DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-11, 18-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salkintzis et al. (WO2020074063 herein after Salk).
Regarding claim 1, 8, 18 Salk teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE ([0058] “Furthermore, the user equipment apparatus 300 may include a processor 305, a memory 310, an input device 315, an output device 320, a transceiver 325. In some embodiments, the input device 315 and the output device 320 are combined into a single device, such as a touch screen”) to:
receive information from a non-3GPP access network, wherein the non-3GPP access network supports at least one functionality provided by a communication network ([0054] “The UE 205 determines if a WLAN supports“trusted connectivity” to a given PLMN by receiving the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by this WLAN. For a given PLMN, if this PLMN is not included in any of the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by a WLAN, then the WLAN can only support connectivity to an ePDG or N3IWF in the PLMN (i.e.“untrusted connectivity”)”) [0092] “ the UE 205 sends a DNS query and receives a DNS response that indicates if a PLMN must be selected in the visited region/country. The DNS response includes a lifetime that denotes how long the DNS response can be cached”, (Examiner’s Note: WLAN ==non 3GPP access network),
and wherein the information comprises: a set of communication networks supported by the non-3GPP access network ([0054] “The UE 205 determines if a WLAN supports“trusted connectivity” to a given PLMN by receiving the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by this WLAN. For a given PLMN, if this PLMN is not included in any of the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by a WLAN, then the WLAN can only support connectivity to an ePDG or N3IWF in the PLMN (i.e.“untrusted connectivity”) (Examiner’s Note: set of communication networks supported by the non 3GPP access network ==PLMN list 2, list 3);
a connectivity to each communication network of the set of communication networks that is supported by the non-3GPP access network ([0054] “The UE 205 determines if a WLAN supports“trusted connectivity” to a given PLMN by receiving the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by this WLAN. For a given PLMN, if this PLMN is not included in any of the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by a WLAN, then the WLAN can only support connectivity to an ePDG or N3IWF in the PLMN (i.e.“untrusted connectivity”), (Examiner Note: connectivity ==trusted connectivity;
and at least one functionality provided by each communication network and that is supported by the non-3GPP access network (Fig. 2b “260”, “265”, [0054] “The UE 205 determines if a WLAN supports“trusted connectivity” to a given PLMN by receiving the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by this WLAN. For a given PLMN, if this PLMN is not included in any of the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by a WLAN, then the WLAN can only support connectivity to an ePDG or N3IWF in the PLMN (i.e.“untrusted connectivity”), [0056] “rom the PLMN Lists- 1, PLMN Lists-2, and PLMN Lists-3 advertised by the WLAN access networks 215-235, the UE 205 creates a list of available non-3GPP access networks 260. As depicted, the list of available non-3GPP access networks 260 includes identifiers for the available non-3GPP access networks (e.g., WLANs 215-235). For each available non-3GPP access network, the list of available non-3GPP access networks 260 indicates those PLMNs for which the WLAN supports trusted connectivity as well as the types of connectivity supported (e.g., S2a connectivity and/or 5G connectivity)”;
select a non- 3GPP access network and a communication network based at least in part on the received information ([0087] “f the UE 205 decides to use the trusted non-3GPP access procedure, then the UE 205 selects a PLMN and "S2a connectivity" or "5G connectivity" (see block 420) and then selects a non-3GPP access network (see block 425). One example of selecting the non-3GPP access network, the PLMN and "S2a connectivity" or "5G connectivity" is described below. Note that the UE 205 executes the following steps before connecting to a non-3GPP access network”);
and initiate a registration with the selected non-3GPP access network and the selected communication network ([0029] “ a non-3GPP access network (e.g., a WLAN) may support interfaces with mobile networks (e.g., one or more PLMNs) in order to enable wireless devices to connect to these mobile networks and utilize their services. When a wireless device wants to register to a PLMN via a non-3GPP access network, the wireless device requires a method for selecting (a) the PLMN to connect to via non-3GPP access, (b) the core network (EPC or 5GC) in this PLMN to connect to and (c) the non-3GPP access network to connect to that provides connectivity to the selected core network in the selected PLMN”).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 19, Salk teaches wherein the selection of a non-3GPP access network and a communication network is based on at least one of service requirements determined at the UE or a configuration determined at the UE ([0085] “Next, the UE 205 decides whether to use the trusted or the untrusted non-3GPP access procedures (see block 410). In some embodiments, this decision is made based on the UE implementation, and/or based on the UE configuration (e.g. the UE 205 may be configured to try first the trusted non-3GPP access procedure), and/or based on the UE capabilities (e.g. the UE 205 may support only the trusted non-3GPP access procedure)”).
Regarding claim 3, 10, Salk teaches further comprising a storage component arranged to store one or more of configuration or capability information ([0127] “selecting the first trusted connectivity type is based on at least one of: a capability of the user terminal”, [0078] “In some embodiments, the memory 310 stores data relating to determining what type of network connection to establish from an OS-specific connection capability, for example storing URSP rules, OS identities, application identifiers, and the like. In certain embodiments, the memory 310 also stores program code and related data, such as an operating system (“OS”) or other controller algorithms operating on the user equipment apparatus 300 and one or more software applications”).
Regarding claim 5, 20 Salk teaches wherein functionalities supported by each communication network comprise at least one of: network access using credentials from a Credentials Holder; a list of one or more Group IDs for Network Selection; registration without explicit Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) selection configuration ([0029] “ a non-3GPP access network (e.g., a WLAN) may support interfaces with mobile networks (e.g., one or more PLMNs) in order to enable wireless devices to connect to these mobile networks and utilize their services. When a wireless device wants to register to a PLMN via a non-3GPP access network, the wireless device requires a method for selecting (a) the PLMN to connect to via non-3GPP access, (b) the core network (EPC or 5GC) in this PLMN to connect to and (c) the non-3GPP access network to connect to that provides connectivity to the selected core network in the selected PLMN”, (Examiner note: SNPN is not mention during registration, [0029] can BRI registration with out explicit SNPN selection configuration); a device onboarding service; a list of services offered by a SNPN; or identities ([0047] “The second WLAN access network 220 is identified by SSID‘x2’ and contains a TNGL, a TWAG, and a AAA proxy. The third WLAN access network 225 is identified by SSID ‘x3’ “) or human readable names of functionalities or services ([0124] “ connectivity procedure to the first PLMN using the second trusted connectivity type”).
Regarding claim 11, Salk teaches wherein selection of the non-3GPP access network and the communication network is based at least in part on connectivity and functionality requirements determined at the UE ([0085] “the UE 205 may be configured to try first the trusted non-3GPP access procedure), and/or based on the UE capabilities (e.g. the UE 205 may support only the trusted non-3GPP access procedure), and/or based on the advertised capabilities of the discovered non-3GPP access networks (e.g. none of the available non-3GPP access networks advertises support of "trusted connectivity"), or the like”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salk in view of Landais et al. (US20220337993 herein after Land).
Regarding claim 12, Salk teaches A network node for wireless communication ([0037] “An access point 131 in a non-3GPP access network 130 may communicate directly with one or more remote units 105 by receiving UL communication signals and transmitting DL communication signals to serve the remote units 105 in the time, frequency, and/or spatial domain”),
send information to a wireless communications device, wherein the information comprises: a set of communication networks supported by non 3PP access network ([0037] “An access point 131 in a non-3GPP access network 130 may communicate directly with one or more remote units 105 by receiving UL communication signals and transmitting DL communication signals to serve the remote units 105 in the time, frequency, and/or spatial domain”, ([0054] “The UE 205 determines if a WLAN supports“trusted connectivity” to a given PLMN by receiving the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by this WLAN. For a given PLMN, if this PLMN is not included in any of the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by a WLAN, then the WLAN can only support connectivity to an ePDG or N3IWF in the PLMN (i.e.“untrusted connectivity”)”) [0092] “ the UE 205 sends a DNS query and receives a DNS response that indicates if a PLMN must be selected in the visited region/country. The DNS response includes a lifetime that denotes how long the DNS response can be cached”, (Examiner’s Note: WLAN ==non 3GPP access network);
a connectivity to each communication network of the set of communication networks that is supported by the non-3GPP access network ([0054] “The UE 205 determines if a WLAN supports“trusted connectivity” to a given PLMN by receiving the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by this WLAN. For a given PLMN, if this PLMN is not included in any of the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by a WLAN, then the WLAN can only support connectivity to an ePDG or N3IWF in the PLMN (i.e.“untrusted connectivity”), (Examiner Note: connectivity ==trusted connectivity);
and at least one functionality provided by each communication network and that is supported by the non-3GPP access network (Fig. 2b “260”, “265”, [0054] “The UE 205 determines if a WLAN supports“trusted connectivity” to a given PLMN by receiving the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by this WLAN. For a given PLMN, if this PLMN is not included in any of the PLMN List-2 and the PLMN List-3 advertised by a WLAN, then the WLAN can only support connectivity to an ePDG or N3IWF in the PLMN (i.e.“untrusted connectivity”), [0056] “rom the PLMN Lists- 1, PLMN Lists-2, and PLMN Lists-3 advertised by the WLAN access networks 215-235, the UE 205 creates a list of available non-3GPP access networks 260. As depicted, the list of available non-3GPP access networks 260 includes identifiers for the available non-3GPP access networks (e.g., WLANs 215-235). For each available non-3GPP access network, the list of available non-3GPP access networks 260 indicates those PLMNs for which the WLAN supports trusted connectivity as well as the types of connectivity supported (e.g., S2a connectivity and/or 5G connectivity)”;
and receive a registration request from the wireless communication device, the registration request initiating a registration with a selected non-3GPP access network and a selected communication network ([0029] “ a non-3GPP access network (e.g., a WLAN) may support interfaces with mobile networks (e.g., one or more PLMNs) in order to enable wireless devices to connect to these mobile networks and utilize their services. When a wireless device wants to register to a PLMN via a non-3GPP access network, the wireless device requires a method for selecting (a) the PLMN to connect to via non-3GPP access, (b) the core network (EPC or 5GC) in this PLMN to connect to and (c) the non-3GPP access network to connect to that provides connectivity to the selected core network in the selected PLMN”).
Salk does not teach comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to.
Land teaches comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to ([0095-96] “The control unit 410 comprises processing resources (e.g. processing circuitry) 411, memory resources (e.g. memory circuitry) 412 and interfaces (e.g. interface circuitry) 413, connected via a link 414. For example, the memory resources 412 store a program. …According to an example implementation, the control unit 410 is part of and/or used by a network entity. For example, the control unit 410 is configured to realize process 1 shown in FIG. 2”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salk to incorporate the teachings of Land. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the hardware need to optimize the services for users .
Regarding claim 4, Salk does not teach wherein the information further comprises information about tracking area identities (TAIs) supported by the non- 3GPP access network from which the information is received.
Land teaches wherein the information further comprises information about tracking area identities (TAIs) supported by the non- 3GPP access network from which the information is received ([0052] “For selection of the N3IWF, the UE may be configured in particular with: an N3IWF identifier configuration, containing an FQDN or IP address of the N3IWF in a HPLMN of the UE; and information indicating, per serving PLMN, whether the UE should select the N3IWF based on an Operator Identifier or based on a 5GS or EPS Tracking Area Identity”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salk to incorporate the teachings of Land. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to optimize the services for users .
Regarding claim 13, Salk does not teach wherein the information further comprises information about tracking area identities (TAIs) supported by the non-3GPP access network from which the information is received.
Land teaches wherein the information further comprises information about tracking area identities (TAIs) supported by the non-3GPP access network from which the information is received ([0052] “For selection of the N3IWF, the UE may be configured in particular with: an N3IWF identifier configuration, containing an FQDN or IP address of the N3IWF in a HPLMN of the UE; and information indicating, per serving PLMN, whether the UE should select the N3IWF based on an Operator Identifier or based on a 5GS or EPS Tracking Area Identity”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salk to incorporate the teachings of Land. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to optimize the services for users .
Regarding claim 14 Salk teaches wherein functionalities supported by each communication network comprise at least one of: network access using credentials from a Credentials Holder; a list of one or more Group IDs for Network Selection; registration without explicit Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) selection configuration ([0029] “ a non-3GPP access network (e.g., a WLAN) may support interfaces with mobile networks (e.g., one or more PLMNs) in order to enable wireless devices to connect to these mobile networks and utilize their services. When a wireless device wants to register to a PLMN via a non-3GPP access network, the wireless device requires a method for selecting (a) the PLMN to connect to via non-3GPP access, (b) the core network (EPC or 5GC) in this PLMN to connect to and (c) the non-3GPP access network to connect to that provides connectivity to the selected core network in the selected PLMN”, (Examiner note: SNPN is not mention during registration, [0029] can BRI registration with out explicit SNPN selection configuration); a device onboarding service; a list of services offered by a SNPN; or identities ([0047] “The second WLAN access network 220 is identified by SSID‘x2’ and contains a TNGL, a TWAG, and a AAA proxy. The third WLAN access network 225 is identified by SSID ‘x3’ “) or human readable names of functionalities or services ([0124] “ connectivity procedure to the first PLMN using the second trusted connectivity type”).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salk in view of Chandramouli et al.( US20230319697 herein after Chandra).
Regarding claim 6, Salk teaches wherein the selected communication network is comprises a Wireless Local Area Network ([0029] “ a non-3GPP access network (e.g., a WLAN) may support interfaces with mobile networks (e.g., one or more PLMNs) in order to enable wireless devices to connect to these mobile networks and utilize their services”).
Salk does not teach is comprises a standalone non public network.
Chandra teaches is comprises a standalone non public network ([0087] “comprises one or more of a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), Stand-Alone Non-Public Network (SNPN), a Public Network Integrated NPN (PNI-NPN), and/or the like”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salk to incorporate the teachings of Chandra. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase security of the system .
Regarding claim 7, 21, Salk does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit to the non-3GPP access network an establishment cause indicating at least one of: a request for network access for device onboarding; or network access for using a localized service.
Chandra teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit to the non-3GPP access network an establishment cause indicating at least one of: a request for network access for device onboarding ([0091] “ UE 102 can initiate registration with a network slice in an instance the network slice has slice specific authentication requirements and the network slice supports onboarding for UEs lacking the required credential requirements (e.g., UE 102 is not associated with a required paid subscription but the network slice is configured to enroll UE 102 in the required subscription in accordance with an SLA)”); or network access for using a localized service.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salk to incorporate the teachings of Chandra. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase security of the system .
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salk in view of Land further in view of Chandra.
Regarding claim 15, Salk and Land does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network node, to receive an establishment cause, wherein the establishment cause comprises at least one of: network access for device onboarding; or network access for using a localized service.
Chandra teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network node, to receive an establishment cause, wherein the establishment cause comprises at least one of: network access for device onboarding ([0091] “ UE 102 can initiate registration with a network slice in an instance the network slice has slice specific authentication requirements and the network slice supports onboarding for UEs lacking the required credential requirements (e.g., UE 102 is not associated with a required paid subscription but the network slice is configured to enroll UE 102 in the required subscription in accordance with an SLA)”); or network access for using a localized service.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salk, LAnd to incorporate the teachings of Chandra. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase security of the system .
Regarding claim 16, Salk, Land does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network node to send to the communication network the establishment cause
Chandra teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network node to send to the communication network the establishment cause([0091] “ UE 102 can initiate registration with a network slice in an instance the network slice has slice specific authentication requirements and the network slice supports onboarding for UEs lacking the required credential requirements (e.g., UE 102 is not associated with a required paid subscription but the network slice is configured to enroll UE 102 in the required subscription in accordance with an SLA)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salk, and Land to incorporate the teachings of Chandra. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase security of the system .
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411