DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14, 17-19, 42-43 and 45 are pending. 15-16, 20-41 and 44 are canceled.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 17-19, 42-43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210250788, Kim hereinafter) in view of Baek et al. (US 20230300667, Baek hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Kim discloses a method for negotiating an … service support capability, performed by a first network element, the method comprising:
receiving a session management (SM) context creation request (see at least, Fig. 6a, step 3, Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request based on the PDU session establishment request.);
determining whether a network supports an … service (see at least paragraphs [0112] and [0187], the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (interpreted as network supports service).);
sending to a second network element a response indicating whether the network supports the … service (see at least Fig. 6a, step 5, Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response.);
wherein the SM context creation request carries a first cell, and the first cell carries a capability of a user equipment (UE) to support the … service (see at least paragraph [0159], the PDU Session Establishment Request includes 5GSM Capability.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Beak discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 2: Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the first cell comprises a 5th generation session management (5GSM) core network capability, or a protocol configuration option (PCO) (see at least paragraph [0159], 5GSM Capability or protocol configuration options (PCO).).
As to claim 3: Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Kim further discloses the determining whether the network supports an … service comprising: determining whether the network supports the … service of a protocol data unit (PDU) session according to at least one of subscription information, a network support capability, or a local policy (see at least paragraph [0159], PDU session establishment procedure includes 5GSM Capability.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 4: Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein a capability of whether the network supports the … service is carried in an SM context creation response or an update response and is sent to the second network element (see at least Fig. 5, step 5, Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 5: Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein in response to the network supporting the … service, the method further comprises: locally executing a decision of a policy and charging rule; or executing a policy control function (PCF) selection; based on a selected PCF, determining an … service rule, or determining a data flow policy and charging control (PCC) rule for supporting the … service (see at least paragraphs [0221]-[0222], PCF or PCC.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 6: Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Kim further discloses further comprising: sending a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment acceptation information to the second network element, wherein the PDU session establishment acceptation information carries a quality of service (QOS) parameter for supporting the … service (see at least paragraphs [0238], [0246]-[0247], PDU session establishment accept message.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 7: Kim discloses a method for negotiating an … service support capability, performed by a network side function, the method comprising:
receiving, by the network side function, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request sent by a user equipment (UE) (see at least Fig. 6a, PDU Session Establishment Request message.),
determining, by the network side function, whether a network supports an … service in a session establishment process in response to session establishment request information carrying a capability of the UE to support the … service (see at least paragraphs [0159] and [0187], the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (interpreted as network supports service) and the PDU Session Establishment Request includes 5GSM Capability PCO.), and
sending a non-access stratum (NAS) message to the UE, wherein the NAS message carries a response of whether to support the … service (see at least paragraphs [0238], [0246]-[0247] and [0251], PDU session establishment accept message.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 8: Kim discloses the method of claim 7. Kim further discloses wherein the session establishment request information carrying the capability of the UE to support the … service comprises: the session establishment request carrying a 5th generation session management (5GSM) core network capability, and the 5GSM core network capability comprising the capability of the UE to support the … service (see at least paragraph [0159], 5GSM Capability.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 9: Kim discloses the method of claim 7. Kim further discloses wherein the session establishment request information carrying the capability of the UE to support the … service comprises: the session establishment request carrying a protocol configuration option (PCO), and the PCO comprising the capability of the UE to support the … service (see at least paragraph [0159], PCO.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 10: Kim discloses the method of claim 7. Kim further discloses wherein the network side function comprises a first network element and a second network element, wherein the first network element is configured to: receive a session management (SM) context creation request (see at least, Fig. 6a, step 3, Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request based on the PDU session establishment request.), determine whether the network supports the … service (see at least paragraphs [0112] and [0187], the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (interpreted as network supports service).), and send to a second network element a response indicating whether the network supports the … service (see at least Fig. 6a, step 5, Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response.); wherein the SM context creation request carries a first cell, and the first cell carries the capability of the UE to support the … service (see at least paragraph [0159], the PDU Session Establishment Request includes 5GSM Capability.); and send a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment acceptation information to the second network element, wherein the PDU session establishment acceptation information carries a quality of service (QOS) parameter for supporting the … service (see at least paragraphs [0238], [0246]-[0247], PDU session establishment accept message.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 11: Kim and Baek disclose the method of claim 10. Kim further discloses wherein the first network element is configured to determine whether the network supports the … service for a PDU session according to at least one of subscription information, a network support capability, or a local policy; send to the second network element a capability that whether the network supports the … service (see at least paragraph [0159], PDU session establishment procedure includes 5GSM Capability.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 12: Kim and Baek disclose the method of claim 10. Kim further discloses further comprising: in a case where it is determined that the network supports the … service, the first network element is configured to: locally execute a decision of a policy and charging rule; or execute a policy control function (PCF) selection, and based on the selected PCF, determine a virtual reality service rule or determine a data flow PCC rule for supporting the … service (see at least paragraphs [0221]-[0222], PCF or PCC.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 13: Kim discloses the method of claim 7. Kim further discloses wherein the network side function comprises a first network element and a second network element; wherein, the second network element is configured to receive the PDU session establishment request sent by the UE (see at least Fig. 6a, PDU Session Establishment Request message.), select the first network element based on the PDU session establishment request (see at least Fig. 6a, SMF selection), and send an SM context creation request to the selected first network element (see at least, Fig. 6a, step 3, Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request based on the PDU session establishment request.); the SM context request carries the capability of the UE to support the … service (see at least paragraph [0159], the PDU Session Establishment Request includes 5GSM Capability.); and after receiving PDU session establishment acceptation information returned by the first network element, the second network element is configured to send a PDU session identifier and the PDU session establishment acceptation information to the UE via the NAS message (see at least paragraph [0157], PDU session ID and at least paragraphs [0238], [0246]-[0247], PDU session establishment accept message.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 14: Kim and Baek disclose the method of claim 13. Kim further discloses wherein the second network element is configured to store the capability of the UE to support the … service as a PDU session level context in a UE context (see at least paragraphs [0176]-[0178], the AMF stores an association of the S-NSSAI(s), the DNN, the PDU Session ID, the SMF ID as well as the access Type of the PDU Session).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 17: Kim discloses a method for negotiating an … service support capability, performed by a second network element, the method comprising:
receiving a registration request from a user equipment (UE) (see at least paragraph [0110] and Fig. 5A, the UE may transmit an AN message to the RAN. the AN message may include an AN parameter and a registration request message.),
determining, by the second network element, whether a network supports an … service in response to the registration request carrying a capability of the UE to support the … service (see at least paragraphs [0159] and [0187], the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure and the PDU Session Establishment Request includes 5GSM Capability PCO.), and
sending registration acceptation information to the UE, wherein the registration acceptation information carries a response of whether to support the … service (see at least paragraph [0147], the new AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. The registration accept message may include a temporary user ID, a registration area, mobility restriction, a PDU session state, NSSAI, a periodic registration update timer, and an allowed MICO mode.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Beak discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 18: Kim discloses the method of claim 17. Kim further discloses wherein determining whether the network supports the … service comprises: determining whether the network supports the … service according to at least one of subscription information, a network support capability, or a local policy (see at least paragraph [0159], PDU session establishment procedure includes 5GSM Capability.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an augmented service.
However Baek discloses an augmented service (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0083] and [0095], [0119], the PDU session establishment request message may include the application ID or AF/AS ID which is information about the application providing the XR service. The SMF, receiving the XR service-related information, may allocate an XR dedicated QFI to each XR service flow and transfer the XR service flow detection information and XR service-related information for XR service and/or forwarding information, for each XR dedicated QFI, to the UPF and the NG-RAN.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 19: Kim discloses the method of claim 17. Kim does not explicitly disclose further comprising: sending a group identifier of an augmented reality service to the UE through a third network element or directly, wherein the group identifier is used to associate a plurality of UEs of an augmented reality service group, or associate a plurality of augmented reality service sessions of a single UE, or associate a plurality of data flows of a single UE session.
However Baek discloses sending a group identifier of an augmented reality service to the UE through a third network element or directly, wherein the group identifier is used to associate a plurality of UEs of an augmented reality service group, or associate a plurality of augmented reality service sessions of a single UE, or associate a plurality of data flows of a single UE session (see at least paragraphs [0065]-[0081], [0091]-[0142], Group ID.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PDU session establishment request to include XR service, as taught by Baek, into the invention of Kim in order to enhance the user’s service experience (see Baek, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 42: Kim and Baek disclose a first network element, comprising a processor, a memory, and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being executed by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the executable program to perform steps of the method for negotiating the augmented reality service support capability of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 43: Kim and Baek disclose a second network element, comprising a processor, a memory, and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being executed by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the executable program to perform steps of the method for negotiating the augmented reality service support capability of claim 17 (see the rejection of claim 17).
As to claim 45: Kim and Baek disclose a non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon an executable program that, when executed by a processor, causes steps of the method for negotiating the augmented reality service support capability of claim 1 to be implemented (see the rejection of claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qiao et al. (US 20250380324) discloses Multiple Access.
YOUN et al. (US 20250159638) discloses Communication Related to Network Slices.
KIM et al. (US 20240187887) discloses Method for Managing Redundant PDU Session for Redundant Transmission.
LI et al. (US 20200146077) discloses Small Data Transfer, Data Buffering, And Data Management as A Service in A Communications Network.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464