DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 03/02/2026, with respect to the specification and drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections above have been withdrawn.
Applicant requests that the DP rejection be held in abeyance at this time.
Applicant argues that Zalevksy does not teach “a predetermined pattern”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Zalevsky discloses a speckle pattern (para. 0006). Furthermore, Zalevksy discloses that the size of speckle in the speckle pattern via light returning from the sample is dependent on the distance from the sample (para. 0068). Therefore, the object motion (that compliments the distance information) is monitored/detected via identifying changes in speckle patterns (para. 0006).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/848,347 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because this instant application is broader in scope than the co-pending application listed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10, 12, 14-15, 18-20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (herein after will be referred to as Niwa) (US 20230039270) in view of Zalevsky et al. (herein after will be referred to as Zalevsky) (US 20200103217).
Regarding claim 1, Niwa discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to: calculate distance information regarding a distance to a target irradiated with light including a predetermined pattern; [See Niwa [Fig. 1] ToF sensor with signal processing unit.]
construct an image on a basis of, among event signals output by an event-based sensor, the event signal output according to reflected light from the target; and [See Niwa [Fig. 1] DVS sensor. Also, see 0091, generates image data from the DVS.]
Niwa does not explicitly disclose
calculate complementary information that complements the distance information, on a basis of a change in a shape of the predetermined pattern in the image.
However, Zalevsky does disclose
calculate complementary information that complements the distance information, on a basis of a change in a shape of the predetermined pattern in the image. [See Zalevsky [0006] Movement of objects by identifying changes in speckle patterns in light returning from the object….is generally determined in accordance with image data indicative on the collected pattern relative to size distribution of speckles in the generated patterns.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Niwa to add the teachings of Zalevsky, in order to incorporate additional data within event based cameras by using obvious illumination aspects such as an illumination pattern size changing when the object’s depth changes and thus indicates object movement.
Regarding claim 2, Niwa (modified by Zalevsky) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Niwa discloses
the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the distance information on a basis of an irradiation start time and a light reception time for the light. [See Niwa [Fig. 1] ToF sensor with signal processing unit.]
Regarding claim 5, Niwa (modified by Zalevsky) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Niwa does not explicitly disclose
wherein the predetermined pattern includes a figure, and the change in the shape of the predetermined pattern includes at least one of a change in a size of the figure and a change in a position of the figure.
However, Zalevsky does disclose
wherein the predetermined pattern includes a figure, and the change in the shape of the predetermined pattern includes at least one of a change in a size of the figure and a change in a position of the figure. [See Zalevsky [0006] Movement of objects by identifying changes in speckle patterns in light returning from the object….is generally determined in accordance with image data indicative on the collected pattern relative to size distribution of speckles in the generated patterns.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, Niwa (modified by Zalevsky) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Niwa discloses
wherein the light with the predetermined pattern is infrared light. [See Niwa [Fig. 1 and 0088] Light source (11) for outputting laser light. Also, see 0245, infrared light corresponds to the laser light output from the light source.]
Claims 3-4, 8-9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa (US 20230039270) in view of Zalevsky (US 20200103217) and in further view of Russ et al. (herein after will be referred to as Russ) (US 20210141094).
Regarding claim 3, Niwa (modified by Zalevsky) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Niwa does not explicitly disclose
wherein the complementary information is information indicating a moving direction of the target.
However, Russ does disclose
wherein the complementary information is information indicating a moving direction of the target. [See Russ [0016] movement, distances and optical flow are determined from the data of an event-based camera.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Niwa (modified by Zalevsky) to add the teachings of Russ, in order to incorporate the advantages of event based image sensors [See Russ [0017]].
Regarding claim 4, Niwa (modified by Zalevsky) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Niwa does not explicitly disclose
wherein the complementary information is information indicating a moving distance of the target.
However, Russ does disclose
wherein the complementary information is information indicating a moving distance of the target. [See Russ [0016] movement, distances and optical flow are determined from the data of an event-based camera.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, see examiners rejection for claim 4 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, see examiners rejection for claim 4 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 17.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa (US 20230039270) in view of Zalevsky (US 20200103217) and in further view of Jang et al. (herein after will be referred to as Jang) (US 20240098347).
Regarding claim 11, Niwa (modified by Zalevsky) disclose the system of claim 6. Furthermore, Niwa does not explicitly disclose
wherein the information processing apparatus is a server.
However, Jang does disclose
wherein the information processing apparatus is a server. [See Jang [0101] Client-server computing technology. Also, see 0102, the device includes a dynamic vision sensor.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Niwa (modified by Zalevsky) to add the teachings of Jang, in order to incorporate an obvious client-server computing technology to monitor an event imaging apparatus.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486