DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 20 and 26 are vague and indefinite, because it is unclear if the barrier coating is applied in solid form/powder and the 2% solution is just to measure the viscosity of the powder in solution, i.e., the depolymerization, or the 2% solution is also how the coating is applied, and thus the metes and bounds of patent protection desired cannot be ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-21, 23, 25-27, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over any of Biasotti et al., (hereinafter Biasotti), EP 2492395 A1 and Nobel-Bozel, GB 1,056,711.
With regard to claims 20, 23, 25-26, 29 and 31, both Biasotti and Nobel-Bozel teach a barrier coating of fibrous material, such as cardboard and paper, in which the fibrous material is coated with a coating solution comprising galactomannans, such as guar and locus bean gums, which gum has been depolymerized by an acid treatment and then neutralized with a base, and thus the gum(s) do not contain halogens and have viscosity in a 2% solution in the falling range. Biasotti explicitly teaches that the coating resist oil and grease resistant and although Nobel-Bozel does not explicitly teaches the oil and grease resistant of the coating since it teaches the stiffening of boards, such properties are inherent to its invention, since Nobel-Bozel teaches the same coating process comprising the same claimed gum and added at overlapping range, i.e. overlapping the range of claims 25 and 31; see ¶-[022], [0025]-[0026] , [0027]-[0029] (for the viscosity range), [0032], [0037] and [0040]-[0041] of Biasotti and page 1, lines 61-78, page 2, lines 74-85, page 2, line 121 through page 3, line 11 and page 2 , lines 86-108 and page 3, lines 32-54 (for the viscosity of the solution). Note that both, Biasotti and Nobel-Bozel, teach the use of a powder gum; see page 3, lines 3-11 of Nobel-Bozel and examples of Biasotti, see for example ¶-[0049] which teaches that 100 g of mixture of guar gum and inorganic phosphate salts were mixed together and then added water, which clearly means that the mixture was in solid, powder form or at the very least using the blend in powder form would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding to claims 21 and 27, both Biasotti and Nobel-Bozel teach the addition of additives and adjuvants of the same type as claimed; see ¶-[0031] and [0035] of Biasotti and page 2, lines 117-128 and page 3, lines 21-27 of Nobel-Bozel which teaches the use of glyoxal, which is an hydrophobing agent.
It seems that the cited references teach all the limitations of the above claims or at the very least the minor modification(s) to obtain the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 22, 24, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Biasotti and Nobel-Bozel, cited above in view of Foster, United State Patent No. 3,346,556.
None of the cited references, Biasotti and Nobel-Bozel, teach the use of the claimed adjuvants (claims 22 and 28) nor the use of the coating in a multilayer coating.
With regard to claims 22 and 28, the use of the claimed adjuvants and multilayer coating are well-known in the art as evidenced by Foster that teaches the use of sorbitol and other alcohols as a way to stabilize the solution/emulsion; see column 2, lines 30-69. Therefore, the use of such adjuvants would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to stabilize the gum(s) solution.
Regarding to claims 24 and 30, the multilayer coating of papers, boards and molded product is well-known in the art1 and considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent a showing of unexpected results.
Claims 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al., (hereinafter Tang), CN 101974100 A in view of any Biasotti and Nobel-Bozel.
Tang teaches a gar gum in powder form which has been depolymerized by acid and them neutralized with base and them dried and pulverized to a powder; see abstract. Tang also teaches that the powder can be used as sizing agent on paper; see ¶-[0068], which is known to be applied as a solution to the surface of the paper. As to the depolymerization degree, i.e. the viscosity of a solution at 2%, the secondary references teach id that it is common to use gums at such viscosity range, since it is easier to handle it in coating solutions and thus depolymerization to such viscosity would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to obtain the benefits indicated by the secondary references. Note that for claim 26, the viscosity of the applied solution is not a limitation, since the product would not retain said solution viscosity, but just the coating material(s) and thus the sizing paper taught by Tang would have the same claimed property/materials.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Water-Based Barrier Coating of Native Substances for Paper, Cardboard or Moulded Pulp.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 The examiner takes official notice of this fact and will present proof/evidence if necessary.