DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 12/10/2025 has been considered and entered. The response has been considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okaniwa et al. (JP 29 60 561 B2) in view of Katou et al. (WO 2011 098 616 A1)
In regards to claim 1, Okaniwa teaches grease for a reduction gear [0001]. The grease comprises polyoxyalkylene ether such as polyoxypropylene monobutyl ether at 100 parts as base oil, 2 to 35 parts of fatty acid metal salt such as lithium 12-hydroxystearic acid salt (i.e., thickener), 1 to 35 parts of polytetrafluoroethylene (ptfe) meeting the limitation of the first solid lubricant of the claim [0005 – 0011, Examples 1 – 5]. The composition can comprise additives such as antioxidants, rust inhibitors, metal deactivators, extreme pressure agents and antiwear agents such as phosphorus compounds etc., and, wherein such additives can be present in combined amounts of 5% or less [0012 – 0014]. The second solid lubricant of the claim such as tricalcium phosphate or sodium sebacate is not particularly recited.
Katou teaches grease composition for various types of gears such as for automobile parts similar to Okaniwa (page 3). The grease comprises a tricalcium phosphate (page 2). The tricalcium phosphate is present at from 0.1 to 20% which can further improve thickening and improves anti-fretting corrosion properties (page 6). Optional ingredients can include rust inhibitors such as sodium sebacate and thus when used would be present at very minor amounts of from about 0% to less than 50% in the composition (page 12, 16). The tricalcium phosphate and/or sodium sebacate each provide the second solid lubricant of the claim.
It would have been obvious for persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed to have added the additives of Kato, such as tricalcium phosphate and optionally sodium sebacate and in their recited amounts, as ingredients in the grease of Okaniwa, as Katou teaches that they are useful for improving the properties of the grease.
In regards to claims 2, 3, 5, Okaniwa and Katou combined teach the grease having the claimed ingredients in the recited amounts.
In regards to claim 6, Okaniwa and Katou combined teaches grease for gears thus providing for the gear as a mechanical part comprising the grease.
In regards to claims 7 – 13, Okaniwa and Katou combined teach the grease which comprises the base oil in the claimed amounts absent the additives.
In regards to claim 14, Okaniwa and Katou combined teach the grease. Okaniwa does not require the presence of reactive additives.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 6, 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6 of copending Application No. 18/849,131. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application recites grease and mechanical component containing the grease having a polyoxyalkylene ether, ptfe and tricalcium phosphate as the first and second solid lubricant in the claimed amounts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 7 – 13 are further rejected in view of Okaniwa et al. (JP 29 60 561 B2) and optionally further in view of Katou et al. (WO 2011 098 616 A1) which provide the amount of the base oil and the type, the presence of the claimed thickeners in the claimed amounts and the presence of optional additives such as antioxidant which are useful in grease compositions and thus would be obvious to have added them to the grease of the copending application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but were not found to be persuasive.
Applicant provides a declaration by Yoshiyuki Nagasawa dated 12/10/2025 for arguing that the composition of the claims provides beneficial effects when the first and optionally second solid lubricants of the claims are used. The argument is not persuasive.
Combination of known additives, of the prior art, into their grease to provide improvement is expected.
To the extent that applicant is attempting to demonstrate synergistic, surprising and unexpected benefits from the use of the solid lubricants in the grease, the results have been considered but were not found to be persuasive.
The inventive examples are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
While the independent claim allows the ptfe to be present at any suitable amount or from 0.5 to 20% in a dependent claim as first solid lubricant in the composition, the examples requires that it is present at the specific amount of 10% which does not support the breadth of the claims.
While the claims allow the second solid lubricant of tricalcium phosphate and/or sodium sebacate to be present at any suitable amount or from 0.5 to 10% in the grease, the inventive examples require either a tricalcium phosphate or a sodium sebacate each to be used alone at the claimed amounts, which does not support the breadth of the claims.
While the claims can allow for the ptfe and the phosphate and/or sebacate to be used at ratios of 10:3-5, the inventive examples do not particularly limit the ratios but allows for ratios of 10:0.5-10 which does not support the breadth of the claims.
The results are not persuasive.
The results compare inventive compositions having the claimed solid lubricant with a comparative example that does not comprise the second solid lubricant additive and demonstrated an improvement in load bearing performance of the grease. The results do not demonstrate criticality of the claimed amounts or ratios. The results do not demonstrate synergistic benefits but merely provides additive benefits of using higher concentrations of solid lubricants (ptfe + tricalcium phosphate/sodium sebacate) in the inventive greases as compared to comparative grease with lower amount of solid lubricant.
Therefore, applicant fails to provide inventive examples that are commensurate in scope with the claims for demonstrating unexpectedly improved results sufficient to rebut the case of obviousness.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771