DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the 18/849131 application originally filed September 20, 2024.
Amended claims 1-6, filed September 20, 2024, are pending and have been fully considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 2025/0207051 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim a grease composition comprising a base oil, a thickener, and an additive having the same and overlapping base oil and thickener. The examiner notes the present application and copending application ‘051 includes solid lubricants but varies by the compounds selected for solid lubricants. However, the present application and copending application ‘051 disclose in the specification overlapping solid lubricants that can be used in a grease composition. Applicant is reminded that those portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in an application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent. In re Vogel, 422 F. 2d 438, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlarb et al. (WO 2019/125757 A1) hereinafter “Schlarb” in view of Katou et al. (WO 2011/098616 A1) hereinafter “Katou”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 6
Schlarb discloses in the abstract, a lubricating grease composition.
Schlarb discloses in paragraph 0008, a suitable lubricating grease composition would therefore require to show the following properties:
High constant (or slightly declining) level of clamping force over several cycles.
Strong adhesion on metallic surfaces and resistance of being centrifuged off.
Sufficient chemical and physical resistance against all fluids (especially cutting fluids) used in the metalworking application. A hardening or washing-out of the lubricant will lead to insufficient lubrication and shorter re-lubrication intervals.
The performance of used cutting fluids should not be negatively influenced by the (chuck) lubricant.
The lubricant should not contain any toxic, environmental toxic or harmful substances.
The lubricant should have some corrosion protection to suppress corrosion which impacts negatively the lubrication and clamping forces.
Schlarb further discloses in paragraph 0010, a lubricating grease composition comprising:
a) From 15 to 65% by weight of one or more solid lubricants powders;
b) From 15 to 84% by weight of one or more base oils;
c) From 0.5 to 20% by weight of one or more adhesion improver;
d) From 0.5 to 15% by weight of one or more waxes; and
e) From 0 to 30% by weight of one or more thickeners.
Schlarb further discloses in paragraph 0012, component a) may be selected from one or more from the group of calcium oxide, zinc oxide, magnesium oxide, calcium hydroxide, zinc hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, a carbonate such as calcium carbonate, zinc carbonate, magnesium carbonate, calcium fluoride, zinc fluoride, magnesium fluoride, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), titanium dioxide, a phosphorus containing salt such as a phosphoric acid salt, a metaphosphoric acid salt, a diphosphoric acid salt (pyrophosphate), a triphosphoric acid salt (tripolyphosphate), a phosphorous acid salt, a diphosphorous acid salt, or a hypophosphorous acid salt and zinc salts not listed above.
Schlarb further discloses in paragraph 0014, component a) may be present in a range of from 15% by weight to 65% by weight of the composition.
Schlarb discloses in paragraph 0015, component b) is one or more base oils. Examples thereof include one or more base oil(s) classified by the American Petroleum in Groups I, II, III, IV and V. Lubricant base oils include natural lubricating oils, synthetic lubricating oils, and mixtures thereof.
Schlarb further discloses in paragraph 0018, Group V base oils include base oils not included in Groups I-IV such as polyinternal olefins (PIO); polyalkylene glycols (PAG); alkylated aromatics such as alkylated benzenes (e.g., dodecylbenzene, tetradecylbenzene, di-nonylbenzene, and di-(2-ethylhexyl)benzene); polyphenyls (e.g., biphenyls, terphenyl and alkylated polyphenyls); synthetic esters such as esters of dicarboxylic acids (e.g., dibutyl adipate, di(2-ethylhexyl)sebacate, di-n-hexyl fumarate, dioctyl sebacate, diisooctyl azelate, diisodecyl azelate, dioctyl phthalate, didecyl phthalate and dieicosyl sebacate); esters of carboxylic acids, polyol esters (e.g., neopentyl glycol, trimethylolethane, trimethylpropane, pentaerythritol, dipentaerythritol and tripentaerythritol); phosphate esters (e.g., tricresyl phosphate, trioctylphosphate, and diethyl ester of decylphosphonic acid); silicones, silicone based copolymers, polyisobutylene (PIB) and halogenated hydrocarbons.
It is to be noted, Schlarb discloses the base oils comprise Group V base oils including polyalkylene glycols but fails to specifically teach Group V base oils polyalkylene glycols comprise polyoxyalklyene glycols.
However, it is known in the art that synthetic oils of Group V of base oils include polyoxyalkylene glycols, as taught by Katou.
Katou discloses on page 3 lines 10-18, as to the applications of this grease composition, whilst it can naturally be used in generally used machines, bearings and gears, it displays excellent performance under the rather more rigorous conditions which accompany microvibrations. For example, it can be suitably used in automobile parts such as the needle bearings of universal joints, constant velocity joints (CVJ) , wheel bearings, ball screws, screws, flexible couplings, various kinds of gears, cams and chains.
Katou discloses on page 3 lines 24-27, the grease composition comprises base oils which belong to Group I, Group II, Group III, Group IV and Group V of the API (American Petroleum Institute) base oil categories.
Katou discloses on page 4 lines 28-34 and page 5 lines 1-11, the grease composition comprising Group V synthetic base oils include, for example, naphthenic mineral oils obtained by appropriate use of a suitable combination of refining processes such as solvent refining, hydrorefining, and dewaxing in respect of lubricating oil fractions obtained by atmospheric distillation of crude oil. It is also possible to use mixtures of the above mentioned paraffinic mineral oils and naphthenic mineral oils. As examples of synthetic oils mention may be made of polyolefins, dibasic acid diesters such as dioctyl sebacate, polyol esters, alkylbenzenes, alkylnaphthalenes , esters, polyoxyalkylene glycols, polyoxyalkylene glycol esters, polyoxyalkylene glycol ethers, polyphenyl ethers, dialkyldiphenyl ethers, fluorine-containing compounds (perfluoropolyethers, fluorinated polyolefins) and silicones.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the synthetic base oils of Schlarb includes the polyoxyalkylene glycols of Katou due to Katou specifically disclosing Group V synthetic oils comprise known polyalkylene glycols (i.e. polyoxyalkylene glycols).
Schlarb further discloses in paragraph 0023, component e) is a thickener for stabilizing the composition, to help retain the base oil and increase resistance towards liquids such as cutting fluids: these may include metallic single and complex soaps of lithium, aluminium, zinc, magnesium, sodium, barium and calcium as well as non-soap organic (Polymer, Polyurea, PTFE) and inorganic (Silica, Bentonite) materials and mixtures thereof, for example, lithium- l2-hydroxystrearate and zinc stearate. Component e) may be present in the composition in a range of from 0 to 30% by weight of the composition.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claims 2-5
Schlarb further discloses in paragraph 0012, component a) may be selected from one or more from the group of calcium oxide, zinc oxide, magnesium oxide, calcium hydroxide, zinc hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, a carbonate such as calcium carbonate, zinc carbonate, magnesium carbonate, calcium fluoride, zinc fluoride, magnesium fluoride, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), titanium dioxide, a phosphorus containing salt such as a phosphoric acid salt, a metaphosphoric acid salt, a diphosphoric acid salt (pyrophosphate), a triphosphoric acid salt (tripolyphosphate), a phosphorous acid salt, a diphosphorous acid salt, or a hypophosphorous acid salt and zinc salts not listed above.
Schlarb further discloses in paragraph 0014, component a) may be present in a range of from 15% by weight to 65% by weight of the composition.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sato et al. (US 2017/0074326) discloses in the abstract, a grease composition for a wheel bearing, containing (a) a base oil consisting of a mineral oil and a synthetic hydrocarbon oil, wherein the ratio of the synthetic hydrocarbon oil to the total amount of the mineral oil and the synthetic hydrocarbon oil is 40 to 60 mass %, and the base oil has a kinematic viscosity at 40° C. of 40 to 65 mm2/s; (b) a thickener of formula (A) wherein R2 is diphenylmethane, and R1 and R3, which may be the same or different from each other, each represent cyclohexyl group or a straight-chain or branched alkyl group having 16 to 20 carbon atoms, with a molar ratio of the cyclohexyl group to the total number of moles of the cyclohexyl group and the alkyl group being 50 to 90 mol %; (c) an amine type antioxidant; and (d) an amine phosphate type anti-wear agent.
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771