DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 16, lines 2-3 recite the claim limitation “transmitting the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message of the random access procedure”. However the one or more reference signals in claim 16 refer to one or more reference signals received from the UE. Therefore it is unclear how the measured one or more reference signals which are received from the UE as recited in claim 15, are transmitted by the network entity as claimed in claim 16. Clarification is required.
.
Regarding Claim 22, lines 1-3 recite the claim limitation, “transmitting second control information indicating a resource for communicating the indication of one of the match or mismatch”. It is unclear why the network entity which communicates itself the indication of the one of the match or mismatch to the UE, would transmit second control information indicating a resource for communicating the indication to the UE when it is the network entity that communicates the indication and not the UE. For example it is unclear why second control information indicating a resource for communicating the indication would be sent to the UE when it is the network entity that communicates the indication and not the UE. Clarification is required.
Regarding Claim 27, lines 2-4 recite the claim limitation “transmitting the one or more reference signals prior to the random access procedure, wherein measuring the one or more reference signals is based at least in part on transmitting the one or more reference signals”. The claim feature of “transmitting the one or more reference signals prior to the random access procedure” is unclear in the claim since the one or more reference signals in claim 27 refers to the “one or more reference signals” that are measured by the network entity in claim 15 meaning they are received by the network entity for measuring and not transmitted. The claim feature of “wherein measuring the one or more reference signals is based at least in part on transmitting the one or more reference signals” in claim 27 is also unclear as to how the one or more reference signals measured by the network entity can be based on transmitting the one or more reference signals by the network entity when measuring the one or more reference signals is based on receiving the one or more reference signals. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 12, 14, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748), further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300).
Regarding Claim 1, Imai discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0060] a user equipment may be a “node” configured to perform any of the techniques described herein. Therefore the base station in Fig. 1 of Imai which is a node may be interpreted as the “UE”), comprising: receiving control information indicating that a network entity supports key derivation associated with an access procedure with the network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., received specific pilot signal (i.e., “control information”) which is dedicated for channel estimation and performing the key generation protocol implies that the network entity (i.e., “mobile station”) supports key derivation & Para’s [0006-0007] i.e., in order to share information obtained from a channel state information between the base station and the mobile station, pilot signals are alternately transmitted and received, [0011], [0041-0044], & [0046] i.e., pilot control signal)
Measuring, based at least in part on the control information, one or more reference signals transmitted by the network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., mobile station) during or prior to a procedure to generate a channel estimate of a wireless communication channel between the UE and the network entity; (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0060] a network entity may be a “node” configured to perform any of the techniques described herein. Therefore the mobile station in Fig. 1 of Imai which is a node may be interpreted as the “network entity) (Imai, see Fig. 1 i.e., pilot signals (i.e., “reference signals”) exchanged between the base station and the mobile station are used for performing channel estimation in steps ST20-1 by the base station and ST20-2 by the mobile station & Para’s [0004], [0006] i.e., First, in step ST10, in order to share information obtained from a channel state information between the base station and the mobile station, pilot signals (i.e., “reference signals”) are alternately transmitted and received, [0007] i.e., Next, in Step ST20, the base station and the mobile station respectively estimate channel state information based on received pilot signals, & [0041-0044])
And communicating, with the network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., mobile station) during the procedure, an indication (see Fig. 1 i.e., confirmation signal) of one of a match or a mismatch (see Fig. 1 i.e., step ST55-1 & Para’s [0011-0015] i.e., in step ST55-1, the base station compares the hashed information generated by the base station and the hashed information transmitted from the mobile station, generates a confirmation signal indicating a comparison result, and transmits the generated confirmation signal to the mobile station) between a first verification bit sequence generated by the UE using a first key derived from the channel estimate (see Fig. 1 i.e., generated hashed information by the base station in step ST50-1 which is based on the bits of the key & Para’s [0008] i.e., key is derived from channel estimate i.e., Fig. 1 ST30-1, [0013-0014], [0017] & [0109-0120]) and a second verification bit sequence generated by the network entity using a second key derived by the network entity, (see Fig. 1 i.e., hashed information generated and transmitted by the mobile station in Fig.1, step ST50-2 & Para’s [0013-0014])
While Imai discloses communicating the indication (Fig. 1, ST55-1 i.e., confirmation signal & Para [0014]) which is an acknowledgment signal in light of the applicants specification (i.e., applicants specification, Fig. 3, ACK 335 & Para’s [0110]), Imai does not disclose the signaling procedure is performed during a random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293).
Kim discloses generating a shared key during a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station (see Fig. 29 & Para’s [0229-0234] i.e., In step S2907, the terminal 2910 and the base station generate and share a sift key…In step S2909, the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 perform communication based on the sift key)
Kim discloses an acknowledgement signal (i.e., “reverse pulse”) is communicated during the random access procedure in order for the devices to determine the shared key to use for communications (see Fig. 29 & Para’s [0233] i.e., In step S2907, the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 generate and share a shift key…a device operating as Bob among the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 may transmit an assistance bit in a forward direction, and a device operating as Alice may perform an operation corresponding to the assistance bit (i.e., operation includes transmitting reverse pulse acknowledgement), [0156] i.e., reverse pulse (i.e., “acknowledgement”) in response to forward pulse may be an acknowledgement signal, [0161-0162] i.e., reverse pulse may be an acknowledgement signal for determining the shared key, [0165-0167], [0191-0192], [0221-0222], & [0225-0226] i.e., the device may generate reverse pulses by encoding at least one bit for generating a sift key based on at least one initial bit included in the forward pulse)
(Kim suggests the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the key derivation signaling procedure which communicates the indication (i.e., acknowledgement signal) for determining a shared key for the communication of the devices as disclosed in Imai to be performed and included in the acknowledgement signal during the random access procedure disclosed in the teachings of Kim who discloses a shared key is determined during a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station in which an acknowledgement signal (i.e., “reverse pulse”) is communicated during the random access procedure, because the motivation lies in Kim that the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication.
While the base station in Fig. 1 of Imai is interpreted as the UE, the combination of Imai in view of Kim does not specifically disclose the base station is a UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748).
Nakakita a base station (see Fig. 1 i.e., base station A) functions as a terminal (see Fig. 1 & Para [0087] i.e., in the case where the base station A functions as a terminal).
(Nakakita suggests in the case where the base station A functions as a terminal a shared secret key may be used by the base station for securing the communication (see Para’s [0009], [0013], [0060-0061], & [0086-0087])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station disclosed in Imai in view of Kim to function as a terminal according to the base station A as disclosed in Nakakita who discloses the base station A functions as a terminal, because the motivation lies in Nakakita that in the case where the base station A functions as a terminal a shared secret key may be used by the base station for securing the communication.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of Nakakita does not disclose the measuring of the one or more reference signals is during the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., the reference signal may include a sounding reference signal and a demodulation reference signal, [0046] i.e., the controller performs channel estimation result using the random access preamble (i.e., “Mg1”) (i.e., “uplink reference signal”), [0075-0078], [0182-0183] i.e., Specifically, the eNB 200 estimates an uplink delay between the eNB 200 and the UE 100, based on the “RA preamble” received from the UE… Then the eNB transmits the “RA response” including a TA based on a result of the delay estimation, [0186-0187] i.e., the eNB 200 performs a process of deriving a downlink transmission weight for the UE 100, based on the channel estimation result using the random access preamble, and a process of transmitting, to the UE 100, the random access response together with the UE-specific RS (i.e., “reference signal”) by using the downlink transmission weight, [0192-0194] i.e., Further, the UE 100 demodulates the “RA response” by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS)
(Yamazaki suggests the channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access in order for the base station to estimate an uplink delay between the base station and the UE for determining a timing correction value (TA timing advance) and uplink radio resource for the UE (see Para [0183]) and for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining the shared key for the communication of the devices during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of Nakakita to measure the reference signals during the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki who discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that the channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access in order for the base station to estimate an uplink delay between the base station and the UE for determining a timing correction value (TA timing advance) and uplink radio resource for the UE and for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Yamazaki does not explicitly disclose receiving control information indicating that the network entity supports the key derivation. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300).
Wang discloses receiving control information indicating that the transmitter (i.e., “network entity”) supports the key derivation (see Para’s [0003], [0043] i.e., the receiver can thus derive the quantum key from the received optical signal based on the sequence of signatures (i.e., “control information”) in the pilot signal (i.e., the sequence of signatures in the pilot signal (i.e., “control information”) inherently indicates that the transmitter supports key derivation), & [0089-0096])
(Wang suggests the receiver can thus derive the quantum key from the received optical signal based on the sequence of signatures in the pilot signal for deriving a secret key for securing the data communications (see Para’s [0003], [0043], & [0089-0096])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the received pilot signal used for generating the key for securing communications as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Yamazaki to receive the pilot signal comprising control information indicating that the transmitter (i.e., “network entity”) supports the key derivation as disclosed in the teachings of Wang, because the motivation lies in Wang that the receiver can thus derive the quantum key from the received optical signal based on the sequence of signatures in the pilot signal for deriving a secret key for securing the data communications.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message of the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message of the random access procedure (see Para [0047] i.e., a downlink resource block used for transmitting the random access response, [0183] i.e., Msg2, & [0186-0188] i.e., transmitting to the UE 100, the random access response with a demodulation-use reference signal specific to a UE is referred to as UE-specific RS. The UE-specific RS is included in an allocated radio resource (PDSCH resource) allocated by the eNB 200 to the UE 100)
(Yamazaki suggests receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining the shared key for the communication of the devices during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang to measure the reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of the random access response during the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki who discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Imai in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating one or more messages secured using the first key derived from the channel estimate based at least in part on communicating the indication of a match between the first verification bit sequence and the second verification bit sequence, (Imai, see Fig. 1 ST70-1 & Para’s [0015-0016] i.e., when it is determined that the secret keys match, step ST70 is executed after step ST60…in step ST70, the base station and the mobile station start encrypted communication using the secret keys generated by the base station and the mobile station), but does not disclose the one or more messages communicated during the random access procedure, after the random access procedure, or both. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293).
Kim discloses the one or more messages communicated after the random access procedure using a shared key between the UE and the base station (see Fig. 29, step S2909 i.e., perform communication based of sift key & Para’s [0233-0234])
(Kim suggests the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure communicating one or more messages secured using the first key derived from the channel estimate based at least in part on communicating the indication of a match as disclosed in Imai in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang to be performed after the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Kim who discloses a shared key is determined for communication after a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station, because the motivation lies in Kim that the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key after the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: communicating a message of the random access procedure that has a quasi co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses communicating a message of the random access procedure that has a quasi co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals (see Para’s [0085] i.e., spatial multiplexing applied to uplink and the downlink, [0183] i.e., eNB transmits the RA response such as Msg2 on PDSCH, [0186] i.e., The UE-specific RS (i.e., “demodulation-use reference signal”) is included in an allocated PDSCH resource…As a result, it is possible to perform a sophisticated PDSCH transmission by beamforming or the like from the stage of the random access response (Msg2), [0187] i.e., eNB 200 transmits the random access response together with the UE-specific RS (i.e., RA response and UE-specific RS have a quasi co-location relationship based on beamforming using the same spatial direction))
(Yamazaki suggests receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining the shared key for the communication of the devices during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang to measure the reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of the random access response during the random access procedure in which the random access response has a quasi co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki who discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1 including receiving the control information (Imai, see Para’s [0006-0007] i.e., pilot signals received by the base station), but does not disclose wherein receiving the control information comprises: receiving the control information via a master information block, a system information block, a message of the random access procedure, or any combination thereof. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses wherein receiving the control information comprises: receiving the control information via a message of the random access procedure, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., the reference signal may include a demodulation reference signal (i.e., “control information”), [0046] i.e., transmitting to the radio terminal, the demodulation-use reference signal (i.e., “control information”) specific to the radio terminal with the random access response, , [0186-0187] i.e., the UE-specific RS is transmitted to the UE together with the random access response (i.e., “message of the random access procedure”))
(Yamazaki suggests receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the received control information as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang to receiving the control information via a message of the random access procedure as disclosed in Yamazaki because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating a signal indicating the first verification bit sequence or the second verification bit sequence (Imai, see Fig. 1, ST50-2 i.e., hashed information transmitted from mobile station to base station & Para [0013]), wherein communicating the indication of the match or the mismatch is based at least in part on communicating the signal, (Imai, see Fig. 1 i.e., confirmation signal & Para’s [0013-0014])
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining the first key using the channel estimate of the wireless communication channel (Imai, see Fig. 1 i.e., ST30-1 & Para’s [0008] i.e., key is derived from channel estimate, [0013-0014], [0044], & [0046]), wherein communicating the indication of one of the match or the mismatch is based at least in part on obtaining the first key, (Imai, see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0013-0014])
Regarding Claim 14, The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the channel estimate based at least in part on measuring the one or more reference signals, the channel estimate comprising a reference signal metric (see Para’s [0006-0008] i.e., pilot signals, [0053], & [0123] i.e., channel estimation determines SNR (i.e., reference signal metric)), a log likelihood ratio metric, or a combination thereof, but does not disclose the reference signal is a demodulation reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses a received pilot signal is a demodulation reference signal used for channel estimation (see Para’s [0186] & [0194])
(Yamazaki suggests the one or more demodulation reference signals are received in order for the UE to perform channel estimation and properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the reference signal such as the pilot signal as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang to be a pilot signal such as the demodulation reference signal used for channel estimation as disclosed in Yamazaki, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that the one or more demodulation reference signals are received in order for the UE to perform channel estimation and properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource.
Regarding Claim 29, Imai discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0060] a user equipment may be a “node” configured to perform any of the techniques described herein. Therefore the base station in Fig. 1 of Imai which is a node may be interpreted as the “UE” apparatus), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 2 i.e., apparatus includes processor & Para’s [0128-0129])
A memory coupled with the processor,(see Fig. 2 i.e., apparatus includes memory & Para’s [0127-0130])
And instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (see Para’s [0127] i.e., it is also possible to implement the present invention using software & [0128-0130] i.e., implementation using general purpose processors) to cause the apparatus to:
receive control information indicating that a network entity supports key derivation associated with an access procedure with the network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., received specific pilot signal (i.e., “control information”) which is dedicated for channel estimation and performing the key generation protocol implies that the network entity (i.e., “mobile station”) supports key derivation & Para’s [0006-0007] i.e., in order to share information obtained from a channel state information between the base station and the mobile station, pilot signals are alternately transmitted and received, [0011], [0041-0044], & [0046] i.e., pilot control signal)
Measure, based at least in part on the control information, one or more reference signals transmitted by the network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., mobile station) during or prior to a procedure to generate a channel estimate of a wireless communication channel between the UE and the network entity; (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0060] a network entity may be a “node” configured to perform any of the techniques described herein. Therefore the mobile station in Fig. 1 of Imai which is a node may be interpreted as the “network entity) (Imai, see Fig. 1 i.e., pilot signals (i.e., “reference signals”) exchanged between the base station and the mobile station are used for performing channel estimation in steps ST20-1 by the base station and ST20-2 by the mobile station & Para’s [0004], [0006] i.e., First, in step ST10, in order to share information obtained from a channel state information between the base station and the mobile station, pilot signals (i.e., “reference signals”) are alternately transmitted and received, [0007] i.e., Next, in Step ST20, the base station and the mobile station respectively estimate channel state information based on received pilot signals, & [0041-0044])
And communicate, with the network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., mobile station) during the procedure, an indication (see Fig. 1 i.e., confirmation signal) of one of a match or a mismatch (see Fig. 1 i.e., step ST55-1 & Para’s [0011-0015] i.e., in step ST55-1, the base station compares the hashed information generated by the base station and the hashed information transmitted from the mobile station, generates a confirmation signal indicating a comparison result, and transmits the generated confirmation signal to the mobile station) between a first verification bit sequence generated by the UE using a first key derived from the channel estimate (see Fig. 1 i.e., generated hashed information by the base station in step ST50-1 which is based on the bits of the key & Para’s [0008] i.e., key is derived from channel estimate i.e., Fig. 1 ST30-1, [0013-0014], [0017] & [0109-0120]) and a second verification bit sequence generated by the network entity using a second key derived by the network entity, (see Fig. 1 i.e., hashed information generated and transmitted by the mobile station in Fig.1, step ST50-2 & Para’s [0013-0014])
While Imai discloses communicating the indication (Fig. 1, ST55-1 i.e., confirmation signal & Para [0014]) which is an acknowledgment signal in light of the applicants specification (i.e., applicants specification, Fig. 3, ACK 335 & Para’s [0110]), Imai does not disclose the signaling procedure is performed during a random access procedure and the claim feature of instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293).
Kim discloses generating a shared key during a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station (see Fig. 29 & Para’s [0229-0234] i.e., In step S2907, the terminal 2910 and the base station generate and share a sift key…In step S2909, the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 perform communication based on the sift key)
Kim discloses an acknowledgement signal (i.e., “reverse pulse”) is communicated during the random access procedure in order for the devices to determine the shared key to use for communications (see Fig. 29 & Para’s [0233] i.e., In step S2907, the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 generate and share a shift key…a device operating as Bob among the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 may transmit an assistance bit in a forward direction, and a device operating as Alice may perform an operation corresponding to the assistance bit (i.e., operation includes transmitting reverse pulse acknowledgement), [0156] i.e., reverse pulse (i.e., “acknowledgement”) in response to forward pulse may be an acknowledgement signal, [0161-0162] i.e., reverse pulse may be an acknowledgement signal for determining the shared key, [0165-0167], [0191-0192], [0221-0222], & [0225-0226] i.e., the device may generate reverse pulses by encoding at least one bit for generating a sift key based on at least one initial bit included in the forward pulse)
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor of a base station (see Para’s [0015] & [0073-0075])
(Kim suggests the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the key derivation signaling procedure which communicates the indication (i.e., acknowledgement signal) for determining a shared key for the communication of the devices as performed by the apparatus as disclosed in Imai to be performed and included in the acknowledgement signal during the random access procedure and include instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor of the base station as disclosed in the teachings of Kim who discloses a shared key is determined during a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station in which an acknowledgement signal (i.e., “reverse pulse”) is communicated during the random access procedure, because the motivation lies in Kim that the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication.
While the base station in Fig. 1 of Imai is interpreted as the UE, the combination of Imai in view of Kim does not specifically disclose the base station is a UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748).
Nakakita a base station (see Fig. 1 i.e., base station A) functions as a terminal (see Fig. 1 & Para [0087] i.e., in the case where the base station A functions as a terminal).
(Nakakita suggests in the case where the base station A functions as a terminal a shared secret key may be used by the base station for securing the communication (see Para’s [0009], [0013], [0060-0061], & [0086-0087])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station disclosed in Imai in view of Kim to function as a terminal according to the base station A as disclosed in Nakakita who discloses the base station A functions as a terminal, because the motivation lies in Nakakita that in the case where the base station A functions as a terminal a shared secret key may be used by the base station for securing the communication.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of Nakakita does not disclose the measuring of the one or more reference signals is during the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., the reference signal may include a sounding reference signal and a demodulation reference signal, [0046] i.e., the controller performs channel estimation result using the random access preamble (i.e., “Mg1”) (i.e., “uplink reference signal”), [0075-0078], [0182-0183] i.e., Specifically, the eNB 200 estimates an uplink delay between the eNB 200 and the UE 100, based on the “RA preamble” received from the UE… Then the eNB transmits the “RA response” including a TA based on a result of the delay estimation, [0186-0187] i.e., the eNB 200 performs a process of deriving a downlink transmission weight for the UE 100, based on the channel estimation result using the random access preamble, and a process of transmitting, to the UE 100, the random access response together with the UE-specific RS (i.e., “reference signal”) by using the downlink transmission weight, [0192-0194] i.e., Further, the UE 100 demodulates the “RA response” by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS)
(Yamazaki suggests the channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access in order for the base station to estimate an uplink delay between the base station and the UE for determining a timing correction value (TA timing advance) and uplink radio resource for the UE (see Para [0183]) and for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining the shared key for the communication of the devices during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of Nakakita to measure the reference signals during the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki who discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that the channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access in order for the base station to estimate an uplink delay between the base station and the UE for determining a timing correction value (TA timing advance) and uplink radio resource for the UE and for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Yamazaki does not explicitly disclose receiving control information indicating that the network entity supports the key derivation. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300).
Wang discloses receiving control information indicating that the transmitter (i.e., “network entity”) supports the key derivation (see Para’s [0003], [0043] i.e., the receiver can thus derive the quantum key from the received optical signal based on the sequence of signatures (i.e., “control information”) in the pilot signal (i.e., the sequence of signatures in the pilot signal (i.e., “control information”) inherently indicates that the transmitter supports key derivation), & [0089-0096])
(Wang suggests the receiver can thus derive the quantum key from the received optical signal based on the sequence of signatures in the pilot signal for deriving a secret key for securing the data communications (see Para’s [0003], [0043], & [0089-0096])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the received pilot signal used for generating the key for securing communications as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Yamazaki to receive the pilot signal comprising control information indicating that the transmitter (i.e., “network entity”) supports the key derivation as disclosed in the teachings of Wang, because the motivation lies in Wang that the receiver can thus derive the quantum key from the received optical signal based on the sequence of signatures in the pilot signal for deriving a secret key for securing the data communications.
Claims 15-18, 21, 26, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Regarding Claim 15, Imai discloses a method for wireless communications at a network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., base station), comprising: measuring one or more reference signals transmitted by a user equipment (see Fig. 1 i.e., mobile station) during a procedure to generate a channel estimate of a wireless communication channel between the UE and the network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., pilot signals (i.e., “reference signals”) received from the mobile station are used for performing channel estimation in steps ST20-1 by the base station & Para’s [0004], [0006] i.e., First, in step ST10, in order to share information obtained from a channel state information between the base station and the mobile station, pilot signals (i.e., “reference signals”) are alternately transmitted and received, [0007] i.e., Next, in Step ST20, the base station and the mobile station respectively estimate channel state information based on received pilot signals, & [0041-0044])
And communicating during the procedure, an indication (see Fig. 1 i.e., confirmation signal) of one of a match or a mismatch (see Fig. 1 i.e., step ST55-1 & Para’s [0011-0015] i.e., in step ST55-1, the base station compares the hashed information generated by the base station and the hashed information transmitted from the mobile station, generates a confirmation signal indicating a comparison result, and transmits the generated confirmation signal to the mobile station) between a first verification bit sequence generated by the UE using a first key derived by the UE (see Fig. 1 i.e., hashed information generated and transmitted by the mobile station in Fig.1, step ST50-2 & Para’s [0013-0014])
and a second verification bit sequence using a second key derived from the channel estimate by the network entity, (see Fig. 1 i.e., generated hashed information by the base station in step ST50-1 which is based on the bits of the key & Para’s [0008] i.e., key is derived from channel estimate i.e., Fig. 1 ST30-1, [0013-0014], [0017] & [0109-0120])
While Imai discloses communicating the indication (Fig. 1, ST55-1 i.e., confirmation signal & Para [0014]) which is an acknowledgment signal in light of the applicants specification (i.e., applicants specification, Fig. 3, ACK 335 & Para’s [0110]), Imai does not disclose the signaling procedure is performed during a random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293).
Kim discloses generating a shared key during a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station (see Fig. 29 & Para’s [0229-0234] i.e., In step S2907, the terminal 2910 and the base station generate and share a sift key…In step S2909, the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 perform communication based on the sift key)
Kim discloses an acknowledgement signal (i.e., “reverse pulse”) is communicated during the random access procedure in order for the devices to determine the shared key to use for communications (see Fig. 29 & Para’s [0233] i.e., In step S2907, the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 generate and share a shift key…a device operating as Bob among the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 may transmit an assistance bit in a forward direction, and a device operating as Alice may perform an operation corresponding to the assistance bit (i.e., operation includes transmitting reverse pulse acknowledgement), [0156] i.e., reverse pulse (i.e., “acknowledgement”) in response to forward pulse may be an acknowledgement signal, [0161-0162] i.e., reverse pulse may be an acknowledgement signal for determining the shared key, [0165-0167], [0191-0192], [0221-0222], & [0225-0226] i.e., the device may generate reverse pulses by encoding at least one bit for generating a sift key based on at least one initial bit included in the forward pulse)
(Kim suggests the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the key derivation signaling procedure which communicates the indication (i.e., acknowledgement signal) for determining a shared key for the communication of the devices as disclosed in Imai to be performed and included in the acknowledgement signal during the random access procedure disclosed in the teachings of Kim who discloses a shared key is determined during a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station in which an acknowledgement signal (i.e., “reverse pulse”) is communicated during the random access procedure, because the motivation lies in Kim that the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication.
While the combination of Imai in view of Kim discloses the key derivation associated with a random access procedure with the network entity, the combination of Imai in view of Kim does not disclose the claim feature of transmitting control information indicating that the network entity supports the key derivation and the measuring is based at least in part on the control information. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326).
LI discloses a network entity transmitting control information indicating that the network entity supports the key derivation (see Fig. 2 i.e., S202/S203 i.e., send selected key generation capability & Para’s [0132-0139] i.e., S202 the network element sends the selected key generation capability to a terminal (i.e., key generation capability indicates that the network element supports key derivation))
(LI suggests the terminal generates a first key parameter and first key based on the received control information in which the first key parameter is sent to the network entity for generating the first base key in order to determine an encryption key to be used for subsequent communications for securing the communication between the terminal and the network element, (see Para’s [0003], [0132-0139], & [0146-0147])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the key derivation associated with a random access procedure with the network entity by measuring one or more reference signals transmitted by the UE as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim to be based on transmitting, by the network entity, control information indicating that the network entity supports the key derivation as disclosed in the teachings of LI, which results in measuring, based at least in part on the control information, the one or more reference signals transmitted by the UE, because the motivation lies in LI that the terminal generates a first key parameter and first key based on the received control information in which the first key parameter is sent to the network entity for generating the first base key in order to determine an encryption key to be used for subsequent communications for securing the communication between the terminal and the network element.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI does not disclose the measuring the one or more reference signals during the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station (i.e., “measuring the one or more reference signals during the random access procedure”) and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., the reference signal may include a sounding reference signal and a demodulation reference signal, [0046] i.e., the controller performs channel estimation result using the random access preamble (i.e., “Mg1”) (i.e., “uplink reference signal”), [0075-0078], [0182-0183] i.e., Specifically, the eNB 200 estimates an uplink delay between the eNB 200 and the UE 100, based on the “RA preamble” received from the UE… Then the eNB transmits the “RA response” including a TA based on a result of the delay estimation, [0186-0187] i.e., the eNB 200 performs a process of deriving a downlink transmission weight for the UE 100, based on the channel estimation result using the random access preamble, and a process of transmitting, to the UE 100, the random access response together with the UE-specific RS (i.e., “reference signal”) by using the downlink transmission weight, [0192-0194] i.e., Further, the UE 100 demodulates the “RA response” by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS)
(Yamazaki suggests the channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access in order for the base station to estimate an uplink delay between the base station and the UE for determining a timing correction value (TA timing advance) and an uplink radio resource for the UE for appropriately performing uplink communications (see Para [0183])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining the shared key for the communication of the devices during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, to measure the reference signals during the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki who discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that the channel estimation is performed by the base station during the random access in order for the base station to estimate an uplink delay between the base station and the UE for determining a timing correction value (TA timing advance) and an uplink radio resource for the UE for appropriately performing uplink communications.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI discloses the method of claim 15, but does not disclose further comprising: transmitting the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message of the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses transmitting the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message of the random access procedure (see Para [0047] i.e., a downlink resource block used for transmitting the random access response, [0183] i.e., Msg2, & [0186-0188] i.e., transmitting to the UE 100, the random access response with a demodulation-use reference signal specific to a UE is referred to as UE-specific RS. The UE-specific RS is included in an allocated radio resource (PDSCH resource) allocated by the eNB 200 to the UE 100)
(Yamazaki suggests receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining the shared key for the communication of the devices during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI to transmit the reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of the random access response during the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki who discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that transmitting the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message is performed in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Imai in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: communicating one or more messages secured using the second key derived from the channel estimate based at least in part on communicating the indication of a match between the first verification bit sequence and the second verification bit sequence, (Imai, see Fig. 1 ST70-1 & Para’s [0015-0016] i.e., when it is determined that the secret keys match, step ST70 is executed after step ST60…in step ST70, the base station and the mobile station start encrypted communication using the secret keys generated by the base station and the mobile station), but does not disclose the one or more messages communicated during the random access procedure, after the random access procedure, or both. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293).
Kim discloses the one or more messages communicated after the random access procedure using a shared key between the UE and the base station (see Fig. 29, step S2909 i.e., perform communication based of sift key & Para’s [0233-0234])
(Kim suggests the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure communicating one or more messages secured using the first key derived from the channel estimate based at least in part on communicating the indication of a match as disclosed in Imai in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki to be performed after the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Kim who discloses a shared key is determined for communication after a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station, because the motivation lies in Kim that the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key after the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: communicating a message of the random access procedure that has a quasi co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses communicating a message of the random access procedure that has a quasi co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals (see Para’s [0085] i.e., spatial multiplexing applied to uplink and the downlink, [0183] i.e., eNB transmits the RA response such as Msg2 on PDSCH, [0186] i.e., The UE-specific RS (i.e., “demodulation-use reference signal”) is included in an allocated PDSCH resource…As a result, it is possible to perform a sophisticated PDSCH transmission by beamforming or the like from the stage of the random access response (Msg2), [0187] i.e., eNB 200 transmits the random access response together with the UE-specific RS (i.e., RA response and UE-specific RS have a quasi co-location relationship based on beamforming using the same spatial direction))
(Yamazaki suggests receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining the shared key for the communication of the devices during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI to measure the reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of the random access response during the random access procedure in which the random access response has a quasi co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki who discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that receiving the one or more reference signals in a resource allocated for transmission of a random access response message in order for the UE to properly demodulate the random access response by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS for receiving the uplink radio resource grant in order to appropriately perform uplink transmission to the base station on the granted uplink resource.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating a signal indicating the first verification bit sequence or the second verification bit sequence (Imai, see Fig. 1, ST50-2 i.e., hashed information transmitted from mobile station to base station & Para [0013]), wherein communicating the indication of the match or the mismatch is based at least in part on communicating the signal, (Imai, see Fig. 1 i.e., confirmation signal & Para’s [0013-0014])
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining the second key using the channel estimate of the wireless communication channel (Imai, see Fig. 1 i.e., ST30-1 & Para’s [0008] i.e., key is derived from channel estimate, [0013-0014], [0044], & [0046]), wherein communicating the indication of one of the match or the mismatch is based at least in part on obtaining the second key, (Imai, see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0013-0014])
Regarding Claim 28, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: generating the channel estimate based at least in part on measuring the one or more reference signals, the channel estimate comprising a reference signal metric (see Para’s [0006-0008] i.e., pilot signals, [0053], & [0123] i.e., channel estimation determines SNR (i.e., reference signal metric)), a log likelihood ratio metric, or a combination thereof, but does not disclose the reference signal is a demodulation reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses a received pilot signal is a demodulation reference signal used for channel estimation (see Para’s [0186] & [0194])
(Yamazaki suggests the one or more demodulation reference signals are received in order to perform channel estimation for properly demodulating a signal, (see Para’s [0183-0184] & [0194])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the reference signal such as the pilot signal as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI to be a pilot signal such as the demodulation reference signal used for channel estimation as disclosed in Yamazaki, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that the one or more demodulation reference signals are received in order to perform channel estimation for properly demodulating a signal.
Regarding Claim 30, Imai discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., base station), comprising: comprising: a processor (see Fig. 2 i.e., apparatus includes processor & Para’s [0128-0129])
A memory coupled with the processor,(see Fig. 2 i.e., apparatus includes memory & Para’s [0127-0130])
And instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (see Para’s [0127] i.e., it is also possible to implement the present invention using software & [0128-0130] i.e., implementation using general purpose processors) to cause the apparatus to:
measure one or more reference signals transmitted by a user equipment (see Fig. 1 i.e., mobile station) during a procedure to generate a channel estimate of a wireless communication channel between the UE and the network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., pilot signals (i.e., “reference signals”) received from the mobile station are used for performing channel estimation in steps ST20-1 by the base station & Para’s [0004], [0006] i.e., First, in step ST10, in order to share information obtained from a channel state information between the base station and the mobile station, pilot signals (i.e., “reference signals”) are alternately transmitted and received, [0007] i.e., Next, in Step ST20, the base station and the mobile station respectively estimate channel state information based on received pilot signals, & [0041-0044])
And communicate during the procedure, an indication (see Fig. 1 i.e., confirmation signal) of one of a match or a mismatch (see Fig. 1 i.e., step ST55-1 & Para’s [0011-0015] i.e., in step ST55-1, the base station compares the hashed information generated by the base station and the hashed information transmitted from the mobile station, generates a confirmation signal indicating a comparison result, and transmits the generated confirmation signal to the mobile station) between a first verification bit sequence generated by the UE using a first key derived by the UE (see Fig. 1 i.e., hashed information generated and transmitted by the mobile station in Fig.1, step ST50-2 & Para’s [0013-0014])
and a second verification bit sequence using a second key derived from the channel estimate by the network entity, (see Fig. 1 i.e., generated hashed information by the base station in step ST50-1 which is based on the bits of the key & Para’s [0008] i.e., key is derived from channel estimate i.e., Fig. 1 ST30-1, [0013-0014], [0017] & [0109-0120])
While Imai discloses communicating the indication (Fig. 1, ST55-1 i.e., confirmation signal & Para [0014]) which is an acknowledgment signal in light of the applicants specification (i.e., applicants specification, Fig. 3, ACK 335 & Para’s [0110]), Imai does not disclose the signaling procedure is performed during a random access procedure and the claim feature of instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293).
Kim discloses generating a shared key during a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station (see Fig. 29 & Para’s [0229-0234] i.e., In step S2907, the terminal 2910 and the base station generate and share a sift key…In step S2909, the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 perform communication based on the sift key)
Kim discloses an acknowledgement signal (i.e., “reverse pulse”) is communicated during the random access procedure in order for the devices to determine the shared key to use for communications (see Fig. 29 & Para’s [0233] i.e., In step S2907, the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 generate and share a shift key…a device operating as Bob among the terminal 2910 and the base station 2920 may transmit an assistance bit in a forward direction, and a device operating as Alice may perform an operation corresponding to the assistance bit (i.e., operation includes transmitting reverse pulse acknowledgement), [0156] i.e., reverse pulse (i.e., “acknowledgement”) in response to forward pulse may be an acknowledgement signal, [0161-0162] i.e., reverse pulse may be an acknowledgement signal for determining the shared key, [0165-0167], [0191-0192], [0221-0222], & [0225-0226] i.e., the device may generate reverse pulses by encoding at least one bit for generating a sift key based on at least one initial bit included in the forward pulse)
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor of a base station (see Para’s [0015] & [0073-0075])
(Kim suggests the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the key derivation signaling procedure which communicates the indication (i.e., acknowledgement signal) for determining a shared key for the communication of the devices as disclosed by the apparatus in Imai to be performed and included in the acknowledgement signal during the random access procedure and include instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor by the base station as disclosed in the teachings of Kim who discloses a shared key is determined during a random access procedure performed between a terminal and a base station in which an acknowledgement signal (i.e., “reverse pulse”) is communicated during the random access procedure, because the motivation lies in Kim that the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication.
While the combination of Imai in view of Kim discloses the key derivation associated with a random access procedure with the network entity, the combination of Imai in view of Kim does not disclose the claim feature of transmitting control information indicating that the network entity supports the key derivation and the measuring is based at least in part on the control information. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326).
LI discloses a network entity transmitting control information indicating that the network entity supports the key derivation (see Fig. 2 i.e., S202/S203 i.e., send selected key generation capability & Para’s [0132-0139] i.e., S202 the network element sends the selected key generation capability to a terminal (i.e., key generation capability indicates that the network element supports key derivation))
(LI suggests the terminal generates a first key parameter and first key based on the received control information in which the first key parameter is sent to the network entity for generating the first base key in order to determine an encryption key to be used for subsequent communications for securing the communication between the terminal and the network element, (see Para’s [0003], [0132-0139], & [0146-0147])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the key derivation associated with a random access procedure with the network entity by measuring one or more reference signals transmitted by the UE as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim to be based on transmitting, by the network entity, control information indicating that the network entity supports the key derivation as disclosed in the teachings of LI, which results in measuring, based at least in part on the control information, the one or more reference signals transmitted by the UE, because the motivation lies in LI that the terminal generates a first key parameter and first key based on the received control information in which the first key parameter is sent to the network entity for generating the first base key in order to determine an encryption key to be used for subsequent communications for securing the communication between the terminal and the network element.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI does not disclose the measuring the one or more reference signals during the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station (i.e., “measuring the one or more reference signals during the random access procedure”) and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., the reference signal may include a sounding reference signal and a demodulation reference signal, [0046] i.e., the controller performs channel estimation result using the random access preamble (i.e., “Mg1”) (i.e., “uplink reference signal”), [0075-0078], [0182-0183] i.e., Specifically, the eNB 200 estimates an uplink delay between the eNB 200 and the UE 100, based on the “RA preamble” received from the UE… Then the eNB transmits the “RA response” including a TA based on a result of the delay estimation, [0186-0187] i.e., the eNB 200 performs a process of deriving a downlink transmission weight for the UE 100, based on the channel estimation result using the random access preamble, and a process of transmitting, to the UE 100, the random access response together with the UE-specific RS (i.e., “reference signal”) by using the downlink transmission weight, [0192-0194] i.e., Further, the UE 100 demodulates the “RA response” by the channel estimation using the UE-specific RS)
(Yamazaki suggests the channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access in order for the base station to estimate an uplink delay between the base station and the UE for determining a timing correction value (TA timing advance) and an uplink radio resource for the UE for appropriately performing uplink communications (see Para [0183])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining the shared key for the communication of the devices during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, to measure the reference signals during the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki who discloses channel estimation is performed by the base station and the UE during the random access procedure by measuring reference signals in Msg1 by the base station and Msg2 of the random access procedure by the UE, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that the channel estimation is performed by the base station during the random access in order for the base station to estimate an uplink delay between the base station and the UE for determining a timing correction value (TA timing advance) and an uplink radio resource for the UE for appropriately performing uplink communications.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748), further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mo et al. US (2022/0159684).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1 including a metric associated with measuring the channel estimate (Imai, see Para [0123] i.e., SNR); and obtaining the first key using the metric associated with the channel estimate (see Para’s [0007-0008], [0041-0044], & [0123]), but does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: receiving second control information indicating the metric associated with measuring the channel estimate. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Mo et al. US (2022/0159684).
Mo discloses receiving second control information indicating a metric such as SNR associated with measuring a channel estimate of a reference signal, (see Para [0099] i.e., the gNB 102 configures the UE 116 with a set of reference signal (RS) resources, such as SSB resources and/or CSI-RS resources, as well as a configuration (i.e., “second control information”) for report settings such that the UE can report beam quality metrics measurements such as SNR).
(Mo suggests the configuration information including the SNR metric is used by the UE for measuring beam quality metrics of the received reference signal for identifying a candidate best beam for communication based on the measured quality metric (see Para [0099])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the metric associated with measuring the channel estimate for obtaining the first key as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang for receiving second control information from the base station such as the configuration for report settings indicating a metric such as SNR associated with measuring a channel estimate of a reference signal as disclosed in the teachings of Mo, because the motivation lies in Mo that the configuration information including the SNR metric is used by the UE for measuring beam quality metrics of the received reference signal for identifying a candidate best beam for communication based on the measured quality metric.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748), further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shibaike et al. US (2025/0351185).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1 including communicating the indication of one of the match or the mismatch which is an acknowledgment signal (Imai, see Para [0014] i.e., confirmation signal). In light of the applicants specification, the communication of the indication is included in the ACK signal after reception of msg4 (see applicants specification Fig. 3 step 325 i.e., ACK/NAC & Para [0135]). The references combined does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: receiving second control information indicating a resource for communicating the indication (i.e., ACK). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Shibaike et al. US (2025/0351185).
Shibaike discloses receiving second control information indicating a resource for communicating the ACK signal for Msg4 (see Para [0067] i.e., UE 200 with the RRC connection completed may transmit Ack via a PUCCH (PUCCH resource) indicated by a PUCCH resource indication field included in the PDCCH that has scheduled msg4)
(Shibaike suggests the PUCCH resource is indicated in the PDCCH that has scheduled Msg4 in order for the UE to determine the PUCCH resource for sending the Ack signal in order to indicate that the RRC connection has been completed, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0066-0067])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the indication of one of the match or the mismatch which is an acknowledgment signal during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang to include receiving second control information indicating a resource for communicating the acknowledgment signal as disclosed in the teachings of Shibaike because the motivation lies in Shibaike that the PUCCH resource is indicated in the PDCCH that has scheduled Msg4 in order for the UE to determine the PUCCH resource for sending the Ack signal in order to indicate that the RRC connection has been completed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748), further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Godin et al. US (2023/0413371).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: receiving a message of the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses receiving a message of the random access procedure (see Fig. 18 i.e., Msg4 & Para [0185])
(Yamazaki suggests the random access response message received by the UE is a contention resolution message including the C-RNTI of the UE for confirming contention resolution and that the random access procedure is successfully performed, (see Fig. 18 & Para [0185])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure performed for determining the secret key used for communication during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Wang to receive a message of the random access procedure such as Msg4 as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that the random access response message received by the UE is a contention resolution message including the C-RNTI of the UE for confirming contention resolution and that the random access procedure is successfully performed.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang does not disclose the message comprising control information indicating the second verification bit sequence. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Godin et al. US (2023/0413371).
Godin discloses the received message (Msg4) comprising control information indicating the second verification bit sequence (see Fig. 2(a) & Para [0214] i.e., a message such as Msg4 as shown in procedure (a) in Fig. 2, sent in response to an uplink SDT, contains an RRC message carrying new key values (i.e., “verification bit sequence”)).
(Godin suggests the new key values included in the Msg4 are security keys used for securing the communication (see Para’s [0104-0105] i.e., security keys & [0114])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the received random access response message such as Msg4 as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang to include control information indicating the second verification bit sequence based on the teachings of Godin who discloses the received message (Msg4) comprising control information indicating new key values, because the motivation lies in Godin that the new key values included in the Msg4 are security keys used for securing the communication.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748), further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kubota et al. US (2014/0301304).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating the indication of the mismatch between the first verification bit sequence and the second verification bit sequence, (Imai, see Para [0014]),
But does not disclose and receiving a message of the random access procedure indicating whether one or more subsequent messages communicated between the UE and the network entity are unsecured. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kubota et al. US (2014/0301304).
Kubota discloses receiving a message of the random access procedure indicating whether one or more subsequent messages communicated between the UE and the network entity are unsecured (see Fig. 1 & Para [0053] i.e., the first RACH message comprises an indication that unsecure data is to follow in at least the second associated RACH message).
(Kubota suggests the first RACH message comprises an indication that unsecure data is to follow in subsequent communications to the network node for informing the network node of following subsequent data communication that is unsecure (see Fig. 1 & Para [0053])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a received random access response message as disclosed in Imai in view of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang to indicate whether one or more subsequent message communicated between the UE and the network entity are unsecured based at least in part on the mismatch, based on the teachings of Kubota who discloses a random access message of the random access procedure may indicate whether one or more subsequent messages communicated between the UE and the network entity are unsecured, because the motivation lies in Kubota that the RACH message comprises an indication that unsecure data is to follow in subsequent communications to the network node for informing the network node of following subsequent data communication that is unsecure.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748), further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hussain et al. USP (11,539,513).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Imai in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: communicating one or more messages subsequent to the random access procedure that are encrypted using the first key. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293).
Kim discloses communicating one or more messages subsequent to the random access procedure that are encrypted using the first key (see Fig. 29 i.e., S2909 & Para [0234] i.e., the terminal and the base station may perform communication based on the sift key)
(Kim suggests the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication, (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining a first key for the communication of one or more messages of the devices as disclosed in Imai in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang to communicate the one or more messages subsequent to the random access procedure that are encrypted using the first key as disclosed in the teachings of Kim, because the motivation lies in Kim that the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang does not disclose the one or more messages indicating to update the first key to a third key. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hussain et al. USP (11,539,513).
Hussain discloses one or more messages communicated from a sending network device to a receiving network device indicating to update the first key to a third key (see Col. 13 lines 33-47 i.e., network device210-1 may perform a rekey process which may involve regenerating keys (i.e., “third key”) for the MKA session…In some implementations, network device 210-1 may generate MKA packet data that includes the updated keys (i.e., “third key”) and send the MKA packet data to network device 210-N to indicate that the updated keys are to be used for the MKA session)
(Hussain suggests the sending network device sends the one or more messages including the updated keys for indicating to the receiving network device that the updated keys are to be used for the communication session in order for the receiving device to determine the updated security key for successfully regenerating keys for the communication session (see Col. 13 lines 33-47)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more messages that are encrypted using the first key communicated between the base station and the UE as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang to indicate to update the first key to a third key according to the one or more communication messages communicated between the sending network device sends and the receiving device as disclosed in Hussain, because the motivation lies in Hussain that the sending network device sends the one or more messages including the updated keys for indicating to the receiving network device that the updated keys are to be used for the communication session in order for the receiving device to determine the updated security key for successfully regenerating keys for the communication session.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of Nakakita et al. US (2002/0061748), further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2020/0389300) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hu et el. US (2022/0078848).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, and further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving the one or more reference signals (Imai, see Para’s [0006-0008] & [0041-0044]), wherein measuring the one or more reference signals is based at least in part on receiving the one or more reference signals, (Imai, see Para’s [0006-0008] & [0041-0044]), but does not disclose the claim feature of receiving the one or more reference signals prior to the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hu et el. US (2022/0078848).
Hu discloses receiving the one or more reference signals prior to the random access procedure (see Fig. 1 i.e., SSB 104 & Para’s [0026-0027], [0037] i.e., reference signal such as SSB, [0040] i.e., prior to the start of a random access (RA) procedure, a base station may broadcast one or more SSBs to UE 102, [0055], [0063], & [0065])
Wherein measuring the one or more reference signals is based at least in part on receiving the one or more reference signals, (see Para’s [0026-0027], [0037], [0040], [0055], [0063] i.e., good SSB beam determined based on measurement, & [0065]).
(Hu suggests the UE receives the one or more SSB reference signals prior to the random access procedure in order to determine a good SSB beam used as a transmit beam for sending Msg1 in the random access procedure and for indicating SSB beams during the random access procedure for beam management including beam adaptation to improve the establishment and/or operation of beams between the devices, (see Para’s [0003], [0026-0027], [0040[, [0055], [0063], & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the measured one or more received reference signals as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of Nakakita, further in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Wang to receive the one or more reference signals prior to the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Hu, because the motivation lies in Hu that the UE receives the one or more SSB reference signals prior to the random access procedure in order to determine a good SSB beam used as a transmit beam for sending Msg1 in the random access procedure and for indicating SSB beams during the random access procedure for beam management including beam adaptation to improve the establishment and/or operation of beams between the devices.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Casati US (2024/0373218).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein transmitting the control information comprises: transmitting the control information via a master information block, a system information block, a message of the random access procedure, or any combination thereof. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Casati US (2024/0373218).
Casati discloses wherein transmitting control information indicating a network entity supports key derivation comprises: transmitting the control information via a master information block (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0090] i.e., the MIB broadcast via a 5G cell broadcast channel by RAN device 112 includes an indication that the 5G SNPN supports a pre-shared key mode of access to Ethernet LAN 130 & [0095])
(Casati suggests the pre-shared key mode includes using a pre-shared KEY algorithm selected for key derivation and encryption for securing the communication (see Para’s [0090] & [0095])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the control information transmitted by the network entity as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki to transmit the control information via a master information block as disclosed in Casati who discloses transmitting control information indicating a network entity supports key derivation is transmitted via a master information block, because the motivation lies in Casati that the pre-shared key mode support indicated in the MIB includes using a pre-shared KEY algorithm selected for key derivation and encryption for securing the communication.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Mo et al. US (2022/0159684).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 15 including a metric associated with measuring the channel estimate (Imai, see Para [0123] i.e., SNR); and obtaining the first key using the metric associated with the channel estimate (see Para’s [0007-0008], [0041-0044], & [0123]), but does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: transmitting second control information indicating the metric associated with the generated channel estimate. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Mo et al. US (2022/0159684).
Mo discloses receiving second control information indicating a metric such as SNR associated with a generated channel estimate of a reference signal, (see Para [0099] i.e., the gNB 102 configures the UE 116 with a set of reference signal (RS) resources, such as SSB resources and/or CSI-RS resources, as well as a configuration (i.e., “second control information”) for report settings such that the UE can report beam quality metrics measurements such as SNR).
(Mo suggests the configuration information including the SNR metric is used by the UE for measuring beam quality metrics of the received reference signal for identifying a candidate best beam for communication based on the measured quality metric (see Para [0099])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the metric associated with measuring the channel estimate for obtaining the second key as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki for receiving second control information from the base station such as the configuration for report settings indicating a metric such as SNR associated with measuring a channel estimate of a reference signal as disclosed in the teachings of Mo, because the motivation lies in Mo that the configuration information including the SNR metric is used by the UE for measuring beam quality metrics of the received reference signal for identifying a candidate best beam for communication based on the measured quality metric.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Shibaike et al. US (2025/0351185).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 15 including communicating the indication of one of the match or the mismatch which is an acknowledgment signal (Imai, see Para [0014] i.e., confirmation signal). In light of the applicants specification, the communication of the indication is included in the ACK signal after reception of msg4 (see applicants specification Fig. 3 step 325 i.e., ACK/NAC & Para [0135]). The references combined does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: receiving second control information indicating a resource for communicating the indication (i.e., ACK). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Shibaike et al. US (2025/0351185).
Shibaike discloses receiving second control information indicating a resource for communicating the ACK signal for Msg4 (see Para [0067] i.e., UE 200 with the RRC connection completed may transmit Ack via a PUCCH (PUCCH resource) indicated by a PUCCH resource indication field included in the PDCCH that has scheduled msg4)
(Shibaike suggests the PUCCH resource is indicated in the PDCCH that has scheduled Msg4 in order for the UE to determine the PUCCH resource for sending the Ack signal in order to indicate that the RRC connection has been completed, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0066-0067])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the indication of one of the match or the mismatch which is an acknowledgment signal during the random access procedure as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki to include receiving second control information indicating a resource for communicating the acknowledgment signal as disclosed in the teachings of Shibaike because the motivation lies in Shibaike that the PUCCH resource is indicated in the PDCCH that has scheduled Msg4 in order for the UE to determine the PUCCH resource for sending the Ack signal in order to indicate that the RRC connection has been completed.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Godin et al. US (2023/0413371).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI discloses the method of claim 15, but does not disclose further comprising: transmitting a message of the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483).
Yamazaki discloses transmitting a message of the random access procedure (see Fig. 18 i.e., Msg4 & Para [0185])
(Yamazaki suggests the random access response message received by the UE is a contention resolution message including the C-RNTI of the UE for confirming contention resolution and that the random access procedure is successfully performed, (see Fig. 18 & Para [0185])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure performed for determining the secret key used for communication during the random access procedure as disclosed Imai in view of Kim, and further in view of LI to transmit a message of the random access procedure such as Msg4 as disclosed in the teachings of Yamazaki, because the motivation lies in Yamazaki that the random access response message received by the UE is a contention resolution message including the C-RNTI of the UE for confirming contention resolution and that the random access procedure is successfully performed.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Wang does not disclose the message comprising control information indicating the second verification bit sequence. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Godin et al. US (2023/0413371).
Godin discloses a transmitted message (Msg4) comprising control information indicating the second verification bit sequence (see Fig. 2(a) & Para [0214] i.e., a message such as Msg4 as shown in procedure (a) in Fig. 2, sent in response to an uplink SDT, contains an RRC message carrying new key values (i.e., “verification bit sequence”)).
(Godin suggests the new key values included in the Msg4 are security keys used for securing the communication (see Para’s [0104-0105] i.e., security keys & [0114])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the transmitted random access response message such as Msg4 as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki, to include control information indicating the second verification bit sequence based on the teachings of Godin who discloses the received message (Msg4) comprising control information indicating new key values, because the motivation lies in Godin that the new key values included in the Msg4 are security keys used for securing the communication.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kubota et al. US (2014/0301304).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: communicating the indication of the mismatch between the first verification bit sequence and the second verification bit sequence, (Imai, see Para [0014]),
But does not disclose and transmitting a message of the random access procedure indicating whether one or more subsequent messages communicated between the UE and the network entity are unsecured. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kubota et al. US (2014/0301304).
Kubota discloses a message of the random access procedure indicating whether one or more subsequent messages communicated between the UE and the network entity are unsecured (see Fig. 1 & Para [0053] i.e., the first RACH message comprises an indication that unsecure data is to follow in at least the second associated RACH message).
(Kubota suggests the first RACH message comprises an indication that unsecure data is to follow in subsequent communications to the network node for informing the network node of following subsequent data communication that is unsecure (see Fig. 1 & Para [0053])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a transmitted random access response message as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki to indicate whether one or more subsequent message communicated between the UE and the network entity are unsecured based at least in part on the mismatch, based on the teachings of Kubota who discloses a random access message of the random access procedure may indicate whether one or more subsequent messages communicated between the UE and the network entity are unsecured, because the motivation lies in Kubota that the RACH message comprises an indication that unsecure data is to follow in subsequent communications to the network node for informing the network node of following subsequent data communication that is unsecure.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Hussain et al. USP (11,539,513).
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Imai in view LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 15, but does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: communicating one or more messages subsequent to the random access procedure that are encrypted using the first key. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293).
Kim discloses communicating one or more messages subsequent to the random access procedure that are encrypted using the first key (see Fig. 29 i.e., S2909 & Para [0234] i.e., the terminal and the base station may perform communication based on the sift key)
(Kim suggests the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication, (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the signaling procedure for determining a first key for the communication of one or more messages of the devices as disclosed in Imai in view LI, and further in view of Yamazaki to communicate the one or more messages subsequent to the random access procedure that are encrypted using the first key as disclosed in the teachings of Kim, because the motivation lies in Kim that the terminal and the base station perform communication based on the shared sift key determined during the random access procedure which is used as at least one encryption key for the data in order to secure the data communication.
The combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki does not disclose the one or more messages indicating to update the first key to a third key. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hussain et al. USP (11,539,513).
Hussain discloses one or more messages communicated from a sending network device to a receiving network device indicating to update the first key to a third key (see Col. 13 lines 33-47 i.e., network device210-1 may perform a rekey process which may involve regenerating keys (i.e., “third key”) for the MKA session…In some implementations, network device 210-1 may generate MKA packet data that includes the updated keys (i.e., “third key”) and send the MKA packet data to network device 210-N to indicate that the updated keys are to be used for the MKA session)
(Hussain suggests the sending network device sends the one or more messages including the updated keys for indicating to the receiving network device that the updated keys are to be used for the communication session in order for the receiving device to determine the updated security key for successfully regenerating keys for the communication session (see Col. 13 lines 33-47)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more messages that are encrypted using the first key communicated between the base station and the UE as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki to indicate to update the first key to a third key according to the one or more communication messages communicated between the sending network device sends and the receiving device as disclosed in Hussain, because the motivation lies in Hussain that the sending network device sends the one or more messages including the updated keys for indicating to the receiving network device that the updated keys are to be used for the communication session in order for the receiving device to determine the updated security key for successfully regenerating keys for the communication session.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. US (2009/0028262) in view of Kim et al. US (2024/0056293), further in view of LI et al. US (2019/0149326), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US (2018/0191483) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Hu et el. US (2022/0078848).
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving the one or more reference signals (Imai, see Para’s [0006-0008] & [0041-0044]), wherein measuring the one or more reference signals is based at least in part on receiving the one or more reference signals, (Imai, see Para’s [0006-0008] & [0041-0044]), but does not disclose the claim feature of transmitting the one or more reference signals prior to the random access procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hu et el. US (2022/0078848).
Hu discloses transmitting the one or more reference signals prior to the random access procedure (see Fig. 1 i.e., SSB 104 & Para’s [0026-0027], [0037] i.e., reference signal such as SSB, [0040] i.e., prior to the start of a random access (RA) procedure, a base station may broadcast one or more SSBs to UE 102, [0055], [0063], & [0065])
Wherein measuring the one or more reference signals is based at least in part on receiving the one or more reference signals, (see Para’s [0026-0027], [0037], [0040], [0055], [0063] i.e., good SSB beam determined based on measurement, & [0065]).
(Hu suggests the UE receives the one or more SSB reference signals prior to the random access procedure in order to determine a good SSB beam used as a transmit beam for sending Msg1 in the random access procedure and for indicating SSB beams during the random access procedure for beam management including beam adaptation to improve the establishment and/or operation of beams between the devices, (see Para’s [0003], [0026-0027], [0040[, [0055], [0063], & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more received reference signals as disclosed in Imai in view of Kim, further in view of LI, and further in view of Yamazaki discloses to transmit the one or more reference signals prior to the random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Hu, because the motivation lies in Hu that the UE receives the one or more SSB reference signals prior to the random access procedure in order to determine a good SSB beam used as a transmit beam for sending Msg1 in the random access procedure and for indicating SSB beams during the random access procedure for beam management including beam adaptation to improve the establishment and/or operation of beams between the devices.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461