Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the PCT international search report by the June 13, 2023 have been considered, but will not be listed on any patent resulting from this application because they were not provided on a separate list in compliance with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1). In order to have the references printed on such resulting patent, a separate listing, preferably on a PTO/SB/08 form, must be filed within the set period for reply to this Office action.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 5b and 5c.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification needs to include a cross reference to related applications section, see 37 CFR 1.77(b), item (b)(2).
The application also uses the abbreviation “EV” (page 1, last paragraph) but does not define what this is. Is this - -electric vehicle- - or some other term?
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3 and 6, line 2, “developed” can be deleted, the claim is referencing what is simply called a “plane view” and the use of the term “developed” is unnecessary.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. First the claim defines a “rotational range” and it is unclear if this means that the bearing only operates in a specific angular range or if this is intended to mean something else, such as rotational speed. The claim attempts to define this feature using a dm·n value but the claim never defines what dm and n are, the specification does not clarify this either, and thus it is unclear what this is actually defining. Dm in bearings is commonly used as either a mean diameter or a ball diameter, in this case D is used for the ball diameter and no mean diameter is indicated in the drawings that would lead on to believe that this is what is also being referenced. N is normally just a number but the specification does not disclose what N stands for. Because of this lack of information the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be clearly established.
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 8 depends from claim 7 which is drawn to a bearing, claim 8, as best understood, appears to be defining a rotational speed requirement for the bearing, however how the bearing is used does not structurally further limit the invention. Defining an intended use or how the bearing is intended to be operated fails to further limit the invention since it does not provide any additional distinguishing structure to the apparatus. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2021-152394 (JP394).
Regarding claim 1, JP394 discloses an annular rolling bearing cage (5) formed by injection-molding (product-by-process recitation, see MPEP 2213, however see page 2 of the attached translation, 2nd paragraph in the description) a resin composition (see page 2 of the attached translation, 2nd paragraph in the description), the rolling bearing cage comprising rolling elements (4) and a plurality of pockets (6) for retaining the rolling elements, wherein: a thickness in a radial direction of an axial end surface of the cage is 2.00 mm or more (see top of page 9 discussing a made product/example where the cage includes and outer diameter of 93 mm and an inner diameter of 88, this results in a thickness of 5 mm); the resin composition contains polyamide resin as a base resin; and the polyamide resin is copolymerized polyamide containing a hexamethylene terephthalamide unit and a hexamethylene adipamide unit as a constitutional unit (see pages 3-4 of the attached translation, specifically the third to last full paragraph on page 3 that states that the resin is a copolymerized polyamide including a hexamethylene terephthalamide unit, the disclosure goes on to discuss the use of a monomer in the resin, this monomer is disclosed on the bottom of page 4 as a hexamethylene adipamide unit).
Regarding claim 2, JP394 discloses that the thickness in the radial direction of the axial end surface of the cage is 3.00 mm or more (as explained above, the example provided in the disclosure result in a thickness of 5 mm).
Regarding claim 4, JP394 discloses that the polyamide resin has a glass transition temperature of 80-110°C and a melting point of 300°C or more (see the middle of page 5 of the attached translation disclosing glass transition temperatures of 100 degrees or more and melting points greater than 280 degrees).
Regarding claim 5, JP394 discloses that the resin composition contains 10-50 wt% of glass fiber or carbon fiber relative to a whole of the resin composition (see page 6 of the translation, 3rd paragraph from the bottom which discloses the use of glass fiber or carbon fiber in the range of 10% or less, the disclosure of 10% anticipates the claimed range).
Regarding claim 7, JP394 discloses a rolling bearing (see figure 1) comprising: an inner ring (2); an outer ring (3); a plurality of rolling elements (4) intervened between the inner ring (2) and the outer ring (3); and a cage (5) which retains the rolling elements, wherein the cage is the rolling bearing cage as defined in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, the claim is defining some form of rotational range or speed that the bearing is subject to/used at, this does not structurally limit the claimed invention as noted above and is therefore treated as an intended use recitation which the device of JP394 is capable of being used at based on the similarity of structure and the materials disclosed therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2021-152394 (JP394).
Regarding claim 3, JP394 does not discloses that in a plane developed view of an outer diametrical surface of the cage, a diameter of an inscribed circle of a region surrounded by the pockets adjacent to each other and the axial end surface is 5.00 mm or more.
This recitation in the claim is in reference to feature 8 as shown in figure 4 of the instant application. The inscribed circle recitation is a phrasing developed by Applicant to ultimately define a spacing between the balls/pockets of the retainer. While JP394 clearly shows a significantly large spacing between the adjacent pockets the reference does not disclose any particular spacing. However, the limitation is ultimately defining a sizing requirement and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to set the balls/pocket to any desired spacing depending on the number of rolling elements one wishes to employee (the number of rolling elements altering the load capacity of the bearing), including setting and inscribed circle to a range of 5.0mm or more, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). It also would have been obvious to select the range of 5.0 mm or more, since it has been held that where the general conditions are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (sizing of the cage component in general) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, JP394 discloses that the polyamide resin has a glass transition temperature of 80-110°C and a melting point of 300°C or more (see the middle of page 5 of the attached translation disclosing glass transition temperatures of 100 degrees or more and melting points greater than 280 degrees).
JP394 does not discloses that in a plane developed view of an outer diametrical surface of the cage, a diameter of an inscribed circle of a region surrounded by the pockets adjacent to each other and the axial end surface is 3.0-10.0 mm.
As noted above, this recitation in the claim is in reference to feature 8 as shown in figure 4 of the instant application. The inscribed circle recitation is a phrasing developed by Applicant to ultimately define a spacing between the balls/pockets of the retainer. While JP394 clearly shows a significantly large spacing between the adjacent pockets the reference does not disclose any particular spacing. However, the limitation is ultimately defining a sizing requirement and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to set the balls/pocket to any desired spacing depending on the number of rolling elements one wishes to employee (the number of rolling elements altering the load capacity of the bearing), including setting and inscribed circle to a range of 3-10mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). It also would have been obvious to select the range of 3-10 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (sizing of the cage component in general) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
JP394 further discloses an axial length (width) of 13mm, this in combination with the 5 mm thickness as explained above results in a ratio of length to thickness of 13/5 or 2.6. Because of this JP394 does not disclose ratio of 3-6.
However, this feature is also a matter of sizing of the cage and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to either increase the length or decrease the thickness of the cage to fit a specific size requirement since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). It also would have been obvious to select the ratio range, since it has been held that where the general conditions are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (sizing of the cage component in general) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/JAMES PILKINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617