DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 9/19/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 12-20, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al (US2020/0235877 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Manolakos teaches an apparatus/method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Abstract), comprising:
a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Para. 0007):
receive a configuration for a positioning signal transmission from a network entity, wherein the configuration includes a first indication of a cell group associated with a set of positioning signals or a second indication of at least one transmission gap associated with the set of positioning signals, wherein the cell group includes a plurality of cells, wherein the at least one transmission gap corresponds with at least one transmission period of the set of positioning signals (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0171; UE 115-a may be configured to transmit to an uplink PRS 220 to the serving base station 105 and one or more neighboring base stations 105, or UE 115-a may be configured to receive a downlink PRS 215 from the serving base station 105 and one or more neighboring base stations; i.e. the serving and neighboring base stations read on the cell group); and
transmit the positioning signal transmission based on at least one of the cell group or the at least one transmission gap, wherein the positioning signal transmission includes the set of positioning signals (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0171; UE 115-a may be configured to transmit to an uplink PRS 220 to the serving base station 105 and one or more neighboring base stations 105, or UE 115-a may be configured to receive a downlink PRS 215 from the serving base station 105 and one or more neighboring base stations; i.e. the PRS is transmitted by the UE in for the uplink PRS measurement).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, the positioning signal transmission during the at least one transmission gap, wherein, during the at least one transmission gap, the cell group is not associated with any uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) transmissions other than the set of positioning signals (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0178; UE 115-a may have a measurement gap before or after a downlink PRS or an uplink PRS. The measurement gap may span a number of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) during which UE 115-a is not expected to transmit or receive any other signal).
Regarding claim 3, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the configuration further includes a list of resource sets, wherein each resource set in the list of resource sets is associated with a plurality of positioning signal resources (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0178; the UE 115 may be configured to receive and transmit only within the frequency range configured for the active BWPs with the associated numerologies. For downlink, the UE 115 may not be expected to receive PDSCH, PDCCH, CSI-RS, or TRS outside an active bandwidth part. Each downlink BWP may include at least one control resource set with a UE Specific Search Space (USS). In some cases, a primary carrier for at least one of the configured downlink BWPs may include one control resource set with a common search space).
Regarding claim 5, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) associated with the positioning signal transmission, wherein the first SCS is different from a second SCS of a first cell in the cell group (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0178; the SCS for the PRS bandwidth may be different than the subcarrier spacing for the active BWP. Some configurations for a downlink PRS 215 may be described in more detail in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) from a cell in the cell group, wherein the DCI or the MAC-CE comprises a third indication to transmit the positioning signal transmission, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission in response to the reception of the third indication from the cell in the cell group (Paras. 0116-0121, 0168-0178, and 0205; uplink PRS may be triggered. For example, a base station 105 may transmit DCI to the UE 115, which triggers the UE 115 to transmit an uplink PRS. The transmission may be for one occasion, or the UE 115 may be configured to transmit uplink PRS for a fixed number of occasions with a configured periodicity).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein, to receive/transmit the configuration for the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to: receive/transmit a radio resource control (RRC) configuration comprising the configuration for the positioning signal transmission (Paras. 0116-0121, 0168-0178, and 0205; If the UL PRS is configured, triggered, or activated by, respectively, RRC signaling, DCI, or a MAC CE message from the cell in which the uplink PRS is configured to be transmitted, then the resources for the uplink PRS (e.g., the beginning and end of the frequency domain) may be configured with respect to the current active BWP).
Regarding claim 14, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) from each cell of the plurality of cells in the cell group, wherein the DCI or the MAC-CE comprises a third indication to transmit the positioning signal transmission, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission in response to the reception of the third indication from each cell of the plurality of cells in the cell group (Paras. 0116-0121, 0168-0178, and 0205; uplink PRS may be triggered. For example, a base station 105 may transmit DCI to the UE 115, which triggers the UE 115 to transmit an uplink PRS. The transmission may be for one occasion, or the UE 115 may be configured to transmit uplink PRS for a fixed number of occasions with a configured periodicity).
Regarding claim 15, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a timing for the positioning signal transmission based on a first timing of a first positioning signal in the set of positioning signals, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated timing (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0178; For an uplink PRS, the base station and the neighboring base stations may exchange, for example via backhaul links, information associated with the receipt of the uplink PRS, such as reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements made by the UE. The network (e.g., including the base stations) may then determine the location of the UE based on the one or more uplink PRS transmissions).
Regarding claim 16, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a timing for the positioning signal transmission based on a reference timing of each positioning signal of a plurality of positioning signals in the set of positioning signals, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated timing (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0178; For an uplink PRS, the base station and the neighboring base stations may exchange, for example via backhaul links, information associated with the receipt of the uplink PRS, such as reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements made by the UE. The network (e.g., including the base stations) may then determine the location of the UE based on the one or more uplink PRS transmissions).
Regarding claims 17 and 27, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the positioning signal transmission comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, wherein the set of positioning signals comprises a set of SRSs (Paras. 0116-0121, 0168-0178, and 0196; An uplink PRS may be, for example, an SRS (e.g., a modified NR SRS), a PRACH signal, or a DMRS of PUSCH).
Regarding claims 18 and 28, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the configuration comprises a third indication to periodically transmit the positioning signal transmission according to a schedule (Paras. 0116-0121, 0168-0178, and 0196; An uplink PRS may be, for example, an SRS (e.g., a modified NR SRS), a PRACH signal, or a DMRS of PUSCH).
Regarding claims 19 and 30, Manolakos teaches an apparatus/method for wireless communication at a network entity (Abstract), comprising:
a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Para. 0007):
transmit a configuration for a positioning signal transmission to a user equipment (UE), wherein the configuration includes a first indication of a cell group for a set of positioning signals or a second indication of at least one transmission gap associated with the set of positioning signals, wherein the cell group includes a plurality cells, wherein the at least one transmission gap corresponds with at least one transmission period of the set of positioning signals (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0171; UE 115-a may be configured to transmit to an uplink PRS 220 to the serving base station 105 and one or more neighboring base stations 105, or UE 115-a may be configured to receive a downlink PRS 215 from the serving base station 105 and one or more neighboring base stations; i.e. the serving and neighboring base stations read on the cell group); and
receive the positioning signal transmission from the UE based on at least one of the cell group for the set of positioning signals or the at least one transmission gap associated with the set of positioning signals, wherein the positioning signal transmission includes the set of positioning signals (Paras. 0116-0121 and 0168-0171; UE 115-a may be configured to transmit to an uplink PRS 220 to the serving base station 105 and one or more neighboring base stations 105, or UE 115-a may be configured to receive a downlink PRS 215 from the serving base station 105 and one or more neighboring base stations; i.e. the PRS is transmitted by the UE in for the uplink PRS measurement).
Regarding claim 25, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) to the UE via a cell in the cell group, wherein the DCI or the MAC-CE comprises a third indication to transmit the positioning signal transmission (Paras. 0116-0121, 0168-0178, and 0205; uplink PRS may be triggered. For example, a base station 105 may transmit DCI to the UE 115, which triggers the UE 115 to transmit an uplink PRS. The transmission may be for one occasion, or the UE 115 may be configured to transmit uplink PRS for a fixed number of occasions with a configured periodicity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-11, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al (US2020/0235877 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant in view of Rao et al (US 2024/0015686 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the configuration for the positioning signal transmission is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: enter the RRC inactive state, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission during the RRC inactive state.
Rao teaches receiving PRS configuration information and performing a first set of measurements based on the PRS configuration (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the configuration for the positioning signal transmission is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: enter the RRC inactive state, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission during the RRC inactive state (Para. 0075; An uplink channel or signal to send the determined SRSp configuration information may be determined based on WTRU status, wherein the WTRU status may include RRC status (e.g., RRC connected, RRC idle, or RRC inactive) and DRX status (Active or Inactive)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rao with the teachings as in Manolakos. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy and reduce overhead for configuration (Rao at para. 0178).
Regarding claim 6, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) for the positioning signal transmission based on a first PL-RS reference of a first cell in the cell group, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated PL-RS.
Rao teaches receiving PRS configuration information and performing a first set of measurements based on the PRS configuration (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) for the positioning signal transmission based on a first PL-RS reference of a first cell in the cell group, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated PL-RS (Paras. 0164-0166; An SRSp configuration may include or indicate at least one of following: associated pathloss reference signal; time/frequency density (e.g., comb, number of symbols, slot numbers); starting symbol; frequency offset; sequence-id; spatial relation information; frequency hopping information; sequence group hopping information; resource type (e.g., aperiodic, periodic, semi-persistent)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rao with the teachings as in Manolakos. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy and reduce overhead for configuration (Rao at para. 0178).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of references Manolakos and Rao teach the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the first PL-RS reference comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) of the first cell in the cell group (Paras. 0116-0121, 0168-0178, and 0189; A downlink PRS may be, for example, a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or another type of signal for the downlink PRS).
Regarding claim 8, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) for the positioning signal transmission based on a PL-RS reference for each cell of the plurality of cells in the cell group, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated PL-RS.
Rao teaches receiving PRS configuration information and performing a first set of measurements based on the PRS configuration (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) for the positioning signal transmission based on a PL-RS reference for each cell of the plurality of cells in the cell group, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated PL-RS (Paras. 0164-0166; Regarding WTRU mobility, for example, one or more SRSp configurations may be used and each SRSp configuration may be associated with a WTRU speed (e.g., Doppler frequency). Regarding signal strength of line of sight (LoS) path, the signal strength of a LoS path may be determined based on the power ratio between first path and the rest of paths of the positioning signal. Regarding a measurement quality of the associated pathloss reference signal, for example, if a pathloss of the associated pathloss reference signal is measured, the SRSp configuration may be precluded in the subset or precluded for SRSp transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rao with the teachings as in Manolakos. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy and reduce overhead for configuration (Rao at para. 0178).
Regarding claim 9, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Manolakos teaches increasing the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers, which may be referred to as spatial multiplexing (Para. 0143), he does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a spatial relationship for the positioning signal transmission based on a first spatial relationship reference of a first cell in the cell group, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated spatial relationship.
Rao teaches receiving PRS configuration information and performing a first set of measurements based on the PRS configuration (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a spatial relationship for the positioning signal transmission based on a first spatial relationship reference of a first cell in the cell group, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated spatial relationship (Para. 0112; The spatial relation information may associate a downlink (DL) RS/SRS and SRSp so that the WTRU can perform beam management/alignment. By including either SRSp resource ID(s), SRS resource ID, PRS resource ID(s) or any DL RS/channel (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS) associated with SRSp resource(s) in spatial relation information, the WTRU may request the network to configure different PRS resource(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rao with the teachings as in Manolakos. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy and reduce overhead for configuration (Rao at para. 0178).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, the combination of references Manolakos and Rao teach the limitations of the previous claims. Rao further teaches wherein the first spatial relationship reference comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a sounding reference signal (SRS), a resource of a first SRS in the set of positioning signals, a resource position of a second SRS in the set of positioning signals, or a bandwidth part (BWP) (Para. 0112; The spatial relation information may associate a downlink (DL) RS/SRS and SRSp so that the WTRU can perform beam management/alignment. By including either SRSp resource ID(s), SRS resource ID, PRS resource ID(s) or any DL RS/channel (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS) associated with SRSp resource(s) in spatial relation information, the WTRU may request the network to configure different PRS resource(s)).
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Manolakos teaches increasing the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers, which may be referred to as spatial multiplexing (Para. 0143), he does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a spatial relationship for the positioning signal transmission based on a spatial relationship reference for each of the plurality of cells in the cell group, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated spatial relationship.
Rao teaches receiving PRS configuration information and performing a first set of measurements based on the PRS configuration (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: calculate a spatial relationship for the positioning signal transmission based on a spatial relationship reference for each of the plurality of cells in the cell group, wherein, to transmit the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the positioning signal transmission based on the calculated spatial relationship (Para. 0112; The spatial relation information may associate a downlink (DL) RS/SRS and SRSp so that the WTRU can perform beam management/alignment. By including either SRSp resource ID(s), SRS resource ID, PRS resource ID(s) or any DL RS/channel (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS) associated with SRSp resource(s) in spatial relation information, the WTRU may request the network to configure different PRS resource(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rao with the teachings as in Manolakos. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy and reduce overhead for configuration (Rao at para. 0178).
Regarding claim 21, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the configuration for the positioning signal transmission is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, wherein, to receive the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the positioning signal transmission during the RRC inactive state of the UE.
Rao teaches receiving PRS configuration information and performing a first set of measurements based on the PRS configuration (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the configuration for the positioning signal transmission is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, wherein, to receive the positioning signal transmission, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the positioning signal transmission during the RRC inactive state of the UE (Para. 0075; An uplink channel or signal to send the determined SRSp configuration information may be determined based on WTRU status, wherein the WTRU status may include RRC status (e.g., RRC connected, RRC idle, or RRC inactive) and DRX status (Active or Inactive)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rao with the teachings as in Manolakos. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy and reduce overhead for configuration (Rao at para. 0178).
Regarding claim 22, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Manolakos teaches increasing the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers, which may be referred to as spatial multiplexing (Para. 0143), he does not specifically disclose wherein the configuration for the positioning signal transmission comprises a third indication to calculate a spatial relationship for the positioning signal transmission based on a first spatial relationship reference of a first cell in the cell group.
Rao teaches receiving PRS configuration information and performing a first set of measurements based on the PRS configuration (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the configuration for the positioning signal transmission comprises a third indication to calculate a spatial relationship for the positioning signal transmission based on a first spatial relationship reference of a first cell in the cell group (Para. 0112; The spatial relation information may associate a downlink (DL) RS/SRS and SRSp so that the WTRU can perform beam management/alignment. By including either SRSp resource ID(s), SRS resource ID, PRS resource ID(s) or any DL RS/channel (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS) associated with SRSp resource(s) in spatial relation information, the WTRU may request the network to configure different PRS resource(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rao with the teachings as in Manolakos. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy and reduce overhead for configuration (Rao at para. 0178).
Regarding claim 24, Manolakos teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Manolakos teaches increasing the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers, which may be referred to as spatial multiplexing (Para. 0143), he does not specifically disclose wherein the configuration for the positioning signal transmission comprises a third indication to calculate a spatial relationship for the positioning signal transmission based on a spatial relationship reference for each of a plurality of cells in the cell group.
Rao teaches receiving PRS configuration information and performing a first set of measurements based on the PRS configuration (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the configuration for the positioning signal transmission comprises a third indication to calculate a spatial relationship for the positioning signal transmission based on a spatial relationship reference for each of a plurality of cells in the cell group (Para. 0112; The spatial relation information may associate a downlink (DL) RS/SRS and SRSp so that the WTRU can perform beam management/alignment. By including either SRSp resource ID(s), SRS resource ID, PRS resource ID(s) or any DL RS/channel (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS) associated with SRSp resource(s) in spatial relation information, the WTRU may request the network to configure different PRS resource(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rao with the teachings as in Manolakos. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy and reduce overhead for configuration (Rao at para. 0178).
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474