DETAILED ACTION
Claim 16 has been canceled. Claims 17-21 have been added. Claims 1-15 and 17-21 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-15, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220279348 A1 to Youn et al. (hereinafter “Youn”).
As per claim 1, 11, 17, Youn discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Youn Fig. 16), comprising: at least one memory (Youn Fig. 16); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus (Youn Fig. 16 and [0435]) to: establish a data connection with a first mobile communication network, the data connection comprising a set of quality of service (QoS) flows, the data connection controlled by a session management function (SMF) in the first mobile communication network (Youn Fig. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0207] Multiple QoS rules may be included in the N1 SM information and the N2 SM information within the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0432] When authentication for multiple Remote UEs is in progress, information on multiple remote UEs may be included in the Remote UE Accept Command message or Remote UE Release Command message in the form of a list. In this case, the SMF may transmit an EAP message related to each Remote UE together to the 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay.); send a first session management message to the session management function, the first session management message comprising an identity of a first device, the first session management message comprising a request for authorizing the first device to connect to the apparatus (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0290] As described above, the remote UE cannot transmit and receive NAS messages with the network. In order to perform network authentication for a Remote UE that cannot transmit and receive NAS messages, the relay UE may transmit the Remote UE ID of the Remote UE to the network. The network may perform an authentication procedure for the Remote UE ID based on the Remote UE ID. The network may transmit the result of the authentication procedure for the Remote UE ID to the relay UE. The relay UE may perform the procedure of generating (or establishing) a session for the remote UE only when the network authentication procedure is successfully completed. If authentication for the Remote UE is performed after the session is created (or established), the network may instruct the Relay UE to stop the service for the Remote UE. [0297] 3) The Remote UE may transmit a Direct Communication Request message to the relay UE in order to use the relay service. The Direct Communication Request message may include information on the Remote UE ID and information on the session for which the Remote UE wants the service (eg, ID for distinguishing PC5 sessions, Data Network Name (DNN), Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI), etc.). The Remote UE may use a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI), a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI), or a temporary ID previously assigned by the AMF (eg, a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI)) as the Remote UE ID. The Remote UE may also transmit type information of the Remote UE ID to distinguish SUPI, SUCI, and temporary ID. That is, the Direct Communication Request message may include information on the Remote UE ID, type information of the Remote UE ID, and information on the session for which the Remote UE wants a service. [0011] In order to solve the above problems, one disclosure of the present specification may provide an SMF node that performs authentication. The SMF node includes at least one processor; and at least one memory that stores instructions and is operably electrically connectable with the at least one processor, wherein the instructions are executed based on execution by the at least one processor. The operations may include: receiving, from a relay UE, a Remote UE report message related to a Remote UE connected to the relay UE; transmitting a request message to a UDM node or an AMF node based on the Remote UE report message including the SUCI of the Remote UE; receiving a response message including the SUPI of the Remote UE from the UDM node or the AMF node; and transmitting an authentication request message requesting authentication for the Remote UE to an authentication server.); receive a second session management message from the session management function, the second session management message indicating that the first device has been authorized to connect to the apparatus (Youn Figs, 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0301] 8) RAUSF may generate an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP)-Request message for authentication to the Remote UE. RAUSF may transmit an Authentication Response message including the EAP-Request message and information about the Remote UE ID (information transmitted by the UE in step 3) (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID) to the AMF. Here, when the Relay UE has a plurality of Remote UEs (when communicating with a plurality of Remote UEs), in order to inform which Remote UE the message is for authentication, RAUSF may transmit information about the Remote UE ID. [0433]), and the second session management message comprising QoS information associated with the first device (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles.); and apply the QoS information to data traffic between the first device and the first mobile communication network (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles.).
As per claim 3, 19, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to apply the QoS information to the data traffic between the first device and the first mobile communication network by determining a first QoS flow to carry the data traffic of the first device (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles.).
As per claim 4, 20, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein, when the data connection does not support the first QoS flow, the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to modify the data connection to establish the first QoS flow (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0323-0324]).
As per claim 5, 21, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to send data traffic associated with the first device over the first QoS flow of the data connection (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0323-0324]).
As per claim 6, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second session management information comprises a traffic identifier, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to mark the data traffic between the first device and the first mobile communication network with the traffic identifier (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0323-0324]).
As per claim 7, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first session management message is a packet data unit (PDU) Session Third-Party Authentication Request message (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b).
As per claim 8, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second session management message is received in response to the first device being successfully authenticated and authorized to connect to the apparatus (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b).
As per claim 9, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second session management message is a packet data unit (PDU) Session Third-Party Authentication Result (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b).
As per claim 10, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second session management message comprises at least one of a Traffic Identifier and QoS flow information (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0323-0324]).
As per claim 12, Youn discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Youn Fig. 16), comprising: at least one memory (Youn Fig. 16); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus (Youn Fig. 16 and [0435]) to: establish a data connection between a first mobile communication network and a relay node, the data connection comprising a set of quality of service (QoS) flows (Youn Fig. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0207] Multiple QoS rules may be included in the N1 SM information and the N2 SM information within the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0432] When authentication for multiple Remote UEs is in progress, information on multiple remote UEs may be included in the Remote UE Accept Command message or Remote UE Release Command message in the form of a list. In this case, the SMF may transmit an EAP message related to each Remote UE together to the 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay.); receive a first session management message from the relay node, the first session management message comprising an identity of a first device, the first session management message comprising a request for authorizing the first device to connect to the relay node (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0290] As described above, the remote UE cannot transmit and receive NAS messages with the network. In order to perform network authentication for a Remote UE that cannot transmit and receive NAS messages, the relay UE may transmit the Remote UE ID of the Remote UE to the network. The network may perform an authentication procedure for the Remote UE ID based on the Remote UE ID. The network may transmit the result of the authentication procedure for the Remote UE ID to the relay UE. The relay UE may perform the procedure of generating (or establishing) a session for the remote UE only when the network authentication procedure is successfully completed. If authentication for the Remote UE is performed after the session is created (or established), the network may instruct the Relay UE to stop the service for the Remote UE. [0297] 3) The Remote UE may transmit a Direct Communication Request message to the relay UE in order to use the relay service. The Direct Communication Request message may include information on the Remote UE ID and information on the session for which the Remote UE wants the service (eg, ID for distinguishing PC5 sessions, Data Network Name (DNN), Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI), etc.). The Remote UE may use a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI), a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI), or a temporary ID previously assigned by the AMF (eg, a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI)) as the Remote UE ID. The Remote UE may also transmit type information of the Remote UE ID to distinguish SUPI, SUCI, and temporary ID. That is, the Direct Communication Request message may include information on the Remote UE ID, type information of the Remote UE ID, and information on the session for which the Remote UE wants a service. [0011] In order to solve the above problems, one disclosure of the present specification may provide an SMF node that performs authentication. The SMF node includes at least one processor; and at least one memory that stores instructions and is operably electrically connectable with the at least one processor, wherein the instructions are executed based on execution by the at least one processor. The operations may include: receiving, from a relay UE, a Remote UE report message related to a Remote UE connected to the relay UE; transmitting a request message to a UDM node or an AMF node based on the Remote UE report message including the SUCI of the Remote UE; receiving a response message including the SUPI of the Remote UE from the UDM node or the AMF node; and transmitting an authentication request message requesting authentication for the Remote UE to an authentication server.); send a second session management message to the relay node, the second session management message indicating that the first device has been authorized, and the second session management message comprising QoS information associated with the first device (Youn Figs, 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0301] 8) RAUSF may generate an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP)-Request message for authentication to the Remote UE. RAUSF may transmit an Authentication Response message including the EAP-Request message and information about the Remote UE ID (information transmitted by the UE in step 3) (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID) to the AMF. Here, when the Relay UE has a plurality of Remote UEs (when communicating with a plurality of Remote UEs), in order to inform which Remote UE the message is for authentication, RAUSF may transmit information about the Remote UE ID. [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0433]).
As per claim 13, Youn disloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to authenticate and authorize the first device to connect to the relay node, and wherein the second session management message is sent in response to the first device being successfully authenticated and authorized to connect to the apparatus (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0323-0324]).
As per claim 14, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the second session management information comprises a traffic identifier (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b, and [0373] 3) The Remote UE may select a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and establish a connection for One-to-one ProSe Direct Communication. If there is no PDU session that satisfies the requirements of PC5 connection with the Remote UE (eg S-NSSAI, DNN, QoS, etc.), 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay may initiation a PDU session establishment procedure for establishing a new PUD session for relay, or initiate a PDU session modification procedure. [0189] The subscription data may include an authenticated Request type, an authenticated SSC mode, and information on a default QoS profile. [0201] 10) The SMF transmits an SM response message to the AMF. The message may include a cause, N2 SM information, and N1 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, and CN tunnel information. The N1 SM information PDU Session Establishment Accept message. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include an allowed QoS rule, an SSC mode, S-NSSAI, and allocated IPv4 address. [0215] 13) The RAN transmits an N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The message may include a PDU session ID, a cause, and N2 SM information. The N2 SM information may include a PDU session ID, (AN) tunnel information, and a list of allowed/rejected QoS profiles. [0323-0324]).
As per claim 15, Youn discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the apparatus supports the SWa interface (Youn Figs. 6a, 6b, 10a, 10b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476