DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract is objected to for beginning with a phrase which can be implied. See “Provided is” in line 1. See MPEP 608.01(b). The Examiner notes simply removing this phrase and beginning the abstract with --A coupler…-- would place the abstract in proper form and overcome the objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,172,369 (Hayes).
Regarding claim 1, Hayes discloses a coupler (14; see Figures 1-6), comprising:
a sleeve (20) provided with a chamber (74, 76);
a spacing portion (72) provided in the sleeve to divide the chamber into a first accommodation cavity (74) and a second accommodation cavity (76), the spacing portion having a first groove (80) opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove (82) opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (see Figure 3);
a first inner core (16) inserted into the first accommodation cavity and embedded in the first groove (at portions 28 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driving shaft (10); and
a second inner core (18) inserted into the second accommodation cavity and embedded in the second groove (at portions 46 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driven shaft (12);
wherein the sleeve and the spacing portion are integrally formed of an elastically deformable material (see column 2, lines 30-33);
wherein the first inner core includes a first protruding portion (28) embedded in the first groove, and the second inner core includes a second protruding portion (46) embedded in the second groove (see Figure 3);
wherein the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion at least partially overlap with each other in the circumferential direction of the sleeve and are separated from each other by the spacing portion so that power is transmitted from the first inner core to the second inner core through the spacing portion (see Figure 3 and column 1, line 59, through column 2, line 49).
Regarding claim 2, Hayes discloses the spacing portion (72) has a plurality of first grooves (80) and a plurality of second grooves (82) that are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Hayes discloses in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20), the first groove (80) has a first side surface (at 80 in Figure 3), and the second groove (82) has a second side surface (at 82 in Figure 3), both the first side surface and the second side surface being flat surfaces (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Hayes discloses each of the first side surface (at 80 in Figure 3) and the second side surface (at 82 in Figure 3) extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (20; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Hayes discloses each of a periphery of an outer end of the first inner core (16) and a periphery of an outer end of the second inner core (18) has a notch, and an end portion of the sleeve (20) is provided with a boss facing towards a central axis of the sleeve, the boss being embedded in the notch (see Figure 3 and annotated Figure 1 below).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 3 of Hayes
Regarding claim 10, Hayes discloses an air-conditioner indoor unit (10, 12, 14; see Figures 1-6 and NOTE below), comprising:
a coupler (14), comprising:
a sleeve (20) provided with a chamber (74, 76);
a spacing portion (72) provided in the sleeve to divide the chamber into a first accommodation cavity (74) and a second accommodation cavity (76), the spacing portion having a first groove (80) opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove (82) opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (see Figure 3);
a first inner core (16) inserted into the first accommodation cavity and embedded in the first groove (at portions 28 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driving shaft (10); and
a second inner core (18) inserted into the second accommodation cavity and embedded in the second groove (at portions 46 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driven shaft (12);
wherein the sleeve and the spacing portion are integrally formed of an elastically deformable material (see column 2, lines 30-33);
wherein the first inner core includes a first protruding portion (28) embedded in the first groove, and the second inner core includes a second protruding portion (46) embedded in the second groove (see Figure 3);
wherein the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion at least partially overlap with each other in the circumferential direction of the sleeve and are separated from each other by the spacing portion so that power is transmitted from the first inner core to the second inner core through the spacing portion (see Figure 3 and column 1, line 59, through column 2, line 49).
NOTE: Given claim 10 only requires the air-conditioner indoor unit comprise a coupler having a sleeve, spacing portion, first inner core, second inner core, etc. and not any additional HVAC related structure, the structure of Hayes anticipates the claim.
Regarding claim 11, Hayes discloses an air conditioner (see Figures 1-6 and NOTE 2 below), comprising:
an air-conditioner indoor unit (10, 12, 14), comprising:
a coupler (14; see Figures 1-6), comprising:
a sleeve (20) provided with a chamber (74, 76);
a spacing portion (72) provided in the sleeve to divide the chamber into a first accommodation cavity (74) and a second accommodation cavity (76), the spacing portion having a first groove (80) opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove (82) opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (see Figure 3);
a first inner core (16) inserted into the first accommodation cavity and embedded in the first groove (at portions 28 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driving shaft (10); and
a second inner core (18) inserted into the second accommodation cavity and embedded in the second groove (at portions 46 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driven shaft (12);
wherein the sleeve and the spacing portion are integrally formed of an elastically deformable material (see column 2, lines 30-33);
wherein the first inner core includes a first protruding portion (28) embedded in the first groove, and the second inner core includes a second protruding portion (46) embedded in the second groove (see Figure 3);
wherein the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion at least partially overlap with each other in the circumferential direction of the sleeve and are separated from each other by the spacing portion so that power is transmitted from the first inner core to the second inner core through the spacing portion (see Figure 3 and column 1, line 59, through column 2, line 49).
NOTE 2: Given claim 11 only requires an air conditioner having air-conditioner indoor unit comprise a coupler having a sleeve, spacing portion, first inner core, second inner core, etc. and not any additional HVAC related structure, the structure of Hayes anticipates the claim.
Regarding claim 12, Hayes discloses the spacing portion (72) has a plurality of first grooves (80) and a plurality of second grooves (82) that are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Hayes discloses in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20), the first groove (80) has a first side surface (at 80 in Figure 3), and the second groove (82) has a second side surface (at 82 in Figure 3), both the first side surface and the second side surface being flat surfaces (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Hayes discloses each of the first side surface (at 80 in Figure 3) and the second side surface (at 82 in Figure 3) extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (20; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Hayes discloses each of a periphery of an outer end of the first inner core (16) and a periphery of an outer end of the second inner core (18) has a notch, and an end portion of the sleeve (20) is provided with a boss facing towards a central axis of the sleeve, the boss being embedded in the notch (see Figure 3 and annotated Figure 1 below).
Regarding claim 20, Hayes discloses the first groove (80) has a first side surface, the second groove (82) has a second side surface, and a groove wall having a predetermined thickness is formed between the first side surface and the second side surface (see annotated Figure 2 below), the first protruding portion (28) transmitting power to the second protruding portion (46) by abutting against the groove wall (see Figure 3 and column 2, lines 30-59).
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 4 of Hayes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes in view of US 7,658,678 (Kneeshaw).
Regarding claim 6, Hayes discloses the coupler according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose the sleeve (20) is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve.
Kneeshaw teaches a sleeve (14) is provided with a first recess (formed between respective portions 15) and a protrusion (15), and a first inner core (12a) and a second inner core (12b) are provided with a second recess (24) and protrusion (22), the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve (see Figure 1). Kneeshaw teaches this structure provides effective load sharing to provide maximum load carrying capacity (column 6, lines 25-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of Hayes such that the sleeve is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve, as taught in Kneeshaw, in order to provide effective load sharing to provide maximum load carrying capacity.
Regarding claim 7, Kneeshaw teaches a plurality of recesses (formed between respective portions 15) and a plurality of protrusions (15) are provided, the plurality of recesses being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20), and the plurality of protrusions being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kneeshaw teaches each of the recess (formed between respective portions 15) and the protrusion (15) extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Hayes discloses the air conditioner according to claim 11, but does not expressly disclose the sleeve (20) is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve.
Kneeshaw teaches a sleeve (14) is provided with a first recess (formed between respective portions 15) and a protrusion (15), and a first inner core (12a) and a second inner core (12b) are provided with a second recess (24) and protrusion (22), the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve (see Figure 1). Kneeshaw teaches this structure provides effective load sharing to provide maximum load carrying capacity (column 6, lines 25-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of Hayes such that the sleeve is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve, as taught in Kneeshaw, in order to provide effective load sharing to provide maximum load carrying capacity.
Regarding claim 17, Kneeshaw teaches a plurality of recesses (formed between respective portions 15) and a plurality of protrusions (15) are provided, the plurality of recesses being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20), and the plurality of protrusions being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Kneeshaw teaches each of the recess (formed between respective portions 15) and the protrusion (15) extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (see Figure 1).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the following alternative rejection(s) is made:
Claims 10-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes in view of CN 107246444 (Tang; the citations of which are taken from Applicant’s provided abstract on September 20, 2024).
Regarding claim 10, Hayes discloses a coupler (14), comprising:
a sleeve (20) provided with a chamber (74, 76);
a spacing portion (72) provided in the sleeve to divide the chamber into a first accommodation cavity (74) and a second accommodation cavity (76), the spacing portion having a first groove (80) opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove (82) opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (see Figure 3);
a first inner core (16) inserted into the first accommodation cavity and embedded in the first groove (at portions 28 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driving shaft (10); and
a second inner core (18) inserted into the second accommodation cavity and embedded in the second groove (at portions 46 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driven shaft (12);
wherein the sleeve and the spacing portion are integrally formed of an elastically deformable material (see column 2, lines 30-33);
wherein the first inner core includes a first protruding portion (28) embedded in the first groove, and the second inner core includes a second protruding portion (46) embedded in the second groove (see Figure 3);
wherein the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion at least partially overlap with each other in the circumferential direction of the sleeve and are separated from each other by the spacing portion so that power is transmitted from the first inner core to the second inner core through the spacing portion (see Figure 3 and column 1, line 59, through column 2, line 49).
Hayes does not explicitly disclose the coupling as part of an air-conditioner indoor unit.
Tang teaches it is known to provide such flexible sleeve-type couplings in combination with air-conditioner indoor units in order to ensure a longer service life of the unit (see Abstract, final three lines). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the coupler of Hayes in combination with an air-conditioner indoor unit, as Tang teaches it is known to provide such flexible sleeve-type couplings in combination with air-conditioner indoor units in order to ensure a longer service life of the unit.
Regarding claim 11, Hayes discloses a coupler (14; see Figures 1-6), comprising:
a sleeve (20) provided with a chamber (74, 76);
a spacing portion (72) provided in the sleeve to divide the chamber into a first accommodation cavity (74) and a second accommodation cavity (76), the spacing portion having a first groove (80) opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove (82) opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (see Figure 3);
a first inner core (16) inserted into the first accommodation cavity and embedded in the first groove (at portions 28 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driving shaft (10); and
a second inner core (18) inserted into the second accommodation cavity and embedded in the second groove (at portions 46 in Figure 3), and adapted to be connected to a driven shaft (12);
wherein the sleeve and the spacing portion are integrally formed of an elastically deformable material (see column 2, lines 30-33);
wherein the first inner core includes a first protruding portion (28) embedded in the first groove, and the second inner core includes a second protruding portion (46) embedded in the second groove (see Figure 3);
wherein the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion at least partially overlap with each other in the circumferential direction of the sleeve and are separated from each other by the spacing portion so that power is transmitted from the first inner core to the second inner core through the spacing portion (see Figure 3 and column 1, line 59, through column 2, line 49).
Hayes does not explicitly disclose the coupling as part of an air-conditioner unit of an air conditioner.
Tang teaches it is known to provide such flexible sleeve-type couplings in combination with air conditioners having air-conditioner indoor units in order to ensure a longer service life of the air conditioner (see Abstract, final three lines). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the coupler of Hayes in combination with an air-conditioner indoor unit, as Tang teaches it is known to provide such flexible sleeve-type couplings in combination with air conditioners having air-conditioner indoor units in order to ensure a longer service life of the air conditioner
Regarding claim 12, Hayes teaches the spacing portion (72) has a plurality of first grooves (80) and a plurality of second grooves (82) that are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Hayes teaches in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20), the first groove (80) has a first side surface (at 80 in Figure 3), and the second groove (82) has a second side surface (at 82 in Figure 3), both the first side surface and the second side surface being flat surfaces (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Hayes teaches each of the first side surface (at 80 in Figure 3) and the second side surface (at 82 in Figure 3) extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (20; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Hayes teaches each of a periphery of an outer end of the first inner core (16) and a periphery of an outer end of the second inner core (18) has a notch, and an end portion of the sleeve (20) is provided with a boss facing towards a central axis of the sleeve, the boss being embedded in the notch (see Figure 3 and annotated Figure 1 below).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hayes and Tang, and further in view of Kneeshaw.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hayes and Tang teaches the air conditioner according to claim 11, but does not expressly disclose the sleeve (20 of Hayes) is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve.
Kneeshaw teaches a sleeve (14) is provided with a first recess (formed between respective portions 15) and a protrusion (15), and a first inner core (12a) and a second inner core (12b) are provided with a second recess (24) and protrusion (22), the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve (see Figure 1). Kneeshaw teaches this structure provides effective load sharing to provide maximum load carrying capacity (column 6, lines 25-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of the combination of Hayes and Tang such that the sleeve is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve, as taught in Kneeshaw, in order to provide effective load sharing to provide maximum load carrying capacity.
Regarding claim 17, Kneeshaw teaches a plurality of recesses (formed between respective portions 15) and a plurality of protrusions (15) are provided, the plurality of recesses being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (20), and the plurality of protrusions being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Kneeshaw teaches each of the recess (formed between respective portions 15) and the protrusion (15) extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (see Figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the previous applied combinations have been fully considered and are persuasive. These rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure in the field of sleeve-type couplers.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
September 1, 2026