DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDermott et al. (WO 2021/158757)
In regards to claim 1, McDermott teaches lubricating oil composition for internal combustion engines comprising a boron-containing additive and boron-free dispersant, magnesium detergent, ashless friction modifier etc. (title, abstract). The base oil can comprise at least 50% Group III base oil, the boron additive can be a boron containing succinimide dispersant, and the magnesium detergent delivers at least 300 ppm of magnesium according to limitation b) of the claim [0007]. The base oil is present in a major amount of the composition according to limitation a) of the claim [0013]. The base oil has a kinematic viscosity at 100℃ (Kv100) of from 2.4 to 6.4 mm2/s (cSt) [0015].
The boron compound is present at amounts to deliver 75 to 250 ppm of boron into the composition according to claimed limitation [0019]. Molybdenum dithiocarbamates is optionally present at amounts of from 0 to 1.1%, and thus provides the limitation of substantial absence as claimed [0050]. Ashless friction modifiers include fatty acid derivatives such as ester, i.e., long chain fatty acid monoester of triglycerides etc., and is present in amounts of from 0.01 to 1.1% by weight of the composition according to limitation c) of the claim [0051 – 0057]. Viscosity modifier is optional, and when present can be from 0.05 to 2% in the composition according to limitation d) of the claim [0085, 0116].
In regards to claim 2, McDermott teaches the composition having the claimed limitation.
In regards to claim 3, McDermott teaches the composition having long chain fatty acid monoesters of triglycerides which are well known to include glycerol monooleate which are quickly envisaged or are at least obvious.
In regards to claim 4, McDermott teaches the composition and the viscosity modifiers of the claim [0086].
In regards to claims 5 – 7, McDermott teaches the composition comprises borated and boron-free dispersants such as succinimide [0016, 0030].
In regards to claims 8 – 11, 13 – 15, McDermott teaches the composition for lubricating internal combustion engines and having the claimed ingredients. Thus, when the composition is added to the engine the method of improving fuel efficiency of the engine would be intrinsically performed.
In regards to claim 12, McDermott teaches composition for internal combustion engines. Roller follower valvetrains are typical in OHC (overhead cam) engines which are conventional in the art (see Boffa et al. US 2007/0142239). Thus, the composition of McDermott which are suitable for lubricating conventional engines would be suitable for engines having roller follower valvetrains.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771