DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are amended.
Claims 1-13 are being examined in this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the front locking element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs [0033], [0036], [0037], [0117], and [0124] use the word “chamber” when it is believed to be referring to “chamfer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 11, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the two wide stopping hooks”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. Examiner recommends amending the limitation to read “the
Claim 11 recites the limitation “distal end chambers” in line 4. This is believed to read “distal end chamfers”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “flange chambers” in line 2. This is believed to read “flange chamfers”.
All remaining claims are objected to by virtue of their dependence on an objected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a distal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member”. This is unclear as a position does not intuitively have an “external diameter”. Examiner interprets this limitation to mean that a distal end surface of the needle mounting member has maximum external diameter in which the rear locking element engages.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a proximal end of the rear locking element axially jacks up a distal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member” in lines 4-5. This is unclear as the specification, in Paragraph [0069], defines jack-up as: “an operation that the first component applies force to the second component, such that the second component moves along a direction opposite to the first component”. The needle mounting member does not appear to move along a direction opposite to the rear locking element as it is fixed in place to the barrel of the syringe.
The term “wide” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wide” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner recommends adding structural language which would differentiate between the two hooks. For example, the wide stopping hooks having a circumferential width larger than the narrow stopping hooks.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “proximal ends of the wide stopping hooks engage in the groove”. It is unclear if the wide stopping hooks are the front locking element of claim 1, or if there is an additional element engaging the same groove.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the cantilever openings extend toward distal ends”. It is unclear what distal ends of which component is meant. Examiner interprets this limitation to mean that the cantilever opening extends along a longitudinal axis towards a distal end of the shield unit.
The term “narrow” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “narrow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a proximal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member” in lines 5-6. This is unclear as a position does not intuitively have an “external diameter”. Examiner interprets this limitation to mean that a proximal end surface of the needle mounting member has maximum external diameter in which the narrow stopping hooks engage.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “proximal ends of the cantilever locking elements abut against one side of a proximal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member”. This is unclear as the proximal ends of the cantilever locking elements appear to abut against the distal end of the needle mounting member, as seen in Fig. 6, and not a proximal end. Examiner interprets the cantilever locking elements to abut against the distal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a proximal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member” in lines 9-10. This is unclear as a position does not intuitively have an “external diameter”. Examiner interprets this limitation to mean that a distal end surface of the needle mounting member has maximum external diameter in which the cantilever locking elements engage.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the narrow stopping hooks” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a flange member”. It is unclear if this is the same structure as claim 9’s “maximum external diameter position” or an additional element. Examiner interprets these two structures to be equivalent.
All remaining claims are rejected by virtue of their dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liversidge (WO 2015114318 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Liversidge discloses a needle-shielded prefilled syringe (Fig. 1, “The syringe may be pre-filled with a liquid medicament” – Page 5), comprising a syringe barrel (16) and a needle (17), and further comprising a needle mounting member (18), a shield unit (14) and a needle protector unit (13), wherein
the needle is mounted on the needle mounting member (Fig. 1);
the needle protector unit is connected to the needle and part of the needle mounting member in a sleeving manner (Fig. 8, “The needle cover 13 is of a resilient elastomeric material and defines an axial opening 38 from its rear end within which the needle 17 is accommodated” – Page 6);
the shield unit is connected to the needle protector unit and part of the syringe barrel in a sleeving manner (“The sleeve 14 of the device is mostly cylindrical and is a sliding fit over the barrel 16 of the syringe” – Page 5);
the shield unit comprises a shield main body (Fig. 1) and a front locking element (forward ends of 35) arranged on the shield main body (Fig. 6); and
the needle mounting member is arranged at a distal end of the syringe barrel (Fig. 6), and a groove (30) is formed between the needle mounting member and the syringe barrel for engaging with the front locking element (Fig. 9, “further rearward movement of the sleeve 14 flexes the fingers 32 outwardly until the setting of Figure 9 is reached where the forward ends of the camming surfaces 35 are disposed immediately rearwardly of the shoulders 30 of the lugs 27” – Page 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liversedge in view of Imbert et al. (US 5697908 A, herein Imbert).
Regarding Claim 2, Liversidge discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 1.
Liversidge does not expressly disclose wherein the shield unit further comprises a rear locking element on the shield main body,
wherein a proximal end of the rear locking element axially jacks up a distal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member.
Imbert teaches wherein the shield unit (42) further comprises a rear locking element (76) on the shield main body (Fig. 5),
wherein a proximal end of the rear locking element axially jacks up a distal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member (Via 34, See annotated Imbert Fig. 5 below).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-shielded prefilled syringe disclosed by Liversidge wherein the shield unit further comprises a rear locking element on the shield main body, wherein a proximal end of the rear locking element axially jacks up a distal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member as taught by Imbert in order to prevent the shield from being over retracted (Imbert, Col. 6 Lines 47-49).
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liversidge in view of Choksi (US 4737144 A).
Regarding Claim 3, Liversidge discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 1.
Liversidge does not expressly disclose wherein the shield unit further comprises wide stopping hooks, wherein
distal ends of the wide stopping hooks are connected with a proximal end of the shield main body, and proximal ends of the wide stopping hooks engage in the groove.
Choksi teaches wherein the shield unit (16) further comprises wide stopping hooks (20), wherein
distal ends of the wide stopping hooks are connected with a proximal end of the shield main body (rearward end 18, Fig. 2), and proximal ends of the wide stopping hooks engage in the groove (at 21 in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-shielded prefilled syringe disclosed by Liversidge wherein the shield unit further comprises wide stopping hooks, wherein distal ends of the wide stopping hooks are connected with a proximal end of the shield main body, and proximal ends of the wide stopping hooks engage in the groove as taught by Choksi so that as the needle shield is advanced to the extended position, the tabs engage with the recess protecting the needle (Choksi Col. 3 Lines 53-67).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Liversidge in view of Choksi discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 3, wherein the wide stopping hooks are symmetrically arranged (Choksi, Fig. 3, 20 being arranged symmetrically above and below tubular barrel 11, Col. 3 Lines 63-64).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-shielded prefilled syringe disclosed by Liversidge wherein the wide stopping hooks are symmetrically arranged as taught by Choksi so that the shield unit flexes inwardly on opposite sides of the sleeve (Choksi, Col. 3 Lines 60-67).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liversidge in view of Choksi, further in view of Morigi (US 5304149 A).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Liversidge in view of Choksi discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 3.
Modified Liversidge in view of Choksi does not expressly disclose wherein the shield unit further comprises narrow stopping hooks, wherein
distal ends of the narrow stopping hooks are connected with the proximal end of the shield main body, and proximal ends of the narrow stopping hooks engage with one side of a proximal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member; and
the narrow stopping hooks are arranged between the two wide stopping hooks.
Morigi teaches four equally spaced locking protuberances (48) and four locking stops (52) which engage an annulus (34, Fig. 11) stating that the locking protuberances are arranged to match, in size and number, with the slots (38) of the annulus of the collar (Col. 4 Lines 48-53).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, seeking to provide additional needle mounting member engaging hooks, between the wide stopping hooks, around the proximal end of the shield in order to distribute the locking engagement around a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member would duplicate the tabs disclosed by Choksi and position these duplicated tabs between the existing tabs, equally spaced, in order to further secure the shield unit to the needle mounting member. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Making the added hooks narrower than the original two is a change in size or proportion that does not alter their function In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Liversidge in view of Choksi and Morigi discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 6, wherein the narrow stopping hooks are symmetrically arranged (duplicated tabs of Choksi would be arranged between existing tabs 20, equally spaced, in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-shielded prefilled syringe disclosed by modified Liversidge in view of Morigi wherein the narrow stopping hooks are symmetrically arranged as taught by Choksi so that the shield unit flexes inwardly on opposite sides of the sleeve (Choksi, Col. 3 Lines 60-67).
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imbert et al. (US 5697908 A, herein Imbert) in view of Choksi (US 4737144 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Imbert discloses a needle-shielded prefilled syringe (10, Col. 3 Lines 8-11), comprising a syringe barrel (16) and a needle (26), and further comprising a needle mounting member (24), a shield unit (42) and a needle protector unit (29), wherein
the needle is mounted on the needle mounting member (Fig. 2);
the needle protector unit is connected to the needle and part of the needle mounting member in a sleeving manner (Fig. 3);
the shield unit is connected to the needle protector unit and part of the syringe barrel in a sleeving manner (Fig. 4);
the shield unit comprises a shield main body (46) and a front locking element (70) arranged on the shield main body (Fig. 4); and
the needle mounting member is arranged at a distal end of the syringe barrel (12, Fig. 2).
Imbert does not expressly disclose wherein a groove is formed between the needle mounting member and the syringe barrel for engaging with the front locking element.
Choksi teaches wherein a groove (21) is formed between the needle mounting member (35) and the syringe barrel (11) for engaging with the front locking element (20a, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-shielded prefilled syringe disclosed by Imbert wherein a groove is formed between the needle mounting member and the syringe barrel for engaging with the front locking element as taught by Choksi so that once the front locking element engages with the groove, the needle is protected (Choksi, Col. 3 Lines 64-67).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Imbert in view of Choksi discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 1, wherein the shield unit further comprises a rear locking element (Imbert, 76) on the shield main body (Imbert, Fig. 5),
wherein a proximal end of the rear locking element axially jacks up a distal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member (Imbert, Via 34, See annotated Imbert Fig. 5 below).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Imbert in view of Choksi discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 1, wherein the shield unit further comprises wide stopping hooks (Choksi, 20), wherein
distal ends of the wide stopping hooks are connected with a proximal end of the shield main body (Choksi, rearward end 18, Fig. 2), and proximal ends of the wide stopping hooks engage in the groove (Choksi, at 20a in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-shielded prefilled syringe disclosed by Imbert wherein the shield unit further comprises wide stopping hooks, wherein distal ends of the wide stopping hooks are connected with a proximal end of the shield main body, and proximal ends of the wide stopping hooks engage in the groove as taught by Choksi so that as the needle shield is advanced to the extended position, the tabs engage with the recess protecting the needle (Choksi Col. 3 Lines 53-67).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Imbert in view of Choksi discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 3, wherein the shield unit further comprises cantilever members (Choksi, at 24, Col. 3 Lines 60-63) and cantilever openings (Choksi, opening around 20 in Fig. 4), wherein
the cantilever openings are formed in the wide stopping hooks (Choksi, opening around 20 allowing tab to flex inwardly); and
the cantilever members are mounted on inner side faces of the cantilever openings (Choksi, 24 mounted within openings around 20 in Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-shielded prefilled syringe disclosed by Imbert wherein the shield unit further comprises cantilever members and cantilever openings, wherein the cantilever openings are formed in the wide stopping hooks; and the cantilever members are mounted on inner side faces of the cantilever openings as taught by Choksi so that the tabs are able to flex inwardly in order to lock within a recess, protecting the needle (Choksi, Col. 3 Lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Imbert in view of Choksi discloses the needle-shielded prefilled syringe according to claim 4, wherein the cantilever openings extend toward distal ends to part of the shield main body (Choksi, opening around 20 extending longitudinally to both distal and proximal ends of the shield main body 16 in Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-shielded prefilled syringe disclosed by Imbert wherein the cantilever openings extend toward distal ends to part of the shield main body as taught by Choksi so that a cantilever member is able to flex inwardly (Choksi, Col. 3 Lines 60-62).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or make obvious the claimed invention including the following features.
Regarding Claim 9, wherein the cantilever members comprise cantilever elastic members and cantilever locking elements, wherein distal ends of the cantilever elastic members are arranged on the inner side faces of the cantilever openings; distal ends of the cantilever locking elements are arranged on proximal ends of the cantilever elastic members; and when the shield main body is closed, proximal ends of the cantilever locking elements abut against one side of a proximal end of a maximum external diameter position of the needle mounting member.
The combination of the claimed limitations is novel and found to be allowable over the prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate or make obvious the Applicant’s claimed invention.
Examiner notes that the limitations indicated as containing allowable subject matter above are done so in context of the claims as a whole – e.g. the cited portions of claim 9 are allowable in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
/MARK GOLOVAN/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783