodgers (US 2020/0320763 A1), and in further view of Shimura et al. (US 2007/0265081 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Canose discloses wherein the object control instruction comprises an object placement instruction ([0022] The touch input may be in the form of a simple movement gesture or a tap gesture on the control-screen. The touch input includes a swipe/tap profile and direction. The touch screen interface identifies the location and direction of the touch input on the control-screen and relays this information to a game manager. A control tool, such as game play manipulator, within the game manager interprets the information provided in the touch input and manipulates the game object of the video game in accordance with the interpreted information, [0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture));
receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises ([0037] the touch input is a forward swipe (object control instruction) on the control-screen (peripheral region)):
receiving the object placement instruction generated by a control trigger operation (receiving object placement instruction [0011] The device includes a control-screen with a touch screen interface for receiving touch input during game play. The computer program also includes program instructions for detecting touch input (control trigger) at the touch screen interface of the control-screen when the game object is selected for movement, [0038] In one embodiment, once the game object is activated for movement, the touch input (i.e., Sweeping finger gesture) for moving the game object may be provided anywhere on the control-screen and does not have to start at the location where the game object is in the game scene. The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction (receiving object placement instruction(s)) and the game object manipulated accordingly);
controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises ([0040] By allowing the user to simply flick/swipe the screen (i.e., slide of a user finger across the screen), the user is able to manipulate the direction and/or state of the game object as well as, in some embodiments, influence the momentum of the game object as the game object moves across the screen with each touch input):
placing the object to be laid out to a first layout position in the layout region according to a current position of the object to be laid out ([0028] In this example, the analyzer 208 will determine the location of the touch input on the touch screen interface and use it to manipulate the game object of the game. Likewise, the analyzer 208 may determine that the touch input includes a movement gesture having a swipe profile with a start location (current position of the object) and an end location (target layout position) within the game scene (layout region) rendered at the display device, etc. In this case, the analyzer 208 computes the magnitude of displacement from the start location and end location of the movement gesture. The magnitude of displacement along with the directional aspect of the gesture, such as a forward swipe, a backward swipe, a horizontal swipe to the left, a horizontal swipe to the right, etc., is used to manipulate the game object (placing the object) within the game scene).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing acting on a first placement control.
Shimura teaches acting on a first placement control ([0008] Movement (placement) of the stylus to a second point within one of these Zones causes the digital object to perform a predetermined action (preset control)), and further teaches generating a control trigger operation ([0007] The digital object may be any digital object such as for example a game character. A player wishing to move (operation) the digital object can use a stylus or other touch (generate control trigger) to indicate a first point on the screen).
Regarding Claim 8, Canose discloses in response to having the object control authority of the object to be laid out and controlling the object to be laid out to execute a response operation corresponding to the object layout instruction ([0055] A game object is manipulated to correlate with the first touch input provided at the touch screen interface, as illustrated in operation 406. The manipulation based on the touch input may include moving the game object in the first direction defined by the first touch input when the game object is at rest, stopping the game object when it is moving, or maintaining/changing the directional course of the moving game object,).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing receiving an object layout instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the layout region.
Shimura teaches receiving an object layout instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the layout region ([0049] In the exemplary illustrative implementation, the selection area 203 is used to detect whether a particular touch on touch screen 13 pertains to the game character 201. Touches by stylus 16 or otherwise within the selection area 203 (layout region) area are interpreted to be relevant to the motion of game character 201, whereas touches outside of this bounding box are determined not to be relevant to the motion of game character 201).
Regarding Claim 9, Canose discloses wherein the object layout instruction comprises an object movement instruction ([0037] FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary touch input that includes movement gesture with directional aspect to provide the direction the user wishes the game object to move within the game scene. In this embodiment, the touch input is a forward swipe on the control-screen from location 'A' to location C. Based on the touch input detected by the touch screen interface, the game object 102 of the user providing the touch input, is manipulated to move forward in a vertical direction);
receiving the object layout instruction input in the layout region ([0037] the touch input is a forward swipe (object control instruction) on the control-screen); and
controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object layout instruction ([0040] By allowing the user to simply flick/swipe (object layout instruction) the screen (i.e., slide of a user finger across the screen), the user is able to manipulate the direction and/or state of the game object as well as, in some embodiments, influence the momentum of the game object as the game object moves across the screen with each touch input).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing receiving the object layout instruction input in the layout region comprises: receiving a layout position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, taking a selected position capable of laying out as a first moving position, and generating the object movement instruction included in the object layout instruction for moving the object to be laid out to the first moving position; and controlling the object to be laid out comprises: moving the object to be laid out to the first moving position and displaying the object to be laid out at the first moving position.
Shimura teaches receiving the object layout instruction input in the layout region comprises:
receiving a layout position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, taking a selected position capable of laying out as a first moving position, and generating the object movement instruction included in the object layout instruction for moving the object to be laid out to the first moving position ([0007] To move the object, the player moves the touch to a second point on the screen, thereby providing a stroke. The digital object then moves based on the direction of the stroke, [0008] When the player first touches the stylus to the screen, the system analyzes the touch and divides the screen into multiple zones around the first point indicated by the player. Movement of the stylus to a second point within one of these zones causes the digital object to perform a predetermined action); and
generating the object movement instruction for moving the object to be laid out to the target moving position; and controlling the object to be laid out comprises: moving the object to be laid out to the first moving position and displaying the object to be laid out at the first moving position ([0007] The digital object then moves based on the direction of the stroke, [0008] Movement of the stylus to a second point within one of these zones causes the digital object to perform a predetermined action, [0027] The direction instructing switch 20a functions as a digital joystick, and is used for instructing a moving direction of a player character (or player object) to be operated by a player, instructing a moving direction of a cursor, and so forth by operating any one of four depression portions).
Regarding Claim 10, Canose discloses wherein the object layout instruction comprises an object placement instruction ([0022] The touch input may be in the form of a simple movement gesture or a tap gesture on the control-screen. The touch input includes a swipe/tap profile and direction. The touch screen interface identifies the location and direction of the touch input on the control-screen and relays this information to a game manager. A control tool, such as game play manipulator, within the game manager interprets the information provided in the touch input and manipulates the game object of the video game in accordance with the interpreted information, [0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture);
receiving the object layout instruction input in the layout region comprises: receiving the object layout instruction generated by a click operation on the object to be laid out displayed in the layout region ([0022] The touch input may be in the form of a simple movement gesture or a tap gesture on the control-screen. The touch input includes a swipe/tap (functionally analogous to a click operation) profile and direction. The touch screen interface identifies the location and direction of the touch input on the control-screen and relays this information to a game manager).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object layout instruction comprises: placing the object to be laid out to a first layout position according to a display position of the object to be laid out.
Shimura teaches controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object layout instruction comprises:
placing the object to be laid out to a first layout position according to a display position of the object to be laid out ([0063] FIG. 8 shows a state diagram of an exemplary illustrative non-limiting implementation of various actions associated with exemplary stylus movement (display positions of the object to be laid out)… In this particular implementation, the exemplary nine regions are represented by states A-I 801, 803, 805, 807, 817, 809, 811, 813, 815. The state diagram represents possible actions that could be taken by the digital object if the stylus passes through a series of exemplary regions. For example, if the stylus stroke begins in A 801 and moves to E 817, the object stops acting, or does nothing if it is already stopped. In another example, if the stylus begins in E 817 and moves to F 807 and then to B 803, the object faces right and then jumps).
Regarding Claim 11, Canose discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining the object control authority of the object to be laid out ([0036] The touch input may be a tap or a tap-and-hold gesture. In one embodiment, at the beginning of the game play or when the game object is at rest, the gesture would be interpreted by the object manipulator to activate the game object for receiving additional touch input (authority activation mode), [0038] In one embodiment, once the game object is activated for movement, the touch input (i.e., sweeping finger gesture) for moving the game object may be provided anywhere on the control-screen).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing a first layout rule, wherein the first layout rule comprises a layout object controller of the object to be laid out and an authority activation mode of the layout object controller.
Shimura teaches a first layout rule, wherein the first layout rule comprises a layout object controller of the object to be laid out and an authority activation mode of the layout object controller ([0049] In the exemplary illustrative implementation, the selection area 203 is used to detect whether a particular touch on touch screen 13 pertains to the game character 201. Touches by stylus 16 or otherwise within the selection area 203 (rule – touch within a selection area/bounding box) area are interpreted to be relevant to the motion of game character 201, whereas touches outside of this bounding box are determined not to be relevant to the motion of game character 201, [0060] If the stylus is detected, the subroutine then, in a selection detection step 675, checks to see if the stylus is within a selection area 203 defined for a game object to be controlled…If the stylus is within the selection area 203 (authority activation mode – stylus within selection area), the subroutine sets stylus position at an initial position step 677. Then the subroutine considers the screen area to be divided into a plurality of Zones at a Zone setting step 679… If the stylus has moved out of the tolerance range, the Subroutine detects the Zone in which the stylus currently resides at a Zone detection step 683. Based on the Zone detected in Zone detection step 683, the subroutine processes an action associated with that Zone (e.g., move the character in an appropriate corresponding direction) in an action processing step 685).
Regarding Claim 20, Canose discloses wherein the object control instruction comprises an object placement instruction ([0022] The touch input may be in the form of a simple movement gesture or a tap gesture on the control-screen. The touch input includes a swipe/tap profile and direction. The touch screen interface identifies the location and direction of the touch input on the control-screen and relays this information to a game manager. A control tool, such as game play manipulator, within the game manager interprets the information provided in the touch input and manipulates the game object of the video game in accordance with the interpreted information, [0038] The touch input is interpreted to determine the type (movement gesture or tap gesture), location and direction and the game object manipulated accordingly. In the case of sweeping finger gesture illustrated in FIG. 3C, the game object is manipulated to trace the direction of the gesture);
receiving the object control instruction for controlling the object to be laid out input in the peripheral region comprises ([0037] the touch input is a forward swipe (object control instruction) on the control-screen (peripheral region)):
receiving the object placement instruction generated by a control trigger operation (receiving object placement instruction [0011] The device includes a control-screen with a touch screen interface for receiving touch input during game play. The computer program also includes program instructions for detecting touch input at the touch screen interface of the control-screen when the game object is selected for movement);
controlling the object to be laid out to execute the response operation corresponding to the object control instruction comprises ([0040] By allowing the user to simply flick/swipe the screen (i.e., slide of a user finger across the screen), the user is able to manipulate the direction and/or state of the game object as well as, in some embodiments, influence the momentum of the game object as the game object moves across the screen with each touch input):
placing the object to be laid out to a first layout position in the layout region according to a current position of the object to be laid out ([0028] In this example, the analyzer 208 will determine the location of the touch input on the touch screen interface and use it to manipulate the game object of the game. Likewise, the analyzer 208 may determine that the touch input includes a movement gesture having a swipe profile with a start location (current position of the object) and an end location (first layout position) within the game scene (layout region) rendered at the display device, etc. In this case, the analyzer 208 computes the magnitude of displacement from the start location and end location of the movement gesture. The magnitude of displacement along with the directional aspect of the gesture, such as a forward swipe, a backward swipe, a horizontal swipe to the left, a horizontal swipe to the right, etc., is used to manipulate the game object (placing the object) within the game scene).
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing acting on a first placement control.
Shimura teaches acting on a first placement control ([0008] Movement (placement) of the stylus to a second point within one of these Zones causes the digital object to perform a predetermined action (preset control)); and further teaches generating a control trigger operation ([0007] The digital object may be any digital object such as for example a game character. A player wishing to move (operation) the digital object can use a stylus or other touch (generate control trigger) to indicate a first point on the screen).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canose et al. (US 2015/0094127 A1), in view of in view of Rodgers (US 2020/0320763 A1), in view of Shimura et al. (US 2007/0265081 A1), and in further view of Mueller et al. (US 9,772,743 B1).
Regarding Claim 6, Canose discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing wherein taking the laid-out position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out comprises: in response to there being no laid-out object in the layout region, taking a first starting position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out; or, receiving a start position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, and taking a selected position capable of laying out as the moving start position of the object to be laid out.
Shimura teaches wherein taking the laid-out position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out ([0007] For the object to be selected, the point indicated by the player may be within a selection area specified for selecting the digital object for movement. To move the object, the player moves the touch to a second point on the screen, thereby providing a stroke. The digital object then moves based on the direction of the stroke, [0052] system P divides the screen into a plurality of virtual zones, defined in this exemplary illustrative non-limiting implementation by four outwardly extending lines or vectors 313, 315, 317, 319 from the initial or resting touch of the stylus).
However, Shimura is not relied upon teaching wherein taking the laid-out position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out comprises: disclosing in response to there being no laid-out object in the layout region, taking a first starting position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out; or, receiving a start position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, and taking a selected position capable of laying out as the moving start position of the object to be laid out.
Mueller teaches wherein determining the moving start position of the object to be laid out comprises:
in response to there being no laid-out object in the layout region, taking a preset starting position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out (Col. 1 Lines 49-52 the computing device may cause the touchscreen to display the control pad in a first position, based at least in part on the first location); or,
receiving a start position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, and taking a selected position capable of laying out as the moving start position of the object to be laid out (Col. 3 Lines 44-49 The control pad can be used by a user to control or manipulate characters, objects, or entities within a game environment. In some embodiments, the control pad is activated and displayed at a location of the touchscreen based at least in part on a touch signal location within a partition of the touchscreen).
Canose and Mueller are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of controlling or manipulating objects within a game environment utilizing touch inputs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a control method of a layout object, as disclosed by Canose, as previously modified by Shimura, further including wherein determining the moving start position of the object to be laid out comprises: disclosing in response to there being no laid-out object in the layout region, taking a preset starting position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out; or, receiving a start position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, and taking a selected position capable of laying out as the moving start position of the object to be laid out as taught by Mueller for the purpose of allowing users to play the game without having to frequently look away from the game to check the position of their hands, which can increase engagement and enjoyment of the game (Mueller, Col. 3 Lines 34-41).
Regarding Claim 19, Canose discloses the electronic device according to claim 13.
However, Canose is not relied upon disclosing wherein taking the laid-out position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out comprises: in response to there being no laid-out object in the layout region, taking a first starting position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out; or, receiving a start position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, and taking a selected position capable of laying out as the moving start position of the object to be laid out.
Shimura teaches wherein taking the laid-out position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out ([0007] For the object to be selected, the point indicated by the player may be within a selection area specified for selecting the digital object for movement. To move the object, the player moves the touch to a second point on the screen, thereby providing a stroke. The digital object then moves based on the direction of the stroke, [0052] system P divides the screen into a plurality of virtual zones, defined in this exemplary illustrative non-limiting implementation by four outwardly extending lines or vectors 313, 315, 317, 319 from the initial or resting touch of the stylus).
However, Shimura is not relied upon teaching wherein taking the laid-out position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out comprises: in response to there being no laid-out object in the layout region, taking a first starting position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out; or, receiving a start position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, and taking a selected position capable of laying out as the moving start position of the object to be laid out.
Mueller teaches wherein taking the laid-out position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out comprises:
in response to there being no laid-out object in the layout region, taking a preset starting position as the moving start position of the object to be laid out (Col. 1 Lines 49-52 the computing device may cause the touchscreen to display the control pad in a first position, based at least in part on the first location); or,
receiving a start position selection operation input for a position capable of laying out in the layout region, and taking a selected position capable of laying out as the moving start position of the object to be laid out (Abstract A control pad displayed on a touchscreen of a touchscreen device can be used by a user to control or manipulate characters, objects, or entities within a game environment. In some embodiments, the control pad is activated and displayed at a location of the touchscreen based at least in part on a touch signal location within a defined partition of the touchscreen).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. (US 2017/0021271 A1) is in the field of systems and methods for detecting touch screen inputs for a video game system (Cho, Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715