DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I claims 1-5 and 17 in the reply filed on 7/21/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 6-16 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/21/2026.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “certain distance” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “certain distance” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what distances applicant is attempting to encompass when reciting “a certain distance”, clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0051436 to Spanier et al. (Spanier) in view of US 2020/0121835 to Farago et al. (Farago).
In reference to at least claim 1
Spanier discloses a driving mechanism configured to drive an impeller to rotate (e.g. motor section 11), the driving mechanism comprising: a housing (e.g. elongated housing 20); a rotating shaft rotatably mounted to the housing (e.g. motor shaft 25 extends over the overall length of elongate housing 20), the rotating shaft comprising a connecting end configured to be connected to the impeller (e.g. motor shaft 25 has an end that is connected that is connected to impeller 34, Fig. 2, “The motor shaft 25 extends over the total length of the motor housing 20 and protrudes distally out of the latter. There, it carries an impeller 34 with vanes 36 projecting therefrom or pump vanes which rotate within a tubular pump housing 32 which is in turn firmly connected to the motor housing 20.”, para. [0035]); a rotor fixedly connected to the rotating shaft (e.g. rotor 26 is connected to motor shaft 25, Figs. 2-3); a first shaft sleeve (e.g. proximal end wall 22) and a second shaft sleeve (e.g. distal end wall 30) that are mounted to the housing (e.g. both the proximal end wall 22 and distal end wall 30 are mounted to the motor housing 20, Figs. 2, para. [0036]), wherein the first shaft sleeve is provided with a groove having a concave spherical wall (e.g. proximal end wall 22 is provided with a groove having a concave spherical wall, Figs. 2, 5), the rotating shaft rotatably extends through the second shaft sleeve (e.g. motor shaft 25 extends through distal end wall 30, Figs. 2-3), and the rotor is located between the first shaft sleeve and the second shaft sleeve (e.g. rotor 26 is located between the proximal end wall 22 and distal end wall 30, Fig. 2); and a blocking member (e.g. ceramic disk 44) fixedly connected to at least one of the rotating shaft and the rotor (e.g. ceramic disk 44 is connected to motor shaft 25, Figs. 2-3), wherein the blocking member is located between the rotor and the second shaft sleeve (e.g. ceramic disk 44 is located between rotor 26 and the distal wall end 30), and the blocking member is capable of abutting against the second shaft sleeve (e.g. as the motor shaft generates an axial force during rotation, the ceramic disk 44 can abut to the distal end wall 30).
However, Spanier does not disclose a spherical head end away from the connecting end, the spherical head end is movably provided in the groove and is capable of abutting against the spherical wall.
Farago, within the same field of endeavor, discloses a drive mechanism for an impeller that includes a drive shaft (e.g. 214) and is connected to a rotor (e.g. 218) and drives an impeller (e.g. 216) to rotate and is retained at a first end (e.g. 220) by a first bearing assembly (e.g. 222, equivalent to a first shaft sleeve), the first bearing assembly comprises a bearing (e.g. 228), a concave depression (e.g. 234, equivalent to a groove) is defined in a first side (e.g. 230) of the bearing (e.g. 228) and is configured to receive the first end (e.g. 220) of the drive shaft (e.g. 214), the first end 220 may be at least partially circular, and the concave depression 234 fits the first end 220 of the drive shaft 214 (e.g. Figs. 2B-2C and associated par. [0064]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driving mechanism of Spanier to include a spherical head end away from the connecting end, the spherical head end being movably provided in the groove and capable of abutting against the spherical wall, as taught by Farago, in order to provide a bearing design that facilitates a reduction in heat formation and reduces mechanical blood damage by preventing ingress blood onto bearing surfaces (‘835, para. [0052]).
In reference to at least claim 2
Spanier modified by Farago renders obvious a mechanism according to claim 1. Spanier further discloses wherein the groove is provided with a notch (e.g. the groove has a notch, Figs. 2,5), the rotating shaft extends through the notch (e.g. the rotating shaft extends though the notch, Fig. 2,5), and the notch of the groove is rounded (e.g. the notch is rounded, Fig. 2,5); and/or a length of the spherical head end in an axial direction of the rotating shaft is less than a depth of the groove.
In reference to at least claim 3
Spanier modified by Farago renders obvious a mechanism according to claim 1. Spanier further discloses wherein the first shaft sleeve is further provided with a liquid feeding hole in communication with the groove (e.g. “a purge-fluid line 29 which penetrates the proximal end wall 22 of the motor housing 20. Purge fluid is fed through the purge-fluid line 29 into the interior of the motor housing 20 and exits through the end face 30 at the distal end of the motor housing.”, para. [0036]), an opening of the liquid feeding hole is located on the spherical wall (e.g. Fig. 2, “a purge-fluid line 29 which penetrates the proximal end wall 22 of the motor housing 20. Purge fluid is fed through the purge-fluid line 29 into the interior of the motor housing 20 and exits through the end face 30 at the distal end of the motor housing.”, para. [0036]); wherein and the opening is located at a center of the spherical wall (e.g. Fig. 2, “a purge-fluid line 29 which penetrates the proximal end wall 22 of the motor housing 20. Purge fluid is fed through the purge-fluid line 29 into the interior of the motor housing 20 and exits through the end face 30 at the distal end of the motor housing.”, para. [0036]); and/or a diameter of the opening is 1/9 to 1/3 of a diameter of a sphere where the spherical head end is located.
In reference to at least claim 4
Spanier modified by Farago renders obvious a mechanism according to claim 1. Spanier further discloses wherein the first shaft sleeve is further provided with a liquid feeding hole in communication with the groove (e.g. Fig. 2, “a purge-fluid line 29 which penetrates the proximal end wall 22 of the motor housing 20. Purge fluid is fed through the purge-fluid line 29 into the interior of the motor housing 20 and exits through the end face 30 at the distal end of the motor housing.”, para. [0036]), the driving mechanism further comprises a supporting base fixedly connected to the housing, the supporting base is provided with a mounting cavity and a liquid inlet hole in communication with the mounting cavity, the first shaft sleeve is mounted in the mounting cavity (e.g. proximal end wall 22 is mounted within a base that includes a cavity and has liquid inlet holes, Fig. 2, para. [0036]), and the liquid feeding hole is in fluid communication with the liquid inlet hole (e.g. liquid inlet holes are in communication with the purge-fluid line 29, Fig. 2, para. [0036]).
In reference to at least claim 17
Spanier discloses a blood pump (e.g. blood pump 10), comprising an impeller (e.g. impeller 34) and a driving mechanism, (e.g. motor section 11), the driving mechanism comprising: a housing (e.g. elongated housing 20); a rotating shaft rotatably mounted to the housing (e.g. motor shaft 25 extends over the overall length of elongate housing 20), the rotating shaft comprising a connecting end configured to be connected to the impeller (e.g. motor shaft 25 has an end that is connected that is connected to impeller 34, Fig. 2, “The motor shaft 25 extends over the total length of the motor housing 20 and protrudes distally out of the latter. There, it carries an impeller 34 with vanes 36 projecting therefrom or pump vanes which rotate within a tubular pump housing 32 which is in turn firmly connected to the motor housing 20.”, para. [0035]); a rotor fixedly connected to the rotating shaft (e.g. rotor 26 is connected to motor shaft 25, Figs. 2-3); a first shaft sleeve (e.g. proximal end wall 22) and a second shaft sleeve (e.g. distal end wall 30) that are mounted to the housing (e.g. both the proximal end wall 22 and distal end wall 30 are mounted to the motor housing 20, Figs. 2, para. [0036]), wherein the first shaft sleeve is provided with a groove having a concave spherical wall (e.g. proximal end wall 22 is provided with a groove having a concave spherical wall, Figs. 2, 5), the rotating shaft rotatably extends through the second shaft sleeve (e.g. motor shaft 25 extends through distal end wall 30, Figs. 2-3), and the rotor is located between the first shaft sleeve and the second shaft sleeve (e.g. rotor 26 is located between the proximal end wall 22 and distal end wall 30, Fig. 2); and a blocking member (e.g. ceramic disk 44) fixedly connected to at least one of the rotating shaft and the rotor (e.g. ceramic disk 44 is connected to motor shaft 25, Figs. 2-3), wherein the blocking member is located between the rotor and the second shaft sleeve (e.g. ceramic disk 44 is located between rotor 26 and the distal wall end 30), and the blocking member is capable of abutting against the second shaft sleeve (e.g. as the motor shaft generates an axial force during rotation, the ceramic disk 44 can abut to the distal end wall 30); wherein the impeller is connected to the connecting end of the rotating shaft and is capable of rotating along with the rotating shaft (e.g. motor shaft 25 has an end that is connected that is connected to impeller 34, Fig. 2, “The motor shaft 25 extends over the total length of the motor housing 20 and protrudes distally out of the latter. There, it carries an impeller 34 with vanes 36 projecting therefrom or pump vanes which rotate within a tubular pump housing 32 which is in turn firmly connected to the motor housing 20.”, para. [0035]).
However, Spanier does not disclose a spherical head end away from the connecting end, the spherical head end is movably provided in the groove and is capable of abutting against the spherical wall.
Farago, within the same field of endeavor, discloses a drive mechanism for an impeller that includes a drive shaft (e.g. 214) and is connected to a rotor (e.g. 218) and drives an impeller (e.g. 216) to rotate and is retained at a first end (e.g. 220) by a first bearing assembly (e.g. 222, equivalent to a first shaft sleeve), the first bearing assembly comprises a bearing (e.g. 228), a concave depression (e.g. 234, equivalent to a groove) is defined in a first side (e.g. 230) of the bearing (e.g. 228) and is configured to receive the first end (e.g. 220) of the drive shaft (e.g. 214), the first end 220 may be at least partially circular, and the concave depression 234 fits the first end 220 of the drive shaft 214 (e.g. Figs. 2B-2C and associated par. [0064]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driving mechanism of Spanier to include a spherical head end away from the connecting end, the spherical head end being movably provided in the groove and capable of abutting against the spherical wall, as taught by Farago, in order to provide a bearing design that facilitates a reduction in heat formation and reduces mechanical blood damage by preventing ingress blood onto bearing surfaces (‘835, para. [0052]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2012/0101455 to Liebing which discloses a shaft arrangement extending within a fluid-filled casing.
/JENNIFER L GHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796