DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/20/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thurfjell US 20210168630 (as seen in the IDS).
As to claim 1, Thurfjell teaches “An antenna vibration monitoring system for assessing oscillations of antenna structures ([0051]) of fixed-location base stations of a mobile communication network ([0038], [0039]), each base station providing radio coverage over a corresponding cell, each base station comprising at least one corresponding antenna structure comprising a supporting member supporting at least one antenna configured to radiate/receive radio waves to/from portions of the cell to allow user equipment within the cell to exchange data traffic (Figure 2; [0038], [0039]), the antenna vibration monitoring system being configured to: collect radio measurements pertaining to the electromagnetic operation of an antenna of a base station, said radio measurements being carried out by user equipment located in the cell corresponding to said base station ([0054]; [0058], [0059]. The claim teaches “electromagnetic operation” but this term is not explicitly used in Thurfjell. It is understood that radio antennas operate on electromagnetic principles by converting between electrical currents and electromagnetic waves. Since the reference teaches a radio antenna, it too would perform electromagnetic operations); generate an electromagnetic print of said antenna using said collected radio measurements, said electromagnetic print providing an indication of how a radiation pattern of the antenna varies over time across the cell ([0054] teaches “The movement may be detected or measured herein based on an analysis of one or more properties of radio transmissions to or from the radio antenna 120 over a time period.” The instant application teaches that the electromagnetic print indicates how a radiation pattern of the antenna varies over time. Based on this, citation [0054] reads on the term “electromagnetic print”); assess an oscillation condition of the antenna structure of said base station, in which the supporting member is oscillating, based on said generated electromagnetic print of the antenna of said base station ([0051], [0054]).”
As to claim 10, Thurfjell teaches “wherein said radio measurements pertaining to the electromagnetic operation of an antenna of a base station carried out by a user equipment located within the cell corresponding to said base station comprise a signal strength of the antenna measured by said user equipment and indicative of a power outputted by said antenna as received by said user equipment ([0056] to [0059]).”
As to claim 12, Thurfjell teaches “wherein said radio measurements pertaining to the electromagnetic operation of an antenna of a base station carried out by said user equipment located within the cell corresponding to said base station further comprise at least one among: a cell identifier identifying the cell corresponding to the base station comprising the antenna ([0104]); a geo-localization identifier identifying the geographic position of said user equipment when said signal strength has been measured by the user equipment; a time stamp identifying a time when said signal strength has been measured by the user equipment; a timing advance value indicative of a length of time a signal takes to travel between said base station and said user equipment (this claim pertains to alternative with the claim language “at least one among”. Therefore only one alternative was addressed).”
As to claim 13, Thurfjell teaches “A mobile communication network comprising a plurality of fixed-location base stations each providing radio coverage over a corresponding cell (Figure 2; [0054]), each base station comprising at least one corresponding antenna structure comprising a supporting member supporting at least one antenna configured to radiate/receive radio waves to/from portions of the cell to allow user equipment within the cell to exchange data traffic (Figure 2; ([0038], [0039]), the mobile communication network further comprising an antenna vibration monitoring system configured to: collect radio measurements pertaining to the electromagnetic operation of an antenna of a base station, said radio measurements being carried out by user equipment located in the cell corresponding to said base station ([0054]; [0058], [0059]. The claim teaches “electromagnetic operation” but this term is not explicitly used in Thurfjell. It is understood that radio antennas operate on electromagnetic principles by converting between electrical currents and electromagnetic waves. Since the reference teaches a radio antenna, it too would perform electromagnetic operations); generate an electromagnetic print of said antenna using said collected radio measurements, said electromagnetic print providing an indication of how a radiation pattern of the antenna varies over time across the cell ([0054] teaches “The movement may be detected or measured herein based on an analysis of one or more properties of radio transmissions to or from the radio antenna 120 over a time period.” The instant application teaches that the electromagnetic print indicates how a radiation pattern of the antenna varies over time. Based on this, citation [0054] reads on the term “electromagnetic print”); assess an oscillation condition of the antenna structure of said base station, in which the supporting member is oscillating, based on said generated electromagnetic print of the antenna of said base station ([0051], [0054]).”
As to claim 14, Thurfjell teaches “A method for monitoring a mobile communication network comprising a plurality of fixed-location base stations each providing radio coverage over a corresponding cell (Figure 2; [0054]), each base station comprising at least one corresponding antenna structure comprising a supporting member supporting at least one antenna configured to radiate/receive radio waves to/from portions of the cell to allow user equipment within the cell to exchange data traffic (Figure 2; ([0038], [0039]), the method comprising: collecting radio measurements pertaining to the electromagnetic operation of an antenna of a base station, said radio measurements being carried out by user equipment located in the cell corresponding to said base station ([0054]; [0058], [0059]. The claim teaches “electromagnetic operation” but this term is not explicitly used in Thurfjell. It is understood that radio antennas operate on electromagnetic principles by converting between electrical currents and electromagnetic waves. Since the reference teaches a radio antenna, it too would perform electromagnetic operations); generating an electromagnetic print of said antenna using said collected radio measurements, said electromagnetic print providing an indication of how a radiation pattern of the antenna varies over time across the cell ([0054] teaches “The movement may be detected or measured herein based on an analysis of one or more properties of radio transmissions to or from the radio antenna 120 over a time period.” The instant application teaches that the electromagnetic print indicates how a radiation pattern of the antenna varies over time. Based on this, citation [0054] reads on the term “electromagnetic print”); assessing an oscillation condition of the antenna structure of said base station, in which the supporting member is oscillating, based on said generated electromagnetic print of the antenna of said base station ([0051], [0054]).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 2 pertains to the comparison of the generated electromagnetic print of the antenna with the reference electromagnetic print of the antenna. While the step of comparing measured data to reference data is known, none of the prior arts tie this concept to the field of endeavor. Claims 3-7 depend from claim 2. Claims 4, 8 and 9 also pertain to a reference electromagnetic print, which is not taught by the prior arts. As to claim 11, the prior arts do not teach the claimed “set of contour lines”.
Conclusion
/TARUN SINHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855