DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, drawn to a macrolide coated medical device obtained by a circumscribed process in the reply filed on October 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species drug balloon and rapamycin (sirolimus) reading on claims 1-6 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-9, 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-6 as filed on October 5, 2026 are pending and under consideration to the extent of the elected species, e.g., the species of carrier is “drug balloon” and the species of macrolide is “rapamycin”.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 14, 2026 was considered.
Specification
The amendment filed September 20, 2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the insertion of a sentence expanding the scope of the suspension from “usual” and expanding of the scope of the suspension to dispersants other than water (apparently contradicting the disclosure at paragraph [0053]).
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-4: “a mass ratio” is properly “the mass ratio” because antecedent basis is implicit.
Claim 2: “2~100:100~6000” should presumably recite “2-100:100-6000” or “2 to 100 : 100 to 6000” or some variation thereof.
Claim 3: “0.01~10:1” should presumably recite “0.01-10:1” or “0.01 to 10 : 1” or some variation thereof.
Claim 4: “0.1~30:100~1000” should presumably recite “0.1-30:100-1000” or “0.1 to 30 : 100 to 1000” or some variation thereof.
Claim 6: “80~1200” should presumably recite “80-1200” or “80 to 1000”, “0 to 100” should presumably recite “0-100” or “0 to 100”, and “0~300” should presumably recite “0-300” or “0 to 300” or some variation thereof.
Appropriate correction is required.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the drug coat is mainly obtained by coating. It is unclear how the qualifier mainly impacts the scope of the claim. Claims 2-6 are included in this rejection because they depend from claim 1 and because they do not remedy the noted ambiguity. Claims 5 and 6 are also included in this rejection because they appear to recite a different process.
Claim 2 recites preferably, the macrolide drug … and preferably, the carrier. The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. See MPEP § 2173.05 (d).
Claim 3 recites five clauses prefaced with preferably. The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05 (d).
Claim 4 recites two clauses prefaced with preferably. The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05 (d).
Claim 5 recites the drug coat is obtained by coating the coating liquid comprising the macrolide drug and the dispersant (which is the organic solvent), and an additive solution comprising water together. It is unclear what is meant by an additive solution comprising water together because the earlier limitation of claim 5 stating the dispersant is the organic solvent appears to omit the alternative recitation of water as set forth in claim 1. Claim 6 is included in this rejection because it depends from claim 5 and because it does not remedy the noted ambiguity.
Claim 6 recites a clause prefaced with preferably. The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05 (d).
Claim 6 recites the additive solution is mainly made of. It is unclear how the qualifier mainly impacts the scope of the solution composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (WO 2022/174720 A1, published August 25, 2022, filed January 24, 2022, as evidenced by US 2024/0131311, of record).
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Regarding claim 1
Li teaches a drug-loaded medical instrument (drug coat medical device) comprising a medical instrument body (carrier) and at least one drug coating, the main component of the drug coating comprising a macrolide drug (title; abstract; claims). The drug coating is attached to at least one side of the surface of the medical instrument body (partially or completely covering the carrier) (abstract; claim 1). The macrolide drug is selected from the group inclusive of rapamycin (claim 5; paragraph [0043]). The body is a drug-coated balloon (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding the process by which the coating is mainly obtained, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. However, Li further teaches a method for preparing the device comprising dispersing macrolide drug crystal powder in a solvent (dispersant), applying the suspension (coating liquid) onto a surface of the device, applying a supersaturated solution of the macrolide ono the surface, and drying (removal of the solvent is implicit) (claim 7). Solvents include pentane or/and hexane (organic) (claim 10). Li further exemplifies an embodiment of supersaturated solution comprising rapamycin, acetone, ethanol and water (dispersants) (Example 1, paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 2
Regarding the concentration of the drug in the coating liquid, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. However, Li further teaches concentrations from 4 mg/10 mL to 10 mg/10 mL (paragraph [0064]) or from 1 mg/mL to 100 mg/mL such as 20 mg / mL (encompasses ratios by weight as instantly claimed approximating the density between 1000 mg/mL (aqueous) to 700 mg/mL (organic), e.g., ratios of 20 to 1000 or 20 to 700) (paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 3
Li teaches the drug coating further comprises inter alia an antioxidant inclusive of ascorbic acid (water-soluble) or/and vitamin E (fat-soluble) (claim 6). Regarding the ratio of the antioxidant to the drug, it is unclear whether the preferable embodiment is a claim limitation (see rejections under 35 USC 112(b) supra). However, Li exemplifies an embodiment of solution comprising 125 mg rapamycin and 15 mg dibutylhydroxytoluene (antioxidant) (ratio of 15:125 ~= 0.12:1) (Example 1, paragraph [0077]). Regarding the conditional limitation, it is unclear whether the preferable embodiment is a claim limitation and if it is a claim limitation Li is in possession of coating liquids comprising an organic solvent and coatings comprising antioxidants inclusive of vitamin E.
Regarding claim 4
Li teaches the drug coating further comprises inter alia polyvinyl pyrrolidone (claim 6). Regarding the concentration of the antioxidant in the coating liquid, it is unclear whether the preferable embodiment is a claim limitation (see rejections under 35 USC 112(b) supra) and if it is a claim limitation product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 5
Regarding the process by which the coating is mainly obtained, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 6
Li teaches the drug coating further comprises inter alia an antioxidant inclusive of ascorbic acid (water-soluble) or/and vitamin E (fat-soluble) or/and inter alia polyvinyl pyrrolidone (claim 6). Regarding the concentrations in the coating liquid, it is unclear whether the preferable embodiment is a claim limitation (see rejections under 35 USC 112(b) supra) and if it is a claim limitation product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113.
The above teachings therefore anticipate the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kangas et al. (US 2011/0015664) teaches nucleation of amorphous coatings applied to the surface of drug delivery balloons (title; abstract; claims).
Kurosaki et al. (US 2020/0197674) teaches precipitation of water-insoluble drugs inclusive of rapamycin upon volatilization of the organic solvent and in the presence of water (title; abstract; claims; paragraph [0086]).
/ALISSA PROSSER/
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600