DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is response to communication filed on 09/20/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 1, 8, 15 and 17 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 09/20/2024 has been considered and is applicable to the pending claims and can be applied in future actions.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niu et al (US 20240064858 A1, hereinafter referred to as Niu).
Regarding claim 1, Niu discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See Figs. 1 and 2 showing a UE in wireless network in Fig. 1 and in particular UE in Fig. 2 getting wireless network access from non-terrestrial network 200. See paragraph 22) , comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see paragraphs 9, 10 and 119 indicating the UE or the wireless communication terminal comprising memory coupled to processor) and configured to cause the UE to:
determine at least one condition associated with network coverage (Per paragraph 26 RSRP and RSRQ are two parameters used to determine network coverage level in Terrestrial Network (TN). In Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) network coverage is determined as a combination of RSRP/RSRQ and various parameters like distance (table 1), elevation angle (table 2), time advance (table 3) and time (table 4) and the coverage level for example can be level 1 or level 2-as shown in these tables); and determine whether to disable or enable a neighbor cell measurement triggering based on the at least one condition when the UE is in a connected mode. (See paragraph 71 stating, “… Only when a certain condition is satisfied, the neighbor cell measurement in RRC connected mode may be triggered….the UE may determine whether to trigger neighbor cell measurement based on a location relationship between itself and a satellite providing a cell coverage. Such location relationship may include a distance relationship, an elevation angle relationship, or a timing advance relationship.” In table 5 when distance is greater than threshold 1 and (RSRQ/RSRP) is also greater than threshold 1 then only neighbor cell measurement is triggered or enabled or else disabled. See similarly for elevation angle in table 6, for timing in table 7, for timing table 8 triggering/enabling neighbor cell measurement.)
Regarding claim 8, Nui discloses A Base Station (BS) for wireless communication(See Fig. 1 BS 122 and 124 and in particular BS in Fig. 2 getting wireless network access from non-terrestrial network 200. See paragraphs 20 and 22), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see paragraphs 9, 10 and 119 indicating the BS comprising memory coupled to processor) and configured to cause the BS to: determine at least one condition associated with network coverage(Per paragraph 26 RSRP and RSRQ are two parameters used to determine network coverage level in Terrestrial Network (TN). In Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) network coverage is determined as a combination of RSRP/RSRQ and various parameters like distance (table 1), elevation angle (table 2), time advance (table 3) and time (table 4) and the coverage level for example can be level 1 or level 2-as shown in these tables. See paragraphs 59, 61 and 63 where the base station determines these conditions and associated thresholds for different coverage levels and forwards it to the UE); and
transmit the at least one condition to a user equipment (UE) for determining whether a neighbor cell measurement triggering will be disabled or enabled when the UE is in a connected mode. (See paragraph 73 where the distance threshold used for determining neighbor measurement is triggered or enabled is transmitted by the BS to the UE and see also table 5. See paragraph 75 where the elevation angle threshold used for determining neighbor measurement is triggered or enabled is transmitted by the BS to the UE and see also table 6. See paragraph 77 where the time advance threshold used for determining neighbor measurement is triggered or enabled is transmitted by the BS to the UE and see also table 7. See paragraph 80 where the time threshold used for determining neighbor measurement is triggered or enabled is transmitted by the BS to the UE and see also table 8. )
Regarding claim 15, Niu discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), (See Figs. 1 and 2 showing a UE in wireless network in Fig. 1 and in particular UE in Fig. 2 getting wireless network access from non-terrestrial network 200. See paragraph 22) , the method comprising:
determining at least one condition associated with network coverage (Per paragraph 26 RSRP and RSRQ are two parameters used to determine network coverage level in Terrestrial Network (TN). In Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) network coverage is determined as a combination of RSRP/RSRQ and various parameters like distance (table 1), elevation angle (table 2), time advance (table 3) and time (table 4) and the coverage level for example can be level 1 or level 2-as shown in these tables); and determining whether to disable or enable a neighbor cell measurement triggering based on the at least one condition when the UE is in a connected mode. (See paragraph 71 stating, “… Only when a certain condition is satisfied, the neighbor cell measurement in RRC connected mode may be triggered….the UE may determine whether to trigger neighbor cell measurement based on a location relationship between itself and a satellite providing a cell coverage. Such location relationship may include a distance relationship, an elevation angle relationship, or a timing advance relationship.” In table 5 when distance is greater than threshold 1 and (RSRQ/RSRP) is also greater than threshold 1 then only neighbor cell measurement is triggered or enabled or else disabled. See similarly for elevation angle in table 6, for timing in table 7, for timing table 8 triggering/enabling neighbor cell measurement.)
Regarding claim 17, Niu discloses a processor for wireless communication (see paragraphs 9, 10 and 119 indicating the UE or the wireless communication terminal comprising memory coupled to processor) (See Figs. 1 and 2 showing a UE in wireless network in Fig. 1 and in particular UE in Fig. 2 getting wireless network access from non-terrestrial network 200. See paragraph 22) , comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (see paragraphs 9, 10 and 119 indicating the UE or the wireless communication terminal comprising memory coupled to processor and the processor has to have some kind of controller) and configured to cause the processor to:
determine at least one condition associated with network coverage (Per paragraph 26 RSRP and RSRQ are two parameters used to determine network coverage level in Terrestrial Network (TN). In Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) network coverage is determined as a combination of RSRP/RSRQ and various parameters like distance (table 1), elevation angle (table 2), time advance (table 3) and time (table 4) and the coverage level for example can be level 1 or level 2-as shown in these tables); and
determine whether to disable or enable a neighbor cell measurement triggering based on the at least one condition when the UE is in a connected mode. (See paragraph 71 stating, “… Only when a certain condition is satisfied, the neighbor cell measurement in RRC connected mode may be triggered….the UE may determine whether to trigger neighbor cell measurement based on a location relationship between itself and a satellite providing a cell coverage. Such location relationship may include a distance relationship, an elevation angle relationship, or a timing advance relationship.” In table 5 when distance is greater than threshold 1 and (RSRQ/RSRP) is also greater than threshold 1 then only neighbor cell measurement is triggered or enabled or else disabled. See similarly for elevation angle in table 6, for timing in table 7, for timing table 8 triggering/enabling neighbor cell measurement.)
Regarding claim 2, Niu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one condition is associated with receipt of an indication received from a base station (BS), and the indication includes at least one of: an indication of disabling the neighbor cell measurement triggering(See paragraph 73 where the distance threshold used for determining neighbor measurement is triggered or enabled is transmitted by the BS to the UE and see also table 5. See paragraph 75 where the elevation angle threshold used for determining neighbor measurement is triggered or enabled is transmitted by the BS to the UE and see also table 6. See paragraph 77 where the time advance threshold used for determining neighbor measurement is triggered or enabled is transmitted by the BS to the UE and see also table 7. See paragraph 80 where the time threshold used for determining neighbor measurement is triggered or enabled is transmitted by the BS to the UE and see also table 8. ); a system information block (SIB) dedicated for the network coverage (See SIB in paragraphs 75, 77, and 80) ; satellite assistance information for the network coverage (See paragraph 118 stating “…The base station may predict the location of a satellite based on the ephemeris data and a trajectory of the satellite. The base station may then send the neighbor cell and prediction information to the UE, for example, in a broadcast message (e.g., SI) or an RRC message…”); mean ephemeris data for the network coverage; or a release message for a configuration of a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold and/or a RSRP variation threshold for the neighbor cell measurement triggering.
Regarding claim 3, Niu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one
condition includes at least one of multiple parameters configured by a network, the multiple parameters including: a prediction of the network coverage (i.e. see paragraph 118 stating “…The base station may predict the location of a satellite based on the ephemeris data and a trajectory of the satellite. The base station may then send the neighbor cell and prediction information to the UE, for example, in a broadcast message (e.g., SI) or an RRC message…”) ; a time point associated with the prediction of the network coverage; an area associated with the prediction of the network coverage (See paragraph 78 and Table 8 on time being on one of the multiple parameters. See paragraph 80 on the list of other combination of parameters); a location associated with the prediction of the network coverage (See paragraph 57 location being parameter and also paragraph 72 and table 5); a threshold of propagation delay associated with the prediction of the network coverage; or a threshold of timing advance associated with the prediction of the network coverage.(See paragraph 76 and table 7 on a threshold of timing advance associated with the prediction of the network coverage)
Regarding claim 4, Niu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one
condition includes at least one of multiple parameters generated by the UE (generated by UE only means it is predefined and stored in the UE and later retrieved and applied and see paragraphs 57, 59, 61, 63, 65, 73, 75, 77, 79, 83, 86, 89, and 98 indicating these parameters are predefined and generated by the UE), the multiple parameters including: a prediction of the network coverage (i.e. see paragraph 118 stating “…The base station may predict the location of a satellite based on the ephemeris data and a trajectory of the satellite. The base station may then send the neighbor cell and prediction information to the UE, for example, in a broadcast message (e.g., SI) or an RRC message…” and in paragraph 117 stating on the UE generating the predicted value… “…For example, the estimate may help the UE predict a potential neighbor cell for cell measurement…” ; a time point associated with the prediction of the network coverage; an area associated with the prediction of the network coverage (See paragraph 78 and Table 8 on time being on one of the multiple parameters. See paragraph 80 on the list of other combination of parameters and paragraph 79 on the UE generating the predefined value); a location associated with the prediction of the network coverage (See paragraph 57 location being parameter and also paragraph 72 and table 5 and paragraph 73 on the UE generating the predefined value ); a threshold of propagation delay associated with the prediction of the network coverage; or a threshold of timing advance associated with the prediction of the network coverage.(See paragraph 76 and table 7 on a threshold of timing advance associated with the prediction of the network coverage and paragraph 77 on the UE generating the predefined value)
Regarding claim 5, Niu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein to disable a neighbor cell measurement triggering includes at least one of: disabling a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) measurement of a serving cell; stopping evaluating a RSRP and/or RSRP variation criteria for the neighbor cell measurement triggering; or forbidding the neighbor cell measurement triggering in response to the RSRP and RSRP variation criteria being fulfilled. (See paragraphs 71 and 80 and Tables 5-8 where in response to the RSRP and RSRP variation criteria being fulfilled then neighbor cell measurement is prohibited. For example, in Table 5 if RSRP/RSRQ variation is less than threshold 1 then triggering the neighbor cell measurement takes the value no thereby prohibiting the measurement)
Regarding claim 6, Niu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein in response to the neighbor cell measurement triggering being disabled, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to perform at least one of: discarding or storing a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold and/or a RSRP variation threshold configured by a network (Threshold values for RSRP/RSRQ received from base Station have to be stored for continuous use – see paragraphs 57, 59, 61, 63, 65, 73, 75, 77, 79, 83, 86, 89, and 98 ) ; stopping a timer for evaluating a RSRP variation criterion, discarding or storing a reference RSRP value for evaluating the RSRP variation criterion (See paragraphs 92 T310 timer being stopped to evaluate in-synch and RSRP value); transmitting a message indicating the neighbor cell measurement triggering is disabled; transmitting a message indicating fulfillment of the at least one condition associated with disabling the neighbor cell measurement triggering; or triggering a radio link failure (RLF) or a radio resource control (RRC) release. (Notice limitations are addressed in the alternatives….last limitation addressed by realizing in tables 5, 6 , 7 and 8 if the combination of conditions as described in paragraph 80 are not met then neighbor cell measurement is disabled by taking a value of NO. In particular if the radio link quality (RSRP/RSRQ) is below a threshold per tables 5-8 and if neighbor cell measurement is allowed then a timer T310 is fired and when the timer T310 expires then a radio link failure (RLF) occurs. See paragraphs 92-93)
Regarding claim 7, Niu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein in response to the neighbor cell measurement triggering being enabled, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to perform at least one of: requesting a new reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold and/or a new RSRP variation threshold; using a stored RSRP threshold and a stored RSRP variation threshold as the new RSRP threshold and the new RSRP variation threshold(See tables 1-8 where a stored RSRP threshold and a stored RSRP variation threshold as the new RSRP threshold and the new RSRP variation threshold on a continuous basis once set) ; starting a timer for evaluating a RSRP variation criterion; determining a measured RSRP value or a stored reference RSRP value as a reference RSRP value for evaluating the RSRP variation criterion (See paragraphs 67 and 68) ; transmitting a message indicating that the neighbor cell measurement triggering is enabled; transmitting a message indicating fulfillment of the at least one condition associated with enabling the neighbor cell measurement triggering; or prioritizing a carrier for the neighbor cell measurement indicated by a network. (See paragraph 6 stating “…ranking the neighbor cells based on the RSRP or the RSRQ of the neighbor cells and selecting top M neighbor cells based on the ranking result, M being a non-negative integer…”, See paragraph 67 stating “…UE may rank the cell 2, cell3 and cell4 based on the RSRP/RSRQ, select the configured number of the highest ranking cells (such as cell 3 and cell 4, if N is configured to be 2), and sum up the variation of RSRP/RSRQ of those selected neighbor cells and the serving cell (i.e., cell 3, cell 4, and cell 1)…”). See also paragraphs 81, 84, 87, and 90 on further prioritization and note each cell has different carriers)
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, , Niu discloses the BS of claim 8, wherein the at least one condition is associated with at least one of: an indication of disabling or enabling a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) measurement of a serving cell; an indication of stopping or starting evaluating a RSRP and RSRP variation criteria for the neighbor cell measurement triggering; an indication of forbidding or allowing the neighbor cell measurement triggering in response to the RSRP and RSRP variation criteria being fulfilled. (See paragraphs 71 and 80 and Tables 5-8 where in response to the RSRP and RSRP variation criteria being fulfilled then neighbor cell measurement is prohibited. For example, in Table 5 if RSRP/RSRQ variation is less than threshold 1 then triggering the neighbor cell measurement takes the value no thereby prohibiting the measurement. For example, in Table 5 if RSRP/RSRQ variation is less than threshold 1 then triggering the neighbor cell measurement takes the value Yes thereby allowing the measurement )
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 20 claim 20 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Jang et al (US 20150092746 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Niu discloses the BS of claim 8 including wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the BS but fails to disclose to: receive a message indicating the neighbor cell measurement triggering is disabled; receive a message indicating fulfillment of the at least one condition associated with disabling the neighbor cell measurement triggering; or receive a radio link failure (RLF) report or a radio resource control (RRC) release request.
Jang, in the same endeavor, discloses to: receive a message indicating the neighbor cell measurement triggering is disabled; receive a message indicating fulfillment of the at least one condition associated with disabling the neighbor cell measurement triggering; or receive a radio link failure (RLF) report or a radio resource control (RRC) release request. (Jang discloses in paragraph 26 the UE transmitting RLF Report to the source BS through the target BS. See also paragraphs 27-28 and 31 too.)
In view of the above, having Niu’s Neighbor cell measurements and then given the well- established teaching of Jang’s techniques for RLF reporting, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Niu’s Neighbor cell measurements as taught by Jang’s techniques for RLF reporting, since Jang states in paragraph 31 that the modification results in generating an RLF report that provides relevant timing information to the source cell to enable the source cell to correctly analyze the real cause of an RLF associated with a handover, especially when the event-specific configured threshold level(s) may not be the root cause.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Niu et al (US 20220394576 A1, hereinafter referred to as Niu-2).
Regarding claim 13, Niu discloses the BS of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the BS but fails to disclose to: receive a request for a new reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold and/or a new RSRP variation threshold; receive a message indicating that the neighbor cell measurement triggering is enabled; or receive a message indicating fulfillment of the at least one condition associated with enabling the neighbor cell measurement triggering.
Niu-2, in the same endeavor, discloses to: receive a request for a new reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold and/or a new RSRP variation threshold; receive a message indicating that the neighbor cell measurement triggering is enabled; or receive a message indicating fulfillment of the at least one condition associated with enabling the neighbor cell measurement triggering. (See paragraph 87 states “…the UE satisfies some conditions; it can request the base station to grant permission to perform cell measurement using an RRC message in step 402b….” See Fig. 4B)
In view of the above, having Niu’s Neighbor cell measurements and then given the well- established teaching of Niu-2’s techniques for satisfying condition to enable neighbor cell measurement, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Niu’s Neighbor cell measurements as taught by Niu-2’s techniques for satisfying condition to enable neighbor cell measurement, since Niu-2 states in paragraphs 0002 and 0114 that the modification results in obtaining optimal network performance.
Regarding claim 14, Niu modified by Niu-2 discloses the BS of claim 13, Niu further discloses wherein in response to the neighbor cell measurement triggering is enabled for the UE, the processor is further configured to transmit an indication indicating the UE to prioritize a carrier for the neighbor cell measurement. (See paragraph 6 stating “…ranking the neighbor cells based on the RSRP or the RSRQ of the neighbor cells and selecting top M neighbor cells based on the ranking result, M being a non-negative integer…”, See paragraph 67 stating “…UE may rank the cell 2, cell3 and cell4 based on the RSRP/RSRQ, select the configured number of the highest ranking cells (such as cell 3 and cell 4, if N is configured to be 2), and sum up the variation of RSRP/RSRQ of those selected neighbor cells and the serving cell (i.e., cell 3, cell 4, and cell 1)…”). See also paragraphs 81, 84, 87, and 90 on further prioritization and note each cell has different carriers)
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474