DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 6 are pending.
Claims 1 and 6 are independent.
This office action is Non-Final.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation are:
generic placeholder “an acquisition unit” coupled with functional language “that acquires information of an identification ID and an arrangement place of each of the plurality of devices”; generic placeholder “ a system configuration setting unit” coupled with functional language “that changes device setting of at least one of the plurality of devices based on an acquisition result of the acquisition unit” in claim 1;
generic placeholder “the system configuration setting unit” coupled with functional language “changes the device setting of at least one of the plurality of devices by referring to a database that describes a combination of an identification ID of a device and an arrangement place of the device and device setting of the device in association with each other.” in claim 2;
generic placeholder “ the system configuration setting unit” coupled with functional language “changes the device setting of at least one of the plurality of devices by referring to a database that describes an identification ID of a device”, in claim 3; and
generic placeholder “the system configuration setting unit” coupled with functional language “changes device setting of a device for which device setting is not made as indicated in the database among the plurality of devices” in claim 4.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the
corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: paragraphs 0006, 0024, 0029 – 0037, 0043 – 0045, 0048 – 0051, 0054 – 0057, 0059 – 0061, 0063 and 0065.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inaba (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0117765).
As per claim 1, Inaba teaches a management system comprising:
a plurality of devices [0018: the hardware configuration may include sensors 15a, 15b and 15c (e.g., a temperature sensor, a dust sensor, a humidity sensor or a mist sensor) which are respectively provided to machines 14a, 14b and 14c, or a combination of the sensors.] constituting a measurement system [0018: sensors 15a, 15b, and 15c];
an acquisition unit that acquires information of an identification ID and an arrangement place of each of the plurality of devices [0021: The setting information may be stored in storing device 22 such as a database, wherein the setting information is associated with: the configuration data regarding the respective configurations of the plurality of machines; the area data regarding the installation areas where the plurality of machines may be installed; and the plurality of combinations of the configuration data and the area data., 0022 - 0027 ]; and
a system configuration setting unit that changes device setting of at least one of the plurality of devices based on an acquisition result of the acquisition unit [0021 – 0027: setting device 16 searches and obtains the setting information from storing device 22,wherein the setting information is associated with the combination of the configuration data of robot14a and the area data of second installation area N… Next, setting device 16 transmits and applies the setting information (in this embodiment, setting II), read out from storing device 22, to robot 14a. Robot 14a or the controller thereof is operated based on the setting information received from setting device 16. For example, when the sensor includes a temperature sensor or a dust sensor, the setting information may include that temperature data or dust data should be transmitted to the server with high frequency at the installation area having a severe environmental condition. Such the temperature data or the dust data can be utilized for operating or adjusting air-conditioning equipment, etc…., when robot 14a has a unit constituted by plural sensors, the setting information may include that the type of sensor to be used should be changed depending on which installation area robot 14a is installed or where in the installation area robot 14a is located. .. ].
As per claim 2, Inaba teaches the management system according to claim 1, wherein the system configuration setting unit changes the device setting of at least one of the plurality of devices by referring to a database that describes a combination of an identification ID of a device and an arrangement place of the device and device setting of the device in association with each other [0020: Setting device 16 has: an obtaining section 18 configured to, when at least one of the plurality of machines (in the drawing, robot 14a) is moved from first installation area M to second installation area N, obtain configuration data regarding the configuration of the moved machine (robot 14a) and the area data regarding second installation area N (or the destination); and a transmitting section 20configured to transmit previously prepared (in the embodiment, stored in a storing device 22 as explained below) setting information to the moved machine (robot 14a), wherein the setting information corresponds to a combination of the configuration data of the moved machine (robot 14a)and the area data of second installation area N., 0026, 0027:
when robot 14a has a unit constituted by plural sensors, the setting information may include that the type of sensor to be used should be changed depending on which installation area robot 14a is installed or where in the installation area robot 14a is located.].
As per claim 3, Inaba teaches the management system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of devices constitutes a plurality of measurement systems, and the system configuration setting unit changes the device setting of at least one of the plurality of devices by referring to a database that describes an identification ID of a device, an arrangement place of the device, and device setting of the device in association with each other for each of the plurality of measurement systems [0021 -0027: The setting information may be stored in storing device 22 such as a database, wherein the setting information is associated with: the configuration data regarding the respective configurations of the plurality of machines; the area data regarding the installation areas where the plurality of machines may be installed; and the plurality of combinations of the configuration data and the area data].
As per claim 4, Inaba teaches the management system according to claim 2, wherein the system configuration setting unit changes device setting of a device for which device setting is not made as indicated in the database among the plurality of devices [the settings for “another” robot, 0024: robot 14a installed in first area M is moved or shifted to second area N. In addition to or instead of robot 14a, another robot may be shifted to second area N, such a case may be operated similarly. ].
As per claim 6, Inaba teaches a management method comprising:
acquiring information of an identification ID and an arrangement place of each of a plurality of devices constituting a measurement system [0021: The setting information may be stored in storing device 22 such as a database, wherein the setting information is associated with: the configuration data regarding the respective configurations of the plurality of machines; the area data regarding the installation areas where the plurality of machines may be installed; and the plurality of combinations of the configuration data and the area data., 0022 - 0027 ]; and
changing device setting of at least one of the plurality of devices based on an acquisition result [0021 – 0027: setting device 16 searches and obtains the setting information from storing device 22,wherein the setting information is associated with the combination of the configuration data of robot14a and the area data of second installation area N… Next, setting device 16 transmits and applies the setting information (in this embodiment, setting II), read out from storing device 22, to robot 14a. Robot 14a or the controller thereof is operated based on the setting information received from setting device 16. For example, when the sensor includes a temperature sensor or a dust sensor, the setting information may include that temperature data or dust data should be transmitted to the server with high frequency at the installation area having a severe environmental condition. Such the temperature data or the dust data can be utilized for operating or adjusting air-conditioning equipment, etc…., when robot 14a has a unit constituted by plural sensors, the setting information may include that the type of sensor to be used should be changed depending on which installation area robot 14a is installed or where in the installation area robot 14a is located. .. ].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ichikawa; Shigeru (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0025687 A1) “Sheet Thickness Measurement Device” is cited to teach a sheet thickness measurement device capable of increasing measurement density and measurement accuracy over the entirety of a sheet to be measured. Based of a difference between a sheet thickness signal at a position of a backup roll where the sheet exists, and a sheet thickness signal at a position of the backup roll where the sheet does not exist, the sheet thickness signals from the plurality of sheet thickness sensors are zero-adjusted in association with the position of the surface of the backup roll.
Uehara, Masatsugu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0175434 A1) “Method Of Manufacturing Sheet” is cited to teach a method of manufacturing a sheet by extruding and forming a polymer by using a plurality of mouthpieces each having a thickness adjusting means, comprising the steps of varying the amount of operation applied to the thickness adjusting means along a specified time series pattern, measuring a thickness distribution in the lateral direction of the sheet, and rapidly and accurately determining the corresponding relation between the thickness adjusting means and a thickness measurement position based on the results of comparison between a variation in sheet thickness variation distribution thus obtained or the standard time series pattern of the variation in sheet thickness distribution and the time series pattern of the measured values of the thickness distribution.
/TERRELL S JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176