DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains “…” in formula (1) in line 5. It is unclear what “…” is intended to represent in the formula. For the purposes of examination, “…” will be considered to not be in the formula.
Claims 2-6 depend from claim 1 and, therefore, also contain this limitation.
Claim 1 contains the limitation “the solid content concentration change rate represents a solid concentration in the coating film 10 seconds after the spray coating with respect to a solid content concentration in the transparent porous film-forming paint before the spray coating” in lines 6-8. It is unclear what relationship “with respect to” is intended to encompass, e.g. difference between the values or ratio of the values. For the purposes of examination, “the solid content concentration change rate represents a solid concentration in the coating film 10 seconds after the spray coating with respect to a solid content concentration in the transparent porous film-forming paint before the spray coating” will be considered to mean that the solid content concentration change rate is a ratio of solid concentration in the coating film 10 seconds after the spray coating to a solid content concentration in the transparent porous film-forming paint before the spray coating.
Claims 2-6 depend from claim 1 and, therefore, also contain this limitation.
Claim 3 contains “…” in formula (2) in line 4. It is unclear what “…” is intended to represent in the formula. For the purposes of examination, “…” will be considered to not be in the formula.
Claim 3 contains formula (2) which includes both a “viscosity of the coating film 10 seconds after spray coating” and “x” where x “represents a solid content concentration in the coating film 10 seconds after the spray coating. However, neither the viscosity or solid content concentration contains units, nor do they have any indication of what units are intended. For the purposes of examination, both the viscosity and the solid content concentration in formula (2) will be considered to use any units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0115263, hereafter Koyo ‘263).
Claim 1: Koyo ‘263 teaches a method of producing a transparent porous film (abstract, claim 1) comprising:
spray coating a base material with a transparent porous film forming composition (abstract, claim 1, [0080]) containing a solvent, which corresponds to the claimed dispersion medium, containing particles (abstract, [0025]) to form a coating film (abstract, claim 1).
Koyo ‘263 further teaches that the rate of drying, and, therefore, the rate at which solvent is removed and, therefore, the rate of change of solid content concentration of the film forming composition, affects the leveling of the film of film forming composition and uniformity of appearance ([0075]).
With respect to claim 1, Koyo ‘263 does not explicitly teach that the solid content concentration change rate satisfies the formula 1.3≤solid content concentration change rate≤60.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the solid content concentration change rate in the method taught by Koyo ‘263 because the rate of drying, and, therefore, the rate at which solvent is removed and, therefore, the rate of change of solid content concentration of the film forming composition, affects the leveling of the film of coating liquid and uniformity of appearance, as taught by Koyo ‘263. See MPEP 2144.05.II.
Claim 2: With respect to claim 2, Koyo ‘263 does not explicitly teach that the solid concentration in the film forming composition is from 0.1 wt % to 6.0 wt%, or that the solid concentration 10 seconds after the spray coating is from 3.7 wt% to 6.5 wt%.
However, the claimed method differs from the method taught by Koyo ‘263 only in concentration, and it has been held that, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that said concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Claims 4-5: Koyo ‘263 teaches that the solvent can consist of, and therefore be 100 wt%, ethanol which has a boiling point of 78°C ([0075]).
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyo et al. ‘263 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hattori et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0215124, hereafter Hattori ‘124).
Claim 3: Koyo ‘263 teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. With respect to claim 3, Koyo ‘263 does not explicitly teach that a viscosity of the coating film 10 seconds after the spray coating satisfies the formula 0.0549e1.2x≤viscosity of coating film 10 seconds after spray coating≤0.0549e3.3x.
Hattori ‘124 teaches a method of making a transparent porous film ([0003], [0049], [0062]) comprising spray coating a base material with a film forming composition containing particles and a dispersion medium (abstract, [0131], [0165]). Hattori ‘124 teaches that the viscosity of the sprayed film forming composition affects the formation of streaks and defects and affects the formable thickness of a film formed from the film forming composition ([0147]). Both Koyo ‘263 and Hattori ‘124 teach methods of making a transparent porous film (‘263, abstract, claim 1; ‘124, [0003], [0049], [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the viscosity of the film forming composition in the method taught by Koyo ‘263 because viscosity of the sprayed film forming composition affects the formation of streaks and defects and affects the formable thickness of a film formed from the film forming composition, as taught by Hattori ‘124. See MPEP 2144.05.II.
Claim 6: Koyo ‘263 teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Koyo ‘263 further teaches that the particles can be solid silica particles (abstract).
With respect to claim 6, Koyo ‘263 does not explicitly teach that the silica particles are porous particles.
Hattori ‘124 teaches a method of making a transparent porous film ([0003], [0049], [0062]) comprising spray coating a base material with a film forming composition containing particles and a dispersion medium (abstract, [0131], [0165]), where the particles can be silica particles ([0036], [0044], [0142]). Hattori ‘124 teaches that the silica particles can be porous ([0142]). Hattori ‘124 teaches that solid silica particles and porous silica particles are functional equivalents for the silica particles ([0044]). Both Koyo ‘263 and Hattori ‘124 teach methods of making a transparent porous film (‘263, abstract, claim 1; ‘124, [0003], [0049], [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the porous silica particles taught by Hattori ‘124 for the solid silica particles used in the method taught by Koyo ’263 because solid silica particles and porous silica particles are functional equivalents for the silica particles in a transparent porous layer, as taught by Hattori ‘124. See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BG/
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713