DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1, 36-40, 43, 45-48, 50, 58, 137, 161, 171, and 173 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 21 and 27, the claims each recite “to which it is attached” but it is not clear what “it” refers to here, as “it” is an indefinite pronoun and could be read to refer to any number of different elements within the claim.
Claims 28-29 depend from claim 27 and are likewise rejected under the same rationale as the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-22, 24, 26-29, 31-32, and 168 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shkolnik et al. (US 2010/0125356), hereinafter Shkolnik, in view of Wynne et al. (US 2020/0001525), hereinafter Wynne.
Regarding claim 19, Shkolnik discloses a three-dimensional printer apparatus comprising: (a) an array of a plurality of projector systems (pattern generators 102, 104; par. 0089-0090; par. 0120 explains that any number of pattern generators N can be used), each of the projector systems associated with a projection area (e.g., Fig. 4C), each of the projector systems positioned adjacent to at least one other of the projector systems without a space between a projection area of each of the projector systems and a projection area of an adjacent system (Fig. 4C shows an overlap in the projection areas, thus there is no space between the projection areas), and each of the projector systems comprising a projector (pattern generator) and a projector alignment system (par. 0109);
(b) a visual alignment system configured to individually align each of the projectors (par. 0109);
(c) a cooling system (e.g., par. 0091, 0169), and
(d) a base plate (910, Fig. 9A) to which each of the projector systems is mounted (par. 0274-0275).
Shkolnik does not explicitly disclose that the cooling system cools the projectors, instead using the cooling system to cool the thermoplastic material in order for it to harden (par. 0169).
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the pattern generators would be warm from use, as they are electronic devices that emit heat when electricity flows through them.
Additionally, Wynne discloses a cooling system that can be used for the image projection system(s) (Wynne, par. 0114), demonstrating that such a cooling system was known in the art for protection of the image projection system(s) from exposure due to high temperature or lack of air flow. Accordingly, in order to likewise account for an increase in temperature or lack of air flow in the system of Shkolnik above, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have incorporated a cooling system such as that is described in Wynne, into the system of Shkolnik above, as to have likewise advantageously avoided the equipment from overheating during use.
Regarding claim 20, Shkolnik/Wynne discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses (Shkolnik, par. 0278) a support plate system with different assemblies with linkages to move the support plate holding the pattern generators.
Regarding claims 21 and 27, Shkolnik/Wynne discloses the subject matter of claims 19-20, and this subject matter is considered inherent or implied, or in the alternative, variable based on the operating conditions of the device, thus being capable of being met without modification.
Regarding claims 22, 24, 26, and 28-29, Shkolnik/Wynne discloses the subject matter of claims 20 and 27, and further discloses an arrangement that includes rotational elements/plates (Shkolnik, par. 0278) that would require two plates and rotational motion of a plate as to move the support plate in a controlled fashion, as described.
Regarding claims 31-32, Shkolnik/Wynne discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses that there is a camera (imager 106; S, par. 0109-0110), and a gantry system coupled to the apparatus and to which the camera is coupled (Shkolnik, par. 0286; support plate 112; Fig. 15), the gantry system movably positionable with respect to the array of projector systems (102, 104).
Regarding claim 168, Shkolnik/Wynne discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses that the pattern generators can project UV or visible light (Shkolnik, par. 0107).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742