Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
The disclosure in [0104]and [0065]- [0067] in the specification (US Publication): “area Ai of the Voronoi cells from a 2D Voronoi tessellation of an area comprising a projection of the curvatures is selected from the range of 0.7-1.3 times the average area of all the Voronoi cells in the 2D Voronoi tessellation“ is unclear language. The metes and bounds of the relationship with respect to the optic fiber shape is not clearly described and the language is unclear and confusing. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Objection
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the limitation of “two or more light generating unit” is considered as improper, as two or more would result in light generating units and not unit as claimed. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Further for claim 9, the limitation of “area Ai of the Voronoi cells from a 2D Voronoi tessellation of an area comprising a projection of the curvatures is selected from the range of 0.7-1.3 times the average area of all the Voronoi cells in the 2D Voronoi tessellation“ is unclear language. The metes and bounds of the claim with respect to the optic fiber shape is not clear in the claim. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker (US 4885663 A, cited previously) in view of Fujieda (JP 2015215949 A, cited previously) and further in view of Ohta (US 20030161636 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Parker teaches a light generating system (at least Fig.1, Fig.2, Fig.3, Fig. 5 and Fig.6) comprising one (- - or more - -) light generating devices, two or more optical fibers (Abstract), wherein: the light generating device is configured to generate device light comprising a first wavelength (see in Parker: Different colored fill threads may be used to vary the type or color of light being emitted from the optical fibers. Note: it is well known that different colors have different spectral power distributions) using a light source having a relatively long life, such as a light emitting diode), wherein the light generating device comprises a solid-state light source; the optical fiber comprises an elongated body of light transmissive material, transmissive for the device lightoptical fibers (see in Parker: Different colored fill threads may be used to vary the type or color of light being emitted from the optical fibers).
Parker does not teach: n1 curvatures for the optical fibers in a plane parallel to a length axis (A) of the optical fiber, wherein n1>1; wherein the at least part of the optical fiber within the light chamber has a chamber fiber length L2.
However, it is well known in the art to modify the shape and bending of the optical fiber according to desired design.
Fujieda teaches n1 curvatures for the optical fibers in a plane parallel to a length axis (A) of the optical fiber, wherein n1>1 (more than one curvature as shown below) in Fig. 5 (also see Fig.14) as shown below:
and wherein the at least part of the optical fiber within the light chamber has a chamber fiber length L2 (see part of the length protruding out of the chamber; length of the fiber in the “length” direction in the Figure above is considered as the chamber fiber length L2) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the shape as disclosed in Fujieda, in the device of Parker, in order to achieve uniform illumination (Through such a process, the amount of light propagating through the transparent substrate 1 becomes uniform : in Fujieda).
Parker in view of Fujieda teaches all the limitations as claimed excepting two or more light generating units (see claim objection above), wherein: the two or more optical fibers and the two or more light generating units, configured in two or more sets along each optical fiber and one or more light generating devices.
However, forming of two or more light generating units, along a length of an optical fiber, thereby extracting light from each of the light generating units are well known techniques in the art.
Ohta teaches this technique, wherein a light generating system consists of two or more light generating units (indicating by light 14 emanating from each of these light generating units in Fig.2, 3A,4A, 7A OR 8A) wherein Ohta provides the application/use of these extracted light beams 14 in [0051]: the optical beams 14 are output as a focused optical beam 16 to the photo receiver 17, by using optical focusing means 15 wherein this configuration is used to form an optical packet header (see in Ohta: The optical packet header identifier includes an optical waveguide, optical focusing means, and a photo receiver) and further more Ohta forms an optical router using the two or more light generating units (see in Abstract of Ohta).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Parker in view of Fujieda, in order to form two or more light generating units along the length of the fiber, such that light is extracted from each of the light generating units, along the fiber length, from the teachings of Ohta, in order to extract the light out from each of the light generating units, to form optical packet heads and an optical router.
Regarding claim 2, Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches a light generating system, wherein the solid-state light source comprises a laser (when a laser diode is used for the light source 6: in Fujieda).
Regarding claim 3, Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches a light generating system, wherein the solid-state light source
Regarding claims 5-9, wherein:
the light chamber comprises an internal chamber length L3 and an internal chamber width W3; wherein L2>(r*sqrt(L3*W3)) (for claim 5) L2>3*(r*sqrt(L3*W3)) (for claim 6); the optical fiber has a fiber diameter, wherein the n1 curvatures have curvature radii, wherein Rc<10*D1 (for claim 7) (see claim objection above), comprising k1 curvatures per square centimeter, wherein k1>10 (for claim 8) and wherein the curvatures are arranged such that an area Ai of the Voronoi cells from a 2D Voronoi tessellation of an area comprising a projection of the curvatures is selected from the range of 0.7-1.3 times the average area of all the Voronoi cells in the 2D Voronoi tessellation (for claim 9).
Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta already teaches meandering optic fiber and shapes in Fig.7 and 12 (of Fujieda).
Further even more, it is well known in the art to use complex meandering shapes for the optical fiber by simulation and desired design, as disclosed in Fujieda (some of the Figures are shown below):
(instant Fig.1B and the shape of the meandering of the optical fiber is relied upon in the rejection, since 2 light sources have been recited in claim 1, on which all the above claims are dependent);
And it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to derive the shapes with relations as claimed, by computer simulation and routine experimentation, from the teachings of Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta, in order to achieve uniform lighting (throughout disclosure of Fujieda).
Regarding claim 10, P Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches a light generating system, wherein the optical fiber is configured in one or more of a meandering configuration (from teachings of Fig.5 of Fujieda), a stacked configuration, spiral configuration, and an interleaved configuration.
Regarding claim 11, Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches a light generating system, wherein part of the optical fiber is configured external from the light chamber; and wherein during operation of the light generating device, at least part of the second light escapes from the optical fiber external from the light chamber (from the teachings of Fig.6 of Parker and Fig.5 and Fig. 14 of Fujieda).
Regarding claim 12, Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches a light generating system, comprising a plurality of light generating units (14 in Parker), wherein at least two light generating units share the same optical fiber.
Regarding claim 14, Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches a light generating system, wherein the light chamber comprises a cross-sectional shape selected from the group of circular, elliptical, rectangular and n-gonal, wherein n is at least 5; wherein the chamber exit window comprises a diffuser for the second light, wherein the reflective internal surface is diffusively reflective (see in Parker: Also, the back reflector may be a single sheet or film that has a variety of reflectance characteristics to provide the desired specularity, spread, diffusion, or absorption, which is a function of the application).
Regarding claim 15, Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches a lighting device selected from the group of a lamp, and a luminaire, comprising the light generating system (from teachings of Parker and Fujieda).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta and further in view of Hed (US 5301090 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 13, Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches two or more optical fibers and two or more light generating devices (Fig.3 of Parker), configured in two or more sets of each an optical fiber and one light generating device, wherein the light entrance part receives light from these one or more light generating devices, but is silent regarding spectral power distributions of the second light of two or more optical fibers are different; wherein the light generating system further comprises a control system configured to control a spectral power distribution of the system light, wherein the system light comprises at least part of the second light of one or more optical fibers.
Hed teaches spectral power distributions of the second light of two or more optical fibers are different; wherein the light generating system further comprises a control system configured to control a spectral power distribution of the system light, wherein the system light comprises at least part of the second light of one or more optical fibers (controller in Fig.2,5 and 7) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a light source controller as disclosed in Hed, in the device of Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta in order to control the light sources colors (see in Hed: (47) The operation of the system is straight forward as described for the embodiments depicted in FIGS. 3, 4A and 4B above, whereby the perceived color of the luminaire is controlled by the controller 83).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta and further in view of Kluth (DE 10206613 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 4, Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta teaches the optical fiber comprises a core
Kluth teaches optical fiber further comprises light outcoupling elements (decoupling means 14 in Fig.4C) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a decoupling elements as disclosed in Kluth, in the device of Parker in view of Fujieda and Ohta, in order to increase the scattering capacity.
Other art
US 20090279017 A1:
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 1/21/26 have been considered however they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection. The new prior art Ohta teaches the same technique of extracting light from the light generating units, along the length of the fiber, in order to form packet headers and optical routers.
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875