The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-19 ,21-23, 26-29, 31 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20080241765 A1 ( Wood).
Regarding Claim 17 Wood discloses A joining system for panels, comprising a first panel ( Figure 7 element 152 is the first panel) and a second panel configured to be joined with the first panel (Figure 7 element 150 is the second panel configured to join with element 152), wherein: the first panel comprises a first female coupling recess ( Figure 7 element 182 is the first female coupling recess) and a second female coupling recess having a recess length axis ( Figures 7 and 8 show the plurality of discrete recess element 182 Paragraph 36 states the recess are disposed in a spaced relationship along the respective mating edge defining the segmented recess), and a first positioning portion disposed between the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess along the recess length axis ( Figures 7 and 8 show element 182 are spaced apart and the solid un-milled panel material serrating them forms the first positioning portion, Stated in paragraph 42) the second panel comprises a first male coupling tongue ( Figure 7 element 160 is the tongue) and a second male coupling tongue having a tongue length axis ( Figure 7 element 160 is the tongue which extend from element 162 and since they are disposed in a spaced relationship they define the segmented tongue length axis) , and a second positioning portion disposed between the first male coupling tongue and the second male coupling tongue ( Figure 7 shows the flat solid sections of the interconnecting edge 162 located directly between the spaced apart tongues 162 form the second positioning portion); the first male coupling tongue is configured to be coupled to the first female coupling recess and the second male coupling tongue is configured to be coupled to the second female coupling recess to interlock the first panel and the second panel ( Figure 9 shows the cross sectional interaction of the joint, showing element 160 pushed into the recess 182 and the integrally formed barb 190 compress to pass into the recess and then return to their original shape to engage 192 to interlock the panels) ; and the first positioning portion is configured to be positioned opposite the second positioning portion to prevent movement of the second panel in relation to the first panel along the recess length axis ( Figure 7 shows element 160 and element 182 are disposed in a spaced relationship and the solid gaps between 182 physically abut the corresponding solid gaps between element 160 when the panels are joined creating a structural hard stop directly opposite one another that inherently prevents longitudinal sliding movement of panel 150 in relation to panel 152 along the recess length axis ).
Regarding Claim 18 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess have a depth that is greater than the depth of the first positioning portion (Figures 8 and 9 shows element 182 extending inward to the core whereas element 180 is a flat, zero-depth edge).
Regarding Claim 19 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first panel has a first length along the recess length axis (Figure 7 shows the first positioning portion along the recess length axis), and the first positioning portion is placed entirely within a first half of the first length (Annotated Figure 7 element FP the solid un milled panel material between the first female pocket 182 and the second female pocket 182 along the edge of the panel).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Half way Mark)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (FP)]
Regarding Claim 21 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first panel comprises a first planar surface extending on at least two sides of the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess (Figure 7 the flat face 180 forms a first planar surface that borders the sides of element 182), and the first planar surface is configured to engage a second surface extending on at least two sides of the first male coupling tongue and the second male coupling tongue ( Figure 7 the flat face of element 180 directly abuts and engages element 162 that extends alongside element 160).
Regarding Claim 22 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 21, wherein the first positioning portion comprises the first planar surface, such that the first planar surface extends from at least one side of the first female coupling recess over the first positioning portion to at least one side of the second female coupling recess ( Figure 7 the solid thickened area element 180 functionally spans the entire gap between the adjacent female recess 182 forming a single continuous flat planar surface).
Regarding Claim 23 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 21, wherein the second positioning portion comprises the second surface, such that the second surface extends from at least one side of the first male coupling tongue over the second positioning portion to at least one side of the second male coupling tongue (Figure 7 the flat interconnecting edge element 162 functionally spans the entire gap between the adjacent tongues 160 forming a continuous flat planar surface).
Regarding Claim 26 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first female coupling recess comprises an open end (Figures 7 and 8 element 182 functionally includes an access opening element 196 providing an open end directly to the outer surface).
Regarding Claim 27 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein at least one of the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess comprises: a first recess portion comprising a lock; and a second recess portion (Figures 8 and 9 element 182 functionally has a first inward portions containing ledges element 184 acting as the lock and a second portion defined by the adjacent access opening element 196).
Regarding Claim 28 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein an average width of the second recess portion is wider than an average width of the first recess portion (Figures 8 and 9 element 196 is visually wider than the narrow slot 186 that restricts width to catch the tongues).
Regarding Claim 29 Wood discloses The joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first male coupling tongue and the second male coupling tongue comprise a flexible locking protrusion integrally formed in the male coupling tongue (Figures 7-9 element 190 function as the locking protrusions and physically 3D printed as an integral one piece part of the tongues 160), and wherein the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess comprise a locking groove configured to receive the flexible locking protrusion (Figures 8 and 9 shows functionally the inter cavity located behind the element 184 acts as a locking groove to capture the barbs 190 once they spring back).
Regarding Claim 31 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first positioning portion is configured to engage the second positioning portion when the first panel and the second panel interlock to stabilize a joint between the first panel and the second panel (Figure 7 the flat gap between element 180 directly crashes into the flat gap between element 162 and this physical engagement functions to stabilize the joint and stop sliding).
Regarding Claim 33 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first male coupling tongue and the second male coupling tongue are integral portions of the second panel (Figure 7 elements 160 are built as a contiguous, physically integral portion of panel 150).
Regarding Claim 34 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 27, wherein the second recess portion does not have a lock (Figures 8-9 show element 196 functioning solely as a tool window and does not contain the internal ledges).
Claims 17-19, 21-23, 26-28, 31-32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190323532 A1 (BOO).
Regarding Claim 17 BOO discloses A joining system for panels, comprising a first panel ( Figure 1a element 20 is the first panel) and a second panel configured to be joined with the first panel (Figure 1a element 10 is the second panel configured to join with the first panel element 20), wherein: the first panel comprises a first female coupling recess ( Figure 1c element 32 is the first female coupling recess) and a second female coupling recess having a recess length axis ( Figure 1c shows multiple discreet grooves element 32, and Paragraph 83 defines the second recess and the linear recess length recess), and a first positioning portion disposed between the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess along the recess length axis ( Figure 1c shows the solid panel material of the second panel 20 located directly between the discrete insertion grooves 32 along that linear arrangement which acts as the first positioning portion); the second panel comprises a first male coupling tongue ( Figure 1b element 31 is the tongue) and a second male coupling tongue having a tongue length axis ( Figures 1a and 1b shows multiple tongues element 31 and paragraph 83 define the second tongue and the linear tongue length axis) , and a second positioning portion disposed between the first male coupling tongue and the second male coupling tongue ( Figures 1a and 1b show the solid edge material of the first panel 10 located physically between the tongue elements 31 along that linear arrangement acting as the second positioning portion); the first male coupling tongue is configured to be coupled to the first female coupling recess and the second male coupling tongue is configured to be coupled to the second female coupling recess to interlock the first panel and the second panel ( Figures 1a 1b and 1c shows that the tongue element 31 is configured to be inserted into one of the grooves 32 which would anatomically lock the first panel 10 to the second panel 20 when the tongue 31 is inserted into the grove 32 stated in Paragraphs 27 and 72) ; and the first positioning portion is configured to be positioned opposite the second positioning portion to prevent movement of the second panel in relation to the first panel along the recess length axis ( Figure 2a shows the fully assembled state, element 31 are pushed directly into the discrete insertion grooves 32 and the solid edge material of the first panel physically abuts ad sits opposite the solid material of the second panel surface 22 in the gaps between the respective parts which acts as a structural hard stop to prevent lateral movement along the length axis).
Regarding Claim 18 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess have a depth that is greater than the depth of the first positioning portion (Figure1c element 32 is the groove and it is a drill hole extending deeper into the panel core than the flat positioning surface 22).
Regarding Claim 19 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first panel has a first length along the recess length axis (Figure 1a shows the first positioning portion along the recess length axis), and the first positioning portion is placed entirely within a first half of the first length (Annotated Figure 1c element FP the solid gap between element 32 on the far left and the next tongue).
[AltContent: textbox (Half Way Mark)][AltContent: textbox (FP)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 21 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first panel comprises a first planar surface extending on at least two sides of the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess ( Figure 1c shows the flat panel surface 22 extending alongside the discrete insertion grooves 32), and the first planar surface is configured to engage a second surface extending on at least two sides of the first male coupling tongue and the second male coupling tongue ( Figure 2b shows element 2 directly abutting and engaging the flat edge surface 11 that extends alongside the tongues 31).
Regarding Claim 22 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 21, wherein the first positioning portion comprises the first planar surface, such that the first planar surface extends from at least one side of the first female coupling recess over the first positioning portion to at least one side of the second female coupling recess ( Figure 1c shows the solid panel surface 22 as a continuous flat surface spanning the entire gap from one insertion groove 32 to the adjacent insertion groove 32).
Regarding Claim 23 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 21, wherein the second positioning portion comprises the second surface (11), such that the second surface extends from at least one side of the first male coupling tongue over the second positioning portion to at least one side of the second male coupling tongue (Figure 1a shows the flat edge surface 11 as a continuous flat surface spanning the entire gap from one tongue 31 o the adjacent tongue 31).
Regarding Claim 26 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first female coupling recess comprises an open end (Figures 4 and 6a show the insertion groove 32 possessing an open end at the outer panel surface 22 to receive the tongue).
Regarding Claim 27 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein at least one of the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess comprises: a first recess portion comprising a lock; and a second recess portion (Figure 6a show the complete female coupling recess comprises an internal edge groove 33 housing the element 6 acting as the lock in the first recess portion and an adjacent vertical insertion groove 32 acting as the second recess portion).
Regarding Claim 28 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein an average width of the second recess portion is wider than an average width of the first recess portion (Annotated Figures 4 and 6a shows the vertical insertion groove which acts as the second recess portion is substantially wider than the narrow internal edge groove which acts as the first recess groove that holds the flexible tongue).
[AltContent: textbox (Width of second recess portion 33)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Width of first recess portion 32)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 31 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first positioning portion is configured to engage the second positioning portion when the first panel and the second panel interlock to stabilize a joint between the first panel and the second panel (Figures 2a and 2b show the solid flat surface 22 located between the grooves directly crashing into and stabilizing against the flat edge surface 11located between the tongues 31).
Regarding Claim 32 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 17, wherein the first panel is a first furniture part and the second panel is a second furniture part (Paragraph 70 states the panels are for furniture).
Regarding Claim 34 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 27, wherein the second recess portion does not have a lock (Figures 4 and 6a show the vertical a insertion groove 32 is a straight open channel and does not contain the flexible lock).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080241765 A1 (Wood).
Regarding Claim 20 Wood discloses the joining system according to claim 19, but fails to disclose wherein the first positioning portion is placed entirely within a first third of the first length.
Applicant is reminded that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (i.e. length of panel and connectors) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wood to place the first positioning portion entirely within a first third of the first length as a matter of design choice and optimum value. Such modification would optimize the exact spacing and grouping of the connectors along the edge based on the overall length of the panel and the desired number of connectors required to provide a secure joint.
Claims 20, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190323532 A1 (BOO).
Regarding Claim 20 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 19, but fails to disclose wherein the first positioning portion is placed entirely within a first third of the first length.
However, BOO teaches disposing the discrete insertion grooves and positing portions in a spaced relationship along the edge surfaces 11 of the panel (Figure 1a the solid gap between element 31 on the far left and the next tongue).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to modify BOO to place the first positioning portion entirely within a first third of the first length as a matter of design choice and optimum value. Applicant is reminded that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (i.e. length of panel and connectors) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Such medication would optimize the exact spacing along the edge based on the overall length of the panel and the desired number of connectors required to provide a secure joint.
Regarding Claim 24 BOO discloses the joining system according to claim 21 the second male coupling tongue (31), and the second surface, along a plane extending from the tongue length axis (Figures 1a, 1b and 1c show the tongue element 31 and the edge surface 11) but fails to disclose the first male coupling tongue and the second male coupling tongue comprises a curved portion extending between the first male coupling tongue,
However, BOO teaches in another embodiment a curved portion extending between the male coupling tongue and the surface (Element 53 in figures 12a and 12b is the curved portion extending between the tongue and the surface).
It would therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the joining system of boo with a curved portion extending between the male coupling tongue and the surface as taught by BOO in another embodiment. Such modification would allow for proper positioning so it lines up properly.
Regarding Claim 25 BOO in view of another embodiment of BOO teaches the joining system according to claim 24, and wherein BOO in another embodiment further teaches at least one of the first female coupling recess and the second female coupling recess comprises a clearance recess configured to receive the curved portion (Figure 18b element 101 is the clearance recuses configured to be received by the curved portion 53).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20080134607 A1, US 20170328395 A1, WO 2020156954 A1, EP 2235285 B1.
/A.H.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678