***Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
37 CFR 152 requires claims (v) Presented in a form having sufficient clarity and contrast between the paper and the writing thereon to permit the direct reproduction of readily legible copies in any number by use of photographic, electrostatic, photo-offset, and microfilming processes and electronic capture by use of digital imaging and optical character recognition.
Applicant cannot submit in red with MS Word track changes, the Office’s OCR software cannot read it. (Yeah, I know, it’s 2026 and all, but it’s the system we have. Please tell your admin staff or whomever uploads the documents to convert the documents to black and white before uploading. You shouldn’t see gray type when the docs are in PAIR.) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are
“an attachment” (synonymous with “means for attaching”, a nonce defined by its function of attaching with no standard meaning in this context).
“an actuator” (synonymous with “means for actuating”, a nonce defined by its function of attaching with no standard meaning in this context).
“a load detector” (synonymous with “means for detecting a load”, a nonce defined by its function of attaching with no standard meaning in this context).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “load detector” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding is identified. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. (You can probably use external evidence to establish knowledge in the art from Honda’s other work.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Broughton (US 11492088 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Broughton discloses a vessel comprising: a hull; and an electric outboard motor, wherein the electric outboard motor comprises: an outboard motor body comprising a propeller and an electric motor configured to drive the propeller (C9, L53); and an attachment (Element 60) configured to attach the outboard motor body to a rear part of the hull, the vessel further comprising: a hull deck (Element 16) that overlaps at least a portion of the rear part of the hull in top view; and an outboard motor deck (Element 42)that is provided above the outboard motor body and that overlaps at least a portion of the outboard motor body in top view.
Regarding Claim 2, Broughton discloses a vessel according to claim 1, wherein the hull deck and the outboard motor deck are continuously adjacent to each other without an obstacle protruding, between the two decks, upward above an upper surface of the hull deck. (See Fig. 1. There are no obstacles between the two decks,)
Regarding Claim 3, Broughton discloses a vessel according to claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the hull deck and an upper surface of the outboard motor deck are flush with each other (See Fig. 3. They are “flush” in at least the context of decks.).
Regarding Claim 4, Broughton discloses a vessel according to claim 1, wherein the outboard motor deck is configured to be rotatable about a rotation axis, the rotation axis being located on one side of the outboard motor deck in top view. (Element 50, Fig. 6.)
Regarding Claim 5, Broughton discloses a vessel according to claim 4, wherein the attachment comprises an actuator (Element 74) configured to tilt the outboard motor body, and when the actuator tilts the electric outboard motor up, the electric outboard motor presses the outboard motor deck, thereby causing the outboard motor deck to rotate in conjunction with tilt up of the outboard motor body. (Fig 6.)
Regarding Claim 8, Broughton discloses a vessel according to claim 5, wherein in a state where the outboard motor body is not tilted up, an upper surface of the outboard motor body contacts a lower surface of the outboard motor deck. (See Fig. 3.)
Regarding Claim 10, Broughton discloses a vessel according to claim 1, wherein the outboard motor deck does not overlap the outboard motor body in side view as viewed in a vessel width direction. (See Fig. 1.)
Regarding Claim 12, Broughton discloses a vessel according to claim 1, wherein the outboard motor deck is configured to be rotatable about a front side thereof (Fig. 4.), and the bull deck extends to a rear of the front side along a side of the outboard motor deck. (Fig. 1.3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 isrejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broughton in view of Daikoku (US 20120115376 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Broughton the vessel according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the outboard motor deck comprises a side wall protruding along a side of the outboard motor body, and the side wall overlaps at least a portion of an upper part of the outboard motor body in side view as viewed in a vessel width direction.
Daikoku discloses wherein the outboard motor deck comprises a side wall protruding along a side of the outboard motor body, and the side wall overlaps at least a portion of an upper part of the outboard motor body in side view as viewed in a vessel width direction. (See Fig. 1.) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to add a sidewall such that the outboard motor deck comprises a side wall protruding along a side of the outboard motor body, and the side wall overlaps at least a portion of an upper part of the outboard motor body in side view as viewed in a vessel width direction which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Broughton as disclosed by Daikoku paragraph 67 is appearance as is “The engine case 100 also functions as an exterior member constituting the appearance of the outboard motor 10, and exhibits a solid appearance as a whole.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW POLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 26 Sept 2026