DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of its improper use of reference characters in parenthesis. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartelet (International Patent Application WO2015050440A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bartelet teaches A transport system comprising: a check-in location at which an article is checked in; (Page 1, lines 4-6: "The present invention relates to a system for checking in luggage. The present invention also relates to a method for checking in luggage, using a system according to the present invention.")a supplying device which supplies, to the check-in location, a tray on which the article is not placed; (Figure 3: Conveyor 21)a detecting device which detects that the article has been placed on the tray at the check-in location; (Page 11, lines 2-4: "The weighing device of luggage dropoff station 2 will sense the increase of weight caused by the piece of luggage 4 and will forward this information to the passenger data server. ")and a transporting device which transports the tray from the check-in location toward a transport destination after detection has been made by the detecting device.(Figure 5: Conveyor belts 18, 19, 22, 23, 24)
Regarding Claim 2, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 1. Bartelet further discloses wherein orientation of the tray which is supplied to the check-in location by the supplying device is identical to orientation in which the tray is disposed at the check-in location.(Figure 4: Shows carrier 16 in same orientation)
Regarding Claim 3, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 1. Bartelet further discloses wherein the transporting device includes:a transporting mechanism which is provided at a position that is away from the check-in location and which transports, toward the transport destination, the tray on which the article is placed; (Figure 5: Conveyor belt 18)and a sending-out mechanism which sends out, from the check-in location to the transporting mechanism, the tray on which the article has been placed at the check-in location.(Figure 4: Conveyor 17)
Regarding Claim 4, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 3. Bartelet further discloses wherein the supplying device is disposed such that at least part of the supplying device overlaps with at least the transporting mechanism of the transporting device in a vertical direction.(Figure 4: Conveyor belt 21 overlaps vertically with conveyor belt 22)
Regarding Claim 5, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 3. Bartelet further discloses wherein the sending-out mechanism includes a conveyor which is configured to support both edges of the tray, and the sending-out mechanism sends out, from the check-in location by the conveyor, the tray on which the article is placed.(Figure 3: Shows conveyor 17 holding carrier 16)
Regarding Claim 6, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 3. Bartelet further discloses wherein the supplying device includes:a supplying mechanism which is provided at a position that is away from the check-in location and which supplies, to a supply position that is away from the check-in location, the tray on which the article is not placed; (Figure 5: Conveyor 21)and a transferring mechanism which transfers, to the check-in location, the tray which has been supplied by the supplying mechanism.(Figure 5: Conveyors 18, 19)
Regarding Claim 8, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 6. Bartelet further discloses wherein the transferring mechanism is disposed such that at least part of the transferring mechanism overlaps with the transporting mechanism in a vertical direction.(Figure 5: Conveyors 18, 19 can overlap with conveyors 22)
Regarding Claim 9, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 6. Bartelet further discloses wherein the supplying mechanism supplies the tray while retaining the tray in a posture in which a placement surface of the tray is inclined at an angle of less than 90 with respect to a horizontal surface.(Figure 5: Conveyor 17 inclined at a range of angles)
Regarding Claim 10, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 1. Bartelet further discloses further comprising: one or more reading-out devices each of which reads out, at the check-in location, (i) identification information that is given to the tray in advance and that is unique to the tray(Page 9, lines 18-26: "The carriers 16 have a luggage support surface 31 which may be concave. The carriers 16 further have two upstanding wall parts 32a, 32b at its outer ends, in the longitudinal direction of the carrier. The carriers 16 each comprise a RFI D-tag 33 which may be integrated in its bottom 31 , for example. These RFI D-tags 33 provide a unique identification for each carrier 16. The RFI D tags can be read by RFI D tag readers which as such are known to the skilled person. System 3 comprises such RFI D tag readers at each drop-off location 13. Those RFI D tag readers are schematically illustrated in figure 2 and indicated by reference number 34.")and (ii) transport information which is given to the article placed on the tray and which indicates the transport destination; and an associating device which associates the identification information and the transport information each of which has been read out with each other.(Page 7, lines 6-28: "Figures 1 to 5 illustrate a passenger identification terminal 1 and an associated luggage drop-off station 2 together being part of a system 3 for checking in luggage such as a suitcase 4 of a passenger 5, as an embodiment of a system according to the invention. System 3 comprises several identical combinations of a passenger identification terminal 1 and a luggage drop-off station 2 which combinations are located next to each other. System 3 is controlled by a passenger data server. The passenger identification terminal 1 comprises a screen 6, on which information and questions to be answered for the passenger 5 can be displayed, as well as a keyboard 7 and other input means 8. The keyboard 7 can be used by the passenger 5 to enter plain text data. The other input means 8 provide an alternative means for the passenger 5 to enter data, for instance by inserting a frequent flyer card, a passport or a boarding pass. The passenger identification terminal 1 furthermore comprises a luggage claim tag issuing device 9 which can print and issue luggage claim tags 10. The passenger identification terminal 1 is arranged to determine the passenger identification of passenger 5 on the basis of information input by the passenger 5 via the keyboard 7 or via the other input means 8. Presence of keyboard 7 is not required within the scope of the present invention. The screen 6 is preferably a touch-screen. In an embodiment of a passenger identification terminal within the scope of the present invention, a scanner for a passport and/or boarding pass and/or frequent flyer card, in combination with a touch screen may suffice for the purposes of establishing a passenger identification of the passenger.", wherein the passenger identification terminal which identifies passenger information such as passenger transport information (boarding pass with gate number, destination information etc.) communicates with its associated luggage drop off station in order to transport the luggage)
Regarding Claim 11, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 1. Bartelet further discloses further comprising a container supplying mechanism which supplies, to the check-in location, a container which can accommodate the article and which can be placed on the tray.(Figure 14: Stacker unit 760 shows trays 16 can be stacked, therefore it is possible for the tray to be comprised of two stacked trays 16)
Regarding Claim 12, Bartelet teaches the transport system, as set forth in claim 1. Bartelet further discloses wherein the check-in location includes an accommodating body which accommodates the tray,(Figure 2: Conveyor 17)the accommodating body includes: an opening through which the article is put in or taken out from the accommodating body; and a door which opens and closes the opening, and the door is controlled so as to open when the tray is at a specified position at the check-in location.(Figure 2: Gate 12)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartelet (International Patent Application WO2015050440A1) in view of Jeffery (International Patent Application WO2010136789A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Bartelet discloses the transport system as set forth in claim 6, as seen above.
However, Bartelet does not disclose wherein the transferring mechanism includes a turning mechanism which changes orientation of the tray which has been supplied by the supplying mechanism, to orientation in which the tray is disposed at the check-in location, and the transferring mechanism transfers, to the check-in location, the tray the orientation of which has been changed by the turning mechanism.
Jeffery discloses a similar transport system wherein the transferring mechanism includes a turning mechanism which changes orientation of the tray which has been supplied by the supplying mechanism, to orientation in which the tray is disposed at the check-in location, and the transferring mechanism transfers, to the check-in location, the tray the orientation of which has been changed by the turning mechanism.(Pages 17-18, lines 13-11: "The main difference is the inclusion of a further conveyor 80 between the offloading conveyor 36 and the queueing conveyor 24. The further conveyor 80 is driven in synchronism with the offloading conveyor 36 and comprises a plurality of identical transversely extending slots 82 having a planar outer surface which are linked together to form a continuous endless conveyor. Each slot is provided with a plurality of equally spaced, non-driven, rotatably mounted balls 84 which project slightly above the upper face of the slot in which they are mounted. The balls allow an item of baggage located on the further conveyor 80 to be rotated manually with minimal effort to a desired orientation. It will also be observed that the transition between the further conveyor 80 and the offloading conveyor comprises a plate portion 86 which is provided with a plurality of non-driven rotatably mounted balls 88 which project above the upper surface of the plate portion 86, thereby forming a ball conveyor and further facilitating the manual orientation of items of baggage. The outer edge of the plate portion 86 is provided with a cut-out portion or recess 90 to facilitate rotation of the offloading conveyor 36 and the portion of the conveyor immediately below the cut-out or recess 90 is provided with three identical non-driven rotatably mounted balls 92 projecting above the surface of the conveyor 24, to further facilitate manual orientation of items of baggage.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bartelet to include the turning mechanism as taught by Jeffery. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a transfer of baggage that is reduces risk of injuries resulting from manual effort (Page 2, lines 20-23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
International Patent Application WO 2012/099461A1 (Porter, Nicholas): Porter teaches a similar transport system comprising a passenger identification system, a presence determination device a conveyor system, control devices and ID determination devices as seen in Figure 2.
International Patent Application WO 2016/008604A1 (Muller, Markus): Muller teaches a similar transport system comprising a container for recieving luggage, a cover, a service counter, and a loading/unloading system as seen in Figure 5.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651