DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5 and 10-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107246444 A (Tang et al.) in view of US 2620640 A (Bales).
Regarding Claim 1 Tang et al. discloses A coupler ( 100), comprising: a sleeve ( Figure 6 element 10) provided with a chamber ( Figure 6 element 14) ; a spacing portion configured to be elastically deformable (Figure 6 element 15 is the spacing board and its integrally formed with the inner wall of the rubber flexible connecting sleeve 10 making it elastically deformable, Paragraphs 49 and 112 teach sleeve 10 is a rubber sleeve and Paragraph 111 teaches spacing board 15 is integrally formed with the inner wall making it elastically deformable) and provided in the sleeve to divide the chamber into a first accommodation cavity and a second accommodation cavity (Figure 6 element 15 shows its located at the middle of the chamber 14 dividing it into two side creating a first accommodation cavity and a second accommodation cavity), a first inner core ( Figure 6 element 20 is the shaft sleeve) inserted into the first accommodation cavity and adapted to be connected to a driving shaft (shaft inserted into element 20); and a second inner core ( Figure 6 element 20 ) inserted into the second accommodation cavity and adapted to be connected to a driven shaft (in the opposite side the is shaft inserted into element 20) but fails to disclose the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove.
However, Bales teaches a coupler having the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve ( Figures 1, 4 and 5 show element 33 with opposite channel portions 35 and spaces between them overlapping circumferentially)with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove (Figure 1 shows lugs 31 of member 26 and jaws of member 25 embedded into the opposite channel portion/spaces to transmit torque, Column 2 lines 40-55)
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to provide the coupler of Tang et al. with the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove as taught by Bales. Such modification would provide the benefit of increasing the connection between the coupler and the cores via multiple connecting points (i.e. protrusion of the cores and the grooves of the spacer) thus increasing the durability/stability of the coupler assembly.
Regarding Claim 2 Tang et al. in view Bales teach the coupler according to claim 1, and wherein Bales further teaches the spacing portion has a plurality of first grooves and a plurality of second grooves that are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (Figure 4 shows element 33 has a plurality of channel portions 25 and a plurality of spaces between the channel portions 35 that are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction).
Regarding Claim 3 Tang et al. in view Bales teach the coupler according to claim 1, and wherein Bales further teaches the circumferential direction of the sleeve, the first groove has a first side surface, and the second groove has a second side surface, both the first side surface and the second side surface being flat surfaces (Column 2 lines 45-48 teach the channel portions 35 each have parallel sides which are flat surfaces to closely revive and engage the flat sides of the opposing lugs and jaws).
Regarding Claim 4 Tang et al. in view Bales teach the coupler according to claim 3, and wherein Bales further teaches each of the first side surface and the second side surface extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (Figures 1 and 5 show the parallel sides of the channel portions 35 extending axially to receive the axially projecting lugs 31 and jaws, column 2 lines 40-45).
Regarding Claim 5 Tang et al. in view Bales teach the coupler according to claim 1, and wherein Tang et al. further teaches the sleeve is configured to be elastically deformable; and/or the sleeve and the spacing portion are integrally formed (Figure 6 shows the flexible sleeve 10 is a rubber sleeve and the spacing board 15 is integrally formed with the inner wall of the through hole 14 mentioned in paragraph 19).
Regarding Claim 10 Tang et al. discloses An air-conditioner indoor unit ( Claim 13), comprising: A coupler ( 100), comprising: a sleeve ( Figure 6 element 10) provided with a chamber ( Figure 6 element 14) ; a spacing portion configured to be elastically deformable (Figure 6 element 15 is the spacing board and its integrally formed with the inner wall of the rubber flexible connecting sleeve 10 making it elastically deformable, Paragraphs 49 and 112 teach sleeve 10 is a rubber sleeve and Paragraph 111 teaches spacing board 15 is integrally formed with the inner wall making it elastically deformable) and provided in the sleeve to divide the chamber into a first accommodation cavity and a second accommodation cavity (Figure 6 element 15 shows its located at the middle of the chamber 14 dividing it into two side creating a first accommodation cavity and a second accommodation cavity), a first inner core ( Figure 6 element 20 is the shaft sleeve) inserted into the first accommodation cavity and adapted to be connected to a driving shaft (shaft inserted into element 20); and a second inner core ( Figure 6 element 20 ) inserted into the second accommodation cavity and adapted to be connected to a driven shaft (in the opposite side the is shaft inserted into element 20) but fails to disclose the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove.
However, Bales teaches a coupler having the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve ( Figures 1, 4 and 5 show element 33 with opposite channel portions 35 and spaces between them overlapping circumferentially)with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove (Figure 1 shows lugs 31 of member 26 and jaws of member 25 embedded into the opposite channel portion/spaces to transmit torque, Column 2 lines 40-55)
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to provide the air conditioner indoor unit of Tang et al. with the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove as taught by Bales. Such modification would provide the benefit of increasing the connection between the coupler and the cores via multiple connecting points (i.e. protrusion of the cores and the grooves of the spacer) thus increasing the durability/stability of the coupler assembly.
Regarding Claim 11 Tang et al. discloses An air conditioner ( Claim 13), comprising: A coupler ( 100), comprising: a sleeve ( Figure 6 element 10) provided with a chamber ( Figure 6 element 14) ; a spacing portion configured to be elastically deformable (Figure 6 element 15 is the spacing board and its integrally formed with the inner wall of the rubber flexible connecting sleeve 10 making it elastically deformable, Paragraphs 49 and 112 teach sleeve 10 is a rubber sleeve and Paragraph 111 teaches spacing board 15 is integrally formed with the inner wall making it elastically deformable) and provided in the sleeve to divide the chamber into a first accommodation cavity and a second accommodation cavity (Figure 6 element 15 shows its located at the middle of the chamber 14 dividing it into two side creating a first accommodation cavity and a second accommodation cavity), a first inner core ( Figure 6 element 20 is the shaft sleeve) inserted into the first accommodation cavity and adapted to be connected to a driving shaft (shaft inserted into element 20); and a second inner core ( Figure 6 element 20 ) inserted into the second accommodation cavity and adapted to be connected to a driven shaft (in the opposite side the is shaft inserted into element 20) but fails to disclose the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove.
However, Bales teaches a coupler having the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve ( Figures 1, 4 and 5 show element 33 with opposite channel portions 35 and spaces between them overlapping circumferentially)with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove (Figure 1 shows lugs 31 of member 26 and jaws of member 25 embedded into the opposite channel portion/spaces to transmit torque, Column 2 lines 40-55)
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to provide the air conditioner of Tang et al. with the spacing portion having a first groove opened towards the first accommodation cavity and a second groove opened towards the second accommodation cavity, and the first groove and the second groove at least partially overlapping in a circumferential direction of the sleeve with the first inner core embedded in the first groove and the second inner core embedded in the second groove as taught by Bales. Such modification would provide the benefit of increasing the connection between the coupler and the cores via multiple connecting points (i.e. protrusion of the cores and the grooves of the spacer) thus increasing the durability/stability of the coupler assembly.
Regarding Claim 12 Tang et al. in view Bales teach the air conditioner according to claim 11 and wherein Bales further teaches the spacing portion has a plurality of first grooves and a plurality of second grooves that are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (Figure 4 shows element 33 has a plurality of channel portions 25 and a plurality of spaces between the channel portions 35 that are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction).
Regarding Claim 13 Tang et al. in view Bales teach the air conditioner according to claim 11 and wherein Bales further teaches the circumferential direction of the sleeve, the first groove has a first side surface, and the second groove has a second side surface, both the first side surface and the second side surface being flat surfaces (Column 2 lines 45-48 teach the channel portions 35 each have parallel sides which are flat surfaces to closely revive and engage the flat sides of the opposing lugs and jaws).
Regarding Claim 14 Tang et al. in view Bales teach the air conditioner according to claim 13 and wherein Bales further teaches each of the first side surface and the second side surface extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (Figures 1 and 5 show the parallel sides of the channel portions 35 extending axially to receive the axially projecting lugs 31 and jaws, column 2 lines 40-45).
Regarding Claim 15 Tang et al. in view Bales teach the air conditioner according to claim 11 and wherein Bales further teaches the sleeve is configured to be elastically deformable; and/or the sleeve and the spacing portion are integrally formed (Figure 6 shows the flexible sleeve 10 is a rubber sleeve and the spacing board 15 is integrally formed with the inner wall of the through hole 14 mentioned in paragraph 19).
Claims 6-9 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107246444 A (Tang et al.) in view of US 2620640 A (Bales) as applied to claims 1-5 and 10-15 above, and further in view of EP 0971142 A1 ( Clarke et al.).
Regarding Claim 6 Tang et al. in view of Bales teach the coupler according to claim 1 but fail to teach the sleeve is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve.
However, Clarke et al. teaches a sleeve (44) is provided with a first recess and a protrusion (Figures 3 4 and 6 show element 44 is provided with spaces between the teeth 56 on the inner periphery 52 and axially extending ribs or teeth 56 ) and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion ( Figure 4 shows the inner end pieces 41 and 43 provided with axially extending grooves 45 and 45’ and raised outer surfaces 47 and 47’ between the grooves ) , the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve ( Figures 4 and 4a show the teeth 56 are embedded to the grooves 45 and 45’ to securely transmit torque and prevent the sleeve body from slipping due to a ratcheting action in use).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to provide the coupler of Tang et al. in view of Bales with the sleeve is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve as taught by Clarke et al. Such modification would provide the benefit of securely hindering the inner cores from slipping or rotating relative to the outer sleeve during torque transmission.
Regarding Claim 7 Tang et al. in view of Bales in further view of Clarke et al. teach the coupler according to claim 6 and wherein Clarke et al. further teaches a plurality of recesses and a plurality of protrusions are provided ( Figures 3 4 and 6 show a plurality of spaces between the teeth 56 and a plurality of axially extending ribs or teeth 56 on the sleeve body 44 and a plurality of axially extending grooves 45 and 45’ and a plurality of raised outer surfaces 47 and 47’ between the grooves on the inner end pieces 41 and 43), the plurality of recesses being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve ( Figures 3 4 and 6 show the spaces between the teeth 56 and the grooves 45 and 45’ are arranged circumferentially at intervals around the inner periphery 52 ), and the plurality of protrusions being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve ( Figures 3 4 and 6 show the axially extending teeth 56 and the raised outer surfaces 47 and 47’ are arranged circumferentially at intervals around the inner periphery 52).
Regarding Claim 8 Tang et al. in view of Bales in further view of Clarke et al. teach the coupler according to claim 6 and wherein Clarke et al. further teaches each of the recess and the protrusion extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (Figures 3 4 and 6 show the recess in form of the empty spaces between the teeth 56 and the grooves 45 and 45’ extend in the axial direction of the sleeve 44 and the protrusions in the form of the axially extending teeth 56 and the raised outer surfaces 47 and 47’ extend in the axial direction of the sleeve 44).
Regarding Claim 9 Tang et al. in view of Bales in further view of Clarke et al. teach the coupler according to claim 1 and wherein Clarke et al. further teaches each of a periphery of an outer end of the first inner core and a periphery of an outer end of the second inner core has a notch ( Figure 4 shows the outer surfaces 47 and 47’ of the inner end pieces 41 and 43 have axially extending grooves 45 and 45’), and an end portion of the sleeve is provided with a boss facing towards a central axis of the sleeve ( Figures 3 and 4 show the inner periphery 52 of the sleeve 44 is provided with axially extending teeth 56 facing the central axis), the boss being embedded in the notch ( Figures 4 and 4a show the teeth 56 are formed to substantially mate with and are embedded into the grooves 45 and 45’).
Regarding Claim 16 Tang et al. in view of Bales teach the air conditioner according to claim 11 but fail to teach the sleeve is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve.
However, Clarke et al. teaches a sleeve (44) is provided with a first recess and a protrusion (Figures 3 4 and 6 show element 44 is provided with spaces between the teeth 56 on the inner periphery 52 and axially extending ribs or teeth 56 ) and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion ( Figure 4 shows the inner end pieces 41 and 43 provided with axially extending grooves 45 and 45’ and raised outer surfaces 47 and 47’ between the grooves ) , the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve ( Figures 4 and 4a show the teeth 56 are embedded to the grooves 45 and 45’ to securely transmit torque and prevent the sleeve body from slipping due to a ratcheting action in use).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to provide the air conditioner of Tang et al. in view of Bales with the sleeve is provided with a first recess and a protrusion, and the first inner core and the second inner core are provided with a second recess and protrusion, the protrusion being embedded in the recess to hinder the first inner core and the second inner core from rotating relative to the sleeve as taught by Clarke et al. Such modification would provide the benefit of securely hindering the inner cores from slipping or rotating relative to the outer sleeve during torque transmission.
Regarding Claim 17 Tang et al. in view of Bales in further view of Clarke et al. teach the air conditioner according to claim 16 and wherein Clarke et al. further teaches a plurality of recesses and a plurality of protrusions are provided ( Figures 3 4 and 6 show a plurality of spaces between the teeth 56 and a plurality of axially extending ribs or teeth 56 on the sleeve body 44 and a plurality of axially extending grooves 45 and 45’ and a plurality of raised outer surfaces 47 and 47’ between the grooves on the inner end pieces 41 and 43), the plurality of recesses being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve ( Figures 3 4 and 6 show the spaces between the teeth 56 and the grooves 45 and 45’ are arranged circumferentially at intervals around the inner periphery 52 ), and the plurality of protrusions being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve ( Figures 3 4 and 6 show the axially extending teeth 56 and the raised outer surfaces 47 and 47’ are arranged circumferentially at intervals around the inner periphery 52).
Regarding Claim 18 Tang et al. in view of Bales in further view of Clarke et al. teach the air conditioner according to claim 16 and wherein Clarke et al. further teaches each of the recess and the protrusion extends in an axial direction of the sleeve (Figures 3 4 and 6 show the recess in form of the empty spaces between the teeth 56 and the grooves 45 and 45’ extend in the axial direction of the sleeve 44 and the protrusions in the form of the axially extending teeth 56 and the raised outer surfaces 47 and 47’ extend in the axial direction of the sleeve 44).
Regarding Claim 19 Tang et al. in view of Bales in further view of Clarke et al. teach the air conditioner according to claim 11 and wherein Clarke et al. further teaches each of a periphery of an outer end of the first inner core and a periphery of an outer end of the second inner core has a notch ( Figure 4 shows the outer surfaces 47 and 47’ of the inner end pieces 41 and 43 have axially extending grooves 45 and 45’), and an end portion of the sleeve is provided with a boss facing towards a central axis of the sleeve ( Figures 3 and 4 show the inner periphery 52 of the sleeve 44 is provided with axially extending teeth 56 facing the central axis), the boss being embedded in the notch ( Figures 4 and 4a show the teeth 56 are formed to substantially mate with and are embedded into the grooves 45 and 45’).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-7658678-B2, US-3884049-A, US-6648763-B2, US-7883423-B2, US-8992334-B2, US-4228664-A, US-4172369-A, US-6342011-B1, US-5660591-A, US-20080171603-A1, CN-205036743-U US-3396556-A.
/A.H.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678