DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed on 09/20/2024.
3. The IDSs filed on 12/06/24, 09/12/25, and 06/01/26 are considered and entered into the application file.
4. All the amendments made to application including Abstract, Specification and Claims are considered and entered.
5. Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
6. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a position adjustment area display module” , “a target position parameter determination module”, and “a position adjustment module” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-10 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Norwood (US 20120159336 A1).
Norwood is directed to ELECTRONIC LIST PRIORITY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM AND METHOD OF USING SAME
As per claim 1, Norwood discloses a method for adjusting interface layout ([0022] The invention (of Norwood) provides a method to allow a user to select a set of items from a plurality of items, and allow the user to automatically reassign the priority numbers of each item from the selected set of items to a new priority number), comprising:
in response to a selection operation on an object to be adjusted in a display interface, displaying a position adjustment area corresponding to the object to be adjusted in the display interface ([0081] The computer program may also comprise a priority shortcut feature 65, whereby a user may select a priority shortcut feature 66 to move list items up or down. A priority shortcut feature 66 may be an arrow or some other icon that indicates movement of the list items as shown in FIG. 5A);
determining a target position parameter in response to an adjustment operation on the position adjustment area ([0081] For example, a user may click on a single list item and move it up or down by subsequently selecting the priority shortcut feature or by clicking on a priority shortcut feature. As shown in FIG. 5B, list item Apples 90A that was selected in FIG. 5A has been moved up, by the user selecting the up arrow. The other list items have automatically had their priority numbers updated by this action); and
adjusting the object to be adjusted to a target position corresponding to the target position parameter in the display interface based on the target position parameter ([0081] As shown in FIG. 5B, list item Apples 90A that was selected in FIG. 5A has been moved up, by the user selecting the up arrow. The other list items have automatically had their priority numbers updated by this action. Also see Figs. 5A and 5B).
As per claim 2, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 1, wherein: at least one function control is set in the position adjustment area ([0081] The computer program may also comprise a priority shortcut feature 65, whereby a user may select a priority shortcut feature 66 to move list items up or down. A priority shortcut feature 66 may be an arrow or some other icon that indicates movement of the list items as shown in FIG. 5A); and
the determining a target position parameter in response to an operation on the position adjustment area comprises: determining the target position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted in response to an operation on the function control ([0081] As shown in FIG. 5B, list item Apples 90A that was selected in FIG. 5A has been moved up, by the user selecting the up arrow. The other list items have automatically had their priority numbers updated by this action).
As per claim 3, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 2, wherein: the function control comprises a forward adjustment control ([0081] A priority shortcut feature 66 may be an arrow or some other icon that indicates movement of the list items as shown in FIG. 5A);
and the determining a target position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted in response to an operation on the function control comprises: in response to a trigger operation on the forward adjustment control, subtracting a preset value from a position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted to obtain a first value; and determining the first value as the target position parameter ([0081] The computer program may also comprise a priority shortcut feature 65, whereby a user may select a priority shortcut feature 66 to move list items up or down. A priority shortcut feature 66 may be an arrow or some other icon that indicates movement of the list items as shown in FIG. 5A).
As per claim 4, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 2, wherein: the function control comprises a backward adjustment control; ([0081] The computer program may also comprise a priority shortcut feature 65, whereby a user may select a priority shortcut feature 66 to move list items up or down. A priority shortcut feature 66 may be an arrow or some other icon that indicates movement of the list items as shown in FIG. 5A); and
the determining a target position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted in response to an operation on the function control comprises:
in response to a trigger operation on the backward adjustment control, adding a preset value to a position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted to obtain a second value ([0025] Norwood’s invention may further provide a method to allow a user to designate an item from a list of items to move up (promote) or down (demote) in priority, move the position of the list in the user interface, and automatically reassign the priority number of the designated item according to if the item has promoted or demoted. Also see [0081]); and
determining the second value as the target position parameter ([0081]As shown in FIG. 5B, list item Apples 90A that was selected in FIG. 5A has been moved up, by the user selecting the up arrow).
As per claim 5, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 3, further comprising:
in response to determining the target position parameter, determining a target position parameter of an intermediate object, and adjusting the intermediate object to the target position parameter corresponding to the intermediate object, wherein the intermediate object is an object corresponding to any position parameter between the position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted and the target position parameter, and the intermediate object comprises an object corresponding to the target position parameter ([0081] The computer program may also comprise a priority shortcut feature 65, whereby a user may select a priority shortcut feature 66 to move list items up or down. A priority shortcut feature 66 may be an arrow or some other icon that indicates movement of the list items as shown in FIG. 5A. For example, priority shortcut feature, such as up and down arrow may be displayed about each list item, such as within or connected with a list item field. Examiner’s note: the intermediate object (e.g. apple) comprises an object corresponding to the target position parameter (e.g. listed as number 3) ).
As per claim 6, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 3, further comprising:
in response to the object to be adjusted being located at the top of the display interface, setting the forward adjustment control corresponding to the object to be adjusted to an operation prohibition state (as illustrated in Fig. 5A, in the list of five items, since Bananas is at the first item in the list, i.e., pressing upward arrow 66 does not bring any new item to the list) ; and
in response to the object to be adjusted being located at the last position of the display interface, setting the backward adjustment control corresponding to the object to be adjusted to an operation prohibition state (as illustrated in Fig. 5A, in the list of five items, since Tangerines is at the last item in the list, i.e., pressing downward arrow 66 does not bring any new item to the list).
As per claim 7, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 2, wherein:
the function control comprises a parameter input control ([0054] For example, as shown in FIG. 2, a plurality of objects arranged in sequence are displayed in the display interface. Each object displays its corresponding position parameter in the parameter display area. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, in response to a selection operation on an object 3, the object 3 is taken as an object to be adjusted, and its corresponding position adjustment area 21 is displayed at a preset position corresponding to the object 3. Also see [0078] ); and
the determining a target position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted in response to an operation on the function control comprises: in response to an input operation on the parameter input control, determining an input value corresponding to the input operation as the target position parameter ([0081] As shown in FIG. 5B, list item Apples 90A that was selected in FIG. 5A has been moved up, by the user selecting the up arrow. The other list items have automatically had their priority numbers updated by this action. In another embodiment, a user may select a plurality of list items and move the selected group up or down collectively by selecting a priority shortcut feature. In yet another embodiment, a user may select a list item or list items and then input a command through a keyboard, for example, to move list item or list items. For example, a user may select a list item and click on the up or down arrow on a keyboard to move the selected list item. Also see [0083]).
As per claim 8, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 7, further comprising: before obtaining an input parameter corresponding to the input operation in response to an input operation on the parameter input control, displaying the parameter input control in response to a trigger operation on a parameter display control in the position adjustment area ([0021] The invention may further provide a method to automatically provide numeric gaps or spaces between the previously user assigned priority numbers, such that each previously assigned user priority number "x" is multiplied by a spacer number "y", thereby changing each previously assigned priority value x to a new value x*y, thereby creating integer numeric gaps between previously assigned priority numbers so that new priority numbers may be assigned with values between these gaps. [0050] "Advance priority management feature", as described herein, is any priority feature that when selected results in the changing of a plurality of list item priority numbers and consists of a priority limitation feature, priority spacer feature, priority definer feature, a priority default feature, a priority insert feature, a priority shortcut feature, a personal priority feature or secondary priority feature, and a priority re-distribution feature. [0065] The computer program described herein may comprise an in-line editing feature, whereby a user may edit priorities and the list order is automatically rearranged as a function of the edited priorities. For example, a user may select a list item having a priority of "5" and change that priority to "1", whereby the edited list item is moved to the top of the list and list items previously having priorities 1 through 4 are moved down one position on the list. Also see [0070]).
As per claim 9, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 7, further comprising:
after determining an input parameter corresponding to the input operation as the target position parameter, for an object corresponding to any first position parameter between the position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted and the target position parameter, processing the first position parameter according to a preset processing mode to obtain a second position parameter ([0063] The computer program described herein may comprise a drag-and-drop interface feature, whereby a user may move a list item by selecting it and sliding it to a new position, such as up or down within the list. A user may select a single list item or a plurality of list items for moving with the drag and drop feature. In some embodiments, the list item or item's priority number may be automatically updated as a function of the change in position within the list. When the priority number of one list item is changed using the drag-and-drop feature, then the priority numbers of all other list items may update accordingly. and
adjusting the object corresponding to the first position parameter to a position corresponding to the second position parameter in the display interface ([0070] A list item with a priority number of "20" prior to the above example, would have an updated prior number of "21" after the priority definer function was performed with no priority limitation set for this range of priorities. A list item with a priority number of "20" prior to the above example, would have an updated prior number of "23" after the priority definer function was performed if having a priority limitation range set for this new number and having a priority limitation cap of one).
As per claim 10, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 9, wherein processing the first position parameter according to a preset processing mode to obtain a second position parameter comprises:
in response to the position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted being greater than the target position parameter, adding one to the first position parameter to obtain a third value, and determining the third value as the second position parameter; [0063] The computer program described herein may comprise a drag-and-drop interface feature, whereby a user may move a list item by selecting it and sliding it to a new position, such as up or down within the list. A user may select a single list item or a plurality of list items for moving with the drag and drop feature. In some embodiments, the list item or item's priority number may be automatically updated as a function of the change in position within the list. When the priority number of one list item is changed using the drag-and-drop feature, then the priority numbers of all other list items may update accordingly. and
in response to the position parameter corresponding to the object to be adjusted being smaller than the target position parameter, subtracting one from the first position parameter to obtain a fourth value, and determining the fourth value as the second position parameter ([0073] The computer program described herein may comprise a priority shortcut feature, whereby a user may select a priority shortcut feature to move a list item or items up or down in priority. A priority shortcut feature may be an arrow or some other icon that indicates movement of the list items. For example, the shortcut feature may be displayed as an icon or icons when a list item is selected. Thus, a user may click on a single list item and move it up or down by subsequently selecting the priority shortcut feature. In another embodiment, a user may select a plurality of list items and move the selected group up or down collectively by selecting a priority shortcut feature. In yet another embodiment, a user may select a list item or items and then input a command through a keyboard, for example, to move a list item or items. For example, a user may select a list item and click on the up arrow on a keyboard to move the selected list item up one in the list order, or to a higher priority). Also see [0081 and 0083]).
As per claim 14, Norwood further discloses that the method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 1, wherein the selection operation on the object to be adjusted in the display interface comprises at least one of a click operation, a touch operation or a hover operation ([0081] For example, a user may select a list item and click on the up or down arrow on a keyboard to move the selected list item).
As per claim 15, Norwood further discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) for adjusting interface layout, comprising:
a position adjustment area display module, configured to, in response to a selection operation on an object to be adjusted in a display interface, display a position adjustment area corresponding to the object to be adjusted; ([0081] The computer program may also comprise a priority shortcut feature 65, whereby a user may select a priority shortcut feature 66 to move list items up or down. A priority shortcut feature 66 may be an arrow or some other icon that indicates movement of the list items as shown in FIG. 5A);
a target position parameter determination module, configured to determine a target position parameter in response to an operation on the position adjustment area; ([0081] For example, a user may click on a single list item and move it up or down by subsequently selecting the priority shortcut feature or by clicking on a priority shortcut feature. As shown in FIG. 5B, list item Apples 90A that was selected in FIG. 5A has been moved up, by the user selecting the up arrow. The other list items have automatically had their priority numbers updated by this action); and
a position adjustment module, configured to adjust the object to be adjusted to a target position in the display interface based on the target position parameter ([0081] As shown in FIG. 5B, list item Apples 90A that was selected in FIG. 5A has been moved up, by the user selecting the up arrow. The other list items have automatically had their priority numbers updated by this action. Also see Figs. 5A and 5B).
As per claim 16, Norwood further discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; a storage means for storing one or more programs; in response to the one or more programs being executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to implement a method for adjusting interface layout according to claim 1(an electronic list prioritization system for the improved management, sorting and prioritizing of list items is described. The system comprises a computer program that a user may interface on any suitable electronic device. The user may prioritize list items with a number of advance prioritization features describe. The list may be a task list having a task field and in some embodiments a primary and secondary priority field allowing the user the ability to prioritize a list by a secondary priority field without adjusting the priorities in the primary priority field (Abstract). [0028] FIG. 1 shows a schematic view of the electronic list priority management system described herein having the computer program described herein loaded on a database and connected through a network to a plurality of users' electronic devices).
As per claims 17, and 20-22, Norwood further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ( see Norwood [0046] ) on which a computer program is stored that, when executed by a processor, implements a method for adjusting interface layout The language of these claims correspond to that of method claims 1 and 2-4, respectively. Thuc the storage medium claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims 1 and 2-4, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6256651 B1 – is directed to a workflow system and program for organizing the time and priorities of a user, wherein the information input by a user into a spreadsheet is generated by the program into a bar graph. It is possible for a user to revise the spreadsheet at any time, and the program will update the bar graph accordingly. In a further embodiment, it is possible for multiple users to be connected together via a computer network. Some users are classified as secondary users, and are primarily employees. Secondary users have access to their respective spreadsheets and bar graphs. One user is classified as a primary user, and is generally a manager. The primary user has access to two windows. In the first window, all of the spreadsheets of the secondary users are displayed. The primary user can modify the data in the spreadsheets and the program will update the bar graphs accordingly. The primary user has access to a second window wherein the bar graphs of the secondary users are displayed such that the progress of any task that is divided between multiple secondary users is evident.
/TADESSE HAILU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174