DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Also, please refer to US 20230084807, which also appears to read on the current independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/848,537 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because this instant application is broader in scope than the co-pending application listed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lee) (US 20220103741).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to: calculate distance information regarding a distance to a target irradiated with light including a predetermined pattern; [See Lee [0157-0171] Controller to extract depth information by a preset pattern comparison.]
construct an image on a basis of, among event signals output by an event-based sensor, the event signal output according to reflected light from the target; and [See Lee [0162-0164] Image received through the camera. Also, see 0295 and/or 0298, The camera sensor is an event sensor.]
calculate complementary information that complements the distance information, on a basis of a change in a shape of the predetermined pattern in the image. [See Lee [0162-0164] Extract depth information of the image received through the camera. Also, calculating a shift amount (i.e. Changed form, changed distance, changed direction, and the like) based on the pattern comparison.]
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lee discloses
the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the distance information based on an emission start time and a light reception time for the light. [See Lee [0157] a time of flight (ToF) scheme of extracting depth information on the basis of time during which light emitted from a light-emitting element is reflected to be returned, or any combination thereof.]
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lee discloses
wherein the complementary information is information indicating a moving direction of the target. [See Lee [0162-0164] Extract depth information of the image received through the camera. Also, calculating a shift amount (i.e. Changed form, changed distance, changed direction, and the like) based on the pattern comparison.]
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lee discloses
wherein the complementary information is information indicating a moving distance of the target. [See Lee [0162-0164] Extract depth information of the image received through the camera. Also, calculating a shift amount (i.e. Changed form, changed distance, changed direction, and the like) based on the pattern comparison.]
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lee discloses
wherein the predetermined pattern includes a figure, and wherein the difference includes at least one of a difference in a size and a difference in a position. [See Lee [Fig. 15 and/or 17] Patterns comprising of spots or crosses. Applicant’s published spec. para. 0027 states that “The light with the predetermined pattern has a pattern including a figure, and is, for example, a plurality of dot patterns arranged in a lattice manner, a plurality of line patterns arranged at regular intervals, or the like. By way of example, a plurality of dot patterns arranged in a lattice manner will hereinafter be described as an example”. Also, see 0163, calculating a shift amount regards the reflected/returned light with respect to the preset pattern (changed form, and the like) and/or 0310, depth image based on pattern shift, size, intensity and distribution of pattern.]
Regarding claim 6, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, see examiners rejection for claim 4 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, see examiners rejection for claim 4 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lee discloses
wherein the light with the predetermined pattern is infrared light. [See Lee [0167] Infrared light.]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20220103741) in view of Jang et al. (herein after will be referred to as Jang) (US 20240098347).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the system of claim 6. Furthermore, Lee does not explicitly disclose
wherein the information processing apparatus is a server.
However, Jang does disclose
wherein the information processing apparatus is a server. [See Jang [0101] Client-server computing technology. Also, see 0102, the device includes a dynamic vision sensor.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lee to add the teachings of Jang, in order to incorporate an obvious client-server computing technology to monitor an event imaging apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taamazyan et al. (US 20230084807) – Event camera for providing movement direction of the object (para. 0094) and for depths imaged by the event camera (para. 0006). Also, see 0005, structured light projectors are used with event cameras.
Chen (US 20210374983) - [Fig. 1A] Event sensor with a Ranging (ToF) sensor. The event sensor senses a motion trajectory of an object (para. 0020) and the ranging sensor detects object distance (para. 0025).
Matsui (US 20250148612) – Fig. 6 and para. [0114-0016] ToF Camera with a event-based camera. Motion from image data obtained by the event camera. Also, 0058, ToF camera supplies distance/depth information to an information processing apparatus.
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486