DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2023/003739, filed March 21, 2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) by application nos. KR10-2022-0035430 and KR10-2023-0036520 filed in the Korean Patent Office on March 22, 2022 and March 21, 2023, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-12 are pending and under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
While enabling for treating a cancer disease selected from the group consisting of lung cancer, breast cancer, ovarian cancer, uterine cancer, pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, stomach cancer, liver cancer, colorectal cancer, skin cancer, head or neck cancer, brain cancer, laryngeal cancer, prostate cancer, bladder cancer, esophageal cancer, thyroid cancer, kidney cancer, and rectal cancer, the specification does not reasonably provide enablement for the treatment of any cancer disease or prevention of any cancer disease, as claimed. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue. These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) breadth of the claims; (b) nature of the invention; (c) state of the prior art; (d) level of one of ordinary skill in the art; (e) level of predictability in the art; (f) amount of direction provided by the inventor; (g) existence of working examples; and (h) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. (See Ex parte Forman 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The above factors, regarding the present invention, are summarized as follows:
(a) Breadth of the claims - The breadth of the claims is drawn to methods for treating and preventing a cancer disease.
(b) Nature of the invention - The nature of the invention is therefore drawn to the pharmaceutical art. These claims cover diseases that are known to exist and those that may be discovered in the future, for which there is no enablement provided.
With specific reference to cancer, Ex parte Kranz, 19 USPQ2d 1216, 1219 notes the “general unpredictability of the field [of] …anti-cancer treatment.” In re Application of Hozumi et al., 226 USPQ 353 notes the “fact that the art of cancer chemotherapy is highly unpredictable”. More generally, the invention is directed toward medicine and is therefore physiological in nature. It is well established that “the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved,” and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
(c,e) State of the prior art and predictability in the art - The state of the prior art is that the pharmacological art involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine exhibit the desired pharmacological activities (i.e. which combination can treat/prevent which specific disease by what mechanism). There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic or preventative regimen on its face.
Regarding the prevention of all diseases - prophylaxis and/or prevention means to anticipate or counter in advanced, to keep from happening, etc. and there is no disclosure as to how one skilled in the art can reasonably establish the basis and the type of subject to which the instant compounds and compositions can be administered in order to have the "preventive" effect. How would one show a correlation that the diseases of the instant claims are prevented by the compounds of the claims? How is the initial onset of the full scope of the claimed diseases prevented?
While a full discussion of each disease which is encompasses by Applicant’s claim language will not be given, the following examples teach that the state of the prior art with respect to the claimed diseases has not advanced to the point of being predictive of the treatment and prevention of the breadth of diseases, disorders, and infections, as instantly claimed.
The following exemplified cancers are used to illustrate the lack of enablement, but do not represent the full scope of diseases, disorders, and infections, as claimed. Cancer is solely relied upon as an example to illustrate the non-enablement herein:
Cancer is not a single disease, or cluster of closely related disorders. There are hundreds of cancers, which have in common only some loss of controlled cell growth. Cancers are highly heterogeneous at both the molecular and clinical level, something seen especially in, for example, the cancers of the breast, brain and salivary glands. They can occur in pretty much every part of the body. Here are some assorted categories:
CNS cancers cover a very diverse range of cancers in many categories and subcategories. There are an immense range of neuroepithelial tumors. Gliomas, the most common subtype of primary brain tumors, most of which are aggressive, highly invasive, and neurologically destructive tumors are considered to be among the deadliest of human cancers. These are any cancers which show evidence (histological, immunohistochemical, ultrastructural) of glial differentiation These fall mostly into five categories. There are the astrocytic tumors (astrocytomas): pilocytic astrocytoma (including juvenile pilocytic astrocytoma, JPA, and pediatric optic nerve glioma) diffuse astrocytomas (including fibrillary astrocytomas, protoplasmic astrocytomas and gemistocytic astrocytomas), anaplastic astrocytomas (including adult optic nerve glioma), Glioblastoma multiforme (GBM), gliosarcoma and giant cell glioblastoma, and pleomorphic xanthoastrocytoma. GBM exists in two forms, primary and secondary, which have very different clinical histories and different genetics, but GBM is considered to be one clinical entity. second, there are the oligodendroglial tumors (oligodendrogliomas): low grade oligodendroglioma and anaplastic oligodendroglioma. Third, there is oligoastrocytomas (“mixed glioma”), a type of tumor with both astrocytoma & oligodendroglioma features. The fourth type is the ependymomas, which are intracranial gliomas, including papillary ependymoma, myxopapillary ependymoma, tanycytic ependymoma, anaplastic ependymoma and subependymal giant-cell astrocytomas. A fifth type is the gangliogliomas (glioneuronal tumors or glioneurocytic tumors), which have both glial and neuronal components, and are extremely varied, based in part on what types of glial and what types of neuronal components are present. These include Papillary Glioneuronal Tumor (PGNT), a range of supratentorial gangliogliomas, assorted intramedullary spinal cord gangliogliomas, pineal ganglioglioma, hypothalamic ganglioglioma, cerebellar ganglioglioma, ganglioglioma of the right optic tract, rosetted glioneuronal tumor (“glioneurocytic tumor with neuropil rosettes”), composite pleomorphic xanthoastrocytoma (PXA)-ganglioglioma, desmoplastic ganglioglioma (both infantile (DIG) and non- infantile), angioganglioglioma, and others. There are also some glial tumors which do not comfortably fit into these five categories, notably astroblastoma, gliomatosis cerebri, and chordoid glioma, which is found solely in the hypothalamus and anterior third ventricle. Other neuroepithelial tumors include astrocytic tumors (e.g. astrocytomas) oligodendroglial tumors, ependymal cell tumors (e.g. myxopapillary ependymoma), mixed gliomas (e.g. mixed oligoastrocytoma and ependymo-astrocytomas) tumors of the choroid plexus(choroid plexus papilloma, choroid plexus carcinoma), assorted neuronal and neuroblastic tumors (e.g. gangliocytoma, central neurocytoma, dysembryoplastic neuroepithelial tumor, esthesioneuroblastoma, olfactory neuroblastoma, olfactory neuroepithelioma, and neuroblastomas of the adrenal gland), pineal parenchyma tumors (e.g. pineocytoma, pineoblastoma, and pineal parenchymal tumor of intermediate differentiation), embryonal tumors (e.g. medulloepithelioma, neuroblastoma, ependymoblastoma, atypical teratoid/rhabdoid tumor, desmoplastic medulloblastoma, large cell medulloblastoma, medullomyoblastoma, and melanotic medulloblastoma) and others such as polar spongioblastoma and gliomatosis cerebri. A second Division is tumors of the meninges. this includes tumors of the meningothelial cells, including meningiomas (meningothelial, fibrous (fibroblastic), transitional (mixed), psammomatous, angiomatous, microcystic, secretory, lymphoplasmacyte-rich, metaplastic, clear cell, chordoid, atypical, papillary, rhabdoid, anaplastic meningioma) and the non- meningioma tumors of the meningothelial cells (malignant fibrous histiocytoma, leiomyoma, leiomyosarcoma, rhabdomyoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, chondroma, chondrosarcoma, osteoma, osteosarcoma, osteochondroma, haemangioma, epithelioid haemangioendothelioma, haemangiopericytoma, angiosarcoma, kaposi sarcoma). There are also mesenchymal, non-meningothelial tumors (liposarcoma, (intracranial) solitary fibrous tumor, and fibrosarcoma) as well as primary melanocytic lesions (diffuse melanocytosis, melanocytoma, malignant melanoma, and meningeal melanomatosis). A third division are the tumors of cranial and spinal nerves. This includes cellular schwannomas, plexiform schwannomas and the melanotic schwannomas (e.g. psammomatous melanotic schwannoma , neuro-axial melanotic schwannoma, dorsal dumb-bell melanotic schwannoma). There is also Perineurioma (Intraneural and Soft tissue) and malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor (MPNST), including Epithelioid, MPNST with divergent mesenchymal differentiation, and MPNST with epithelial differentiation. A fourth division are germ cell tumors, including germinoma, embryonal carcinoma, yolk sac tumor, choriocarcinoma, and teratoma (mature teratoma, immature teratoma, and teratoma with malignant transformation). A fifth division are the tumors of the sellar Region, viz. pituitary adenoma, pituitary carcinoma, granular cell myoblastoma and craniopharyngiomas (adamantinomatous and papillary). Yet another division are local extensions from regional tumors, including paraganglioma, chodroma, chordoma, and chondrosarcoma. There are also Primitive Neuroectodermal Tumors (PNETs) including medulloblastomas, medulloepitheliomas, ependymoblastomas and polar spongioblastomas. There are Vascular brain Tumors e.g. the hemangioblastomas, there is CNS Lymphoma (which can be primary or secondary) and Meningeal Carcinomatosis. There are lymphoma and haemopoietic neoplasms including malignant lymphomas (which can be primary or secondary), plasmacytoma, and granulocytic sarcoma. And there are many, many others.
Leukemia is any malignant neoplasm of the blood-forming tissues. Leukemia can arise from many different sources. These include viruses such as EBV, which causes Burkitt's lymphoma, and HTLV-1, linked to certain T cell leukemias. Others are linked to genetic disorders, such as Fanconi's anemia, which is a familial disorder, and Down's Syndrome. Other leukemias are caused by exposure to carcinogens such as benzene, and some are actually caused by treatment with other neoplastic agents. Still other leukemias arise from ionizing radiation, and many are idiopathic. Leukemias also differ greatly in the morphology, degree of differentiation, body location (e.g. bone marrow, lymphoid organs, etc.) There are dozens of leukemias. There are B-Cell Neoplasms such as B-cell prolymphocytic leukemia and Hairy cell leukemia (HCL, a chronic Lymphoid leukemia). There are T-Cell Neoplasms such as T-cell prolymphocytic leukemia, aggressive NK cell leukemia, adult T cell leukemia/lymphoma (ATLL), and T-cell granular Lymphocytic leukemia. There are different kinds of acute myeloid leukemias (undifferentiated AML, acute myeloblastic, acute myelomonocytic leukemia, acute monocytic leukemias, acute monoblastic, acute megakaryoblastic (AmegL), acute promyelocytic leukemia (APL), and erythroleukemia). There is also lymphoblastic leukemia, hypocellular acute myeloid leukemia, Ph-/BCR- myeloid leukemia, and acute basophilic leukemia. Chromic leukemias include chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL, which exists in a B-cell and a T-cell type), prolymphocytic leukemia (PLL), large granular lymphocytic leukemia (LGLL, which goes under several other names as well), chronic myelogenous leukemia(CML), chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (CMML), chronic neutrophilic leukemia, chronic eosinophilic leukemia (CEL), and many others.
Carcinomas of the Liver include hepatocellular carcinoma, combined hepatocellular cholangiocarcinoma, cholangiocarcinoma (intrahepatic), bile duct cystadenocarcinoma and undifferentiated carcinoma of the liver. There is also cancer of the blood vessels in the liver (hemangioendothelioma), primary non-hodgkin's lymphoma of the liver, undifferentiated liver sarcoma (also known as undifferentiated embryonal sarcoma), primary pleomorphic liver sarcoma, angiosarcoma of the liver, and primary malignant melanoma of the liver. Most liver cancers are secondary, especially those originating in the breast, lung, or gallbladder, as well as both Hodgkin's or non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
The main types of lung and pleural cancer are small cell (i.e. oat cell, including combined oat cell), adenocarcinomas, bronchioloalveolar carcinomas (nonmucinous, mucinous, and mixed mucinous and nonmucinous or indeterminate cell type), acinar, papillary carcinoma, solid adenocarcinoma with mucin, adenocarcinoma with mixed subtypes, well-differentiated fetal adenocarcinoma, mucinous (colloid) adenocarcinoma, mucinous cystadenocarcinoma, signet ring adenocarcinoma, and clear cell adenocarcinoma), squamous cell (papillary, clear cell, small cell and basaloid), mesothelioma (including epithelioid, sarcomatoid, desmoplastic and biphasic) and large cell carcinoma (which include large-cell neuroendocrine carcinoma, combined large-cell neuroendocrine carcinoma, basaloid carcinoma, clear cell carcinoma lymphoepithelioma-like carcinoma, and large-cell carcinoma with rhabdoid phenotype). In addition there are also the carcinomas with pleomorphic, sarcomatoid or sarcomatous elements, including carcinomas with spindle and/or giant cells, spindle cell carcinoma, carcinosarcoma and pulmonary blastoma. The non-small cell lung carcinomas also include adenosquamous carcinoma, the carcinoid tumor (both typical carcinoid and atypical carcinoid) as well as carcinomas of salivary-gland type, including mucoepidermoid carcinoma and adenoid cystic carcinoma. There are some soft tissue tumors including localized fibrous tumor (formerly called benign fibrous mesothelioma); epithelioid haemangioendothelioma; pleuropulmonary blastoma (which occurs three fairly different substituted-types); chondroma; calcifying fibrous pseudotumor of the visceral pleura); congenital peribronchial myofibroblastic tumors, diffuse pulmonary lymphangiomyomatosis and desmoplastic round cell tumor. There are assorted bronchial adenomas (e.g. adenoid cystic carcinomas, mucoepidermoid carcinomas, mucous gland adenomas, and oncocytomatous bronchial mucous gland adenoma) as well as other adenomas, including papillary adenoma. There are some papillomas, including squamous cell papilloma and glandular papilloma. There is also malignant melanoma of the lung, cylindroma (cylindroadenoma), some germ cell tumors, thymoma and sclerosing haemangioma and many others as well. Lung cancers are quite diverse. Thus, for example, oat cell carcinoma, Signet ring adenocarcinoma, pleuropulmonary blastoma, cylindroma, and malignant mesothelioma really have very little in common, other than being cancers of the lung.
Thyroid cancer comes in four forms: papillary thyroid cancer, follicular thyroid cancer, anaplastic thyroid cancer, and medullary thyroid cancer.
Cancer of the skin cells is melanoma. Malignant melanomas come in form fundamental forms, superficial spreading melanoma, Nodular melanoma, lentigo maligna melanoma and acral melanoma. These sometime occur in amelanotic form, such as in desmoplastic melanoma. There are also a very wide range of carcinomas of the skin, most notably the basal cell carcinomas (BCC), including superficial BCC, nodular BCC (solid, adenoid cystic), infiltrating BCC, sclerosing BCC (desmoplastic, morpheic), fibroepithelial BCC, BCC with adnexal differentiation, follicular BCC, eccrine BCC, basosquamous carcinoma, keratotic BCC, pigmented BCC, BCC in basal cell nevus syndrome, micronodular BCC. Another important family is the squamous cell carcinomas (SCC) which include spindle cell (sarcomatoid) SCC, acantholytic SCC, verrucous SCC, SCC with horn formation, and lymphoepithelial SCC, along with less well classified SCCs such as papillary SCC, clear cell SCC, small cell SCC, posttraumatic (e.g., Marjolin ulcer) and metaplastic (carcinosarcomatous) SCC. Another family is the eccrine carcinomas including sclerosing sweat duct carcinoma (syringomatous carcinoma, microcystic adnexal carcinoma), malignant mixed tumor of the skin (malignant chondroid syringoma), porocarcinoma, malignant nodular hidradenoma, malignant eccrine spiradenoma, mucinous eccrine carcinoma, adenoid cystic eccrine carcinoma, and aggressive digital papillary adenoma/adenocarcinoma. Other carcinomas of the skin include epidermal carcinomas, Paget disease, mammary Paget disease, merkel cell carcinoma (neuroendocrine cancer of the skin), extramammary paget disease adnexal carcinomas, apocrine carcinoma, sebaceous carcinoma, tricholemmocarcinoma and malignant pilomatricoma (matrical carcinoma). There are also skin sarcoma’s, most notably Kaposi's sarcoma, but also granulocytic sarcoma of the skin, fibroblastic/myofibroblastic sarcoma of the skin, primary extraosseus Ewing's sarcoma of the skin. There is also lymphoma of the skin, called cutaneous T cell lymphoma (CTCL) which includes mycosis fungoides, reticulum cell sarcoma of the skin and Sezary syndrome.
There are many types of colorectal cancers. The carcinomas include
adenocarcinoma; mucinous adenocarcinoma; signet-ring cell carcinoma;
small cell carcinoma; adenosquamous carcinoma; medullary carcinoma; choriocarcinoma; and undifferentiated carcinoma. The malignant lymphomas include marginal zone B-cell lymphoma of mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue type; mantle cell lymphoma; Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma; Burkitt lymphoma; and Burkitt-like/atypical Burkitt lymphoma. There are also some carcinoid tumors, sarcomas (including GISTs, leiomyosarcoma, hemangiosarcoma, angiosarcoma, Kaposi sarcoma, fibrosarcoma, neurofibrosarcoma and Leiomyosarcoma), primary plasmacytoma of the colonand primary malignant melanoma of the colon. A wide variety of cancers are secondary to the colon, e.g. ovarian carcinoma.
Renal carcinomas comprise the papillary renal cell carcinoma (which has two subtypes, type 1 and type 2, with very different prognostic values), clear cell renal carcinoma, chromophobe renal carcinoma, collecting duct renal carcinoma, and some unclassified carcinomas. Renal sarcomas include leiomyosarcoma, fibrosarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, malignant fibrous histiocytoma, liposarcoma of the kidney, malignant hemangiopericytoma, angiosarcoma of the kidney, osteosarcoma, synovial sarcoma, chondrosarcoma of the kidney, malignant mesenchymoma, and clear cell sarcoma of the kidney. Lymphomas include Primary Renal Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, primary renal MALT lymphoma, primary renal Hodgkin's lymphoma, and secondary renal lymphomas, which can be of either Hodgkin's or Non-Hodgkin's type. Other kidney cancers include transitional cell carcinoma, Wilms Tumor, malignant rhabdoid tumor of the kidney, renal melanoma, primitive neuroectodermal tumor of the kidney, neuroepithelial tumor of the kidney, and congenital mesoblastic nephroma, some renal adenomas, and oncocytomas.
Prostate Cancer is not a single disease or group of very closely related disorders, but ranges over a very wide variety of cancer types. It embraces various adenocarcinomas of the prostate, including prostatic ductal adenocarcinoma, adenocarcinoma with paneth-like cells, clear cell adenocarcinoma, foamy gland adenocarcinoma, adenocarcinoma of Cowper’s glands, and atrophic adenocarcinoma. It includes a huge variety of carcinomas, including mucinous carcinomas of the prostate, prostatic carcinoma of xanthomatous type, signet ring cell carcinoma of the prostate, neuroendocrine small cell carcinoma of the prostate, and other small cell carcinomas of the prostate, adenosquamous and squamous cell carcinomas, basaloid and adenoid cystic carcinoma, sarcomatoid carcinoma of the prostate, lymphoepithelioma-like carcinoma of the prostate, urothelial (transitional cell) carcinoma (which can be primary in the prostate gland or represent secondary spread from the urinary bladder), basaloid carcinoma, pseudohyperplastic carcinoma, and primary carcinoma of the seminal vesicles. There are also assorted sarcomas of the prostate, including Angiosarcoma, Embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma, Stromal sarcoma, Synovial sarcoma, Leiomyosarcoma, and chondrosarcoma of the prostate, which can be primary or secondary to the prostate. Also included is prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (PIN), phyllodes tumor of the prostate, primitive peripheral neuroectodermal tumor (PNET) and malignant fibrous histiocytoma. There are also lymphomas, which are usually secondary, but primary ones include diffuse large B-cell lymphoma. The great majority of this list are not treatable with pharmaceuticals.
Penile carcinoma is usually a squamous cell carcinoma (including cancinoma in situ or Bowen disease), but there is also penile clear cell carcinoma, and sarcomatoid carcinoma. There is also primary reticulum cell sarcoma of the penis, Kaposi sarcoma of the penis, and Paget disease or the Penis.
The carcinomas of the extrahepatic bile ducts are of numerous types, including carcinoma in situ, adenocarcinoma, papillary adenocarcinoma, adenocarcinoma (intestinal-type), mucinous adenocarcinoma, clear cell adenocarcinoma, signet ring cell carcinoma, adenosquamous carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, small cell carcinoma (oat cell carcinoma) and undifferentiated carcinoma of the extrahepatic bile ducts.
Breast cancers come in great variety. The most important category of breast cancers is the ductal cancers. These come in an assortment of types. Presently, these are divided into the following categories: intraductal (in situ); invasive with predominant intraductal component; invasive, NOS; Comedo; Inflammatory (IBC); medullary with lymphocytic infiltrate; mucinous carcinoma (colloid carcinoma); papillary carcinoma; scirrhous; tubular; and other. Another category is the Lobular breast cancers, which can be in situ, Invasive with predominant in situ component, and Invasive. There is Paget’s disease of the nipple, which can be also with intraductal carcinoma or with invasive ductal carcinoma. There is adenomyoepithelioma , a dimorphic tumor characterized by the presence of both epithelial and myoepithelial cells. There is lymphoma of the breast (which exists in both Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma of the breast and Hodgkin's disease of the breast forms). There are some sarcomas, including giant cell sarcoma of the breast, leiomyosarcoma of the breast, angiosarcoma of the breast, cystosarcoma phylloides, and liposarcoma of the breast. There are carcinoid tumors which can be primary carcinoid tumors of the breast, or can arise from from nonmammary sources. There are breast salivary gland-like tumors, including acinic cell carcinoma, oncocytic carcinoma (mammary epithelial oncocytoma), and mucoepidermoid carcinoma. Other rare carcinomas include spindle cell carcinoma of the breast, squamous cell carcinoma of the breast, secretory carcinoma of the breast (juvenile secretory carcinoma), metaplastic carcinoma of the breast (a heterogeneous group of invasive breast cancers including types with squamous differentiation and those with heterologous elements), invasive micropapillary carcinoma of the breast, adenoid cystic carcinoma of the breast, cribriform carcinoma, myofibroblastoma of the breast (benign spindle stromal tumor of the breast) and glycogen-rich clear cell carcinoma of the breast. There are also nonmammary tumors, primarily adenocarcinomas, that can metastasize to the breast including bronchogenic carcinomas, malignant melanomas (primary and secondary), rhabdomyosarcomas, malignant mesotheliomas, thyroid carcinomas, renal cell carcinomas, malignant lymphomas, and gastrointestinal carcinomas (including those from the stomach, pancreas, esophagus, and colon). Complicating the treatment of breast carcinomas is the fact that a significant proportion of mammary carcinomas are not monoclonal.
Ovarian cancers are a heterogeneous group of tumors. The most important are the epithelial tumors. These are themselves fairly diverse, the categories being serous cystomas (serous benign cystadenomas, serous cystadenomas with proliferating activity of the epithelial cells and nuclear abnormalities but with no infiltrative destructive growth and serous cystadenocarcinomas); mucinous cystomas (divided the same three ways); clear cell tumors (mesonephroid tumors, again divided the same way), endometrioid tumors (similar to adenocarcinomas in the endometrium: endometrioid benign cysts, endometrioid tumors with proliferating activity of the epithelial cells and endometrioid adenocarcinomas), mixed mesodermal (now considered to be carcinomas with areas of sarcomatous differentiation), transitional cell carcinoma, the Brenner tumor, and mixed epithelials. Second, there are the granulosa-stromal cell tumors. These include the granulosa cell tumor (which exists in juvenile and adult forms) and the tumors in the thecoma-fibroma sub-group. This sub-group also includes thecoma-fibroma group typical: thecoma and luteinized thecoma, as well as fibroma, cellular fibroma, fibrosarcoma, stromal tumor with minor sex cord elements, sclerosing stromal tumor, signet ring cell stromal tumor and others. Third, there are the Sertoli stromal cell tumors: Sertoli-Leydig cell tumor of the ovary (which comes in three different levels of differentiation, as well as a retiform version); Sertoli cell tumor (tubular androblastoma), and Stromal- Leydig cell tumor. Fourth are the Sex cord-stromal tumors of mixed or unclassified cell types: sex cord tumor with annular tubules, gynandroblastoma of the ovary (composed of sex cord and stromal cells of both ovarian and testicular types), and sex cord-stromal tumor NOS. Fifth, there are the steroid cell tumors: Ovarian Leydig cell tumor, which comes in hilus and non-hilar types, Stromal luteoma, and steroid cell tumor, NOS. Sixth, there is an assortment of Germ Cell Tumors. These include dysgerminoma; yolk sac tumors (endodermal sinus tumor, and polyvesicular vitelline tumor, hepatoid and others); embryonal carcinoma; polyembryoma; choriocarcinoma, gonadoblastoma and a wide variety of teratomas. These tetromas include immature, cystic (dermoid cyst), retiform (homunculus), and Monodermal, including struma ovarii, carcinoid (insular and trabecular), struma carcinoid, mucinous carcinoid, neuroectodermal tumors, sebaceous tumors and others. There are also the teratocarcinomas which come in many mixture types. Finally, there are an assortment of other tumors which do not fit into the above categories. There is Tumors of Rete Ovarii (which can be adenomatoid tumor or a mesothelioma). There are some tumors of uncertain origin, including small cell carcinoma, tumors of probable wolffian origin, a hepatoid carcinoma and oncocytoma. There are some soft tissue tumors not specific to ovary, and there are assorted malignant lymphomas and leukemias which land up in the ovaries.
Testicular cancers. All of the germ cell tumors listed above except for dysgerminoma also appear as cancers of the testis. In addition, seminoma itself as well as spermatocytic seminoma and choriocarcinoma of the testis are germ cell cancers of the testis. There are both juvenile and adult forms of the Granulosa cell tumor, as well as other cancers of the gonadal stroma, including leiomyomas, and neurofibromas. In addition to the germ cell cancers, there are the Sex cord-gonadal stromal tumors, including Sertoli cell tumor, Leydig cell tumor, and mixed form called Sertoli-Leydig cell tumor, and Gynandroblastoma of the testis. There are both adenomas and adenocarcinomas of collecting ducts and rete testis. There are a range of secondary tumors of the testis, most commonly Lymphomas, but also leukemic infiltration of the Testis, and metastatic cancers from the prostate or lung.
Paratesticular cancers (cancers of the spermatic cord, epididymis, vestigial remnants, and tunica vaginalis) are commonly classified separately from testicular cancers, and are rather varied. These include rhabdomyosarcoma of the spermatic cord (which can occur in embryonal, alveolar, and pleomorphic subtypes), liposarcomas, leiomyosarcomas, ovarian-type epithelial tumors, the desmoplastic small round cell tumor, the melanotic neuroectodermal tumor of infancy, primary paratesticular neuroblastoma, primary hematopoietic tumors of the paratesticular structures, plasmacytoma and granulocytic sarcoma of the paratestis, malignant schwannoma, malignant fibrous histiocytoma, malignant spermatic cord fibrosarcoma, and pleomorphic hyalinizing angiectatic tumor. There are also an assortment of secondary tumors, especially from the prostate, testis, kidney, and stomach.
Cancers of the vulva are mostly squamous carcinoma, but these also include melanoma, Bartholin's Adenocarcinoma, basal cell carcinoma and some sarcomas.
Vaginal cancers are primarily squamous carcinoma, but some are adenocarcinoma, melanoma of the vagina; sarcoma of the vagina, bowen's disease and germ cell tumors.
The most important of the cancers of the uterus are the Endometrial Carcinomas. The great majority of these are endometrioid; others include uterine papillary serous tumor (upst), clear cell carcinoma, mucinous and squamous. There is also plexiform tumorlet, Intravenous leiomyomatosis, benign metastasizing leiomyoma, leiomyomatosis peritonealis disseminate and leiomyosarcoma. Endometrial Tumors include endometrial stromal nodule, endolymphatic stromal myosis, and endometrial stromal sarcoma. There are the mixed tumors: Müllerian adenosarcoma and Malignant mixed mesodermal tumors (MMMT). Other sarcomas are rhabdosarcoma, osteosarcoma, chondrosarcoma and hemangiopericytoma. Some uterine cancers are secondary, starting in e.g. the tissue that begins to develop immediately after conception: epithelioid trophoblastic tumor, choriocarcinoma , and placental site trophoblastic tumors (PSTT).
There are several main types of stomach cancers, which are very different from each other. (1) Lymphomas of the stomach are found in the wall of the stomach. These come in two main categories. One is the Non-Hodgkin's lymphomas of the stomach, including MALT lymphoma, and assorted Large Cell Lymphoma of the Stomach such as anaplastic Ki-1 (CD30) positive large cell lymphoma. The other is Hodgkin Lymphoma in the Stomach. These include both lymphomas which are primary to the stomach, and nodal lymphomas that have spread to the stomach from e.g. the spleen or liver and are thus secondary. There are Tertiary gastric lymphomas as well. (2) Gastric stromal tumors (GISTs) develop from the tissue of the stomach wall. There are an assortments of these; GISTs vary from cellular spindle cell tumors to epithelioid and pleomorphic ones. (3) Carcinoid tumors are tumors of hormone-producing cells of the stomach. These are classified into are classified into those that are associated with hypergastrinemic states (type 1, atrophic gastritis, pernicious anemia); Zollinger-Ellison syndrome [ZES] tumors (type 2), and tumors without hypergastrinemia (type 3 or sporadic). (4) Carcinoma of the Stomach exists in five types: papillary, tubular, mucinous, signet-ring cell adenocarcinoma and undifferentiated carcinoma. (5) Soft tissue sarcomas, most notably leiomyosarcoma of the stomach.
Cancer of the esophagus is most commonly a squamous cell carcinoma or an adenocarcinoma. However, melanomas, both primary and secondary can occur, and spindle cell carcinoma and Kaposi’s sarcoma can also occur in the esophagus. There is also primary oat cell carcinoma of the esophagus, choriocarcinoma of the esophagus, carcinoid tumor of the esophagus, adenosquamous carcinoma of the esophagus and the related mucoepidermoid carcinoma of the esophagus, and cylindroma of the esophagus. In addition, verrucous carcinomas and pseudosarcomas of the esophagus have been reported.
Cancers of the spleen, which are primary are commonly devided into vascular, lymphoid and non-lymphoid. Vascular tumors include hemangiosarcoma, lymphangiosarcoma, hemangioendothelial sarcoma and malignant hemangiopericytoma of the spleen, all of which are considered malignant. Lymphoid tumors include both Hodgkin's and Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, plasmacytoma and Castleman's tumor. Nonlymphoid tumors are more diverse, and include malignant fibrous histiocytoma, fibrosarcomas, leiomyosarcomas, malignant teratomas, and Kaposi's sarcoma of the spleen.There are also metastatic tumors, secondary to tumors most typically from the lung, stomach, pancreas, liver, breast and colon. These are typically adenocarcinomas or squamous cell carcinomas, but large cell carcinoma, small cell carcinoma, hepatocellular carcinoma, melanoma, mesothelioma and choriocarcinoma are known as well.
Salivary gland carcinomas arguably represent the most heterogeneous group of tumors of any tissue in the body. The main four histopathologic types are: (1) mucoepidermoid carcinoma (2) adenoid cystic carcinoma (which has three histologic types: cribriform, tubular, and solid), (3) adenocarcinoma which includes acinic cell carcinoma, polymorphous low-grade adenocarcinoma, Sebaceous Lymphadenocarcinoma, adenocarcinoma not otherwise specified (NOS), Mucinous adenocarcinoma, and cystadenocarcinoma; (4) salivary duct carcinoma. In addition, there is an adenosquamous carcinoma, lymphoepithelial carcinoma, epithelial–myoepithelial carcinoma, basal cell adenocarcinoma, sebaceous carcinoma, oncocytic carcinoma, myoepithelial carcinoma, and clear cell carcinoma of the salivary glands NOS (hyalinizing clear cell carcinoma). In addition to the carcinomas, there are some adenomas, including carcinoma ex-pleomorphic adenoma, pleomorphic salivary adenoma, canalicular adenoma, oxyphilic adenoma, papillary cystadenoma, lymphadenoma, sebaceous adenoma, basal cell adenoma, and ductal cystadenoma. There are two ductal papillomas: inverted ductal papilloma and intraductal papilloma. There is also an assortment of perinatal salivary gland tumors. There are a group of haematolymphoid salivary Tumors: Hodgkin lymphoma, Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma and extranodal marginal zone B-cell lymphoma. In addition, there is a salivary haemangioma, warthin tumor, salivary carcinosarcoma, sialadenoma papilliferum, oncocytoma, and myoepithelioma of the salivary glands, Low-Grade Cribriform Cystadenocarcinoma (LGCCC), and sialoblastoma.
Cancers of the Heart (including pericardium, valves, etc.) include a wide range of primary cardiac sarcomas, including angiosarcomas, undifferentiated sarcomas, osteosarcomas, fibrosarcomas, malignant fibrous sarcomas, histiocytomas, leiomyosarcomas, myxosarcomas, synovial sarcomas, neurofibrosarcomas, rhabdomyosarcomas, reticulum cell sarcomas, desmoplastic small round cell tumors, and liposarcomas. Primary heart tumors also include atrial myxoma, rhabdomyoma, papillary fibroelastoma of the endocardium, and teratoma. There is also Purkinje cell hamartoma of the conduction tissue. In the Pericardium, there is also malignant schwannoma, aberrant synoviosarcoma, neurofibroma and aberrant thymoma. Secondary tumors of the heart are more common, and can arrive by many pathways. For example, bronchogenic carcinoma can arrive by direct extension or by a combination of lymphatic and hematogenous dissemination. breast, lung and esophagus carcinomas, hodgkin and non-hodgkin lymphomas, melanomas, mesothelioma, renal cell carcinoma, leukemias, Kaposi sarcoma and osteosarcomas are the most common forms, but there are many more.
Odontogenic tumors are cancers of the jaw derived from primordial tooth-forming tissues. The epithelial tumors include squamous odontogenic tumor, adenomatoid odontogenic tumor, calcifying epithelial odontogenic tumor (Pindborg tumor), and ameloblastoma. And adamantinoma and adamantinomatous craniopharyngioma are included here as well. The mixed odontogenic tumors include ameloblastic fibro-odontoma, and ameloblastic fibroma. The mesenchymal odontogenic tumors include cementoblastoma, and odontogenic myxoma. There is also ameloblastic fibrosarcoma, granular cell ameloblastic fibroma, ameloblastic sarcoma, malignant ameloblastoma, ameloblastic carcinoma, clear cell odontogenic carcinoma, odontoameloblastoma and squamous odontogenic tumors.
Cancers of the oral cavity and oropharynx, including the tongue is most commonly squamous cell carcinoma and Verrucous carcinoma. There are also lymphomas of the tonsils and base of the tongue, Nasopharyngeal carcinoma (which exists in three subtypes), as well as neurofibroma, schwannoma and rhabdomyoma of the mouth. In addition, HPV-positive oropharyngeal cancer is now considered a distinct disease entity. Salivary gland cancers and odontogenic tumors are discussed separately above.
Cancers of the lymph glands are of course the lymphomas. There are also carcinomas of the lymph nodes, including large cell carcinoma of thelymph nodes, metastatic squamous cell carcinoma of the lymph nodes, primary neuroendocrine carcinoma of the lymph nodes and Merkel cell carcinoma of the lymph nodes. There is also generalized reticulum cell sarcoma of the lymph nodes, Kaposi's sarcoma of the lymph nodes and lymph node melanoma.
Cancers of the adrenal glands include adrenocortical carcinoma, pheochromocytoma, adrenal neuroblastoma, and adrenal ganglioneuroma.
Cancer of the eye is a very loose category, as the set of cancers involved depends very much on which structure of the eye or its adnexa is involved. Choroidal tumors include choroidal melanoma, ciliary body melanoma choroidal osteoma and metastatic choroidal tumors, including tumors from the lung, breast, prostate, kidney, thyroid and blood. Eyelid tumors include basal cell carcinoma, malignant melanoma of the eyelid, sebaceous carcinoma of the eyelid and squamous carcinoma of the eyelid. Iris tumors include iris melanoma, malignant iris melanocytoma, and anterior uveal metastasis, most commonly from breast, lung, prostate, skin, kidney, colon and thyroid. Optic nerve tumors include juxtapapillary choroidal melanoma (choroidal melanoma affecting the optic nerve), circumpapillary metastasis with optic neuropathy, and optic nerve melanocytoma. Retinal tumors include retinal pigment epithelium tumors, and retinoblastoma. Conjunctival tumors are quite varied, and include conjunctival kaposi's sarcoma, epibulbar dermoid, lymphoma of the conjunctiva, pigmented conjunctival tumors (a malignant melanoma), and squamous carcinoma (including intraepithelial neoplasia of the conjunctiva). Infiltrative intraocular tumors include chronic lymphocytic leukemia, infiltrative choroidopathy and intraocular lymphoma. Orbital tumors include adenoid cystic carcinoma of the lacrimal gland, lymphangioma of the orbit, orbital pseudotumor, and orbital rhabdomyosarcoma. Optic nerve gliomas are mentioned above in cancers of the brain.
Cervical cancers. There are many different categories and sub-categories of cervical cancers. The majority of cervical cancers are Squamous Cell Carcinomas. These come in numerous types: large cell nonkeratinizing type; large cell keratinizing type; basaloid; verrucous; warty; papillary; lymphoepithelioma-like; and squamotransitional, Early invasive (microinvasive) squamous cell carcinoma; Squamous intraepithelial neoplasia (including Cervical intraepithelial neoplasia and Squamous cell carcinoma in situ). There are also a variety of adenocarcinomas, the most important of which are the mucinous adenocarcinoma, which include the endocervical, intestinal, signet-ring cell, minimal deviation, and villoglandular. There is also endometrioid adenocarcinoma, clear cell adenocarcinoma, serous adenocarcinoma, mesonephric adenocarcinoma, Early invasive adenocarcinoma, and adenocarcinoma in situ. In addition, there are neuroendocrine carcinomas, divided into Small Cell, large cell, classical carcinoid and atypical carcinoid. Other epithelial tumors include adenosquamous carcinoma, mixed adenosquamous carcinomas, which can be either well-differentiated or poorly differentiated, the latter including glassy cell carcinoma, adenoid cystic carcinoma, adenoid basal carcinoma and undifferentiated carcinoma. There are also some mixed carcinoma with signet-ring cells, and other types of other poorly differentiated mixed carcinomas. This group includes tumors sometimes called apudomas or argyrophil cell carcinomas. There are also an assortment of mesenchymal tumors of the cervix, including leiomyosarcoma; endometrioid stromal sarcoma, low grade; undifferentiated endocervical sarcoma; sarcoma botryoides; alveolar soft part sarcoma, angiosarcoma of the cervix, malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor of the cervix; cervical leiomyoma; and rhabdomyoma of the cervix. There are also some mixed epithelial and mesenchymal tumors, including carcinosarcoma (malignant müllerian mixed tumor), adenosarcoma, Wilms tumor, typical and atypical polypoid adenomyoma, and papillary adenofibroma of the cervix. There are also melanocytic tumors, including primary malignant melanoma of the cervix and blue naevus of the cervix. There are also germ cell type tumors, including yolk sac tumor, dermoid cyst, and mature cystic teratoma of the cervix. There is also primary choriocarcinoma of the cervix, which does not fit well into any category. There are also numerous cancers secondary to the cervix.
Gestational Trophoblastic Neoplasia is cancer of the placenta; it actually derives from the conceptus rather than from the pregnant woman. It has three different forms: choriocarcinoma, placental site trophoblastic tumor, epithelioid trophoblastic tumor.
Cancer of the throat is a loose term, depending on the particular structure. Cancers of the oropharynx are discussed above in cancers of the oral cavity. Hypopharyngeal cancer is usually a form of squamous cell carcinoma, including basaloid squamous cell carcinoma, superficial spreading cancer, sebaceous cancer, adenosquamous cancer, and signet-ring and verrucous types. Less common forms of hypopharyngeal cancer include adenocarcinoma, lymphoma, and sarcoma. Nasopharyngeal cancer is usually a carcinoma, and is commonly devided into three types: keratinizing squamous cell carcinoma, non-keratinizing carcinoma, and undifferentiated carcinoma. There are also rhabdomyosarcomas and lymphomas as well.
Cancer of the thymus is normal a carcinoma, called thymoma, including Type C, also called thymic carcinoma, and a clear cell carcinoma of the thymus. There are also a series of germ cell tumors of the thymus as well as both Hodgkin and non-Hodgkin lymphomas. There are also carcinoid tumors of the Kulchitsky cells.
Fallopian Tube Cancer most commonly takes the form of a papillary serous adenocarcinoma. Thee are also leiomyosarcomas (arising from smooth muscle in the fallopian tubes), squamous cell carcinoma, choriocarcinoma, and transitional cell carcinomas. Secondary cancers are more common, and come from the ovaries, the endometrium, the GI tract, the peritoneum, and the breast.
Bladder cancers. Most cases of bladder cancers are transitional cell (urothelial) carcinoma, which includes non-invasive papillary urothelial carcinoma, flat urothelial carcinoma in situ (CIS), superficially invasive urothelial carcinoma, and muscle invasive tumors. Adenocarcinomas of the bladder include Primary Adenocarcinoma (urachal and non-urachal), Prostatic adenocarcinoma, Gastro-intestinal adenocarcinomas and Clear cell carcinoma. Squamous cell carcinomas include Verrucous carcinomas, and a secondary squamous cell carcinoma of the bladder, from the cervix. Small cell carcinomas include Primary small cell carcinoma of the bladder and the secondary small cell carcinoma ('reserve cell carcinoma') of the lung. Lymphomas include the primary lymphomas (Low grade B-cell lymphoma of MALT type, High grade B-cell lymphoma, and T-cell lymphoma), as well as secondary lymphomas, including mantle cell lymphomas. Melanomas include Primary Malignant melanoma of the bladder, and secondary ones. The sarcomas of the bladder are leiomyosarcoma, osteosarcoma and rhabdomyosarcoma. There is also a primary primitive neuroectodermal tumour (PNET) of the bladder, Paraganglioma (which can metastasize), nephrogenic adenoma, metastatic renal cell carcinoma of the bladder, and both primary and secondary (from the uterus) choriocarcinoma of the bladder.
Cancers of the gallbladder are most commonly adenocarcinomas, including non-papillary adenocarcinoma, papillary adenocarcinoma, and mucinous adenocarcinoma. There is also squamous cell, adenosquamous, and oat cell carcinoma, of the gallbladder. Primary non-Hodgkin's lymphoma of the gallbladder, exists in both MALT and non-MALT forms. Primary neuroendocrine tumors (NETs) of the gallbladder can be of either large-cell or small-cell type. Primary gallbladder sarcoma (PGBS) include Leiomyosarcomas, myxofibrosarcomas, epithelioid angiosarcomas, and botryoid embryonal rhabdomyosarcomas. There is also primary malignant melanoma of the gall bladder, although secondary melanoma of the gallbladder is much more common.
This is not an exhaustive list; however, details most of the many diseases included in the full scope of "cancer” of dependent claims 48 and 49.
The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic or preventative regimen on its face for the full scope of cancer, and of course, for the full scope of any disease, disorder, or infection, as presently claimed.
(d) Level of one of ordinary skill in the art - The artisans using applicant’s method would be a collaborative team of synthetic chemists and/or health practitioners, possessing commensurate degree level and/or skill in the art, as well as several years of professional experience.
The level of skill in the art is high; however, due to the unpredictability in the pharmaceutical art, it is noted that each embodiment of the invention is required to be individually assessed for physiological activity by in vitro or in vivo screening to determine which antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine exhibit the desired pharmacological activity and which diseases would benefit from this activity.
Many mechanisms have been proposed over the decades as methods of treating and preventing the assorted cancers generally. Cytotoxic agents could be applied directly to the tumors cells, directly killing them. Immunotherapy involves stimulating the patient's immune system to attack the cancer cells, either by immunization of the patient, in which case the patient's own immune system is trained to recognize tumor cells as targets, or by the administration of therapeutic antibodies as drugs, so the patient's immune system is recruited to destroy tumor cells by the therapeutic antibodies. Another approach would be to increase the amount or activity of the body’s tumor suppressor genes, e.g. p53, PTEN, APC and CD95, which can for example activate DNA repair proteins, suppress the Akt/PKB signaling pathway, or initiate apoptosis of cancer cells. The angiogenesis inhibitor strategy was based on cutting off the blood supply that growing tumors need by shutting off the growth of new blood vessels by, for example, suppressing proliferation of endothelial cells or inducing apoptosis of endothelial cells. There is also the cancer stem cell paradigm, which hypothesizes that cancer could be treated generally, either by targeting the cancer stem cells themselves, or by targeting the epithelial-to-mesenchymal transition which supposedly generates the cancer stem cells. Many of these approaches --- and there have been others as well --- have produced anti-cancer drugs. However, despite high hopes for success, and a plausible theory why these should work for cancers generally, none of these approaches have ever produced a drug or combination of antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine which come anywhere near such a goal.
Specifically, the prior art recognizes that there never has been a antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine capable of treating and preventing all cancers generally. “The cancer therapy art remains highly unpredictable, and no example exists for efficacy of a single product against tumors generally.” (<http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/dapp/1pecba.htm#7> ENABLEMENT DECISION TREE, Example F, situation 1). A similar statement appears at In re Application of Hozumi et al., 226 USPQ 353: “In spite of the vast expenditure of human and capital resources in recent years, no one drug has been found which is effective in treating all types of cancer. Cancer is not a simple disease, nor is it even a single disease, but a complex of a multitude of different entities, each behaving in a different way”. There are compounds that treat a modest range of cancers, but no one has ever been able to figure out how to get a compound to be effective against cancer generally, or even a majority of cancers.
The attempts to find antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine to treat/prevent the various cancers arguably constitute the single most massive enterprise in all of pharmacology. This has not resulted in finding any treatment for tumors generally. Indeed, the existence of such a "silver bullet" is contrary to our present understanding in oncology. This is because it is now understood that there is no “master switch” for cancers generally; cancers arise from a bewildering variety of differing mechanisms. Even the most broadly effective antitumor agents are only effective against a small fraction of the vast number of different cancers known. This is true in part because cancers arise from a wide variety of sources, primarily a wide variety of failures of the body's cell growth regulatory mechanisms, but also such external factors such as viruses (an estimated at least 20% are of viral origin e.g. Human papillomavirus, EBV, Hepatitis B and C, HHV-8, HTLV-1 and other retroviruses, and quite possibly Merkel cell polyomavirus, and there is some evidence that CMV is a causative agent in glioblastoma), exposure to chemicals such as tobacco tars, excess alcohol consumption (which causes hepatic cirrhosis, an important cause of HCC), ionizing radiation, and unknown environment factors.
Accordingly, there is substantive “reason for one skilled in the art to question the objective truth of the statement of utility or its scope” (In re Langer, 183 USPQ 288, 297).
Similarly, In re Novak, 134 USPQ 335, 337-338, says “unless one with ordinary skill in the art would accept those allegations as obviously valid and correct, it is proper for the examiner to ask for evidence which substantiates them.” There is no such evidence in this case. Likewise, In re Cortright, 49 USPQ2d 1464, states: “Moreover, we have not been shown that one of ordinary skill would necessarily conclude from the information expressly disclosed by the written description that the active ingredient” does what the specification surmises that it does. That is exactly the case here. Even if applicants’ assertion that cancer in general could be treated with these compounds were plausible--- which it is not ---, that would not suffice, as was stated in Rasmusson v. SmithKline Beecham Corp., 75 USPQ2d 1297, 1301: “If mere plausibility were the test for enablement under section 112, applicants could obtain patent rights to “inventions” consisting of little more than respectable guesses as to the likelihood of their success.”
Different types of cancers affect different organs and have different methods of growth and harm to the body, and different vulnerabilities. The skill thus depends on the particular cancer involved. There are some cancers where the chemotherapy skill level is high and there are multiple successful chemotherapeutic treatments. The mechanism in these situations, however, is not necessarily the same as is alleged for these antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokines.
One skilled in the art knows that chemotherapy of brain tumors is especially difficult. This is because 1) the blood-brain barrier, which is often intact in parts or all of a brain tumor, will block out many drugs, as it is the purpose of the blood-brain barrier to protect the brain from alien chemicals, and 2) CNS tumors are characterized by marked heterogeneity, which greatly decreases vulnerability to chemotherapy. As a result, many categories of CNS tumors simply have no chemotherapy available. These include, generally, hemangioblastomas, meningiomas, craniopharyngiomas, acoustic neuromas, pituitary adenomas, optic nerve gliomas, glomus jugulare tumors and chordomas, to name just some. With regard to gliomas, GBM is considered untreatable; no effective agents have emerged for the treatment of GBM, despite 20 years of enrolling patients in clinical trials. It is radiation and surgery which are used for low grade gliomas (e.g. pilocytic astrocytoma and diffuse astrocytomas), as no drug has been found effective. There is no drug treatment established as effective for optic nerve gliomas or gangliogliomas. Indeed, very few gliomas of any type are treated with pharmaceuticals; it is one of the categories of cancer that is the least responsive to drugs.
Cartilage tumors do not respond to chemotherapy, nor, generally, do cancerous teratomas. Of the thyroid cancers, only one (anaplastic thyroid cancer) can be treated with anticancer agents. The other are treated with radioactivity, surgery, or thyroid suppression hormones. Lymphomas of the stomach are not commonly treated with anti-cancer agents per se, but instead, surgery or radiation and antibiotic therapy (e.g. amoxicillin, metronidazole, bismuth, omeprazole) are the primary treatments. Neuroendocrine tumors of the cervix generally do not respond to chemotherapy. A number of sarcomas, including alveolar soft part sarcoma (ASPS), retroperitoneal sarcoma, most liposarcomas, and the assorted chondrosarcomas, are generally considered not to respond to chemotherapy; no chemotherapeutic agent has been established as effective. Aggressive NK cell leukemia is considered to be untreatable with pharmaceuticals. Myxoma of the heart (atrial myxoma) is the most common primary cardiac tumor and has no chemotherapy; excision is the only treatment. Chemotherapy of spleen tumors is rarely even attempted, and no drug has been established as effective for any primary or secondary splenic tumor types. Many cerebral metastases, such as those from non-small-cell lung cancer and melanoma, are not chemosensitive and will not respond to chemotherapy. Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC or hepatoma) is, in humans, possibly the most prevalent solid tumor and in certain parts of the world is the most common cancer; it has long been understood as a chemotherapy-resistant tumor, with only very recently, some success seen with the Tyrosine protein kinase inhibitor Sorafenib. Metastatic esophageal cancer, and malignant melanoma of the esophagus do not respond to chemotherapy.
It is important to note that tumors can need to be treated quite differently even though they are tumors of the same organ. For example, the drugs used most often to treat Wilms tumor, the most common malignant tumor of the kidneys in children, are actinomycin D and vincristine. Such drugs are never used with clear cell renal carcinoma, which is treated, although without much success, with Immunotherapy using the cytokines interleukin-2 and interferon-alpha. However, such immunotherapy has never been established as effective in non-clear cell RCC forms such as papillary renal cell carcinoma. Despite strenuous efforts over a period of decades, no chemotherapeutic agent has ever been found effective against this cancer. Cancers of the stomach can be lymphomas, GISTs, carcinoid tumors, carcinomas, or soft tissue sarcomas, and for a single agent to be effective against all or even most of these categories would be contrary to what is known in oncology.
(f-g) Amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples The only direction or guidance present in the instant specification is the listing of diseases applicant considers as treatable and preventable by the claimed compounds.
There are absolutely no working examples present for the prevention of any cancer, as claimed.
Test assays and procedures are not provided in the specification and the disclosure does not provide how the in vitro data correlates to treatment or prevention of any disease. The specification does not provide adequate correlation for the treatment and prevention of the broad scope of disorders claimed.
Pharmacological activity in general is a very unpredictable area. Note that in cases involving physiological activity such as the instant case, “the scope of enablement obviously varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved.” See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
Furthermore, there is no evidence of record, which would enable the skilled artisan in the identification of the people who have the potential of becoming afflicted with the numerous diseases/disorders or conditions claimed herein. That a single compound or combination of antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine can be used to treat all diseases/disorders and conditions embraced by the claim is an incredible finding for which Applicant has not provided supporting evidence. Applicant has not provided any competent evidence or disclosed tests that are highly predictive for the pharmaceutical use for treating any or all of the diseases/disorders or conditions by administering the instant claimed compounds.
The direction provided is very limited. The applicants have not provided any chemical or biological data and/or testing results of any of the antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine to treat/prevent the entirety of conditions encompassed by this language. In addition, no definition within the specification to any extent as to what is encompassed by the claim language in the current application. An applicant must clearly identify these things.
The specification does not show any examples where antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine of the claims were used to treat and prevent the full scope of cancers or diseases/disorders/infections as set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2164.02 (“Compliance with the enablement requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph, does not turn on whether an example is disclosed … Lack of a working example, however, is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.”). There is a lack of “reasonable correlation” to the vast numbers of diseases encompassed by the full scope of ‘proliferative disorders’ and the entirety of claimed compounds. See MPEP 2164.02 (“The issue of “correlation” is related to the issue of the presence or absence of working examples. “Correlation” as used herein refers to the relationship between in vitro … assays and a disclosed or a claimed method of use. An in vitro … example, in the specification, in effect, constitutes a “working example” if that example “correlates with a disclosed or claimed method invention. If there is no correlation, then the examples do not constitute “working examples.” … For a claimed genus [e.g., proliferative diseases], representative examples together with a statement applicable to the genus as a whole will ordinarily be sufficient if one skilled in the art … would expect the claimed genus could be used in the manner without undue experimentation”). While Applicants do indeed make various statements in the specification that their claimed antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokine will effectively treat/prevent the genus of diseases associated encompassed by the claims, such is not supported by examples. That is, the limited testing set forth in the specification does not constitute a “working example” within the meaning of MPEP 2164.02 let alone a “representative” set of examples that would be required the describe this enormous genus.
While enabling for a method of treating a Sirt6-related disease, the specification does not reasonably provide enablement for prevention of the full scope of diseases, disorders, or infections, as claimed.
(h) Quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure - The quantity of experimentation needed is undue experimentation. One of skill in the art would need to determine what diseases, disorders, or conditions out of all diseases, disorders, or conditions would be benefited and would furthermore then have to determine which of the claimed antigenic molecule/photosensitizing agent/cytokines in the instant invention would provide treatment and prevention of the diseases.
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would be faced with an undue amount of experimentation to use the pharmaceutical compositions for the full scope of the claimed intended uses.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. {In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)}.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors and In re Fisher (CCPA 1970) discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, a person of skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to test which diseases can be treated by the compounds encompassed in the instant claims, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
9. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “R1 and R2 are the same or different and each are one of…unsubstituted or substituted heteroaryl of 5 to 10 atoms…,” and the claim also recites “including one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S…” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 1 recites the broad recitation “Ar is unsubstituted or substituted (C5-C10)aryl or unsubstituted or substituted heteroaryl of 5 to 10 atoms…,” and the claim also recites “including one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S…” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitationThe claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
The rejection may be overcome by replacing ‘including’ with ‘having’ in all instances.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claim(s) 1 and 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by KR10-2022-0025828.
KR10-2022-0025828 teaches anticipatory compounds on page 37, examples: 72, 75, 76:
wherein in Chemical Formula 1, compound 75: A1 is S, R1 is cyclopropyl, R2 is t-butyl, A2 is CH, n is 0, Ar is substituted pyridine, R3 is alkylR3-1 is -C(CH3)2-C(OH).
Regarding the limitations in claims 5-12 “for treating or preventing a cancer disease…” “a health functional food composition for ameliorating or preventing a cancer disease” “a reagent composition for suppressing expression of transforming growth factor beta”– it is noted that these claims merely recite properties of the anticipated compounds. “Products of an identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all of the claimed compositions have the claimed properties, these limitations are also anticipated. Since the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all of the claimed compounds have the claimed properties and no additional components are claimed (such as an excipient, adjuvant, carrier, etc.), these limitations are also anticipated. Therefore, the claims are anticipated by the aforementioned compounds of Chemical Formula 1, capable of being used with the claimed intended uses, as described herein.
MPEP 2111.02(II) provides the following instruction for interpreting the preamble of a claim: “During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim.” If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Since the compounds taught by the prior art do not have any structural difference from the claimed compounds and anticipated all limitations of the claims, then prior art compounds are capable of the intended uses, those limitations are also anticipated, as discussed herein.
Conclusion
13. No claims are allowed.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMANTHA L SHTERENGARTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623