DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 20-21, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2023/0319734 A1), in view of Huang-Fu et al (US 2019/0306744 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 20, 24, Liu teaches a reporting method/device/computer readable medium, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
sending a initiate computing power sharing”, “the computing power sharing request includes first computing power demand information of the first network terminal or first available computing power information of the first network terminal”, it’s noted that the request for computing power sharing implies the capability of UE for computing power sharing).
Liu doesn’t explicitly teach that the capability information is sent in a session request message.
Huang-Fu teaches the capability information is sent in a session request message ([0055], “UE 110 initiates a PDU session establishment procedure by sending a PDU Session Establishment Request message to the service network 120 (step S410). Specifically, the PDU Session Establishment Request message may include a 5GSM capability Information Element (IE) in which an RQoS bit is used to indicate whether the UE supports RQoS or not”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Huang-Fu in the system disclosed by Liu. Huang-Fu establishes the conventional way to tell the network whether a UE support a given session management feature – a support bit in the 5GSM capability IE of the PDU-session request. Applying that known technique to convey the Liu’s computing powering sharing capability is the predictable use of a known method for its established purpose, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, 10, the aforementioned references further teach that the computing power parameters of the UE comprise at least one of a main frequency of a computing unit of the UE; a cache of a computing unit of the UE; a number of cores of a computing unit of the UE; a bus speed of a computing unit of the UE; or a proportion of a shareable computing power of the UE in a total computing power (Liu, [0074]).
Regarding claim 3, 12, the aforementioned references further teach that the session request message is any one of: a session establishment request (Huang-Fu, [0055], “Session Establishment Request message”)
Regarding claim 4, 13, the aforementioned references further teach that sending the session request message to the network device comprises: sending the session request message to the network device via a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling (Huang-Fu, “Non-Access Stratum (NAS) procedure for establishing or modifying a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session”).
Regarding claim 5, 14, the aforementioned references further teach that the session request message is used to request at least one of a packet data unit (PDU) session or and/or other sessions (Huang-Fu, [0055], “UE 110 initiates a PDU session establishment procedure by sending a PDU Session Establishment Request message to the service network 120 (step S410)).
Regarding claim 6, 15, the aforementioned references further teach that the capability information is carried in an information element (IE) of the session request message (Huang-Fu, [0055], “the PDU Session Establishment Request message may include a 5GSM capability Information Element (IE) in which an RQoS bit is used to indicate whether the UE supports RQoS or not”).
Regarding claim 7, The reporting method according to claim 6, wherein in case that the session request message is used to request the PDU session, the IE comprises a UE5G session management (5GSM) core network capability (Huang-Fu, [0055], “the PDU Session Establishment Request message may include a 5GSM capability Information Element (IE) in which an RQoS bit is used to indicate whether the UE supports RQoS or not”).
Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned references further teach that in case that the session request message is used to request the PDU session, the session request comprises any one of: a PDU session establishment request ([0055], “the UE 110 initiates a PDU session establishment procedure by sending a PDU Session Establishment Request message to the service network 120”).
Regarding claim 9, 21, 25, Liu teaches a reporting method/device/computer readable medium, performed by a network device, comprising:
receiving, a session request message from a user equipment (UE), wherein the session request message comprises capability information reported by the UE, and the capability information comprises at least one of: indication information for indicating whether the UE supports a computing power sharing function; or computing power parameters of the UE; and using a computing power of the UE based on the capability information ([0047], “The sharing authorization request is used to request from the V-CPSF, when the terminal roams, authorization for computing power sharing. When the sharing authorization for the first network terminal passes, the first network terminal can initiate computing power sharing”, “the computing power sharing request includes first computing power demand information of the first network terminal or first available computing power information of the first network terminal”, it’s noted that the request for computing power sharing implies the capability of UE for computing power sharing).
Liu doesn’t explicitly teach that the capability information is sent in a session request message.
Huang-Fu teaches the capability information is sent in a session request message ([0055], “UE 110 initiates a PDU session establishment procedure by sending a PDU Session Establishment Request message to the service network 120 (step S410). Specifically, the PDU Session Establishment Request message may include a 5GSM capability Information Element (IE) in which an RQoS bit is used to indicate whether the UE supports RQoS or not”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Huang-Fu in the system disclosed by Liu. Huang-Fu establishes the conventional way to tell the network whether a UE support a given session management feature – a support bit in the 5GSM capability IE of the PDU-session request. Applying that known technique to convey the Liu’s computing powering sharing capability is the predictable use of a known method for its established purpose, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, the aforementioned references further teach that using the computing power of the UE based on the capability information comprises: using the computing power of the UE in case that the indication information indicates that the UE supports the computing power sharing function (Liu, [0052],).
Regarding claim 16, the aforementioned references further teach that in case that the session request message is used to request the PDU session, the IE comprises a UE 5G session management (5GSM) core network capability; or in case that the session request message is used to request the PDU session, the session request comprises any one of: a PDU session establishment request: or a PDU session modification request (Huang-Fu, [0055], “UE 110 initiates a PDU session establishment procedure by sending a PDU Session Establishment Request message to the service network 120 (step S410). Specifically, the PDU Session Establishment Request message may include a 5GSM capability Information Element (IE) in which an RQoS bit is used to indicate whether the UE supports RQoS or not”).
Conclusion
/SIMING LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411