DETAILED ACTION
The instant communication is in response to communication filed on 09/20/2024.
Claims 1-16 and 33-36 are pending of which claims 1 and 33 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 09/20/2024 is being considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ”Monitoring SPS Occasions Based on Received Indications” or “Indication of Transmission of Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) Packets”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (WO2022032477 A1, herein after referred to as Chen.)
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a communications device (Fig. 16 UE 1600 corresponding to UE 115 in Fig. 115 ), for receiving data from a wireless communications network (i.e. Fig. 15 BS 105), the communications device comprising:
receiver circuitry (Fig. 16 Transceiver 1610), configured to receive data from the wireless communications network (See Fig. 15 UE 115 in steps 1570 and 1580) via the wireless access interface (i.e. Fig. 16 Antenna 1616),
transmitter circuitry(Fig. 16 Transceiver 1610), configured to transmit wireless communications to the wireless communications network (i.e. See Fig.15 step 1590 UE 115 transmitting ACK/NACK to the BS 105)via the wireless access interface(i.e. Fig. 16 Antenna 1616), and
controller circuitry (i.e. Fig.16 Processor 1602) configured to control the receiver circuitry (i.e. Fig. 16 Transceiver 1610) to receive an indication (i.e. SPS transmission cancellation indication received in Fig. 15 step 1550. See paragraphs 170-171 and 54) of a subset of SPS resource allocations for each of one or more of a plurality of sets of SPS resource allocations of the wireless access interface for receiving the data as data packets (See Fig. 15 step 1510 wherein a plurality of SPS configurations are received by UE 115 where the plurality of SPS are two), which should be monitored for receiving one or more of the data packets (i.e. Fig. 15 step 1530 the entire plurality of SPS transmission is activated and monitored in Fig. 15 step 1540), the subset to be monitored in each set of SPS resource allocations being less than or equal to a total number of SPS resource allocations in the set (i.e. of the plurality of SPS transmissions being first and second SPS transmission in Fig. 15 in step 1550 SPS transmission cancellation indication for the first SPS resource and consequently in step 1560 of Fig. 15 UE 115 refrains from monitoring first SPS resource leaving only a subset of SPS resource to be monitored wherein the subset to be monitored is reduced to second SPS resource.) , and to monitor the subset of the SPS resource allocations for each of the sets (i.e. from Fig. 15 the set being first and second SPS resources only the second resource is monitored and data received in step 1570) to receive one or more downlink data packets which may be transmitted in one or more of the SPS resource allocations of the subset of the SPS resource allocations to receive the data. (i.e. Fig. 15 step 1570 by only monitoring a subset and the subset being the second SPS resource and the downlink data are the second SPS transmission received in the monitored second SPS resource 1570 and the received data is decoded in 1580 and UE 115 acknowledges downlink data received on second SPS transmission in step 1590. See paragraphs 165-176 in relation to Fig. 15. Further please refer to paragraphs 51, 54, 55, 73 and 98)
Regarding claim 33, Chen discloses an infrastructure equipment (i.e. Base Station/BS 105 detailed in Fig. 17) forming part of a wireless communications
Network (See Fig. 15 BS 105 with UE 115 is the wireless communications Network) for communicating with one or more a communications devices (Fig. 15 UE is a communication device amongst many), the infrastructure equipment comprising
receiver circuitry (Fig. 17 Transceiver 1710), configured to receive wireless communications from the one or more communications devices (i.e. UE 115 in Fig. 15 as communication device sends ACK/NACK and is received by the BS in step 1590) via a wireless access interface (Fig. 17 Antenna 1716),
transmitter circuitry (Fig. 17 Transceiver 1710), configured to transmit data to the one or more communications devices via the wireless access interface(Fig. 17 Antenna 1716),
controller circuitry (i.e. Fig.17 Processor 1702) configured to control the transmitter circuitry((Fig. 17 Transceiver 1710)
to transmit, to one of the communications devices, an indication (i.e. Fig. 15 SPS Transmission Cancellation Indication for First SPS Resource at step 1550. See paragraphs 170-171 and 54 ) of a subset of SPS resource allocations for each of one or more of a plurality of sets of SPS resource allocations of the wireless access interface for transmitting the data as data packets(See Fig. 15 step 1510 wherein a plurality of SPS configurations are received by UE 115 where the plurality of SPS are two, i.e. Fig. 15 step 1530 the entire plurality of SPS transmission is activated and monitored in Fig. 15 step 1540. Therefore of the plurality of SPS transmissions being first and second SPS transmission in Fig. 15 in step 1550 SPS transmission cancellation indication for the first SPS resource and consequently in step 1560 of Fig. 15 UE 115 refrains from monitoring first SPS resource leaving only a subset of SPS resource to be monitored wherein the subset to be monitored is reduced to second SPS resource.), which should be monitored by the communications device for receiving one or more of the data packets, the subset to be monitored in each set of SPS resource allocations being less than or equal to a total number of SPS resource allocations in the se(i.e. from Fig. 15 the set being first and second SPS resources only the second resource is monitored and data received in step 1570) t, and
to transmit to the communications device the one or more data packets, via the wireless access interface using the subset of SPS resource allocations. (i.e. Fig. 15 step 1570 by only monitoring a subset and the subset being the second SPS resource and the downlink data are the second SPS transmission transmitted in the monitored second SPS resource 1570 and the received data is decoded in 1580 and UE 115 acknowledges downlink data received on second SPS transmission in step 1590. See paragraphs 165-176 in relation to Fig. 15. Further please refer to paragraphs 51, 54, 55, 73 and 98)
Regarding claim 34, Chen discloses an infrastructure equipment (i.e. Base Station/BS 105 detailed in Fig. 17) according to claim 33, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the transmitter circuitry to transmit an indicated number, MPDSCH, of an expected number of data packets to be received.(Chen discloses in Paragraph 51 SPS transmission in SPS resource in SPS configuration is PDSCH transmission and is really SPS-PDSCH transmission. The Base Station controls the number of MPDSCH by controlling the number of SPS transmissions by indicating in DCI M SPS transmission expected which is MPDSCH, per paragraphs 54, 98, 199 and 104)
Regarding claim 35, Chen discloses an infrastructure equipment (i.e. Base Station/BS 105 detailed in Fig. 17) according to claim 33, wherein the indication of the subset of SPS resource allocations for each of the one or more sets of SPS resource allocations for receiving the data packets indicates one or more different subsets of SPS resource allocations for a plurality of sets of SPS resource allocations of the wireless access interface for receiving the data packets, and a plurality of monitoring periodicities corresponding to the plurality of subsets of SPS resource allocations. (See Chen’s paragraphs 54 and 98 See Fig. 18 blocks 1820, 1830 and Fig. 19 block 1920, 1930 where a subset of the two SPS configuration, namely second SPS transmission/configuration is monitored as a subset of the first and second and the first SPS transmission/configuration is ignored. See paragraphs 6, 46. And 48 on periodicity )
Regarding claim 36, Chen discloses an infrastructure equipment (i.e. Base Station/BS 105 detailed in Fig. 17) according to claim 33,wherein the indication of the subset of SPS resource allocations for each of the one or more sets of SPS resource allocations for receiving the data packets indicates for each subset a pattern of the SPS resource allocations of the set to be monitored. (Chen in paragraphs 87 indicates a traffic pattern 410 of Fig. 4 and the traffic pattern is represented by a bitmap as detailed in paragraphs 54, 98, and 199 at least)
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses a communications device (Fig. 16 UE 1600 corresponding to UE 115 in Fig. 115 ) according to claim 1, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the receiver circuitry to receive the one or more downlink data packets in the subset of the SPS resource allocations (See Fig. !% , and the controller circuitry is configured to control the receiver circuitry to receive an indicated number, MPDSCH, of an expected number of data packets to be received. (Chen discloses in Paragraph 51 SPS transmission in SPS resource in SPS configuration is PDSCH transmission and is really SPS-PDSCH transmission. The Base Station controls the number of MPDSCH by controlling the number of SPS transmissions by indicating in DCI M SPS transmission expected which is MPDSCH, per paragraphs 54, 98, 199 and 104)
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses a communications device (Fig. 16 UE 1600 corresponding to UE 115 in Fig. 115 ) according to claim 1, wherein the indication of the subset of SPS resource allocations for each of the one or more sets of SPS resource allocations for receiving the data packets indicates one or more different subsets of SPS resource allocations for a plurality of sets of SPS resource allocations of the wireless access interface for receiving the data packets (i.e. Fig. 15 a set of SPS Configuration comprising first and second SPS resource configuration activated in step 1530 and monitored in step 1540 per step 1560 only second SPS resource is monitored. See paragraphs 165-176 in relation to Fig. 15 ), and a plurality of monitoring periodicities corresponding to the plurality of subsets of SPS resource allocations, and to monitor each of the plurality of subsets of SPS resource allocations in accordance with the received monitoring periodicity corresponding to the subset of SPS resource allocations. (See Chen’s paragraphs 54 and 98 See Fig. 18 blocks 1820, 1830 and Fig. 19 block 1920, 1930 where a subset of the two SPS configuration, namely second SPS transmission/configuration is monitored as a subset of the first and second and the first SPS transmission/configuration is ignored. See paragraphs 6, 46. And 48 on periodicity )
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses a communications device (Fig. 16 UE 1600 corresponding to UE 115 in Fig. 115 ) according to claim 1, wherein the indication of the subset of SPS resource allocations for each of the one or more sets of SPS resource allocations for receiving the data packets indicates for each subset a pattern of the SPS resource allocations of the set to be monitored. . (Chen in paragraphs 87 indicates a traffic pattern 410 of Fig. 4 and the traffic pattern is represented by a bitmap as detailed in paragraphs 54, 98, and 199 at least)
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses a communications device (Fig. 16 UE 1600 corresponding to UE 115 in Fig. 115 ) according to claim 5, wherein one or more of the resource allocations of one or more of the subsets are separated by one or more resource allocations which are not monitored, the resource allocations not being in the subset. (See Fig.6 SPS 1 and SPS 3 are cancelled and not to be monitored and SPS 5 and SPS 7 are to be monitored. The subsets are SPS 1, SPS 3, SPS 5 and SPS 6 and are separated by resource allocation S2, S4, and S6.Different examples shown in Figs. 3-8)
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses a communications device (Fig. 16 UE 1600 corresponding to UE 115 in Fig. 115 ) according to claim 5,, wherein the pattern of the
resource allocations of the subset of SPS resource allocations indicated includes a number, MLAST, of last one or more SPS resource allocations, the number of the last one or more SPS resource allocations to be monitored being a latest in time of the set of SPS resource allocations.(See Figs. 6-8 showing last one or more SPS resource allocations to be monitored. See paragraph 54 shows first and last SPS resource allocations.)
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses a communications device (Fig. 16 UE 1600 corresponding to UE 115 in Fig. 115 ) according to claim 2, wherein the controller
circuitry is configured to control the receiver circuitry to monitor a final number MPDSCH of one or more SPS resource allocations of the set of SPS resource allocations to receive one or more data packets if the receiver circuitry does not receive the expected number of data packets within the subset of the SPS resource allocations that the receiver circuitry is to monitor. (i.e. per paragraphs 6, 46, 209 indicating if the expected packets is not received retransmission occurs per paragraph 73, )
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses a communications device according to claim 2, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the receiver circuitry to receive an indication that if the receiver circuitry does not receive the expected number of data packets within the subset of the SPS resource allocations that the receiver circuitry is to monitor, the receiver circuitry is to monitor a final number MPDSCH of one or more SPS resource allocations of the set of SPS resource allocations. (See Paragraph 73 discuses retransmission when expected packets are not received and in paragraph 49 it is disclosed for every SPS transmission a ACK/NACK feedback is transmitted. See Fig. 15 step 1590)
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses a communications device according to claim 8, wherein the number of final SPS resource allocations of the set of SPS resource allocations monitored is determined from a difference between the expected number of data packets and the one or more data packets received by the receiver circuitry. (Per paragraphs 51 and 54 expected number of PDSCH packets corresponding to the scheduled SPS transmission. The expected number of PDSCH encompasses the activated SPS and the count of the received SPS packets are already monitored and the difference is the remaining of the SPS transmission are yet to be monitored)
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a communications device according to claim 2, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the receiver circuitry to receive an indication of uplink resource allocations for the transmission of HARQ-ACK type feedback to the wireless communications network, (See Paragraphs 49 and 73 describing use of HARQ-ACK type feedback and paragraph 75 describes configured grant resources for UL HARQ data and see also paragraph 83)
to determine, based on the monitoring of the subset of the SPS resource allocations, whether the receiver circuitry has received the expected one or more data packets in the subset of the SPS resource allocations, (See Fig. 15 steps 1560 and 1580 monitor and decode packet and based on the result ACK/NACK is sent)
to control the transmitter circuitry to transmit, in response to determining that the receiver circuitry has not received the expected one or more data packets in the subset of the SPS resource allocations, HARQ-ACK type feedback to the wireless communications network to provide an indication that the receiver circuitry has not received the expected one or more data packets in the subset of the SPS resource allocations. (See Fig. 15 S1590 sends ACK/NACK for second SPS transmission is not received. See paragraph 175)
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses a communications device according to claim 11, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the receiver circuitry, in response to the transmitter circuitry transmitting HARQ-ACK type feedback to the wireless communications network to provide an indication that the receiver circuitry has not detected or decoded the expected one or more data packets in the subset of the SPS resource allocations, to monitor the final SPS resource allocation in the set of SPS resource allocations. (See Paragraph 73 discuses retransmission when expected packets are not received and in paragraph 49 it is disclosed for every SPS transmission a ACK/NACK feedback is transmitted. See Fig. 15 step 1590)
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses a communications device (i.e. UE115) according to claim 12, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the receiver circuity, in response to the transmitter circuitry transmitting HARQ-ACK type feedback to the wireless communications network (i.e. BS 105) to provide an indication that the receiver circuitry has not received the expected one or more data packets in the subset of the SPS resource allocations, to monitor one or more SPS resource allocations in the set of SPS resource allocations, (See Paragraph 73 discuses retransmission when expected packets are not received and in paragraph 49 it is disclosed for every SPS transmission a ACK/NACK feedback is transmitted. See Fig. 15 step 1590)
wherein, a number of the one or more SPS resource allocations in the set of SPS resource allocations is a difference between the expected one or more data packets and the received number of data packets, and the one or more SPS resource allocations that the receiver circuitry is controlled to monitor are the final one or more SPS resource allocations of the set of SPS resource allocations. .(Per paragraphs 51 and 54 expected number of PDSCH packets corresponding to the scheduled SPS transmission. The expected number of PDSCH encompasses the activated SPS and the count of the received SPS packets are already monitored and the difference is the remaining of the SPS transmission are to be monitored)
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a communications device (i.e. UE115)
according to claim 1, wherein the communications device is a low power device, a machine type communications device or a reduced capability device. (See paragraph 61 Machine Type Communication (MTC) and IOT (Internet of Things))
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses a communications device (i.e. UE115) according to claim 1, wherein the controller circuitry is configured with the receiver circuitry to receive an activation indicator to activate the plurality of sets of SPS resource allocations of the wireless access interface indicating that the wireless communications network will transmit one or more data packets in the sub-set of SPS resource allocations for the set of SPS resource allocations. (See Fig. 15 step 1530 “Activate first and second SPS “)
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses a communications device (i.e. UE115) according to claim 1, wherein the controller circuitry is configured with the receiver circuitry to receive a deactivation for each of one or more of the plurality of sets of SPS resource allocations of the wireless access interface indicating that the wireless communications network will not transmit one or more data packets in the sub-set of SPS resource allocations for the set of SPS resource allocations. (See Fig. 15 step 1550 “SPS transmission cancellation indication for first SPS resource”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Elshafie (US 20220132544 A1),
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses a communications device according to claim 1, a communications device (Fig. 16 UE 1600 corresponding to UE 115 in Fig. 115 ) according to claim 2, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the receiver circuitry for each of the sets of the SPS resource allocations to stop monitoring SPS resource allocations in the subset of the one of more SPS resources elements (i.e. In Fig. 15 step 1550 to stop monitoring a subset of the SPS resources of which 1St SPS resource element is stopped being monitored).
Chen fails to disclose for each of the sets of the SPS resource allocations to stop monitoring SPS resource allocations in the subset of the one of more SPS resources elements after the indicated number MPDSCH of the one or more data packets have been received.
Elshafie, in the same endeavor, discloses for each of the sets of the SPS resource allocations to stop monitoring SPS resource allocations in the subset of the one of more SPS resources elements after the indicated number MPDSCH of the one or more data packets have been received. (Per Fig. 11 BS 15 sends SPS Configuration in step 1105, in Step 1115 BS sends mode indication to UE 115 to monitor SPS occasions corresponding traffic pattern determined in step 1110. The SPS to be monitored is activated via DCI in step 1120 and monitored in step 1125 and the indicated and expected PDSCH data is transmitted in step 1130 and after the expected PDSCH data are received and acknowledged to the BS 105 in step 1135. Elshafie discloses for each of the sets of the SPS resource allocations to stop monitoring SPS resource allocations in the subset of the one of more SPS resources elements after the indicated number MPDSCH of the one or more data packets have been received in step 1140 and explained in paragraph 159)
In view of the above, having Chen’s scheme for indicating SPS transmission and then given the well- established teaching of Elshafie’s techniques for reducing downlink control information feedback for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) , it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Chen’s scheme for indicating SPS transmission as taught by Elshafie’s techniques for reducing downlink control information feedback for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS), since Elshafie states in paragraph 77 that the modification results in allowing the BS to more efficiently indicate the status of SPS occasions by transmitting a bitmap in a given cancellation window.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474