DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IV (claim 7) in the reply filed on August 31, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinbara (US 2018/0257328 A1)
*Continuing Education Center, “The science of visible light and its impact on paint”
With regard to claim 7, Shinbara teaches a decorative sheet (1) comprising, in order, a surface protecting layer (9) (“surface protective layer”), a transparent resin layer (6), a pictorial pattern (4) comprising ink (i.e., paint), and a base material sheet (3) that includes a thermoplastic resin, which may be colored (i.e., “a colored resin layer”) (paragraph [0084] – [0085] & Fig. 1 shown below). An embossed part (10) is formed at a position on the surface protecting layer that overlaps a portion formed of the predetermined material of the pattern layers.
Although not shown in a figure, Shinbara et al. teach synchronized picture pattern layers (4) may be present on both the front and back surfaces of the base material sheet (3), wherein the pictorial pattern layer on the back surface is position between the backer layer (2) and the base material sheet (3) (paragraphs [0072] & [0107]).
Shinbara does not explicitly teach the pictorial pattern layer on the backside of the base layer has higher light absorptivity than colored resin of the base layer.
However, as evidenced by Continuing Education Center, when a beam of light is projected onto a painted object, the object will absorb some wavelengths while reflecting others. For instance, a red object absorbs all but the red wavelengths. Furthermore, an object may appear yellow if the object absorbs blue light but reflects green and red light because when these wavelengths mix, they create yellow.
Therefore, the wavelengths of visible light are absorbed by the ink of the picture pattern layer except the wavelength of light that can be seen with the human eye (i.e., unseen wavelengths of visible light). As such, said unseen wavelengths of visible light inherently have higher absorption in the ink (paint) of the picture pattern layer than the colored transparent resin of the base layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over *Tomohiro (JP 2004 – 322568 A).
*English translation submitted by Applicant on 9/19/2024.
With regard to claim 7, Tomohiro teaches a decorative layer (i.e., “sheet”) comprising a pattern layer (2/2a) comprising pigment, dyes, and inks having different infrared absorbing patterns to form a color pattern or grain pattern (i.e., “pictorial pattern layer”) (paragraphs [0020], [0023], & [0025]), a transparent thermoplastic resin layer (3) (i.e., “transparent resin layer”), and a top coat layer (4) (i.e., “surface protective layer”) deposited in this order on a decorative material substrate (1) (i.e., “colored resin layer”) (paragraph [0030]). The pattern layer includes an infrared absorbing layer (2a) comprising an infrared absorbing agent (paragraphs [0023] – [0024]), which has higher infrared absorbing properties than the colored polyolefin resin substrate layer free of any infrared absorbing agent (paragraphs [0019], [0030], & [0040]).
The decorative layer has a surface uneven shape (5) (i.e., “embossed shape”) such that the uneven shape is formed only in the are directly above (overlaps/synchronized with) a pattern (i.e., predetermined material) of the picture layer (paragraphs [0021], [0029], [0033], & Fig. 1).
Tomohiro does not explicitly teach a pattern layer, in which a predetermined material having higher light absorption properties with respect to light of a predetermined wavelength than the colored resin layer (base layer) is arranged to synchronize with a pictorial pattern on the pictorial pattern layer is deposited on the other surface of the colored resin layer (base layer).
Tomohiro teaches the decorative layer is used as surface decoration on various building material surfaces (paragraph [0001]). Therefore, in the instance of a transparent building material, such as a window, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to desire a decorative effect on both front and back surfaces of the substrate (1) such that the decoration can be viewed from both sides of the window. This would result in a decorative material comprising a decorative pattern comprising a second pattern layer (2’), a second thermoplastic layer (3’) and second top coat layer (4’) on both the front and back surfaces of the substrate (1), wherein the second pattern layer of predetermined material having a higher infrared light absorption properties with respect to light of a predetermined wavelength (infrared) than the decorative (colored) substrate layer arranged to synchronize with a pictorial pattern on the pictorial pattern layer.
The courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.VI.B.
Conclusion
/NICOLE T GUGLIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 1781
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781