DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action regarding application number 18/849,145, filed on 09/20/2024, which is a 371 of PCT/US2023/016759, filed on 03/29/2023, and which claims priority to United States provisional application number 63/325,915, filed on 03/31/2022. The applicant chose the Korean Intellectual Property Office as the International Searching Authority.
This action is in response to the Applicant’s Response received 10/08/2025.
Election of Restricted Inventions
The Applicant’s election of Group I, Species A2, B2, C3 (claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 19-22, and 24) in the reply received on 10/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are currently pending.
Claims 4, 9, 11-18, and 23 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 19-22, and 24 are examined below.
No claim is allowed.
Claim Interpretation
Means-plus-function
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim 19’s limitation reciting “means for generating electricity from heat received from the nuclear reactor” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because it uses a generic placeholder “means” coupled with functional language “for generating electricity from heat received from the nuclear reactor” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim 19 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation: one or more thermal photovoltaic panels.
If the Applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the Examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, the Applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
If the Applicant does not intend to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) the Applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 19-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOTHA (US 2022/0051825 A1) in view of VENNERI (US 2020/0027587 A1).
Regarding claim 1, BOTHA teaches a nuclear power system, comprising:
a nuclear reactor comprising a core comprising a vessel housing a nuclear fuel that produces radiation (para. 21: “the heat source 102 can be a nuclear reactor system” and “reactor core 104 can include one or more fuel assemblies 105 including fissile and/or other suitable materials”), a high temperature moderator material (“moderator” para. 23) disposed circumferentially about the core, and
a neutron screen disposed circumferentially about the moderator material (“the nuclear reactor 102 can include a reflector 109 positioned around the reactor core 104 that directs neutrons back into the reactor core 104 to further the nuclear reaction taking place therein”, para. 21; applicant’s specification describes that the neutron screen can be a reflector);
one or more thermal photovoltaic panels (TPV cells 120, para. 20) circumferentially arranged around the neutron screen, the one or more thermal photovoltaic panels configured to absorb thermal radiation received from the high temperature moderator material via the neutron screen and to generate electricity therefrom; and
one or more cooling units in thermal communication with the one or more thermal photovoltaic panels, the one or more cooling units being operable to cool the thermal photovoltaic panels (heat pipes 130 thermally coupled to the TPV cells 120 and configured to remove waste heat from the TPV cells 120 to thereby maintain the TPV cells 120 at or below a maximum operating temperature, para. 20).
BOTHA explains that it is desirable to minimize the size and weight of power plants for use in portable applications (para. 3). Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify the nuclear power system to make it of minimal size and weight, i.e., portable, for use in portable applications.
BOTHA does not disclose expressly that the high temperature moderator material is in the shape of a “sleeve” disposed circumferentially around the nuclear reactor core.
VENNERI teaches a nuclear reactor fuel comprised of a core and a sleeve (please see the spherical particle illustrated in Fig. 2A, showing a core of TRISO embedded inside a graphite matrix sleeve/shell, and para. 74), reporting the improved ability to retain fission products at elevated temperatures with strong structural integrity.
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify BOTHA and replace the nuclear reactor fuel with another, such as TRISO core/graphite sleeve composite fuel pellets taught by VENNERI to obtain the improved ability to retain fission products at elevated temperatures with strong structural integrity reported by the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the nuclear fuel comprises Triso (VENNERI teaches TRISO).
Regarding claim 3, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the high temperature moderator material comprises graphite (VENNERI teaches graphite).
Regarding claim 5, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more cooling units is an active cooing unit (BOTHA contemplates that the heat removal systems can be either passive or active, para. 45, and thus skilled artisans would find it obvious to try either from among these two finite options).
Regarding claim 6, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more cooling units comprises a water jacket through which water is circulated by a pump (BOTHA, para. 45 describes active pumping of water through a circulation system, interpreted as a “water jacket”).
Regarding claim 7, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more thermal photovoltaic panels is a plurality of thermal photovoltaic panels arranged circumferentially about the neutron screen (BOTHA, Fig. 2 illustrates the TPVs arranged circumferentially around the reactor; the reactor includes the screen).
Regarding claim 8, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 7, wherein the plurality of thermal photovoltaic panels are spaced apart from the neutron screen (BOTHA, Fig. 2 illustrates that there is space between the reactor 102 and the TPVs).
Regarding claim 10, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 1, further comprising one or more heat pipes disposed in the core and configured to transfer heat toward an outer circumference of the core (BOTHA, first heat pipes 110).
Regarding claim 19, BOTHA teaches a nuclear power system, comprising:
a nuclear reactor comprising
a core comprising a vessel housing a nuclear fuel that produces radiation (para. 21: “the heat source 102 can be a nuclear reactor system” and “reactor core 104 can include one or more fuel assemblies 105 including fissile and/or other suitable materials”),
a high temperature moderator material (“moderator” para. 23) disposed circumferentially about the core, and
a neutron screen disposed circumferentially about the moderator material (“the nuclear reactor 102 can include a reflector 109 positioned around the reactor core 104 that directs neutrons back into the reactor core 104 to further the nuclear reaction taking place therein”, para. 21; applicant’s specification describes that the neutron screen can be a reflector);
means for generating electricity from heat received from the nuclear reactor (TPV cells 120, para. 20); and
one or more cooling units in thermal communication with said means and operable to cool said means (heat pipes 130 thermally coupled to the TPV cells 120 and configured to remove waste heat from the TPV cells 120 to thereby maintain the TPV cells 120 at or below a maximum operating temperature, para. 20).
BOTHA explains that it is desirable to minimize the size and weight of power plants for use in portable applications (para. 3). Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify the nuclear power system to make it of minimal size and weight, i.e., portable, for use in portable applications.
BOTHA does not disclose expressly that the high temperature moderator material is in the shape of a “sleeve” disposed circumferentially around the nuclear reactor core.
VENNERI teaches a nuclear reactor fuel comprised of a core and a sleeve (please see the spherical particle illustrated in Fig. 2A, showing a core of TRISO embedded inside a graphite matrix sleeve/shell, and para. 74), reporting the improved ability to retain fission products at elevated temperatures with strong structural integrity.
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify BOTHA and replace the nuclear reactor fuel with another, such as TRISO core/graphite sleeve composite fuel pellets taught by VENNERI to obtain the improved ability to retain fission products at elevated temperatures with strong structural integrity reported by the prior art.
Regarding claim 20, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 19, wherein the nuclear fuel comprises Triso (VENNERI teaches TRISO).
Regarding claim 21, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 19, wherein the high temperature moderator material comprises graphite (VENNERI teaches graphite).
Regarding claim 22, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 19, wherein the one or more cooling units is chosen from a group consisting of a passive cooling unit, an active cooling unit and a water jacket through which water is recirculated by a pump (BOTHA contemplates that the heat removal systems can be either passive or active, para. 45, and thus skilled artisans would find it obvious to try either from among these two finite options).
Regarding claim 24, modified BOTHA teaches the system of Claim 19, further comprising one or more heat pipes disposed in the core and configured to transfer heat toward an outer circumference of the core (BOTHA, first heat pipes 110).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
/ANGELO TRIVISONNO/
Primary Examiner