DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/04/2026 has been entered. Claim 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claim 20 has been amended by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 201.04, 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application of National Stage entry of PCT/US2023/015748, with international filing date of 03/21/2023 that claims priority from provisional application US 63321996, filed on 03/21/2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 09/27/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Specifically, no copies of the 7 foreign patent documents are submitted, but only their machine translations or abstract translations.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (hereafter Chen, of record, see IDS dated 09/27/2024) US 20210222238 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1 and mutatis mutandis claim 19, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) a microscope imaging system (i.e. Fluorescence imaging system microscope and imaging and sequencing methods, with optics module e.g. 100, 700, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [3-18, 59, 98-105, 109-125, 133-139, 152,173-185] e.g. Figs. 1-3, 18-19, 25,28]), comprising:
(a) an objective configured to collect light from a biological sample for forming a magnified image of the biological sample, and collecting light from the biological sample via an objective (i.e. as objective lens or microscope objective for magnifying and imaging sample (biomolecules) e.g. 110, 702-710, paragraphs [05-10,98-104,109-125,133-139, 152,173-185, 281], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25);
(b) a camera comprising an imaging sensor, wherein the imaging sensor is configured to detect the magnified image of the biological sample, and regarding claim 19 forming a magnified image of the biological sample via the objective, projecting the magnified image of the biological sample onto an imaging sensor of a camera via a tube lens (i.e. as camera(s) and image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715 in detection channels 120, imaging sample magnified by objective, and projected by tube lens, paragraphs [05-10,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25); and
(c) a tube lens positioned between the objective and the camera (i.e. tube lens between objective and camera/image sensor, e.g. 122,126, 711-714, e.g. paragraphs [05-10, 98-105,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25), wherein the tube lens is configured to project the magnified image of the biological sample onto the imaging sensor of the camera (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, projects magnified image of sample to camera image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715, e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25), wherein the tube lens is spaced apart from the imaging sensor of the camera by a distance less than a focal length of the tube lens (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, projects magnified image of sample to camera image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715, and given that the image sensor in the at least one detection channel is moved a different amount or a different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor than to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, see e.g. paragraphs [05-10,98-105,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25; the microscope fluorescence imaging system includes the tube lens that is configured to correct for defocus arising from different work distances of first and second interior surfaces of flow cell (wall) separation and/or thicker coverslip, compared to commercially available coverslips with 0.170 mm thickness, as the novel tube lens provides that images are focused from both surfaces of flow cell with substantially the same optical resolution, and specifically as the image sensor in the at least one detection channel is moved a different amount or a different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor than to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, see e.g. paragraphs [03-12,98-105,15-16,61, 173-186]; note that by moving and adjusting the image sensor by different amount and in different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor and to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, means that the separation between lens tube and the image sensor is changed and due to different moving directions can be less than the nominal focal length of the tube lens, see e.g. paragraphs [98-105, 175,178,183-186, 04-06]), regarding claim 19 and (d) detecting the magnified image of the sample via the imaging sensor of the camera (i.e. as camera(s) and image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715 in detection channels 120 detect imaging sample magnified by objective, and projected by tube lens, paragraphs [05-10,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the objective comprises an infinity corrected objective (i.e. as objective lens collimates light from sample points, and although the tube lens is non-infinity corrected the null lens (right) may be used in combination with the tube lens to compensate for the non-infinity-corrected, e.g. Fig. 19,20, 28 paragraphs [48,155,178-179, 187]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the objective is optimized for collecting the light from the biological sample through a cover slip having a thickness of about 170 µm (i.e. as objective lens corrected to compensate for a cover slip thickness (or flow cell wall thickness) of 0.17 mm, paragraphs [16, 178-179]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the distance by which the tube lens is spaced apart from the imaging sensor of the camera is less than about half of the focal length of the tube lens (as given the this amount of defocus, which is still a disadvantage, hence this is seen as intrinsic and/or obvious feature of the microscope fluorescence imaging system includes the tube lens that is configured to correct imaging performance and correct for defocus (and other aberrations) arising from different work distances of first and second interior surfaces of flow cell (wall) separation and/or thicker coverslip, compared to commercially available coverslips with 0.170 mm thickness, as the novel tube lens provides that images are focused from both surfaces of flow cell with substantially the same optical resolution, see e.g. paragraphs [03-12,15-16,61, 173-186]).
Regarding claim 6, 7, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the tube lens is fixed against movement relative to the imaging sensor of the camera and relative to the objective (as tube lens is fixed between objective and camera/image sensor, e.g. 122,126, 711-714, i.e. performance of tube lens is without moving one or more optical elements or components of the tube lens along the optical path, and without moving one or more optical elements or components of the tube lens into or out of the optical path, e.g. paragraphs [175,178,183-186, 04-06], 130,133-139, Figs. 1-3, 18, 25).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the objective is fixed against movement relative to the imaging sensor of the camera (i.e. as objective lens is fixed relative to CCD,CMOS of imaging camera, and given that imaging system performance of high quality imaging for both interior surfaces of a flow cell is without moving optical element into or out of the optical path between the flow cell and an image sensor paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) further comprising a lens casing, wherein the tube lens is housed within the lens casing (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, is in lens casing of each of detection channels 120 and housings, holding cage and base plate 105, as depicted in Figs. 2A-B e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185,236,333]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the tube lens is retained within the lens casing by at least one retention ring (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, is in lens casing of each of detection channels 120 and housings retained with ring at end of 120 tube as depicted in Figs. 2A-B e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185,236,333]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the lens casing includes a first end configured to be coupled to the camera ( as lens casing of each of detection channels 120 tube, housings coupled to camera(s) and image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124 at end of 120 tube as depicted in Figs. 2A-B, 3A-B e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185,236,333]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the lens casing includes a second end configured to be coupled to the objective (i.e. as lens casing of each of detection channels 120 is configured to be coupled to objective lens 110, through housing, holding cage and base plate 105, as depicted in Figs. 2A-B e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185,236,333]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the lens casing includes first and second lens casing portions coupled to each other (as lens casing of 120 has e.g. coupled front and back portions, and portions of lens casing 120 coupled to portions of holder/cage and base plate 105, as depicted in Figs. 2A-B e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185,236,333]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that biological sample is contained in a flowcell (i.e. as flow cell includes biological sample, e.g. macromolecules, paragraphs [17, 173,236,240,279-281]), and wherein the objective is configured to collect the light from the biological sample through a flowcell wall of the flowcell (as objective lens 110 collects light from biomolecules through flow cell wall of flow cell, depictions Figs. 1A,B, paragraphs [04-16,60-61,106,134,175-184], also Figs. 29-33,37);
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) A biological analysis system (i.e. Fluorescence imaging system microscope for image acquisition and analysis of biological samples e.g. biomolecules, with optics module e.g. 100, 700, abstract, e.g. paragraphs [3-18, 98-104, 109-125, 133-139, 152,173-185] e.g. Figs. 1-3, 18-19, 25,28]), comprising: (a) the microscope imaging system of claim l (see claim 1 above, i.e. Fluorescence imaging system microscope); and
(b) a flowcell configured to contain the biological sample (i.e. as flow cell with biological sample, e.g. macromolecules, paragraphs [17, 173,236,240,279-281]), wherein the flowcell includes a flowcell wall (flow cell with its wall, Figs. 1A-B, 29-33,3), wherein the objective is configured to collect the light from the biological sample through the flowcell wall (as objective lens 110 collects light from biomolecules through flow cell wall of flow cell, depictions Figs. 1A,B, paragraphs [04-16,60-61,106,134,175-184], also Figs. 29-33,37).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the flowcell wall has a thickness of between about 0.2 mm and about 2 mm (i.e. as flow cell wall thickness, see paragraphs [04,06,10,60-61,175,183,186]).
In regard to independent claim 17, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) a biological analysis system (i.e. Fluorescence imaging system microscope for image acquisition and analysis of biological samples e.g. biomolecules, with optics module e.g. 100, 700, abstract, e.g. paragraphs [3-18, 98-105, 109-125, 133-139, 152,173-185] e.g. Figs. 1-3, 18-19, 25,28]), comprising:
(a) a flowcell configured to contain a biological sample (i.e. as flow cell with biological sample, e.g. macromolecules, paragraphs [17, 173,236,240,279-281]), wherein the flowcell includes a flowcell wall having a thickness of about 1 mm (i.e. as flow cell wall thickness e.g. 1 mm, see paragraphs [04,16,10,60-61,175,183,186,218]); and
(b) a microscope imaging system (i.e. Fluorescence imaging system microscope, with optics module e.g. 100, 700abstract, e.g. paragraphs [3-18, 98-104, 109-125, 133-139, 152,173-185] e.g. Figs. 1-3, 18-19, 25,28]), comprising:
(i) an infinity-corrected objective configured to collect light from the biological sample through the flowcell wall for forming a magnified image of the biological sample (i.e. as objective lens or microscope objective for magnifying and imaging sample (biomolecules) through flow cell wall, e.g. 110, 702-710, paragraphs [98-104,109-125,133-139, 152,173-185, 281], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25, where objective lens collimates light from sample points, and although the tube lens is non-infinity corrected the null lens (right) may be used in combination with the tube lens to compensate for the non-infinity-corrected, e.g. Fig. 19,20, 28 paragraphs [48,155,178-179, 187),
(ii) a camera comprising an imaging sensor, wherein the imaging sensor is configured to detect the magnified image of the biological sample (i.e. as camera(s) and image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715 in detection channels 120, paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25), and
(iii) a tube lens positioned between the infinity-corrected objective and the camera (i.e. tube lens between objective and camera/image sensor, e.g. 122,126, 711-714, e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25), wherein the tube lens is configured to project the magnified image of the biological sample onto the imaging sensor of the camera (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, projects magnified image of sample to camera image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715, e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25), wherein the tube lens is spaced apart from the imaging sensor of the camera by a distance less than a focal length of the tube lens (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, projects magnified image of sample to camera image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715, and given that the image sensor in the at least one detection channel is moved a different amount or a different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor than to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, see e.g. paragraphs [05-10,98-105,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25; the microscope fluorescence imaging system includes the tube lens that is configured to correct for defocus arising from different work distances of first and second interior surfaces of flow cell (wall) separation and/or thicker coverslip, compared to commercially available coverslips with 0.170 mm thickness, as the novel tube lens provides that images are focused from both surfaces of flow cell with substantially the same optical resolution, and specifically as the image sensor in the at least one detection channel is moved a different amount or a different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor than to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, see e.g. paragraphs [03-12,98-105,15-16,61, 173-186]; note that by moving and adjusting the image sensor by different amount and in different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor and to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, means that the separation between lens tube and the image sensor is changed and due to different moving directions can be less than the nominal focal length of the tube lens, see e.g. paragraphs [98-105, 175,178,183-186, 04-06]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the infinity-corrected objective is optimized for collecting the light from the biological sample through a cover slip having a thickness of about 170 µm (i.e. as objective lens corrected to compensate for a cover slip thickness (or flow cell wall thickness) of 0.17 mm, paragraphs [16, 178-179]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the objective is optimized for collecting the light from the biological sample through a cover slip having a thickness of about 170 µm (i.e. as objective lens corrected to compensate for a cover slip thickness (or flow cell wall thickness) of 0.17 mm, paragraphs [16, 178-179]), wherein the act of collecting light comprises collecting light from the biological sample through a flowcell wall having a thickness of about 1 mm (i.e. as collecting sample light through flow cell with wall paragraphs [17, 173,236,240,279-281], where the flowcell includes a flowcell wall having a thickness of about 1 mm (i.e. as flow cell wall thickness e.g. 1 mm, see paragraphs [04,16,10,60-61,175,183,186,218]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (hereafter Chen, of record, see IDS dated 09/27/2024) US 20210222238 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) that the focal length of the tube lens (i.e. tube lens between objective and camera/image sensor has a focal length, e.g. 122,126, 711-714, e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25), but Chen is silent that it is between about 50 mm and about 250 mm. However, given the relative size and focal length of the objective 110 and tube lens 126,122 in detection channels 120, the focal length of tube lens appears to be in the above range, e.g. as depicted in FIGS. 3A and 3B with ray tracing diagrams of optical paths, paragraphs [117-128,130-135, 153,155,216]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize focal length and size of tube lens of Chen within the above range, in order to provide high quality imaging for both interior surfaces of flow cell and without moving one or more optical elements or components of the tube lens into or out of the optical path (see e.g. paragraphs [175,178,183-186, 04-06]), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 09/04/2026 with respect to claim 1 and similarly with respect to claims 17 and 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically Applicant argues on page 3-4 that the cited prior art of Chen does not disclose or render obvious the feature that “the tube lens is spaced apart from the imaging sensor of the camera by a distance less than a focal length of the tube lens”, because Chen does not explicitly mention such feature, nor is such features obvious from Chen, as Chen discloses other approaches for addressing aberrations (presumably through tube lens or objective redesign) and refocusing between focusing different surfaces of a flowcell, and further arguing that any modification of tube lens spacing from the imaging sensor of the camera by a distance less than the focal length of the tube lens would not lead to reasonable expectation of success for intended operation of imaging setup of Chen due to image degradation, and Chen would already have offered simpler solution of reducing the distance between lens tube and image sensor, rather than relying on difficult lens redesign approach. The Examiner disagrees. With respect to the above issue, as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Chan teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1 (as well as similar limitations in claims 17 and 19), as Chen teaches (see Figs. 1-33) a microscope imaging system (i.e. Fluorescence imaging system microscope and imaging and sequencing methods, with optics module e.g. 100, 700, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [3-18, 59, 98-105, 109-125, 133-139, 152,173-185] e.g. Figs. 1-3, 18-19, 25,28]), comprising:
(a) an objective configured to collect light from a biological sample for forming a magnified image of the biological sample, and collecting light from the biological sample via an objective (i.e. as objective lens or microscope objective for magnifying and imaging sample (biomolecules) e.g. 110, 702-710, paragraphs [05-10,98-104,109-125,133-139, 152,173-185, 281], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25);
(b) a camera comprising an imaging sensor, wherein the imaging sensor is configured to detect the magnified image of the biological sample, and regarding claim 19 forming a magnified image of the biological sample via the objective, projecting the magnified image of the biological sample onto an imaging sensor of a camera via a tube lens (i.e. as camera(s) and image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715 in detection channels 120, imaging sample magnified by objective, and projected by tube lens, paragraphs [05-10,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25); and
(c) a tube lens positioned between the objective and the camera (i.e. tube lens between objective and camera/image sensor, e.g. 122,126, 711-714, e.g. paragraphs [05-10, 98-105,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25), wherein the tube lens is configured to project the magnified image of the biological sample onto the imaging sensor of the camera (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, projects magnified image of sample to camera image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715, e.g. paragraphs [108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25), wherein the tube lens is spaced apart from the imaging sensor of the camera by a distance less than a focal length of the tube lens (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, projects magnified image of sample to camera image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715, and given that the image sensor in the at least one detection channel is moved a different amount or a different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor than to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, see e.g. paragraphs [05-10,98-105,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25; the microscope fluorescence imaging system includes the tube lens that is configured to correct for defocus arising from different work distances of first and second interior surfaces of flow cell (wall) separation and/or thicker coverslip, compared to commercially available coverslips with 0.170 mm thickness, as the novel tube lens provides that images are focused from both surfaces of flow cell with substantially the same optical resolution, and specifically as the image sensor in the at least one detection channel is moved a different amount or a different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor than to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, see e.g. paragraphs [03-12,98-105,15-16,61, 173-186]; note that by moving and adjusting the image sensor by different amount and in different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor and to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, means that the separation between lens tube and the image sensor is changed and due to different moving directions can be less than the nominal focal length of the tube lens, see e.g. paragraphs [98-105, 175,178,183-186, 04-06]).
Specifically, Chen teaches wherein the tube lens is spaced apart from the imaging sensor of the camera by a distance less than a focal length of the tube lens (i.e. as tube lens e.g. 122,126, 711-714, projects magnified image of sample to camera image sensor CCD, CMOS, e.g. 124, 715, and given that the image sensor in the at least one detection channel is moved a different amount or a different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor than to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, see e.g. paragraphs [05-10,98-105,108, 130,133-139,173-185], Figs. 1-3, 18, 25; the microscope fluorescence imaging system includes the tube lens that is configured to correct for defocus arising from different work distances of first and second interior surfaces of flow cell (wall) separation and/or thicker coverslip, compared to commercially available coverslips with 0.170 mm thickness, as the novel tube lens provides that images are focused from both surfaces of flow cell with substantially the same optical resolution, and specifically as the image sensor in the at least one detection channel is moved a different amount or a different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor than to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, see e.g. paragraphs [03-12,98-105,15-16,61, 173-186]; note that by moving and adjusting the image sensor by different amount and in different direction to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on the first surface of the sample support structure on the image sensor and to form an in-focus image of fluorescing sample sites on a second surface of said sample support structure on the image sensor, means that the separation between lens tube and the image sensor is changed and due to different moving directions can be less than the nominal focal length of the tube lens, see e.g. paragraphs [98-105, 175,178,183-186, 04-06]). Such adjustment and movement of the image sensor in different directions also means that the image sensor is spaced by a distance less than the focal length of the tube lens, depending which, i.e. first- or second- surface of the sample support structure forms in-focus image of the fluorescing sample.
The same responses equally apply to the same limitations recited in claims 17 and 19.
No additional, substantial arguments were presented after page 3 of the Remarks dated 09/04/2026.
Conclusion
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872