Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiaki (JP 2021 153157) in view of Maki (JP 1992-15515).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshiaki discloses the “heat dissipation layer 13,” “insulating resin layer 11,” and “circuit layer 12” of the invention disclosed in document 1 respectively correspond to the “metal base substrate,” “insulating layer formed by curing a resin composition,” and “circuit pattern” of the invention as in claim 1. See paragraphs [0028]-[0058] and Figs. 1 and 5.
Further, Yoshiaki discloses (paragraph [0027]) indicates that it is preferable for the thickness t of the circuit layer 12 (metal pieces 22) to be 1.0 mm or more and more preferable for the thickness t to be 1.5 mm or more. Therefore, the “circuit layer 12” of the invention disclosed in document 1 corresponds to the “circuit pattern having a thickness of 0.8 mm or more” of the invention as in claim 1.
Also, Yoshiaki discloses (paragraphs [0033], [0034], fig. 5) placing a resin composition 21 on one surface of a metal plate 23 that is to become the heat dissipation layer 13 (resin composition placement step S02) and arranging a plurality of metal pieces 22 in a circuit pattern on one surface of the resin composition 21 (metal piece arrangement step S03). Therefore, the “resin composition placement step S02” and “metal piece arrangement step S03” of the invention disclosed in Yoshiaki correspond to the “step for preparing a pre-pressure-bonding stack in which the resin composition is interposed in a semi-cured state between the metal base substrate and circuit pattern” of the invention as in claim 1.
Yoshiaki discloses (paragraph [0035]) describes the metal plate 23 that is to become the heat dissipation layer 13, the resin composition 21, and the metal pieces 22 being pressed in the stacking direction and heated such that the resin composition 21 is hardened and an insulating resin layer 11 is formed (bonding step S04). Therefore, the “bonding step S04” of the invention disclosed in Yoshiaki is the same as the invention as in claim 1 in that each has “a step for … increasing the temperature and pressure … so as to cure the semi-cured resin composition.”
However, Yoshiaki does not disclose “a step for covering the pre-pressure-bonding stack with a film and placing the resulting stack inside an autoclave, and a step for degassing the inside of the film and increasing the temperature and pressure inside the autoclave so as to cure the semi-cured resin composition,” the invention disclosed in document 1 does not carry out the bonding step S04 using an autoclave. Regarding this difference, the applicant is directed to the reference of Maki
Maki discloses (p. 2, line 17-p. 3, line 9) indicates that when multiple layers of molding materials that are to form a printed wiring board are stacked and molded, if the air between stacked resin plates and the gas contained in a prepreg are not removed, voids will remain in the product, so an autoclave-type vacuum press is used to mold a resin laminated board. Maki (p. 14, line 3-p. 17, line 2) describes placing a multi-layer molding material 7 on a dispersion plate 8, placing a backing cap 2 on top of the multi-layer molding material 7, vacuum-suctioning the backing cap 2, and heating and pressurizing the multi-layer molding material from all sides so as to melt and solidify a prepreg and thereby form a laminate.
Both Yoshiaki and Maki each form a printed circuit board through stacking and molding. Therefore, a person skilled in the art could easily have applied the configuration of Maki to the invention disclosed in Yoshiaki and used an autoclave-type vacuum press to carry out the bonding step for hardening the resin composition 21 and forming the insulating resin layer 11.
Regarding claims 2-5, It is the examiner’s position that initially applying pressure, an increasing proportion of a weight-average molecular weight of the semi-cured resin composition, and density of the resin are within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art and would have been obvious to provide in the method of Yoshiaki in view of Maki based on desired physical properties of the laminate being produced.
Conclusion
JAMES D. SELLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/JAMES D SELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745