DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The claim set filed 9/20/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 9/20/2024 and 12/4/2025 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the examiner is considering the information disclosure statement. Please see the attached copy of PTO-1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is drawn to a liquid formulation of plasmid DNA, comprising 30-50 mM potassium phosphate, 0.5-1.5% NaCI, and plasmid DNA, with a pH of 7.5-8.5.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed compositions would be the material that is named, that is potassium phosphate, NaCI, and plasmid DNA. Potassium phosphate is a naturally occurring product. NaCl is a naturally occurring product. Plasmid DNA is a naturally occurring product.
Thus, the compositions claimed in claims 1-20 are not markedly different from how the individual components in nature. It is not integrated into a practical application because nothing in claim 1 relies on or uses the exception. There is nothing significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no additional elements in the claim. With regard to claims 2-20 the enumeration of the amounts or additional products of nature do not make the combination of the products of nature markedly different from how they occur in nature.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because the formulation at the broadest interpretation of the claim language is a mixture of products of nature comprising potassium phosphate, NaCI, and plasmid DNA, which does not appear to change the biological/pharmacological functions, chemical/physical properties, or the structure/form of said ingredients. Because the claimed formulation does not have markedly different characteristics, it is a product of nature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102/103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chang (US20200023075A1).
Anticipation
Regarding claims 1-20, Chang is drawn to novel lyophilized pharmaceutical composition that maintains the stability of a DNA plasmid. The novel lyophilization formulation further allows uniform reconstitution of the DNA plasmid in a pharmaceutically acceptable solution, enabling complete recover of the active ingredients, minimizing partial loss of potency and allowing administration of the active ingredients in an accurate and consistent manner (abstract).
Chang discloses the novel lyophilized formulation comprises plasmid DNA, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is obtained by lyophilizing a liquid composition that comprises, prior to lyophilization: a. DNA of a first plasmid; b. potassium phosphate buffer with pH in the range from 7.0 to 9.0; c. mannitol at a concentration in the range from 0% to 3% (w/v); d. sucrose at a concentration greater than 0.5% and less than 1.1% (w/v); and e. NaCl at a concentration in the range from 0.1% to 0.9% (w/v). The first plasmid can be selected from the group consisting of VM202, pTx-HGF-X7, pTx-IGF-1Ec, pTx-IGF-1Ea, pTx-IGF-1X6, pTx-IGF-X10, and pCK-SDF-1α [0007].
Chang discloses at least 90% of the plasmid DNA in the liquid composition is supercoiled. In some embodiments, at least 92.5% of the plasmid DNA in the liquid composition is supercoiled. In some embodiments, at least 95% of the plasmid DNA in the liquid composition is supercoiled. In some embodiments, at least 97% of the plasmid DNA in the liquid composition is supercoiled. In some embodiments, at least 98% of the plasmid DNA in the liquid composition is supercoiled [0015].
Chang discloses at least 80% of the plasmid DNA remains supercoiled 30 minutes after reconstitution, wherein the lyophilized pharmaceutical composition had been stored at 40° C. for 10 weeks before reconstitution [0018].
Chang discloses NaCl at a concentration in the range from 0.1% to 0.9% (w/v) [0046]. Chang discloses the liquid composition comprises sucrose at a concentration in the range from 0.75% to 1.1% (w/v) [0025]. Chang discloses the unit dosage form is a vial, ampule, bottle, or pre-filled syringe [0224].
Obviousness
Chang does not explicitly disclose each of the formulation in one single embodiment for an anticipation rejection.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chang, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Chang discloses all the required components and Chang discloses lyophilized pharmaceutical composition that maintains the stability of a DNA plasmid (abstract). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615