DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19, 21-29 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YI et al PG PUB 2024/0163951 in view of WU PG PUB 2024/0324039.
Re Claims 16, 21, 26 and 31, YI et al teaches in figure 4D, a IAB (a IAB node comprises a transceiver and processor) operating in a dual connectivity (NR-DC);
in a case, figure 4D teaches a IAB-MT3 (an IAB-MT node) coupled with the Donor CU (IAB-donor central unit) in a SCG performing a MCG link recovery or IP session, identifying whether a SRB3 is configured [0080] and if configured, transmitting an IABotherinformation message to IAB-MT2 (a second node comprising a transceiver and a processor) via the SRB3 [0155];
in case that the SRB3 is not configured, transmitting a RRC message comprising to the IABotherinformation message to the MeNB (a master node) [0081] and providing the IABotherinformation message to a PHY layer (a lower layer).
YI et al fails to explicitly teach “in the case that IAB-MT node performs the IP related-procedure…providing the IABotherinformation message…”.
WU teaches once BH RLC channel is modified [0081], this is analogous to MCG link recovery in YI et al, routing update procedure is performed by the IAB MT by exchanging IABtherinformation messages with the IAB-CU to obtain/request an IP address.
By combining the teachings, once the MCG link recovery completed in YI et al, the IAB-MT can perform routing update procedure to send packets across the network.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have performed the routing update procedure after the MCG recovery to re-establish lost IP session. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 17, 22, 27, 32, YI et al teaches the NR-DC with IAB-MT.
Re Claims 18, 23, 25, 28, 33, 35, WU teaches the IABotherinformation message used for requesting the IP address.
Re Claims 19, 24, 29, 34, YI et al teaches the RRC message can include a ULInformationTransferMRDC message [0140].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claims 20 and 30, prior art fails to teach the IABotherinformation message within the ULInformationTranferMRDC message as claimed.
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475