DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 19 September 2024 has been accepted and entered.
Specification/Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). Specifically, the specification does describe drawings, but none appear to have been filed with the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPlante et al. (US 2009/0201577 A1, cited by Applicant), in view of Bishop et al. (US 2018/0353957 A1, cited by Applicant).
With respect to claims 1 and 13, LaPlante discloses: an illumination apparatus (and associated method of use) (abstract) for illuminating a specimen arranged in a receiving area (sample area of microscope, 28), the illumination apparatus comprising: a carrier element (glass slide, 3, par. [0039]), a fluorescent layer having at least one fluorescent region (phosphor, 4, par. [0039]) configured to emit at least one fluorescent light beam excited by an excitation light beam (excited by LED output light, 5, par. [0039]), wherein the carrier element is configured to be transparent to a wavelength of the at least one fluorescent light beam (slide 3 is made from glass, par. [0039]), an optical layer arranged on a side of the carrier element opposite the fluorescent layer, the optical layer having at least one optical area configured to convert at least one fluorescent light beam to at least one focusing beam and to direct at least one focusing beam to at least one target area of the sample (optics module, 200, Fig. 1).
LaPlante does not directly specify that the sample is a microfluidic device. Bishop, from the same field of endeavor (illumination of a sample for optical analysis) discloses a microfluidic analysis system (abstract) including a light source for illuminating a sample and detecting a radiation therefrom (par. [0206]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to employ the illumination system of LaPlante with the device of Bishop, in order to provide a variety of possible different illumination wavelengths, selectable by a user, depending on the optical characteristics of the sample (LaPlante, par. [0022]).
With respect to claim 4, Bishop discloses optical components which may include at least one holographic optical element (par. [0075]).
With respect to claim 5, LaPlante does not directly disclose the claimed fluorescent layer configured to emit the at least one fluorescent light beam with a spectral half-width less than 100 nm. However, LaPlante does disclose interchangeable phosphor elements for use with different sample types (par. [0039]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to select a phosphor element having desired emission characteristics, depending on the application and/or sample absorption characteristics, as it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, LaPlante discloses a plurality of fluorescent regions configured to emit a plurality of different fluorescent light beams (232, 234, 236) at different wavelengths (par. [0045], Fig. 5), as well as a plurality of optical areas to covert multiple fluorescent light beams into further focusing beams (collimating optics, par. [0046]).
With respect to claim 9, LaPlante discloses an optical layer configured to direct (via objective lens, 27; Fig. 5) the first focusing beam and a further focusing beam to the same target area (sample, 28).
With respect to claims 10 and 11, LaPlante discloses a primary light source configured to emit and excitation light beam to excite a fluorescent layer (LED module, Fig. 1), wherein the primary light source is arranged on a side of the fluorescent layer (4, wherein optical components are downstream of the fluorescent layer; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 12, Bishop, as applied in combination to claim 1 above, discloses an analyzer (504, Fig. 5) for analyzing a sample in a microfluidic device (502), the analyzer comprising: a receiving region configured to receive the microfluidic device (cartridge port, par. [0238]); and the illumination apparatus according to claim 1 (addressed above, illumination system generally described in Bishop par. [0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed arrangement wherein the optical layer is configured to pass the excitation light beam unfocused. LaPlante does disclose a dichroic thin film long-pass filter (par. [0043]) which reflects a wavelength of LED output light, or an optical configuration wherein a portion of LED output light may pass through the phosphor layer without being absorbed (par. [0041]).
With respect to claim 3, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed configuration wherein the optical layer is configured to focus the excitation light beam onto the at least one fluorescent region.
With respect to claim 8, LaPlante discloses directing multiple focusing beams to a singular sample area (see rejection of claim 9 above), but does not specify directing first and further focusing beams being directed to a target area and further target area, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARK R GAWORECKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 4 June 2026